Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great, well made
 from Marin County, CA,  Feb 7, 2012

Great piece. We use it in the entrance for shoes, storage, etc... Was hesitant after the reviews of the smell but when it came, I knew what it was. It is the type of wood that is causing the menthol like smell. We had a tree cut down in our yard that gave off the same smell for days. It is not any coating or paint that I could see or feel. Otherwise, easy to put together and my husband commented that it was a nice looking piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value, Holds a lot of stuff
 from VA,  Feb 24, 2012

I bought this product for my young son's room to hold toys. It holds more toys than I expected and I like the bins because he can't dump out a whole box at at time like he did with his previous plastic bins. It was easy to assemble. There was an initial treated wood smell that went away within 12 hours. I am very happy with the product and the price on overstock was $40 cheaper than the same product on other websites.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. for the price the quality was better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Storage Solution
 from Waunakee, WI,  Dec 20, 2011

I needed a storage solution for my granddaughter's color books, colors, stickers, etc. This is perfect. The size of the cubbies are perfect for color books, etc. As always the item was shipped and received within a few days of ordering. My husband had no problem assembling the storage cubby and it was up and ready to go within an hour. I love the size of this storage cubby. It is not large but can accommodate lots of supplies. Don't be discouraged to not order because of the comments about the odor. It went away within hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Durable outdoor cubby
 from Texas,  Oct 10, 2013

What a perfect piece to store those outdoor towels, sun screen bottles, bug spray, etc.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
storage rack
 from South Louisiana,  Mar 6, 2013

Pretty rustic, fairly solid. glad I bought it, but it is not fine furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? y
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than average for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice storage cubby
 from NC mountains,  Feb 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the cubby. Solid wood, pieces all fit together, wooden pins lined up in factory-drilled holes -- at this price I was expecting to have to do some modifications to get it put together, but assembly was straightforward. Very sturdy, and exactly what I needed to organize my mudroom area. As others have noted, it does have a strong smell when it comes out of the box; I left it outside for a couple of days before moving it indoors, so not a problem. I also wiped down the pieces before assembling, as the finish/stain seemed a little wet in spots (that, and the smell, would indicate it had been stained very recently, but again, not a problem if you're expecting it.) Very well packaged, arrived with no damage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Poor Style : Excellent
Very poor quality
 from Pennsylvania,  Feb 2, 2014

We purchased this as storage for our sons play room. When attempting to put this together, the wood splintered in multiple areas as the wood is extremely cheap. Some of the screws did not go in all the way causing concern if they were to come out over time. The wood has no polyurethane finish so it is rough which could also cause problems with splinters. Great style but extremely poor quality causing major safety concerns for children. I would not recommend.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Good Style : Excellent
Helpful cubby!
 from North Dakota,  Apr 29, 2014

For the price, these are very nice and functional, much better than a plastic or other cheap alternative. With 4 kids and no mud room, I needed a functional piece that would look nice inside the house...we have two! These provide a lot of needed storage area for us for hats, gloves, scarves, extra shoes and such. They are somewhat sturdy and some of the front lips have popped off their screws. Please note again, this review is based on daily usage by 4 kids. I would buy them again if I needed too, but they are still going strong!

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Solid Storage Cubby
 from Somewhere, Minnesota,  Feb 28, 2014

We were looking for a storage cubby for our son's toys that was a bit more solid than the kids furniture storage options that are out there. This ended up being perfect. His toys fit conveniently in all the compartments without the risk of them falling out. After he is done with this in his room it will be able to be used in another part of the home for storage as well. I highly recommend this piece as it is a long term value at a reasonable price. The picture online is accurate, the size is larger than I expected (but very happy with this), and the wood is a porous fir wood. Being the wood is porous something may need to be laid over the top if water glasses, etc. are set on it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Poor
dont buy it
 from Colorado,  Oct 10, 2013

cheap materials - boards were warped and uneven. Very disappointed in the quality and will be sending it back.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Perfect storage
 from westchester, ny,  Aug 30, 2013

Ok, so the instructions could use some help - it would be nice to know that putting the bottom and sides on first is best, than inner dividers. And some of the holes were not really drilled, but the wood is soft enough to just make your own. But really, for a hundred bucks, this is the best cubby you can find. The wood has a scent - that's not chemicals, its the wood - same thing happens with Pine. It is sturdy, attractive and the cubby holes are big enough for my husband's size 13 boots but useful for all the mittens, hats and boots for my 1 year old twins. I also bought the top piece, which looks really nice, and another one of these for my mudroom.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute cubby cabinet
 from New York, NY,  Nov 16, 2012

This cubby cabinet comes stained, but unfinished. It was easy to put together, except that the holes for the four feet were missing so that had to be drilled. Since it was unfinished, i gave it 2 coats of polyurethane that darkened the cabinet a bit. It holds quite a bit despite being somewhat small. For the price, it can't be beat.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Decent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for entryway shoe storage
 from Iowa,  Oct 12, 2012

Good product, fits children's Uggs on the middle shelfs perfectly, 2-3 pairs of childrens shoes per cubby, 2 pair of women's size 8.5 shoes per cubby. Easy to assemble, I did it by hand without a drill... though a power screwdriver would have helped I didn't want to take the time to hunt one down in hubby's shop. I didn't think it smelled bad, the pieces were not wet as others have complained. I think it smelled like new wood. I aired it outside just in case for a few hours, when I brought it in I didn't notice any smell overly strong.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Summerville, SC,  Jul 17, 2012

I love this cubby. My husband's shoes and work boots fit perfectly. I'd order another one, but it's out of stock right now.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looks the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice!
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Mar 23, 2012

I also used this piece in my daughter's room. The finish matched her other furniture perfectly and it's a very nice addition to her room. The cubbies are perfect for toys and books. I really like this piece. As other people mentioned, the varnish does have a strong smell and it took a while before the smell went away. This will definitely not be an issue if you are using it outside.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color matched the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood is soft, but overall seems like a good quality. No particle board.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This cubby is perfect.
 from Georgia,  Mar 20, 2012

My husband actually me a couple of these in singles--when he saw this cubby he stated that he could not have made this cubby for this price. It is exactly what I was expecting when I purchased it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fir Wood Storage Cubby
 from Andover, MN,  Mar 9, 2012

After my husband put it together it looked perfect. I use it for toys for my grandkids who I take care of and it works perfect. Even my daughter liked it better than her plastic one. Very good looking and functional.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality was excellant
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fir Wood Storage Cubby
 from iowa,  Dec 7, 2011

We had a very cluttered entry and now it looks so nice and organized. We LOVE this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Item
 from Iowa,  Nov 30, 2011

I first saw this item featured in Real Simple (Nov 2011?) magazine – so I went to the website that was mentioned in the article. That company charged $189.00 and the item was out of stock. Thank goodness – since I probably would’ve ordered it. I then checked OverStock and found it for $$$!!! Now that I have the cubby put together I will hunt around for the wire basket that the magazine showed in the picture. I was hesitant to purchase this cubby after I read the comments on the smell – so I looked for similar items and the reviews (at other websites too) also mentioned odor problems with other cubbies. In the end I decided to buy this item. When I opened the box the instructions noted that this was an indoor/outdoor item and it was treated with an oil based stain. Ah Hah! I have just put the item together and will keep in our garage for a week or so until the smell of stain diminishes. I was glad others had mentioned the odor, since I then knew I wouldn’t put it in the house the day before Thanksgiving company came. This item is actually wood – all wood. Some type of fir….All the pre-drilled holes matched up very well. Guess what – the company sends the amount of screws you need, plus 1 extra!!! I didn’t think any company did that any more. (The company is Merry Products.) My 3 year-old and I put this together in about an hour. I looks better in person than in the picture. We will use for shoes, mittens and misc items This is a great product and the best price around!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my home
 from Gurnee, IL,  Nov 12, 2011

This was very easy to assemble. The only drawback was that it smelled heavily of the stain, but I let it air out for a few days in the garage and now it is inside the house without a problem. Attractive, holds a lot of shoes!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Outdoor 4-tier Shoe Rack/ Cubby
Today $139.98
Compare $238.49
Save 41%
(27)
Bamboo Shoe Bench
Today $70.63
(3)
Back to top