Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 323 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 17 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

The cabinet is sturdy and looks really nice especially for the price. It is pretty dark, and doesn't have any red tones---so not sure why that is in the name. Nontheless, it look nice and was very easy to put togther (just very repetitive). Tip....use a electric scredriver becauase there are lots of screws in this bad boy). For the most part, the cabinet looks of better quality (more expensive) than it is, however there is one tell-tell flaw that gives it away up close and that is the faux finish "stickers" that you are to put over the NUMEROUS screw holes that are each about the size of a dime. These stickers are easy to spot in the light and on the outer sides of the cabinet. They wil not go unoticed to anyone who lingers long enough to look at what your have displayed. In this respect Ikea has got this piece beat. Overall though I would say its a good deal for the money and is a substantial addition for a less substantial price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very handsome bookshelf
 from New York, NY,  Aug 19, 2009

Background:Bought this bookshelf for our living room. We are using it the tall way. The cons of this bookshelf are:1. One of the pieces came damaged. Overstock was fantastic about getting it replaced quickly, but it delayed being able to complete the project by about a week.2. A couple of the other pieces had some very minor dings. I doubt guests even notice, but they stand out to me.3. Some of the shelves are a little bit awkwardly shaped/sized, which is a bit odd if you're using the shelf for only books. But this is also a pro... The pros are: 1. Some of the shelves are a little bit awkwardly shaped/sized, but this actually great if you've got a few tall/skinny/wide items. 2. It's a really nice looking bookshelf! We've already had many compliments. 3. It's very easy to put together. It takes some time, but I enjoy projects like this and found it to be a simple project.4. It's very sturdy. The pieces are heavy, and it has a presence in the room.5. Overall, we're very happy with this shelf. It looks very nice, it's not bland, and it's a great way to display books and other items.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These bookcases are awesome!!
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Sep 20, 2011

I was totally blown away at the beauty, style and quality of these bookcases. They look absolutely gorgeous!! I first purchased 2 and then was so impressed with them after arrival, that I immediately purchased a 3rd one. They look even better than their pictures. If there was a category above excellent, that is where I would rate them. Everyone who has entered my home has raved about them. They add elegance to any space. I love them and would not trade them for anything.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprisingly nice!
 from New York, NY,  Sep 28, 2011

I concur with most of the other reviewers. I purchased two white bookshelves but one came damaged from transport. Overstock immediately replaced the damaged pieces. Easy for my husband to assemble but he's vey handy. Love it! Nice modern addition to my living room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not real wood; compressed wood with veneer finish
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Knoxville, TN,  Sep 19, 2011

This turns into a beautiful bookcase, took me about an hour and 1/2 to put together. I have put together this type of furniture before, so was familiar with how the cam-locks worked, but the instructions really don't tell you how to do them, so if you're new to this type of assembly, make sure you know how to do them first. The "dots" to cover the screws were a little noticeable, and they give you EXACTLY enough, so no room for error. All in all, once it is put together, it is a very sturdy, unique and pretty piece of furniture. I plan to use it horizontally on top of a pony wall (that has yet to be built!) as a room divider in my entryway. I LOVE the chunky look of the shelves, very contemporary.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is a true espresso (no hint of red despite the name) which was what I wanted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is OK, wish things were made in US instead of China, but for this type of furniture, quality was good. The finish was even at least.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy Customer is always right!
 from Santa Ana, CA,  Jul 7, 2011

I'm very happy with my bookcase, it came in just a couple of days of purchased. I assembled it on the same day it arrived and only took a little over an hour but very well written manual, which was easy to follow. Good quality, very sturdy, and the design of also good quality and you can really tell that it's very well made. I'm glad I found this bookcase, I almost purchased one at some other furniture place. Yeah! love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches perfectly!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. bookcase quality is incredibly great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? based on what I see, yes very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece
 from PA,  Oct 27, 2010

This is BEAUTIFUL! I bought it for an un-used living room and now I venture into that room more often just to take a peek at the shelf. The color is exactly as described. while installing I neglected to clean off some of the glue residue so you can see the hardened glue but that's all my fault. The only problem I had during installation was that the numbered pieces were not that visible so I had to guess. I'm debating on buying another one!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but a pain to get together
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 15, 2009

It took me a couple of hours to get this together, and I am pretty darn good at assembling this type of stuff. When it came to put the two sides on, I realized that something was wrong. Basically, I think two of my pieces were mis-marked, as I took it apart and put it back together a couple of times following the instructions. However, I was able to figure it out and make it work. Then I discovered that they gave me two top pieces, so I just did not screw in the bottom piece in the middle. Not really a big deal. It is a pretty bookcase - modern and different. Just a pain to get together!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Nyc,  Jul 2, 2011

Easy to set up if u have a drill ! Really great bookcase very sturdy and looks beautiful

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark brown or espresso. No red
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quAlity
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More quality and less cost
 from Savannah, GA,  Jul 1, 2011

For the price paid, I got more quality than expected. The quality is very great and it goes well with the rest of my valuable furniture at home. It can consume a good amount of books and it looks great at the same time. I'm very happy that I've added a great addtion to my collections of my furniture and I didn't pay much for it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good, I got the white one
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quality quality quality
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 24, 2011

So glad I bought this bookshelf. Didn't wait very long for it once i purchased it online and the assembly is easy and took a little more time than expected but no too bad. But the quality is great and it fits so much of my books, I like it a lot. It's a ncie bookcase to have around in the house.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? white, correct
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good quality bookcase to have
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with my bookcase
 from mamareehnxoxo, CA,  Jun 21, 2011

I was attracted to this bookcase right when I saw it. Nice design and the price was for grabs, such low price. It arrived early than expected and it took an hour to assemble but easy. Now I have a wonderful bookcase with a lot of room for all my books and quite sturdy I must add, and yes even in person it looks even better. Really nice bookcase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, white
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
kudos
 from New York, NY,  Jun 17, 2011

I'm very happy with my purchase with this bookcase, it's very nice in style, and also the quality is very nice. Fast shipping with easy assembly and it can go anywhere in the house, and it looks great! The price is also good and I highly recommend it. I'm nappy with mine that I bought.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, bought the white
  • How is the quality of the product? Yes, the quality is great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes it did.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Apr 23, 2011

This is a nice quaility product that looks great in a formal room. I love it, but I did not think that it would have been as dark as it is. I thought it would have been more brownish instead of blackish. It's really a dark chocolate that looks black, but it does blend with the items in my living room. Great product!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color was a little darker than I imagined, but it blended in with my other living room items.
  • How is the quality of the product? The quaility is excellent. I have had this product for a little over a year and it still looks new.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Overall, yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookcase
 from Daphne, AL,  Apr 4, 2011

Bought this for my 11 yr. old daughters room for all of her knick knacks and we love it! Only drawback is that my hubby is not exactly a carpenter in any way and it took him nearly 4 hours to put this together (and take apart, and put back together....). The stickers that cover the screw hole aren't as bad as some people make them sound but seems kinda cheap for a nice piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Look!
 from New York, NY,  Jul 15, 2009

This bookcase/display cabinet adds a great look to my living room. It looks exactly how it does on the website. Assembly was easy enough not difficult at all. Overall, very pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to others. It really is a nice stand out piece and have received compliments.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
In love with this Item
 from Queens, NY,  Jul 8, 2009

This bookcase is great and for something that weighs over 100 lbs, you can't beat the flat rate shipping at all! It can be placed to stand tall to layed width wise on the floor as I've done (currently it's serving a TV stand for my flat screen). The cubbies are perfect for knick knacks and pictures.The only reason I gave the assembly 2 stars is because one of the pieces was missing. Each piece is numbered which makes assembly easier but they supplied me two of one type of piece and none of another when it was supposed to be one of each. Luckily these pieces were the same size. The only thing that was different were the placement of the holes where the screws go in. I got around that by not fastening all the screw in one piece... it's a very small piece and does not carry the weight of anything so it's ok.I hope you'll enjoy this piece as much as i have.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 Negatives
 from New York, NY,  Jul 3, 2009

I bought 3 of these for my library and I absolutely love the look -- they have a contemporary feel and are also functional. Very easy to put together, though the only problem is that, if you're doing this on your own, you'll have problems hauling it upright because it is so heavy. There are, however, 2 negatives: 1) At least 2 pieces of "wood" from each box was damaged and scratched during the shipping process. I either turned it around or arranged it upside down to hide the damages. 2) Included are these little plastic nubs to hide the holes where the screws went in. I suppose they're slightly better than the paper stickers, but I'm finding these nubs, raised slightly from the shelves, can make sliding books in and out a bit of a problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the KIDS
 from Fayetteville. AZ,  Jun 20, 2011

We use the bookcase in out family room for all the kids books and other stuff. Really nice looking bookcase. Very sturdy and the quality is good. my husband put it together and I helped and it wasn't very hard, it was easy. It's a nice bookcase for the family, low price and great delivery service.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Item
 from Georgia,  Nov 2, 2010

Looks great. Easy to assemble (did it all by myself) but long process b/c of all the pieces and screws, etc. I used it in tiny condo underneath the overhang of the bar in the living room/kitchen/dining area. Neat area to store misc items in pretty baskets alongside photo albums and scrapbooks. Great price compared to similiar items and you can get a 10% off coupon with a change of address with USPS.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 323 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 17 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Laminated Veneer Corner Wall Mount Shelf
Sale $37.79
Was $41.99
Compare $52.99
Save 29%
(275)
Furniture of America Tier Display Cabinet/ Bookcase
Sale $179.30
Was $199.22
Compare $289.99
Save 38%
(166)
Baxton Studio Sunna Dark Brown Modern Cube Shelving Unit
Sale $164.11
Was $182.34
Compare $194.39
Save 16%
(6)
Back to top