Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 66 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
EXPRESSO BOOKCASE
 from Norwalk, OH,  Jan 18, 2014

The bookcase arrived quickly! It is exactly as described. My box was intact, and none of the pieces were dinged or scratched. The instructions were pretty good. Other buyers noted the need to buy a rubber mallet for the finish pegs, but I just put the soft side of a scrubby sponge over it and used my regular hammer. Worked fine. I'd suggest tweaking the bolts one more time after standing bookcase upright. The finish is apparently sprayed on, and between some of the slats it was unevenly applied, so I touched it up so it wouldn't look cheap. Having a wider slat across the back of the shelves (especially along the bottom) would help hold small books better. On Overstock's part, I didn't know there were other finishes available until the day after ordering when a selection of them popped into my facebook feed. I'm happy with the bookcase. Would gladly suggest it to friends.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous and Chic
 from MI,  Jan 14, 2014

I bought this after purchasing the 3 shelf unit. After I assembled it I found some flaws but Overstock made it right for me. Customer service has been and always is the best! As with the 3 shelf, there may be an alignment fitting issue with the top shelf but its doable. Great unit and I'm glad I have them in my house.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I wanted
 from Houston, TExas,  Dec 28, 2013

These shelves are made in Thailand - Hi Chaol, Tony and Siri! I put them together within an hour. I glued some of the joints. The very top shelf does not have pre-drilled holes. For that, I turned the entire structure upside down, resting it on the top shelf, which was loose on the floor. I positioned it all so that it was perfectly even, and then simply wrenched down real hard with my screwdriver. The wood is soft enough that I was able to screw the stop shelf sturdily to the rest of the bookcase. Although this bookcase is made entirely of natural wood, it is not a heavy piece of furniture. It is absolutely perfect for what I wanted: to store four shelves for my yarn stash, with some of my favorite Barbie dolls populating the top shelf. There is an artistic satisfaction to it. I love seeing my things displayed like this, instead of them being stuck away in bins and closets. Now, I want several hip-high shelves exactly like these for my stash of fabric and beads. Also, I love the color of these shelves: they are of a darker, reddish color, which actually fits very well with the color of most of my other furniture.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Imperial, PA,  Dec 26, 2013

I was looking for a bookshelf to fit an alcove at the bottom of a stairway. This fits perfectly- and I am so happy with it. It is a very pretty piece, and is sturdy. The price was amazing, and was easily assembled. It is exactly what I needed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really Like This Bookcase
 from Fayetteville GA,  Dec 4, 2013

The first one was broken due to poor shipping and handling. However, "O" sent me a replacement immediately! It arrived in perfect condition; was very easy to assemble; is sturdy and can hold our heavy items. Although our décor is not mission style, the dark wood allows it to blend very well with our contemporary/traditional décor. "O" continues to be my first place to shop online!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprisingly nice bookshelves
 from Little Rock, AR,  Oct 19, 2013

I wanted to get a set of bookshelves on a shoestring budget for my office, and I am so pleased with the look of these. They are pretty solid, too. Super easy to put together.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Five tier Mission Style Espresso Bookcase
 from Muskegon,Mi,  Oct 11, 2013

Bought this bookcase to use with another that I had purchased , so I was very pleased that it was just as advertised. They matched perfectly and now I have a library in my unused little bedroom. My husband thought it was pretty easy to put together. Thanks

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality made bookcase!
 from Palm coast, FL,  Oct 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I took all of the pieces out of the box to see that it really is nice, sturdy, real wood! It's color is beautiful and matches my other espresso furniture perfectly! I put it in my sons bedroom for all of his binders, folders and heavy books and it can definitely withstand all of the weight. I'm actually going to buy a few more to put in my other children's bedrooms because I know I won't have to worry about it getting damaged as it is good quality. I'm very pleased!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I should've asked a friend to help but being a man I did it myself. It took also some slight fabrication with a pocket knife, you have to whittle down some of the wooden peg in order for it to fit in the holes. other than that it's very strong I have a full encyclopedia set and some other hardcover books. its very sturdy and looks like good quality, real wood not Sauder crap!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookscase
 from Bronx,NY,  Aug 12, 2013

This bookcase is Great! My only complaint is that is not as big as I thought it was going to be but never the less I'm still pleased with my purchase. The dark brown or mocha of the bookcase brings style into my living room and it looks like I paid so much for it which I like. I don't like cheap looking furniture and this piece looks like you paid way more than you did. It's a great addition to any living room.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Bookshelf
 from Oakhurst, Texas,  Jun 20, 2013

I needed a new bookshelf and was afraid of a very shoddy product, but I was pleasantly surprised to find this to be so nice and solid feeling. I would recommend it very highly. I love it, and I love Overstock's friendly and helpful people. After many purchases I haven't had a bad experience yet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice and heavy, easy to put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, attractive & incredible value
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 11, 2013

I bought two of these, assembled them by myself without power tools, each in about 20-25 minutes (I know this for certain because I put each one together completely within an episode of Arrested Development, which run about 20-22 minutes). They are a rich, dark brown color, exactly as I expect 'espresso' to be. Reading some of the older reviews that complained about the color being more red, I think Overstock may have addressed this issue as I don't see this complaint in more recent reviews and that certainly wasn't the case here. It even comes with little wooden covers for the screw holes, which can be seated securely & without damage by a good hit with a rubber mallet. Note the shelves are very tall, so these lend themselves well to display of taller items or books. The only improvement I would make would be to offer an alternative with an additional shelf with the shelves closer together. Overstock, if you offered that item remotely close to this price, I'd pick up two tomorrow.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked the same to me
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, solid wood in rich dark finish
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
There's a reason it's on sale...
 from Lockport, IL,  May 10, 2013

I almost hate to give a negative review because it seems as if customers are thrilled with the shelves. Due to the price, we bought two of these. Both of them have areas that are badly scratched due to the boxes being strapped together. My husband managed to break one of the slats on the side - while it was laying on the floor- just by screwing it together. I guess as long as you invest in wood glue and wood touch up markers, these will work just fine. On the upside, they DO look nice. I hope they can hold my books.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's real wood. Cheap real wood but real nonetheless.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy book shelves
 from Michigan,  Feb 12, 2013

I love these shelves once I got them together. They were a pain to put together if you are doing it alone like I did. It would be much faster and easier if you had someone else there to help hold while putting them together. After you finish putting them together, pounding the screw covers on the sides were a nightmare. Some caps would fit the holes and others you had to keep moving till you found a hole that fit. I do like the depth of the shelves. They hold my printer well enough I don't fear it will fall off while using. The shelves seem heavy enough too, that they won't sag from the weight of the books either. All and all they look great in my living room with all my books and knick-knacks. I would recommend these bookshelves.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Close Call in Shipping, Beautiful Bookshelf
 from The Great Northwest,  Feb 9, 2013

I received my bookshelf right on time. The top of the box, however, was torn in shipping and I was very fortunate that my little package of screws and nuts and bolts didn't fall out--I counted all of them and by some miracle they were all there even though the little bag was torn. After that, everything went quite well! My pieces were not damaged, were in perfect condition and the holes were all drilled correctly. I am not a proponent of putting things together--AT ALL- ug. However, I put this together, by myself, in about 2 hours. (Would have gone faster had I not put it together backwards the first time). Just a smidge wobbly, but it stabilized after I put my books on it and it looks very nice.(Could have been the wood floor it was sitting on). Be sure and have a rubber mallet to pound in the little pieces that cover the screw-holes. I used a hammer, because they were difficult to pound it, and I wore the finish off a bit, but using the right tool would take care of that issue. In my experience of ordering bookshelves and DIY products on-line, this one, I feel, was a great purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from Rock Springs, Wyoming,  Feb 1, 2013

We used this in our open floor plan dinning/kitchen for cookbooks and sundry; just lovely

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from Jacksonville FL,  Jan 24, 2013

These shelves are a great value. I shopped locally and could not find anything near this price. Ashley had a similar bookshelf "on sale" for 3x's the price. My husband and son had some minor issues putting the 1st one together. They gave up on using the allen wrench that came with the package and the 2nd unit went up just fine. Liked these shelves so much that I bought a 3rd one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelves are a fair buy
 from Ormond Beach, FL,  Jan 19, 2013

Once assembled and you begin using the book shelves, you find them a bit wobbly. Finish was not the best so I plan to paint them and possibly brace them to the wall to make them move stable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good compairson
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Finish could be better - Plan to paint them
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nicely made
 from Debbie, Chestertown MD.,  Jan 5, 2013

I bought 2 of these because it was nicely made to display pictures in my husbands office.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark brown wood, not black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my small place
 from Marysville, WA,  Dec 22, 2012

Would recommend to anyone - a nice enhancement to my casual living room and looks great now spruced up for the holidays.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good - a little lightweight but so am I, so it was easy to maneuver!.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 66 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Montego 5-tier Bookcase
Today $95.99
Compare $124.00
Save 23%
(50)
Mission Style 3-tier Shelf
Today $59.17
Compare $88.77
Save 33%
(62)
Open Shelf Bookcase
Today $163.99
(38)
Back to top