For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 666 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 34 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice shelf for a good price
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 27, 2006

Was delivered within a few days. The assembly instructions said that two people are required to put it together but I assembled it myself in about 30 minutes. It's nice but I don't know how sturdy it is; probably won't put too many things on it. I think this is priced fairly but but I wouldn't pay more than the current price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do not purchase it...
 Jan 31, 2007

I would most definitely not recommend this product...after having to return it to Overstock due to poor packaging - the shelves were broken when I received them, I returned it, and they sent a new one, but the same issue happened (poor packaging and the item was damaged). I was fed up with the whole returning process, which was a pain on its own, so my husband fixed it, and it looks all right now...bottom line, I would definitely not have purchased this item if I knew how poor the quality is, and that I would have to go through all this trouble...I am very disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Shelf
 from Colorado,  Oct 13, 2006

Just got the shelf, and put it together today. The description on this site said "solid wood", so I assumed it would be better quality. The wood is cheaper than I thought it would be, and it doesn't feel like it wants to hold alot of weight. I was going to put alot of books on it, but after putting it together I decided against it(because of the weight issue). I put DVD's, VHS and pictures on it instead. The wood is good quality, just not as good as I thought it would be. It seems like it doesn't want to hold alot of weight because of the way it's designed and built, not because of the wood quality. Like the previous poster, I too put it together by myself in about half an hour. It looks really, really cool. I am very happy with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Piece
 from California,  Nov 15, 2008

This bookshelf was exactly what we needed. The picture does it justice and it was very easy for just me to put together. It's not a solid piece that's meant to last forever, but it looks very nice and was a great buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Knew what I was getting into when I got them
 from Seattle, WA,  Feb 6, 2007

I was able to inspect a set of these physically before I ordered them on-line, and knew what I was getting before hand. These are display shelves; designed to hold an interesting knickknack or two on each shelf, and maybe a couple of books. For that, they work very well; they have an open, airy look, and the finish is just fine. In my case, I purchased two, and display my rock collection (fossolized wood, agates, and geodes) on them. However, I refrained from putting anything partiularly heavy on them. For example, I have an antique cast iron kettle that I considered putting on display, but decided not to after finishing off the construction. Other reviewers are quite correct: these will NOT support a heavy load. Note that the instructions recommend having two people to put them together, but I was able to do it solo. (It was a bit of a hassle to do, however.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
don't buy
 from Houston,  Oct 17, 2006

The product is very flimsy and cheap looking and is glossy black - not "antique black" as advertised. Way overpriced even at 60% off

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the price, you can't beat the quality and look
 from Raleigh, NC,  Sep 28, 2011

For the price, you can't beat the quality and look. The box came well packaged, with plenty of styrofoam and cardboard between each piece. All the hardware pieces were in little individual bags. The pieces were labeled with stickers that peel off easy, and the surprise was that the instructions were clear! The only negative was that the glue was dried up, but fortunately I had wood glue at home. I put this together myself, it was not that difficult, but I would recommend two people. It took just over an hour. The shelf was sturdy; however, for safety, I would recommend mounting the top to the wall. It does come with some holders, but I didn't care for them. I used a small wood screw and drilled through the frame, mounting it into the wall. I used some wood puddy and had some matching black rubberwood paint, and you cannot tell a small wood screw was put through it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I saw a similar rubberwood ladder shelf at High Point furniture mkt for $159. I cannot tell the difference between the two except for where the 2 side pieces fit together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Crappy Shelf
 from Miami, FL,  Oct 1, 2010

We received the shelf and were unable to put it together as the threads of the furniture locks were so poorly cut that we were unable to screw the shelf together. It is very flimsy and much worse than its slightly more expensive counterpart at target. Spend the extra money! Unfortunately, you can't return the item as return shipping is not covered and costs more than the item...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiered Ladder Shelf/Storage
 from Little Rock, Arakansas (formerly Los Angeles, CA),  Jun 8, 2008

Item arrived in shipping boxes, dinged-scratched-chipped in a couple places. So my opinion was the manufacturer's packing was rather poor. Assembly was relatively uncomplicated. Smaller and a bit flimsier than expected. Would probably have not purchsed if not already an O-member and not had an additional 10% coupon. I guess there's something to be said about actually viewing the item before deciding to buy. These shelves would be good for lighter display objects, hardly sturdy enough for books or heavier objects.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 Star Item
 from Maryland,  Feb 18, 2007

I'm very happy with this order. The leaning shelf in definitely NOT antique black but it's modern which fit my style. I assembled the furniture myself (& I'm female) for less than an hour. All in all very happy with everything.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Product, Shame about the Shipping
 from New York, NY,  Jan 24, 2007

The product itself is very nice, love the quality of it, ease of assembly, but be warned when building do not over-tighten screws, one can damage the shelves. Dissapointed one of the shelves (Sides were cracked off) arrived badly damaged (I see another reviewer had the same issue), I also repaired the damage with glue and a sharpie....Been a shopper on overstock for a while now, and was let down by this latest delivery. Too much hassle to return, easier to fix.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Trendy and Sturdy, but damaged in shipping
 from Houston, TX,  Jan 20, 2007

The shelf is very easy to assemble and built with durable wood, unlike some you might find that are made of particle board. I was dissapointed that the one I ordered was damaged in shipping. There was a chunk missing out of one of my shelfs and a few scratches on the front, but I used a sharpie to color over them and you can't even notice it anymore. The sleek design makes for a really neat design in any living room or bedroom though. Aside from my shipping mishap, I'd definitely recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a good buy
 from Asheville, NC,  Oct 21, 2006

I have one of these 5-tier ladder shelves that I bought somewhere else for the same price, and I love it. I thought they would be about the same thing, they sound and looked almost the same in the description, so I bought it. However, this one from Overstock is only 1/2 the quality, material and workmanship. I wish I'd just gone back to the other store for a much sturdier, more substantial shelving unit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing shelf, we love it!
 from New York, NY,  Nov 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I ordered this for our new place. We just moved to upper east side, nyc in a brand new, modern building. We wanted this ladder for picture frames and small home accessories. We LOVE it. It looks very nice, the quality s awesome and it goes very well with the style we were going for. Awesome product, you will not regret. I am extremely high maintenance, the quality is fine. Enjoy! (:

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very acciurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from New York, NY,  Nov 16, 2011

The product was even better then I thought it would be after purchasing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same Color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly what we were looking for
 from Sumas, WA,  Nov 11, 2011

Found this bookshelf in a local store, but I felt it was kind of spendy. Looked on Overstock.com and found the exact same one for $40 less! Not a big shelf, but perfect for where we were needing one. Easy to put together. Very pleased, once again, with Overstock.com

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as pictured!
 from Maryland,  Oct 14, 2011

This was easy to assemble. Looks just like the photo. I noticed other posts mentioned that it is not sturdy. Well, I did not purchase this to place heavy objects on. I call it my "knick knack" shelf. I use it to place my keys, mail, and other small items on when I come home. This keeps my kitchen counter from getting cluttered. In the spring, I will probably make it more needs and place like a small plant on the top shelf.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 100% quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I ordered and perfect fit!
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 10, 2011

What a great shelving unit! This fits our room and decor exactly as I had hoped! So easy to put together (I watched my husband do it in an hour). We have a variety of things on it from books to pictures to accessories. It's sturdy and looks great! I have seen similar units at various stores that are cheaper in quality but 2x the cost. I'm very pleased with this purchase. This was also my first o.co experience and am very happy with the entire process.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not a scratch on it & strong
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased!
 from Denver, CO,  May 14, 2011

I've been looking for a ladder shelf to new to use next to my fireplace on a wall area that is on the narrowside. I wanted one so that I could put my cable box and PS3 on it along with some books & dvd's, rather than have these items up on the mantle next to my flat screen t.v.. The product arrived in a timely manner and was packed securely, with no missing pieces or breaks. I was a little worried when the instructions said two people were needed to assemble. I'm female and by following the instructions with screwdriver in hand, I had it together in about 30 mins. The only thing I would caution is that the top would be more secure if you attatch it properly to you wall with the hardware supplies that were included. Mine is leaning securely with all of my items on them. I am not allowed to drill into the wall because I live in an apartment. I am very excited to walk into my living room now. The shelf is a nice accent next to the fireplace and all the items on it look nice and organized now.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color was as described.
  • How is the quality of the product? The quality was good, especially for the price.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelf
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 4, 2011

Great item! It looked better than expected and was simple to put together in about 20 minutes. It went so well with my decor that I ordered another.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 666 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 34 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Walnut Five Tier Ladder Shelf
Today $77.99
Compare $105.43
Save 26%
(1120)
Distressed Wood Folding Shelves
Today $59.00
Compare $66.00
Save 11%
(17)
Elements Ladder Shelf
Today $199.99
(8)
Back to top