Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 151 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
sturdy
 from Ct.,  Sep 24, 2010

This is a nice study piece,looks great, just right for the living room. I would like to say that, not being wood, the finish can get scratched pretty easily. Might not be the best if you have kids or dogs. And have a power screwdriver when you assemble it or it will take a long time to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oh boy
 from NYC,  Nov 2, 2010

OK, so the assembly is a beast. No exaggeration here. There were several things wrong with the pieces: 1) you are required to screw in the shelfs to the vertical supports but the supports lacked pre-drilled holes which means you need a drill. Now, you dont need a super powerful drill since its not real wood and kinda soft. But, too tough to get through with just a screw driver. 2) One the very top shelf, the pre-drilled holes that were included were actually on the wrong side, which means you need to drill holes on the other side with a drill. 3) i was missing 2 of those wooden plug things that keep the pieces in the right spot but once drilled in it didnt really matter. So, 4-5 hours later, the finished product looks pretty good. I like the dark color and it looks more expensive than it actually is. It seems sturdy, i have about 80 books on it and no problem. Because its cheapo pressed wood, the thing scratches extremely easily. Its on par with ikea/target stuff so just be careful with it, especially when putting it together. Overall, i give it 3.8 stars and Ill round that up to 4.0

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product, terrible instructions
 from St. Louis, MO,  Nov 18, 2010

Overall, this shelf is as stated and of good quality for the price. Beyond moving into a new house recently, my husband and I are no strangers to putting together many pieces of household furniture, using basic tools, and following instructions. The instructions for this item were terrible and the pieces were difficult to put together with the hardware provided. Once finally assembled, the shelf serves the purpose nicely in our great room since it is pretty tall but is a little shaky as far as sturdiness overall. The wood and finish seem good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 14, 2011

I bought this for my wife, she had seen something similar, but this one was at a better price. She loves it. Very simple to put together and we are both satisfed with the item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So nice to have
 from Normalii home inCovington,  Sep 14, 2011

Love the way it looks in the family room, it makes the room look so elegant. The style and all the shelves that we need as a family to store all are collection of books. Very sturdy and easy to set up. The price is wonderful, better than any other bookcase I've seen so far, and I'm so glad I found it. I highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality bookcase
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? quite accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookshelf
 from Orlando,  May 23, 2013

I am so happy i bought this book shelf. I love the color if it, it isnt too dark and overpowering. I have used this to display photographs and small plants, and has been a great addition to my bedroom. The assembly of this item wasnt too hard, I just had to read the directions over a few times!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book case
 from cumberland RI,  May 14, 2013

i love this piece. i had a smaller on, so when i saw this i ordered it right away, was perfect for all the things i wanted to put on it. it was alittle diffacult to put together, but we did it and it is just beautful in our living room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was right on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good. i have a 1,400.00 Bose system on it, and i wouldn't do that if i didn't trust how strong it was.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great addition
 from Enterprise, Alabama,  Aug 31, 2011

Since I got this product I can't help but admire what a great addition this was to my apartment.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was less than I wanted, but the results after I put it together was amazing.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Form and Function in a Ladder
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 5, 2013

I've searched for a long time for the right ladder bookcases, and these were designed with me in mind! I purchased two, and while they arrived on time, one of the supporting arms was badly damaged when we opened the package. Overstock was fabulous about it, shipping me another bookcase immediately, and they paid for the return of the damaged item. Building the bookcase is a two-person job, but they're gorgeous when complete, and I absolutely love the way they look 'bookending' my fireplace against a rugged stone wall. With that being said, they're a little unstable -- which I understand is a common complaint with ladder bookcases -- so I recommend anyone buying them to use the strap and bolt them to the wall. It completely fixes the problem. My only other negative comment is that the finish scratches VERY easily. I used a metal bookend on one shelf and it scraped the dark finish ... the underlying blond wood was glaringly noticeable until I did a little repair. All in all, these are exactly what I was looking for and I'm quite happy with them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? There was no difference between the two.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It suits my needs perfectly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looking Bookcase.
 from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada,  Feb 17, 2013

I had been looking for a stand like this one for months, but didn't want to spend a pile of cash on. This stand is Gorgeous and the price is great!! Look very classy!! I am so pleased with my purchase!!! I will be back to purhase more items!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it is very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible instructions
 from Mi,  Oct 17, 2011

The instructions...or lack thereof are horrible. I read reviews and actually debated on purchasing because so many complained about the assembly. I figured how hard could it be. No written directions, only poor images. Left entirely to your imagination & guesswork. Nightmare. Holes not lined up properly. Took way longer to assemble than needed. Company should seriously look at writing out proper instructions when shipping this. As for the color, that is my largest disappointment. The shelf is nice and very sturdy, but the color is almost black. Way too dark. If overstock allowed returns & it was easy to take apart, I would be returning it because it doesn't match the rest of the furniture. Unfortunately, my husband's not happy about all of those hrs down the drain.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? TERRIBLE
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from New York, Ny,  Sep 20, 2011

I love this bookcase. I put it in my office and im thinking of buying other, for the rest of my books. I received my purchase within days of ordering it. It didnt take much time to put together and im satisfied with the product. GOOD BUY!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was right
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks good
 from Washington,  Sep 20, 2011

It looks as expected and fits into the bedroom decor perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not quite the quality of finish of the Aristo bedroom set
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy
 from rodneris in NC,  Sep 15, 2011

My is just the right bookcase that I need, but the style is more than what I was expecting, it's great! I'm very happy with my purchase, great price, good quality and simple to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Nice color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Everything was described well
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
=) Happy
 from Salem, NH,  Sep 13, 2011

Not the best at assembly but with a screw driver and alittle bit of time i had this thing up. If i can do it anyone can. I received my shipment way before the expected date and was happy since i was having guest over. Perfect addition to my little home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 5, 2011

It's a great bookcase to have, huge, sturdy, easy to assemble, and Overstock did great with shippimg, I received mine in two days, I couldn't believe it when I saw it on my front door.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched with the one on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Everything was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it!
 from Fayetteville, NC,  Jul 30, 2011

Love this product! Exactly what I wanted! I will use this in my living room for many things!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incredible price, good quality bookcase
 from San Diego, CA,  Jul 19, 2011

The bookcase is great, it's roomy and very sturdy. I put it together myself and it took over an hour but very easy to do. Easy manual to follow, and very promt. The price is below the budget that I was planning to spend, so kudos for me. I received fast great delivery service, and high quality furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? brown, I got it
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very modern style
 from Sacramento,  Jul 15, 2011

Fast shipping, easy to assemble, and the room and quality is great, more than what I expected. I did good in purchasing this bookcase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? dark brown, same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate decription on site
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong quality
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jul 14, 2011

One of the best furniture that I've purchased online. Arrived in perfect condition, easy to assemble, and the quality is good and very strong. I highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark brown, good comaprison
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? its accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 151 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought