Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 127 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
-Black Bookshelf-
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jul 4, 2009

I bought this bookshelf about a month ago or so, and I really couldn't be happier! I personally feel that it was a fantastic value for the price I paid. Took me a little over an hour to put together myself, and when I was finished I was shocked because it was a bit bigger than I had envisioned, not to mention heavier! It's really very sturdy, and I was extremely pleased with the amount of books that it held (not to mention how lovely it looks). I'll actually be buying another one in a couple of weeks. :) Hope that helps!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Baytown, TX,  Dec 19, 2008

This bookshelf somehow looks larger in the picture than it actually is. The height is just over 5', which I was expecting, but somehow the width and depth look larger in the picture. However, it is exactly as advertised, so the mistake is my own fault.The description says it is wood with a black antique finish. It is actually an "engineered wood product", i.e. particle board, but the veneer is real wood (not the vinyl stuff on most cheap furniture). It actually looks good. You can't tell without a very close inspection (i.e. looking at the back, or peering under the shelves and seeing screws that aren't hidden) that it isn't solid wood. I am not embarrassed at all to have this in the living room, and it and a TV stand are replacing a $1000 solid oak entertainment center.All of the pre-drilled holes lined up perfectly. It was extremely easy to assemble. The only problem with parts is that a number of the nails that hold the back pieces on were unusable, but there are way more than you actually need to do the job.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Bookshelf
 from brentwood, tn,  Jul 9, 2009

Great for a small space....light to move about. Easy to assemble. Just what I needed in my space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelf
 from Baltimore, MD,  Aug 12, 2011

The shelf is great for the price. It was easy to put together--just repeating the same steps over and over. Some reviews said it was short, but it is the height it's supposed to be. And it's similar in price to other shelves of its size. And for once, it's not just a boring straight shelf. It's unique looking.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Accurate.
 from Utah,  Jan 5, 2013

Fast delivery. Extremely well-packaged. All parts arrived in perfect condition, with sufficient fasteners for assembly. The glue provided ran out - I supplemented with a little Elmer's Wood Glue of my own -- no problem -- after all I'm buying furniture, not glue. Easy assembly but a little time-consuming -- took about two hours by myself, but I tend to be a little careful. I find better results assembling furniture by carefully following the instructions rather than assuming I can figure it out, then learning something is wrong and I must disassemble and start over. So I go slow and enjoy the process. A variable speed electric screwdriver or drill will help emensely, especially if you have an automatic tension control to avoid over-tighening. This is a wood product, but not solid wood. Some would call it fibreboard or presswood with a veneer finish. Knowing that, for the money, this is an outstanding value. The finished product is strong, straight, easily supporting a full load of books and curios. I'm very pleased with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well designed. Parts fit together perfectly. Amazingly well-packaged to avoid shipping damage.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as presented.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not wood
 from Bethesda, Maryland,  Jul 19, 2009

The description of this product online is bookcase/display cabinet. When the boxes arrived, the manufacturer describes them only as display cabinets. I do not think they are sturdy enough to hold the books I hoped to put on them. In the description, it also said they are made from wood- this is misleading as they are a composite. You need a powered screwdriver to assemble. There are over 80 screws per cabinet and it was impossible to assemble with just a plain screwdriver.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Addition to my wee little cottage
 from Santa Barbara,  May 18, 2013

The packaging took longer to undo that it took to build the shelves; therefore there were no flaws. The instructions were spot on, and pay attention, because if you do, it will only take less than an hour to build. It only took 2 hours from beginning to end; 1 hour and 15 minutes to unpack; 45 minutes to build. It looks great and I have received many complements on it's looks and creativity in structure. I am very happy with it; not only that, but it arrived in 2 days from me placing the order.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On spot
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 Sep 7, 2012

The back pannels are not very easy to nail in. Be very carful nailing the in.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OKAY FOR THE PRICE, SAFETY CONCERN
 from Las Vegas, Nevada,  May 11, 2012

It was fairly easy to put together but not because the instructions were clear. The instructions were lacking but since I had put several pieces of box furniture together, I was able to do so by myself while my children were napping. The ANTI-TIP STRAP IS NECESSARY AND COMPLETELY INADEQUATE. the little eyelet popped right off with very little pressure. We ended up getting stuff from Home Depot to secure it to the wall because it was VERY prone to tipping sitting on carpet against a wall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as represented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was average or slightly above average for box furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was adequate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Silver Spring, MD,  Aug 5, 2009

This bookcase was very easy to assemble. I worked alone on it and had it together in no time at all. I opted not to put the back on it so that I had access to the electrical outlet and it looks really nice with the colored wall coming through. I think it would look very nice with the back too. It is classy elegant and a perfect addition to my bedroom to hold my reading materials and knick knacks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful classic piece!
 from lawence NY,  Oct 24, 2008

I just finished putting this bookcase together and the end is result is perfect! I love the styles and the lightweight of it. I put my decors and books on the shelves and it just looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Murrieta, CA,  Mar 23, 2014

I love it I bought it for my kitchen. I displayed some of my teapot collection and cookbooks on it. Everyone who sees it likes the way it looks and a couple people want one foe themselves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I was looking for...
 from Baltimore, MD,  Feb 7, 2014

Needed a fun, black bookshelf for photos and nick-nacks in my living room. This looks perfect and is sturdy! Super easy to put together - I could have done it alone though my teenager helped. For the price......perfection!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good kitchen shelf unit
 from Houston, TX,  Dec 26, 2013

Good shelving unit for any room in the house. We are using it in the kitchen as a bar unit. Assembly was quick and easy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful.
 from Sugar Land, TX,  Oct 30, 2013

This product was easy to assemble. Looks even better in person than on the picture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

a little lite weight but fine for my use....easy to put together

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. for the money it was exactly as expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good size and quality
 from Houston, tx,  Jun 29, 2013

Great product for books in a small office. The assembly was a little confusing but not that bad. It looks elegant.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? A little smaller than I thought
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I expected
 from Dallas, TX,  Jun 11, 2013

I love this bookshelf. It is unique and fits perfectly in my apartment living room. It wasn't too difficult to assemble either. Just make sure you have a hammer ;)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Good
 from NJ,  Apr 19, 2013

Product seems bigger on the web site, disappointed in the actual size. If you purchase this product get ready for lots of boxes and packing material.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality appears to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shelves
 from Granbury Texas,  Feb 6, 2013

I've had these shelves for about a year, I bought two of them for my dining room. I use them to display dishes and some of my pewter collectables. These are exactly what I needed and I am very pleased with my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 127 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought