Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 172 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
*~Magni-Chic~*
 from The Cape, MA.,  Apr 11, 2012

We put this up in our downstairs powder room & because we converted 2 coat closets as a half bath it is considerably smaller than normal. However, I painted the walls a rich ,coconut milk, cream from Valspar & added a very tiny but accomodating sink from Home Depot. With this light it makes the quaint space feel very chic & regal. The item includes everything you need to affix the item correctly along with extra crystals. I do have to say that applying the crystals to the line on top of affixing them to the base is very tedious. So much so, that my teenage daughter grew impatient with my struggles & offered to complete it all in exchange for an online album LOL. Done deal. It took less than half an hour to have everything up. I do want to emphasize that the crystals do not hang past the base. They are flush with the shade. All in all, a great investment & unregrettable purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Boutique quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best light- just gorgeous!!
 from Raleigh, NC,  Nov 9, 2012

This light is in our guest bedroom which has 8 foot ceilings. I wanted flush mount, lots of light and something leaps more chic. Yes you do have to assemble the crystals- which takes some glasses, light and an hour. (I know this because I started and finished with the Ellen Show) Put together it looks just like we took it off an expensive showroom ceiling. It holds enough of a traditional feel but gives this amazing modern twist. It's so nice and bright. I put 4 60w reveal light bulbs in and even my husband was saying WOW. (that says something ladies) Definitely picking up a dimmer for this because it's that bright. The material around the cover isn't so much a material as a thinly spaced string. It sounds odd but creates a nice effect on the ceiling along with all of the crystals. Love it! The light does take two people to install. First I put the crystals on. I left the plastic on the material of the shade and gently took off after installing to avoid messing up the material during instal. Directions are bad- so the one crystal that is already together in the bag goes on the center point of the light. The rest are identical and go on any of the loops on the mirror like base. Also It does matter which end of the wire the Crystals attach to so pay attention to that. Tip: try not to pull apart the round rings that attach the crystals too much. I got lazy and was separating them too much. After the light was up I had a few crystals to reattach. I could have avoided that by just pushing the rings back together more instead of relying on the gap to hold the crystal in place. Once my hubby had the ceiling ready I held the light up while he put the ground / wires on. This is a little tricky with all of the crystals but not overwhelming. This is also when I was thankful to have the plastic on the light since that is exactly where I held the light. Fishing for the two screws that fit into the new light was the most difficult part, but somehow I got lucky. Hubby held the light in place while I screwed on the round silver knobs that hold the light to the ceiling mount. The total time : was one hour to attach crystals and 15 min to mount.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? White string like material was not visible but I LOVE it
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid construction, it is a delicate light by nature of having crystals all over it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Glamour for a Petite Price.
 from Vienna, VA,  Nov 29, 2012

For the price it's fabulous. The crystals are actual glass crystal. Meaning they aren't plastic or something else. They are heavy and clear. They aren't as sparkling as Swarovski or other "high end" crystal BUT they still emit a sparkle nevertheless. The overall effect does NOT look cheap. It looks much more expensive than the listed price. However- when you put it together you can see WHY it's so cheap. BUT when it's all put together you can't tell. It is a pain to assemble. It wouldn't be a pain if you had time, a good movie and a beverage. However I was under a time constraint. The directions are worthless. It does matter which end you "clip" to the large crystal drop and to the top of the flush mount. Thankfully another reviewer pointed this out so I did pay attention to that. The cheapest part of the whole piece is the attachment pieces which holds each string to the top of the light. Hint: it is much easier to "hook" the top of the crystal string if you detach the attachment piece from the top - then sling the crystal string to it - then refasten the attachment piece. HOWEVER these things are the FLIMSIEST, CHEAPEST pieces of the whole entire light fixture. If you choose to do it this way be very careful for they break easily. You get one try. You can't re do it or it will break. THANKFULLY it comes with extras just incase. Also please note that the center string is shorter than the rest. The rest can go anywhere. My brother wired it to the ceiling for me. I helped him though as it takes two people. This was a pain. Is it worth it - YES!!!!! It emits beautiful light and the end product looks exquisite. Also the crystals DO hang lower than the "drum". I don't know why everyone says it is "flush" with the "drum". The large, bottom crystal hangs below the drum. Enjoy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality in appearance is superb. However some of the "parts" are cheap.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty light - a lot of effort to install
 from Massachusetts,  Jan 19, 2013

All the reviews I read before purchasing this light are accurate. It takes effort to prepare for installation. Based on these reviews, I did attach most of the crystals to the base before installing. However, I did not attach the nine crystals that are closest to the center, or where the screws from the ceiling attach to the light. I thought they would be in the way during installation, and I was right. They were not hard to attach after the light was installed, but I did need my husband to shine a flashlight because I would have gone blind keeping the light on while I worked. And although one reviewer said they removed the small loops from the base of the light before attaching the crystals, I don't think that's the way to go. It wasn't hard at all to attach the crystals to the loops on the base as delivered, and I think it would have been much harder to reattach the loops. Also, I took the advice of one reviewer and left the plastic on the shade during installation. While you have to be really careful when removing it after the fact, I am so glad we kept it on as it protected the strings of the shade from all the handling. The hardest part for us was actually attaching the light to the ceiling. It took us forever to line up the screws in the ceiling with the holes in the light base, with all the crystals hanging and especially because once the product is close to the ceiling, you lose all daylight between the product and the ceiling, so you are fishing in the dark for the screws. I can't even explain how we finally did it.....many tries and then some luck. So if you want to put in a lot of effort for a pretty light that really sparkles when lit, then you should consider this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good - the crystals are nice and heavy, not cheap
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, except that the crystals don't hang as low as the picture suggests. They are nearly flush with the shade.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous light!
 from Saratoga, NY,  Oct 16, 2012

After reading the reviews I knew the light would be pretty... but it was better than expected. I also knew I'd have a couple of hours in to attach the crystals, NOT TRUE. Maybe if you're doing it in front of the TV it could take that long, but because I'm incredibly competitive I timed it... 36 minutes and the crystals were attached. My husband who does a fair amount of electric work had it installed in an additional 10 minutes (with me holding the light up while he attached the wires). I would definately recomment this item... it's very hard to find a pretty flush moount chandelier!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This light is well made and the crystals are beautiful. Much better that the picture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was good, but the photo shows the crystals much lower than the string shade around it, not so. The crystals hang about 1/2" lower than the shade.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful light!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 21, 2012

Beautiful light for my entry - I have a standard-height entry and wanted a light that was unique and unexpected, but not too over the top, and was a flush mount. This is perfect. The crystals do not hang below the shade much, if at all, and coming down the stairs, it looks like a normal shade light. But when underneath, it's a party! Had a strange smell when pulling out of the package, but cleared up in a day or two - smelled like soldering oil. Had to attach all the crystals and wire drops by hand, took about 2 hours while watching tv. I'd suggest wearing cotton gloves to hold the crystals so you don't have to clean them after. All in all, very happy and would purchase again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate - but the shade is not a "shade" it is actually hundreds of individual threads looped around metal frame.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good for price.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
STUNNING, BUT.......
 from New York, NY,  Jan 17, 2013

This chandelier is stunning when up, BUT, be prepared to be frustrated, ruin your manicure, and be ready to spend some time putting this together. Many pieces, which are heavy faceted crystal. I had to put 2 of them together, 49 crystals on each chandelier. When finally done and ready to be put up some crystals dropped off and had to be put back on again. Please read other buyers reviews, helpful. They finally are up and the effect if gorgeous!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? GOOD
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GOOD
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? GOOD
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Seattle, wa,  Oct 27, 2012

I wanted to get a chandelier that had a modern design with a little sparkle. I also wanted something that didn't hang too low since it was going to go over our bed in the master bedroom. This chandelier was a perfect match! The shade is made of tiny strings, has 49 crystal drops that hang all at one level. My father installed it and did comment that it takes a while to hang all the crystals. But it was worth it! I put it on a dimmer and it casts beautiful rainbows around the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Love this! Loads of undeeded extra parts that just confused us a touch. Don't bother with adding more jump rings to make some longer, adding an extra makes no difference, we tried it. Patients while attaching to celing, our only hard part was lining the two screws up to the light because it was flushmounted. You really need two step ladders for both people to get close to it. Standing on the bed doesn't work. haha Love it!!! So pretty and sparkly! Do NOT remove the wrapping around the white strings until after you are completely finished. No matter what the directions say. It is easy to remove at the end.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little smaller than I expected but right with what was posted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality, REAL cyrstals and so sparkly!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect, instructions suck!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love!
 from Minnesota,  Jul 27, 2012

I love this light. I put it in out little girls room for a chabby chic room and I get complements on it all the time. It is a very impressive light but like mentioned before it is a pain to put together. You have to thread each crystal. It took my husband and I 30 minutes to put it together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I thought the picture looked like the fabric on the drum light was ivory but it is more white than ivory which is what I wanted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The crystals are flush with the drum light. They do not hang lower than the light. The fabric is also threads and not one piece which makes for a really cool look when you turn the light on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and unique chandelier
 from Portland, OR,  Jan 9, 2014

It's lovely and worth the effort. Took 1 1/2 hours to complete. Some tips: 1. Attach the crystals before you install the chandelier. 2. Wear latex gloves to prevent fingertips and this will also help protect your nails. 3. Keep the plastic on the string drum until after it's installed. The large crystals hang about 1/2 inch below the string drum. It's unique, beautiful, and exactly what I was expecting. I love how it looks in my study/lady lounge.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's just OK...
 from San Diego, CA,  May 19, 2013

I didn't realize the cover is made out of thin thread like strings. Not sure I will clean it. I made the mistake of hooking up the wires THEN putting on the crystals. It took forever to install it one by one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So so...
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but difficult
 from Ny ny,  Apr 18, 2014

This is a beautiful fixture- HoWEVER, I sat for an hour putting the crystals together and hanging them (with only several bruises to my fingers). After hanging them finally I realized there was another piece that was supposed to attach to the top in order to have the crystal ball be below the shade. Too bad I was NOT starting over. It's still beautiful. I hung it in the foyer to my home.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed...
 from TN,  Dec 11, 2013

I took a chance on this order simply based on customer reviews and for the sales value alone (a doorbuster offer). I was prepared for the installation difficulty based on others' reviews, and I did not think it was going to be a big deal since I am a VERY handy person and I only cared about the final product. OMG was I wrong! The crystals assembly was time-consuming but I knew to expect the tedious repetitive labor and that wasn't the big problem. I took others' advise and assembled/attached the crystals before the installation (except in the center). I DO NOT ADVISE THIS! This makes the item pretty heavy and precarious while you're trying to mount the product on the ceiling. I didn't even experience much problem attaching the electrical wires by myself; I used a shoe string to hold/hang up the product on the installed mounting plate while connecting the black/white/ground wires. The main problem came when I was trying to align the two mounting screws through the two tiny holes at the final mounting stage of the product installation. I fumbled around trying to find the mounting screws while having basically no visibility peering up from the bottom through two tiny holes. My arms got tired and I was beyond frustrated by the time my husband arrived home and tried to take over the task. He tried for over 30 minutes to no avail himself, and asked why the crystal balls were already hung making the installation practically impossible. We eventually noticed that the mounting screws were spaced a bit too narrow for the available holes, so we forcibly spread out the screws a bit a the mounting base. Make sure you check this before installing - they came stacked so I didn't expect the issue, but but a bit of tight/narrow screw space for the holes makes it impossible to align up from the bottom, allowing you to get only one screw through but not the other... After about 10 more minutes of almost blind alignment attempts with tired arms, we Finally got it mounted. Attaching the remaining crystals in the center was no big deal, and it definitely made me regret having hung the crystals prior that definitely added to the installation difficulty. After ALL this, I unwrapped the shade cover (I took the advise of many reviewers to leave it on), and then found that one of the white wire frame at the base of the shade was unattached! Examining the area, the product was defective since I couldn't even see the damaged detachment point at the shade rim, and I unfortunately couldn't notice the defect after all the trouble of finish mounting the product. I really hoped that the product would look better in person as many have noted, but it really doesn't. The only positive is that the crystals are indeed real glass, and they sparkle more than in the photo with the lights on. However, the shade (made of white strings) looks about the same as in the photo, and the product featured on the ad photo is obviously different from the product I had received. Instead of the 3 white frame wires running at the base, I have four (making an X looking up from the bottom). The white plastic coated wires cheapens the look, and it really should've been designed with chrome/stainless frames instead to blend in with the reflective base at the top. The crystals hang completely flush with the shade, and do not stick out below as in the photo at all. A review here particularly emphasized that the crystals do hang below the shade as in the photo, but that person obviously had received a different product than many others mentioned here, indicative of the product/inventory inconsistency. If you are on a fence, do NOT order the product! Because of the installation nightmare, I contacted Overstock with the aforementioned defect and I was offered a product replacement or an amazing $5 dollar refund for keeping the item. I was disgusted for the first time dealing with Overstock customer care. The $5 refund could never make up for the several hours lost installing the product, and unfortunately my husband didn't even like the installed the product! He hates the cheap looking lamp shade and the wire frames.... ARGGGGHHHH!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great light, but annoying to install
 from Ohio,  Dec 8, 2013

Now that it's up, I love this light. It's almost a little too sparkly which I'm sure others will love about it. I don't know if I was missing a page of instructions but it took me over 2 hours to install and get all the crystals on. There was a bag of extension pieces so some crystals were longer than others but it didn't tell you which to use where. after a lot of counting the pieces and trial and error, I put the middle strand with 4 extension rings. The other innermost layers with 1 extension claw and 1 extension ring, and then had the entire outer ring with no extensions. The crystal do not drop below the skrim as low as the picture suggests. But now that its all done, it's gorgeous and definitely worth the $*** I paid for it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the work it takes
 from Colorado Springs,  Oct 16, 2013

As other reviewers pointed out, this fixture is a bit labor intensive. But IMO completely worth it. Since the instructions are useless, I will tell you the most important parts. When connecting the round crystal ball to the wires, it does in fact matter which way you do it. My view is to attach in such as way as to space out the crystals; don't let them jam all together. After you have attached all of that ( which will take you a half hour or more), attach the crystals on to the fixture by loosening the wire clip that holds them to the fixture. Loosen, insert the wire then re-attach. After all crystals are on board the fixture, here is the really fun part; attaching the fixture to the ceiling (after getting your wiring done of course). You have to peer between the ceiling and fixture while 30 dangling crystal balls are in your line of vision as you try to line up the holes in the fixture with the screws in the ceiling mount. Make sure you have a good step stool and another person with a pair of strong arms who is patient as this may take awhile. I do like a fixture or piece of furniture with a history or story - and this fixture is a work of art that spans modern and traditional - thus it delivers in every respect. A great find at a great price!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for what I was looking for
 from Philly,Pa,  Oct 10, 2013

It's a very pretty chandelier. I have a small dining room and it was perfect for the size. It's a little cheaply made but still looks really gorgeous. Good enough quality for the price. Appears very similar to picture. It's just what I needed for my design

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Thankfully, I read the reviews thoroughly to give my husband a heads up that this fixture would be an absolute nightmare to install. Once everything is said and done, this fixture is unusual and definitely makes a beautiful, upscale statement in our master bathroom which has 8' ceilings. I really wanted a mini chandelier but couldnt find one that didnt hang too low that we both liked. The crystals sparkle with the lights turned on, and they hang just slightly below the bottom rim of the fixture within 1/16 of an inch. My husband (with some fixture holding from me while he wired it) installed the fixture without the crystals which took about 15-20 minutes, we kept the plastic wrapping on which you need to do to protect the strings during install. Be sure to make sure the seam is in the back as my husband had to take it down and correct this which he wasnt happy about. I have no idea how anyone could install this fixture with the crystals on it, it would be far to heavy for either of us to manage. Be sure to tighten all wires, etc. because this fixture is very heavy once the crystals are installed. I then removed the plastic wrap and cleaned off the fingerprints on the fixture from a dry, clean cloth. I put the crystals on the hangers while relaxing watching TV, you figure out best method pretty quickly and nails do get shredded. I added the crystals on the light fixture while standing on a stool cleaning off any fingerprints as I went along. I broke it up and added 5 or 6 at a time then did something else in the house. The whole process took several hours. I finished off with 40w bulbs, cleaned off any remaining fingerprints on bulbs, etc. and voila - sparkle central! 60w bulbs are far too bright in my opinion (we tried both). We will probably add a dimmer for ambience. Wish Overstock had the option to post photos because our bath looks complete. :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's not high quality but looks great once installed. You can buy higher quality crystal fixtures for $300-$500 ea so you get what you pay for.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chic Boutique
 from Tacoma, WA,  Apr 2, 2013

This chandelier adds the perfect touch of glamour to any room. I installed it with my husband in my closet and it gives a boutique type of feel. I would recommend attaching the hanging crystals to the top AFTER you install the fixture base. Took us an extra two hours from stringing them all in the first place, attaching the crystal strings, then unattaching them after we realized it was just too heavy to hold up and try to install the base at the same time. It takes some time to install, pretty tedious, but well worth it! I want a couple more now! Every time I walk into my closet, it's bright with all the crystals twinkling, which I love. The lightbulbs were hard to find, but IKEA does carry them. Hope Depot & Lowes did not have them, nor did they even know what an "E" lightbulb was. 100% worth the money!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's glamorous, trendy, chic, gives a boutique type of feel with all the crystals hanging.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Makes the Room
 from Pleasant Grove, UT,  Feb 12, 2013

My Living Room went from nice to wow when we installed this fixture. I could not figure out where to start when assembling, relying on other reviews for advice. To start - take the first strand and hold it up from one end and then hold it at the other end. It becomes obvious which side you clip to the base when you notice there are small stop points on each strand that will hold the smaller crystals spaced at even intervals. Attach the large crystal to the bottom using a jump ring and then attach to the light base with the jump ring on the other end - all those moving parts on the inside of the base are where you attach it. It takes a little practice at first but you'll soon find a routine. You need to tuck each jump ring back inside itself once you have attached them or risk some coming off when you install the light fixture. I was unable to wear cotton gloves as another user suggested because I couldn't separate the jump rings without my fingernails. I guess needle nose pliers could work but I just lived with the pain for a day afterward - this fixture is totally worth it. We weren't so lucky on install to have it all mesh up perfectly so my 16-year old, very athletic son stood holding it in place for quite a while while my husband tried to match things up. The next day, my son said "My arms are really sore today for some reason", and I reminded him it was the light fixture. It's quite heavy but this thing is worth it. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Bottom of crystals hang flush with bottom of "shade" frame, not lower
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? "Shade" is thousands of fabric strands and not an actual shade
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 172 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top