Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice and Sturdy
 Dec 14, 2010

I was a little concerned when I first purchased this product as to how sturdy it would be to showcase some of my heavier items. I was pleasantly surprised! The instructions are clear, but you do have to read them carefully in order to assemble the shelves to align properly with the screw holes. There are lots of screws in this piece! But that lends to how sturdy this piece really is! It assembled in about an hour even with all the screws that had to be secured. It is lovely and exceeds my expectation. I think I will be enjoying this piece for years to come.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, modern piece
 from Missouri,  Mar 28, 2014

Purchased 4 years ago, and still as gorgeous as the day we bought it. Very durable and stylish piece. High quality workmanship.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Love It
 from Gerogia,  Jul 19, 2013

You don't have to be a genius to put it together, but you do have to be patient and organized. I found it easy to assemble, yet I'm pretty good at that. If you organize your pieces and lay them out paying attention to the diagram and the way it's staggered you'll do fine. It's not the monster other reviews made it out to be. The most challenging part was attaching the back panel and lining up those holes. Nevertheless, I assembled it by myself in under an hour. It's absolutely beautiful, very modern and looks wonderful in my LR. I wish I could upload a photo. It's also very sturdy, unlike another review noted. The shelves are attached with two lock screws each and a glued wooden dowel and then screwed to the back panel in 2 places. They will hold and hold more than you think. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this bookcase. I'm so glad I did.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant and Practical
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 5, 2013

Love the bookcase. I bought 3 of them. Modern and elegant look, very easy to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close to the actual product, turned out even better with the texture that was not shown up on the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality, easy to assemble, clear instructions and marks on the product. Also, good to have a smart guy who can assemble it for you.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than I expected!
 from Warner Robins, Ga,  Aug 30, 2012

This is the first piece of furniture that I have bought online and I was always warned to be wary of the quality when buying online but this product did not disappoint. It is much more durable than I really thought it would be! and even better, it arrived early and the packing was amazing. There was no way for anything to shift and the screws were all accounted for and in sealed packaging. It wasn't hard to assemble either. I read through the directions first so I had an idea of the general assembly and I feel if I hadn't it would have taken me a lot longer than it did. I spend maybe an hour and half, with reading through the directions, to put it together and I certainly don't assemble furniture like this often so not a whole of experience is needed to put this together. All in all, I am happy all the way around! It looks great when completely set up :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. much more durable than I orignally thought it would be
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy construction with a great contemporary look
 from Birmingham, AL,  Aug 27, 2012

Not the easiest assembly, but it not because it takes a rocket scientist. It is just a heavy piece to control by yourself. Once completed, it is a great contemporary addition. I am continually getting compliments on it and people are shocked to find out that I got it for such a great price and assembled it myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly was challenging..... but beautiful result
 from Queens, NYC,  Jun 29, 2012

I loved the finished product but the pattern of the shelves during assembly requires close attention. Have a friend assist, because this product is heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beautiful & modern.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate despite the assembly required.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cool bookcase/pain to assemble
 from Jax, FL,  Jun 21, 2012

This bookcase looks great, but not sure it is worth the hassle of assembling. It should have been a simple 30 min project, however the pre-drilled holes for the fasteners were not all at the same depth so many of them would not grab the screws. We spent over an hour trying to measure and adjust to get them to grab the screws on the few shelves that were not drilled correctly. Also we receive 2 of the pieces labeled #1 instead of a #1 and a #2. These are the side pieces so I figured it wouldn't make a difference, however when we went to put the 2 sides with the shelves together the back pre-drilled holes would not line up so we had to start over on one side. Maybe we got a really bad one, but beware this is not a good bookcase unless you are somewhat handy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality and easy assembly
 from Point Richmond, CA,  Mar 19, 2012

We purchased two of the bookcases and are very pleased. The wood quality, design and finish are excellent for this price. Assembly was easy and they look great in our great room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match with color on the web site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood quality, design, and finish are vrey good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking
 from Palm Harbor, Fl,  Feb 26, 2012

We purchased two of these bookcase/display units and they shipped quickly and were well packed. We discovered that the up arrows on the side pieces did not mean that the arrow was pointing to the top of the piece only after we had assembled a good part of the unit. My suggestion is to put all the pieces out as the finished product will look and then, before assembling, ensure that the holes in the back piece that goes down the middle, match the holes on the shelves. We had to take the first piece apart because when we came to put the final back piece on, the holes did not match. The second piece took 20 minutes from start to finish as we knew to lay everything out per the picture and ensure all the holes matched up. For some reason the back pieces did not have holes already drilled to match the screw holes on the top and bottom horizontal pieces, but once the other screws were in place, it was easy enough to drill them. Wish this product came in a while or red; did not really want the black but liked the design the best and it has worked well. We put books on the bottom shelves and ornaments on the upper shelves and they are holding up well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as it looked
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookcase!
 from Delaware,  Feb 2, 2012

This is a good looking and well made bookcase. It can hold many hardback novels.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive
 from NC,  Dec 28, 2011

I am very happy with this purchase. This is a quality bookcase, looks very nice and stylish. I bought this for my 17 year old son and he actually decorated it quite nicely. My 19 year old is jealous and wants one for her room. I intend to buy another soon. Thanks Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, amazing value!
 from Playa del Rey, CA,  Nov 7, 2011

Assembly is apparently not easy (my husband had some choice words for the process that I can't publish), but so worth it! The shelves are rock solid, the wood finish is richly textured and a lovely dark chocolate color, and the staggered shelves make a much more interesting statement than standard bookshelves. We got two, to flank the big TV in the middle - looks great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not exact, actual product has richer texture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality and weight, especially for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Alamogordo, NM,  Nov 3, 2011

Love, love, love my bookcase! I get so many compliments on it too!!!! I would highly recommend for anyone who wants a trendy bookcase to add to a living room or study area. It's perfect! I would like to purchase another in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I put this piece together on my dining room table. The directions were very clear is it was a snap to put it together by myself. Lots and lots of hardware make it VERY sturdy. Although I have replaced just about all the furniture in my living room during the redecorating, this piece continues to get the most compliments ... go figure. I placed it next to a deep chocolate wall but it backs up to a vanilla wall so the staggered shelving and back panel really show up and the effect is very dramatic. I have had several people ask where I got it so I bet a couple more have moved since then.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very much so
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique Bookcase
 from Arizona,  Sep 20, 2011

I bought this very unique bookcase for my husband's office. It worked perfectly and I always receive compliments on the abstract design of it. I absolutely love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice piece of furniture
 from Cleveland,  Sep 20, 2011

We got this bookcase for our office and we love it. It's strong, and also it looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellant value, and great item!
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Aug 27, 2011

I am impressed with the quality of this shelving unit for the price! It is a bit frustrating to put together, but the finished product more than makes up for that. Very sturdy, and will last for many years. Wih they made it in a lighter oak color as well as the black. If you need a bookshelve or curio rack...don't hesitate, this is a great item! Came UPS, and delivery driver even loaded into my truck to take home, thankfully as it weighed 80 lbs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellant quality, and packaged building components nicely.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent cabinet
 from NY,  Aug 16, 2011

Great cabinet. Perfect size (as described). It's not made of wood, but it is heavy and sturdy enough.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookshelf!
 from Arlington, VA,  Aug 9, 2011

This is a beautiful bookshelf. The construction is very sturdy and it's large enough to hold all of my books and some decorative items and art supplies. The shelves are very tall and deep so there's room for large books. The only reason I gave the bookshelf 4 instead of 5 stars was because of the directions for assembly. The directions were minimal and even though I've put together quite a bit of furniture, due to the lack of directions, I had to re-do this one about 3 times. I eventually figured it out though and it was worth the effort. If I had room for a second bookshelf in my apartment, I'd get another one of these. Just be ready for some frustration and lack of detail in the directions on how to assemble the bookshelf.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top