Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 129 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Does the trick
 from Washington, dc,  Dec 20, 2011

This shelf definitely does the trick, is sturdy, and holds books without any trouble. Putting it together was easy, and it looks good! Altogether pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little more brown, but reasonably accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. a bit dinged, not high-end, but very good value
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookcase, but not high quality.
 from Apollo Beach, FL,  Jul 10, 2012

Positives: It is real wood! You can actually see the grains. It is a good size and looks beautiful. The picture does not do it justice. Negatives: Even though it's real wood, it's a soft, light-weight, wood. I believe it will probably not stand up to abuse and could easily dent. The bookcase came dented and there was a small crack in it; however, neither are noticeable from the front so I didn't return it. The assembly was difficult for one person but was a breeze when my boyfriend helped hold the pieces in place. The allen key that came with it was not made properly (the edges were rounded) and after about 10 minutes of not realizing why I couldn't tighten the bolts, I had to use another one from my toolbox. You'll also need a phillips head screw driver and a rubber mallet. A cordless drill/electric screwdriver made the assembly much easier and faster. None of the pieces are labelled (which is nice that you don't have to try to scrape off those stickers); however, you'll have to carefully look at the diagram to figure out which piece is the left and right sides (the double holes go towards the inside-back of the bookcase). The bookcase is made of a very light-weight wood, and as such, is not very stable until you put some heavy books on the bottom shelves. I would not recommend this bookcase for houses with small children or pets unless you secure it to the wall. Overall, I love the look of the final product, and will actually purchase a second one once the item becomes available again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great. Came dented and cracked.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase, except for one major flaw
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 9, 2014

I bought this bookshelf several months ago and had been meaning to write a review (since I always read them prior to a purchase :-) I have had a really good experience with this bookcase - it looks great, nice wood, sturdy for my books, yet light enough for me to move alone. However, there is one caveat that ruined it all for me a made me give a lower review; it can with a few knicks in the wood (which i could overlook reasonably), but in addition to this the shelf was obviously manufactured incorrectly and portions of it did not line up! I read that someone else had this experience, and unfortunately it happended to me. I am super busy and would not consider sending it back, etc. So I just made due and had to damage certain parts of it to put it together safe & securely. It was quite a fiasco and really annoyed me, how could they actually manufacture it incorrectly?!? Well, save for this - my review would have been much higher.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy enough to buy another
 from Virginia,  Dec 23, 2011

Went with this one as it was the cheapest bookshelf I found on Overstock and liked it so much we decided to get another. Hubby had no trouble putting it together, looks nice and real wood is a plus. 4 stars because the wood is dented and scraped in places, but only on the underside of the shelves and so really not visible. A good deal for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Had some scrapes and dents but good overall
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Bookcase
 from NY,NY,  Dec 22, 2011

Love this bookcase!!! It is beautiful and is exactly what I wanted! Thanks Overstock!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice 5-Tier bookcase, but....
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Dec 9, 2012

Git the bookcase assembled today and I like it except.... the color is NOT espresso, which I consider to be a black/brown color. This shelf is a reddish brown, much lighter than I wanted and lighter than the photos made it appear. But I can live with it, just disappointed because I wanted black/brown.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not accurate at all
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy, fairly well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to Put Together
 Nov 14, 2015

Even though this is real wood, it is light. I had to problem picking up the box from UPS and loading it in the back seat of my car. I put it together myself under an hour, but it would have been easier with two people as one screws the shelves together. Once assembled, it holds pretty good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These shelves are attractive and easy to assemble.
 from VT,  Mar 29, 2014

I was pleased that these were solid wood shelves and that they were easy to assemble except for the top shelf which did not come drilled. You have to figure and mark where the screws are going to go. I didn't find it that difficult to do. The shelves have enough length to each one which enables one to put the same size book or object on any shelf, which I found very helpful and practical. It has a nice look to it. I give it an excellent review.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A little tippy but otherwise great
 from Washington, DC suburb,  Feb 18, 2014

The bookshelf is nice-looking dark solid wood. Easy to put together (I managed myself in about an hour with no special tools). It is a little tippy and a little bit rickety (you get what you pay for) but with heavy things on it stable and attractive, and fits a lot of stuff. A little narrower than measurements alone would indicate --inside the shelf width is about 27 inches. Great value for the money but not the most sturdy/solid bookcase in the world. I am quite pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So pleased!
 Aug 3, 2016

This is a great book shelf that I purchased for my son's room. Easy to install, good quality made of solid wood, desk able priced and easy to assemble. Some reviews mentioned trouble putting it together and misalignments issues however I did not experience that but I should point out do not tighten the screws until you finish assemble maybe that was the problem with others. I assemble both bookcases in less than 1.5 hours. Highly recommend this produce and my son loved them

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sandy
 Jul 13, 2016

Its working for me so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mr.
 Jul 11, 2016

Good book case and easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Five Tier Mission Style Bookcase
 Jun 27, 2016

Easy to assemble, good quality

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Salon Owner
 Apr 20, 2016

This shelf is perfect for tight spaces. It is perfect for the products we put on it!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
for my Kitchen
 Apr 6, 2016

one of the bookcases was cracked when arrived...instead of going through sending it back I assembled and used it in mu kitchen to hold dishes and glassware...seems study enough and looks fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant but wobbly
 Apr 4, 2016

This is exactly what I wanted. I didn't want a bulky bookcase since this was going into a small office/den but it is not sturdy. We put an earthquake strap in the back to hold it to the wall and that helped. Putting heavier book on the bottom also helped. It's more of a cherry wood.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Read this
 Mar 14, 2016

Please be advised that although this bookcase is typical for its type, 1. its finish is not really finished. It was rough and we had to take very fine sandpaper and smooth the finish. 2. its color is not true Espresso. It is more of a cherry walnut. Espresso doesn't have red in it. 3. not all of the predrilled holes for the screws were big enough. We bought smaller diameter screws. The only reason we did not return these cases was the time factor. We did not have time to wait for another shipment or search for other shelves. All said, everyone who enters the room comments on how good the bookcases look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Living room shelves
 Mar 13, 2016

I love it. Some of the screw covers would not fit into the space for them. It was quite easy to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little bookcase
 Feb 22, 2016

I ordered 2 of these for my office. They were relatively easy to put together. A couple of the shelves were slightly damaged due to the staps being pulled too tight, but not badly enough to return the item. They are very sturdy and are perfect for my office. I am able to move them by myself and I like them so much I am going to order another one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My taste
 Feb 16, 2016

Your furniture looks great in my home,😚

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 129 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought