Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Does the trick
 from Washington, dc,  Dec 20, 2011

This shelf definitely does the trick, is sturdy, and holds books without any trouble. Putting it together was easy, and it looks good! Altogether pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little more brown, but reasonably accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. a bit dinged, not high-end, but very good value
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookcase, but not high quality.
 from Apollo Beach, FL,  Jul 10, 2012

Positives: It is real wood! You can actually see the grains. It is a good size and looks beautiful. The picture does not do it justice. Negatives: Even though it's real wood, it's a soft, light-weight, wood. I believe it will probably not stand up to abuse and could easily dent. The bookcase came dented and there was a small crack in it; however, neither are noticeable from the front so I didn't return it. The assembly was difficult for one person but was a breeze when my boyfriend helped hold the pieces in place. The allen key that came with it was not made properly (the edges were rounded) and after about 10 minutes of not realizing why I couldn't tighten the bolts, I had to use another one from my toolbox. You'll also need a phillips head screw driver and a rubber mallet. A cordless drill/electric screwdriver made the assembly much easier and faster. None of the pieces are labelled (which is nice that you don't have to try to scrape off those stickers); however, you'll have to carefully look at the diagram to figure out which piece is the left and right sides (the double holes go towards the inside-back of the bookcase). The bookcase is made of a very light-weight wood, and as such, is not very stable until you put some heavy books on the bottom shelves. I would not recommend this bookcase for houses with small children or pets unless you secure it to the wall. Overall, I love the look of the final product, and will actually purchase a second one once the item becomes available again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great. Came dented and cracked.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy enough to buy another
 from Virginia,  Dec 23, 2011

Went with this one as it was the cheapest bookshelf I found on Overstock and liked it so much we decided to get another. Hubby had no trouble putting it together, looks nice and real wood is a plus. 4 stars because the wood is dented and scraped in places, but only on the underside of the shelves and so really not visible. A good deal for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Had some scrapes and dents but good overall
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Bookcase
 from NY,NY,  Dec 22, 2011

Love this bookcase!!! It is beautiful and is exactly what I wanted! Thanks Overstock!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase, except for one major flaw
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 9, 2014

I bought this bookshelf several months ago and had been meaning to write a review (since I always read them prior to a purchase :-) I have had a really good experience with this bookcase - it looks great, nice wood, sturdy for my books, yet light enough for me to move alone. However, there is one caveat that ruined it all for me a made me give a lower review; it can with a few knicks in the wood (which i could overlook reasonably), but in addition to this the shelf was obviously manufactured incorrectly and portions of it did not line up! I read that someone else had this experience, and unfortunately it happended to me. I am super busy and would not consider sending it back, etc. So I just made due and had to damage certain parts of it to put it together safe & securely. It was quite a fiasco and really annoyed me, how could they actually manufacture it incorrectly?!? Well, save for this - my review would have been much higher.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice 5-Tier bookcase, but....
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Dec 9, 2012

Git the bookcase assembled today and I like it except.... the color is NOT espresso, which I consider to be a black/brown color. This shelf is a reddish brown, much lighter than I wanted and lighter than the photos made it appear. But I can live with it, just disappointed because I wanted black/brown.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not accurate at all
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy, fairly well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I was pleased that these were solid wood shelves and that they were easy to assemble except for the top shelf which did not come drilled. You have to figure and mark where the screws are going to go. I didn't find it that difficult to do. The shelves have enough length to each one which enables one to put the same size book or object on any shelf, which I found very helpful and practical. It has a nice look to it. I give it an excellent review.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A little tippy but otherwise great
 from Washington, DC suburb,  Feb 18, 2014

The bookshelf is nice-looking dark solid wood. Easy to put together (I managed myself in about an hour with no special tools). It is a little tippy and a little bit rickety (you get what you pay for) but with heavy things on it stable and attractive, and fits a lot of stuff. A little narrower than measurements alone would indicate --inside the shelf width is about 27 inches. Great value for the money but not the most sturdy/solid bookcase in the world. I am quite pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Good condition and actually made of real wood

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Looks great and easy to put together!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Exactly what I expected. A cheap bookcase that is easy to move. I wouldn't put anything heavy on the top two shelves. Books at bottom, periodicals next, toys and statuettes at the top (or pictures).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Perfect for a kid's room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bargain
 May 2, 2015

I was looking for a real wood bookcase that wouldn't break the bank, and this was it! The bookcase looks very nice. I'm impressed by the quality and it was easy to assemble. As another reviewer said, the wood is soft, so I would use some caution so it doesn't get dents. Mine arrived with only one small scratch, but I assembled it so that it was hidden. Assembly was easy. It took me a little over an hour to do by myself. You will need a rubber mallet. I don't know if you'll necessarily need a power drill, but you'll at least need a Phillips head screwdriver. As others said, it is wobbly, but as long as it's not getting bumped into, there's nothing to worry about. Love my new bookcase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hmm?
 Apr 29, 2015

Either it was me or the quality of the product. It wasn't a bad piece, but it wasn't as sturdy as I had expected. There's a chance that it just needs some tightening, but I'm not too sure =).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Exact color requested, and easily put together. Very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Solid and stable. Made of real wood so it looks nice, not like bargain furniture. It doesn't have the gravitas of a wood bookcase with solid sides and back, but that makes it a better match for some rooms. Assembly was easy, and the delivery cost is a tiny fraction of the cost for a fully assembled bookcase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I have two of these bookcases in my craft room. I needed somewhere to store my quilting books and patterns. I have added some baskets for easy storage. They were easy to assemble and look great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this piece
 Mar 26, 2015

Beautiful design. Easy to assemble. It holds a lot of books without adding “bulk to the bedroom where it is placed. Some reviews said it was wobbly. It is not wobbly but I agree, like any dresser or bookcase, it should be attached to the wall if young children are in the home as a safety precaution.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Height
 Mar 25, 2015

The bookcase was easy to assemble unless you had a dog that wanted to walk off with all the wood bars. It was just what I was looking for to display books and nick knack stuff and size was perfect for the area.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

more decorative than functional

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought