Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Five-tier Cherry Leaning Ladder Shelf
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Aug 31, 2011

Even though I was scared to order this item sight unseen. I was very pleased with everything about it. The time it took to assemble, the finishing product and that it only took one person (me) to assemble. The only thing that I did do extra is to use some wood glue. The package comes with wood paste but I choose to use some wood glue that I had and I am very SATISFIED with the end product. I love it so much that I sit and just stare at it like it's going to run away...LOL, if I had enough room for two I would have bought another one. Even the turn around time was fashionable and right on point. KUDOS Overstock.com

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? This fits wonderfully with the current decor
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is pretty sturdy. I only wanted to use it to display a couple of items and it just works well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An Unfortunate Purchase
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jun 16, 2011

This is my first purchase from Overstock.com, and unfortunately it will probably be my last. While I had no problems assembling the bookshelf, it cannot comfortably hold actual *books*. Nothing heavy, mind you. Just trade paperbacks and the occasional hardcover. If I'd hoped to use this as a display shelf for lightweight knick-knacks, it would have been perfect. But the quality of the product doesn't allow it to serve its intended purpose with me fearing for its inevitable crash. I couldn't bear to disassemble it and send it back. I've just chalked it up to lessons learned--sometimes a bargain is no such thing.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as dark as pictured and flimsy
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 15, 2014

So, this is not nearly as dark of a cherry as pictured. The cherry in person is more traditional and I was very disappointed that it didn't go with all of my other mahogany cherry pieces. I knew it'd be lighter than that shade of cherry, but its not even close. Also, its put together very cheaply and isn't really meant to hold anything. I loaded it up with books on the bottom two layers and where it joins it slightly bends.... The manufacturers should use bolts or something much stronger to join the top to the bottom piece to make it more stable.If I move again, I'll definitely put it in the garbage. I didn't want to send it back because of all the hassle that'd be, so I'll deal with it while I'm here.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful addition to my decor
 from Tampa Bay area,  Nov 23, 2013

This piece looks great in my home and is a stylish storage solution. My leaning shelf displays my photos, figurines, decor, books and awards. I have several and I love them.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Color in the picture is not representative
 from Seattle, WA,  Oct 23, 2013

Be prepared that the color of the product is a lighter yellowish red, not the deeper satisfying red in the picture. The material appears to be solid stained wood, but at the same time the execution is very straight, without any finishing touches like rounded edges etc. Overall, not bad but falls short of expectations. Mine will have to be stripped of lacquer and re-stained in the color I want, but I'm not returning it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap product
 from Charlleston, SC,  Jul 10, 2013

As I took it out of the box, I noticed the stain was unevenly applied and looked like a rush job. Then, the supporting rails came in pieces, making it an even more CHEAP product -- they would not line up perfectly so not to be noticed that they were two pieces. Then, after about 15 minutes of putting it all together, it just looked Cheap against the wall. Didn't try to put books on it as I started taking it down immediately. But, not sure it was sturdy enough to hold books. Very disappointing as I have ordered many things from Overstock over the years. This is the FIRST return I have ever had to do.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its was okay
 from Md,  Mar 19, 2013

It does look good in my living room. It does only hold light ornaments.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good
 from Ohio,  Mar 8, 2013

Due to my lack of mechanical ability it was a little challenge to get together....but easy enough once you know how! It loods nice, and works well so far. One connection in the middle seems a bit weak but it holds well and the weight of the books help. Good price for a nice product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Five-tier Cherry Leaning Ladder Shelf
 from California,  Jan 26, 2013

Excellent product. It looks great in my living room

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent product. It looks great in my living room
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf for the price
 from Cornelius, NC,  Oct 23, 2012

This is a great shelf for the price. Easy to assemble and the color is a good match for the rest of my furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches my other cherry wood furniture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shelf is about what you would expect for $80.00
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 12, 2012

This bookcase has exceptionally poor quality compared to several other brands of ladder bookcases that I've previously purchased. I was highly dissatisfied with the purchase. Most problematically, the shelves are not firmly attached to the side rails. As a result, the shelves will continue to rotate/wobble even when fully attached. This gives the bookcase a cheap and unsafe appearance and feel. In addition, the two side rails are not continuous pieces of wood (as with other ladder bookcases), but instead each consist of two shorter pieces that are joined together in the center. This leaves a visible seam. (This is only visible in the picture online if you zoom in closely.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Las Vegas, Nevada,  Jun 14, 2012

We need extra shelving for our 1/2 bath and this item fit in so perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was extremely close if not right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not sturdy
 from Alpharetta, GA,  Jun 7, 2012

very flimsy. I had to use Gorilla Glue on every shelf so they did not wobble. I purchased two...both were equally flimsy. I guess it would be ok if someone was just going to put a few picture frames and never touch it other than light dusting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very flimsy. I had to use Gorilla Glue on every shelf so they did not wobble.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these shelves!
 from St Louis MO,  May 9, 2012

I was hesitant to buy these in cherry, i was worried they would be too stop sign red. I ordered one shelf just to see and boy was I happy!! These shelves are exactly what cherry should look like. They match my chaise with cherry legs and my office desk that is all cherry perfectly. I was so happy with the finish i ordered 3 more for my office/library. The quality is very high, i love this style of ladder shelves and have them in several other rooms in other finishes. I highly recommend if you want a shelf that keep the room open and airy feeling but provides a place to set things.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bought 2, want more.
 from Bloomington, IN,  May 1, 2012

Don't have anything bad to say about these really. I purchased 2 of them and if they were cheaper I'd get more. The color is really stunning and now I'm just trying to find other furniture to match the color. The assembly instructions were pretty straightforward. It only took about 20 minutes to build the first one and about 10-12 to build the second one with my wife's help. We are very happy with them and the only bad thing now is that the rest of the furniture in that room doesn't look as nice so we are looking for other furniture to meet the beauty of these shelves.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty spot on. The cherry is very red.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy. I'd give it an 8/10.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Didn't really read the description all that much. Just checked the picture and the dimensions.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No regrets!!
 from Annapolis, MD,  Mar 8, 2012

I just love this ladder shelf. The color is the highlight for me. It was delivered in a timely manner. Easy to assemble. Though I recommend two people for assembly, I was able to put it together alone. I receive compliments on it all the time. A must have!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was very accurate. A deep rich cherry red.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is very good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was just as mentioned on the site.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good shelf
 from Huntsville, AL,  Dec 23, 2011

NO problems putting together. Just what I wanted. Color a little bright.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall happy with this selection
 from GA,  Dec 14, 2011

the item shipped quickly and was not to difficult to assemble. If you are not mechanically inclined you may have a difficult time putting it together. There was a part missing; I contacted the company and it was shipped immediately. My only issue and this may be my faught was I measured the shelves for width to display a burial flag, My measurements were inside the arms but apparently the maker measures from arm to arm. Therefore, it as to short to put the display on the shelf. Had to attach it to the wall and place the ladder under it with the other items I displayed. Overall, this was still a god purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I found the perfect shelves!
 from Bethlehem, Pa,  Nov 30, 2011

I had some trouble putting this together and had to have a friend help me. But, I'm usually not too good at assembling things like this. The directions were pretty clear, once I look back on it. I'm happy with the shelves and they hold a lot!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice solid wood. pretty sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly as expected
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 1, 2011

Exactly what I expected. Very sturdy & easy to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top