Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 190 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I read thru all the reviews before purchasing this bookcase....I have to say kudos to overstock for such convenient ordering process. Kudos to UPS for not tossing my packaging in front of my lawn. Kudos to the warehouse people for packing this to withstand the next big storm and kudos to whoever made/design this bookcase because it's fantastic looking. Last but not least, kudos to myself for putting it together! This is a wonderful addition to any room in the family. I bought one black for the livingroom and one dark walnut for the bedroom but I like the walnut so much that I got another one for my guest/home office room. It's a great deal, if you can find else where with the same price and service - let me know coz so far I haven't found any. :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great display cabinet!
 from Meridian, ID,  Aug 31, 2012

When I ordered this cabinet it arrived to my house pretty quick. Assembling it took some time but using the included instructions helped and it was easy. I must say that this is one sturdy item. It was designed very well and looks great. This was a great purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was the same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookcase
 from Northern VA,  Nov 13, 2010

I bought this bookcase about a year ago. I actually bought two, and stacked one on top of the other (horizontally), against a wall - and it looks great! That is always one thing my guests comment on, and love! As always, the package arrived fast and well packed - nothing broken or missing. The bookcase was very easy to put together, and it looks great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as Advertised
 from Whiting, NJ,  Sep 17, 2010

This bookcase is advertised as Wood, Veneer. In my gullible naivete, I assumed WOOD means lumber, boards, solid wood, and veneer means thin slices of real wood veneer. NOT! The item is made of compressed particle board and the veneer is a cheap thin plastic laminate. Beware! If you are looking for a real wood bookcase this is not what you want.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy
 Oct 12, 2010

It's a very nice and classy piece of furniture. Looks expensive and is solid. Took a little bit of elbow grease for me to do it by myself, but not bad. Overall, worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookcases
 from Media, PA,  Aug 26, 2010

We got these bookcases after reading a lot of other reviews on this website. We got them in a 3 days, the boxes were completely covered in bubble wrap and though the boxes were a little crushed the wood inside was completely fine. It took about an hour and half to put them together, the instructions were fairly clear. I just finished putting a ton of IKEA stuff together so it was relatively simple in comparision. I got the "walnut" though it is very dark more mahagony than walnut. The picture on the site, was fairly accurate. So it was what I expected and they look great. We already got some great compliments on them. They are very sturdy, and once filled with books don't move at all. They come with stickers to cover the screws which were the wrong color and looked horrible. However, I took someone else's advise from another review and got dark nail polish the same color as the wood and covered every screw and they completely disappeared and you don't notice them at all. I am very happy with these bookcases, for the price you can't beat their unique look and good construction.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Shoreline, WA,  Apr 17, 2012

I love this bookcase. It took a while to assemble, however, the istructions were clear and easy to follow. I placed my bookcase on its side and it looks like a display credenza.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Work of art
 from Latham, New York,  Jun 7, 2011

It arrived early than expected, easy to follow guide, and incredible qauliy. I wasn't expecting quality at all because the price is very inexpensive but wow! quality is great. Very sturdy bookcase and each shelves are solid and strong which can handle my heavy thick books. Great deal for such good quality bookcase cabinet.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes it's a match
  • How is the quality of the product? good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not worth the price
 from ohio,  Dec 6, 2010

I bought as a Christmas gift for my fiance. I put it together today. The assembly wasn't too bad even though the directions are far from good. As with any press board furniture, it lack stability. Price is a little high for press board. Could have been more well made but oh well it'll make her happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book case
 from las vegas, nv,  Nov 10, 2010

I love the appearance. it is a beatiful book case...but poor quality. while puting it together a few of the hardwaer were broken and i had to go to ***** to purchase imore.Those cover stickers are ugly and needed to be covered by items otherwise you can see them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Wood - MDF
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 25, 2010

This product is advertized as being made of wood. However it is really made of composite wood or MDF. I wanted to avoid purchasing products made of such material due to their formaldehyde content and contribution to indoor air pollution. However, I do like the style of these bookshelves. I bought two and they look very nice side by side. The walnut is a very dark brown; somewhat darker than the photo. They were slightly more than I would have paid had I known they were not made of solid wood (about $**** each). It took me about 1 hr to put it together. The Allen wrench or Hex key provided was a bit cumbersome. For the send shelf unit, I used a hex head bit with a power drill and it cut the assembly time in half.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHEAP
 from CA,  Oct 17, 2010

I was so disappointed in this bookshelf when I received it. It's cheaply made and it came with stickers to cover the screw holes. It's light and rickety. The only pros are that it's very easy to assemble and it arrived quickly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from Smithville, NJ,  Sep 24, 2010

I absolutely love the bookcase. Basically, it was easy to put together. I did have some trouble with the outer parts and the cam locks, but once I figured it out it went together very easy. I am very satisfied and pleased with the bookcase. I would recommend anyone to purchase from Overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcases
 from Lenexa, KS,  Sep 24, 2010

These arrived promptly, and although each box was heavy (70+lbs ) they are easy to unpack and assemble;something even the most "some assembley required" challenged can do. They fit in well with any decor, look great and can be easily be moved from room to room as the need arises. I am currently using them, to divide off rooms (and hold books) in my one size fits all, open apartment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Wood" Bookcase
 from Wisconsin,  Sep 3, 2010

I guess technically fiber board is made out of wood. The veneer is not even real wood veneer, it is printed plastic. Very very dark color, not like in the image. Doesn't resemble walnut much at all. I could have purchased this cheap looking bookcase at ***** for half the price. This will be my last order from Overstock.com. If you are looking for a quality wood product, do not buy this bookcase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
regrets
 from Lutz Florida,  Aug 30, 2010

Bookcase looks way better in the picture than in person. Quite disappointed. Probably won't keep it in the family room for where it was purchased. It looks cheap and I would not have purchased it if I had seen this in a store. All the screw holes look horrible and no better with the STICKERS. I wish I had read the previous review more carefully. The "wood" looks really fake also. The value and cost should be *** dollars and not ***.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHEAP
 from Alabama,  Aug 26, 2010

The walnut color is very dark.. more of an espresso but the worst is that you don't even get the wooden plugs to cover the screw holes.. you get stickers! Sending this piece back.. too bad because it looked very cool online : (

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected
 from VT,  Aug 18, 2010

Like other reviews, I agree. It definitely takes at least an hour to assemble and that's with someone helping. I knew the quality of this piece wasn't going to be Ethan Allen, but I definitely expected more. When you assemble it, you have to place small dark sticker dots onto the screw to cover it up. This looks awful and cheap. I didn't expect there to be so many of them within this piece either so my overall impression is disappointed. I love the design, but can't stand the cheapness of it. This was my first purchase with Overstock and probably will be my last.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Unhappy!!!
 from Hillsboro, OR,  Aug 9, 2010

Sadly, this will be the last order I make on Overstock.com. For the price of this item I definitely expect it to be at least a decent product. The pictures shows it to be lighter with varying shades of wood tones, which I thought would be a nice piece to add to the living room decor. However, I just got it today, opened it all excited to put it together, and when I saw the quality and the color I immediately went to return it. Unfortunately this shelf weighs almost as much as I do, so I'm not sure how I would be able to return it. In the end I guess I'll have to keep it and regret wasting the money on an extremely cheap looking piece of ugly furniture. I may as well have gotten the black one, this walnut it is the most hideous super dark brown! You'll be better off going to the second hand store to buy old 1970's particle board with cheap veneer! Do not buy this item!!!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks cheap
 from Huntington,  Jun 12, 2010

If you have a starter apartment with laminated wood products then this is the shelf for you. If you have an established home then this will look very tinsy and cheap with the rest of your all-wood furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 190 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top