Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Picky Customer
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jul 11, 2012

So let me start off by saying this: I NEVER reviewed a product in my life before. This bed exceeded so many of my expectations that I decided to break that trend and actually write a helpful review for all you picky customers like me. I'm a very detail oriented individual, and I require nothing but the best in my life. I was skeptical about the sturdiness of this bed and the quality of it for the lower price that it's offered at. Let me tell you, this bed will NOT move once you set it up. Very heavy and sturdy legs keep this bad boy in place, even when you are having a fun night with the significant other, you will not break this bed. The color and quality of the solid wood is superb. Also, I did not expect a rich espresso finish on such a low price bed, but got it with this bed. The leather on the headboard is exceptional and very well put together. My bed came with zero blemishes or imperfections (packaged very well). I'm using a Simmons ComforPedic LOFT foam mattress on this bed and one thing I was worried about was if the warranty would be void with the slatted platform system. According to Simmons, the slats need to be 2.5 inches apart for the warranty to be in tact. The slats in this bed are about 2.25 inches apart.. however, I did one better and placed a 1/4 inch plywood on top of the slat system and now I have a perfectly smooth base for my new foam mattress to rest on; keeping the warranty well in-tact. The lower support "beam" has 3 legs keeping the center of the bed very sturdy. The headboard on this bed is rather thick, which I actually like. I can keep my iPad, phone, and anything else close by and secure on top of the headboard. This bed has a low and modern look, which is what I was looking for. Bottom line, for this money, you will NOT find a better deal on a solid wood bed. Go for it and treat yourself, you will not be dissapointed, I assure you. Now let me go back to sleep!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Feb 17, 2011

I am in love with my new queen-sized platform bed! The leather upholstery gives it an elegant, modern touch and the foam padding on the headboard is also nice -- no more bumping my noggin on something hard! Best of all, itís made from sustainable and super-durable rubberwood. Overall, the effect is has had on my bedroom is remarkble. I feel like Iím sleeping in a 4-star modern hotel. Note: donít be worried about the fact that there is no boxspring -- this has wooden slats instead. Simple, comfortable support.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the quality !
 from Albany, NY,  Jan 21, 2011

I purchased this bed not long ago and I am very impressed with the quality of the bed. The bed is very strong and solid, I love the unique combination of the leather and the rich finish solid wood. The leather looks great and the cappuccino color finish for the wooden portions look really elegant and unique! I must mention that I am very impressed with the color finish because the color is rich and perfectly finished unlike other less quality beds. One thing is for sure, every thing about this bed is beyond my expectations! The style of this bed represents a very simple, clean and bold line. I am glad that I have made the right decision to purchase this bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super!
 from NYC,  Oct 17, 2011

Great bed! Love the fact that it is made with eco-friendly rubberwood, which is a very strong, sustainable wood source. The bi-cast leather is first-rate and the foam padded headboard looks quite elegant and makes it look like I paid a lot more for this piece. Frankly, I am most impressed with the price. For under $$$, my bedroom got a serious facelift that has changed the whole character of the room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Divine
 from Mystic, CT,  Oct 8, 2011

This bed is awesome! Itís masculine without being macho, for when your girlfriend wants to add floral sheets and fluffy pillows (you know what I mean when separate houses become one). The frame is strong, keeps our specialty mattress firmly in place (no uneven spots or the mattress hanging off of the edges), and one of the best investments I ever made! If we get a bigger place, I'm adding one of these beds to the guest room!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sleeping like s stylish baby
 from Kansas,  Jul 26, 2011

Iíve always been a horrible sleeper. Iíd wake up constantly in the middle of the night, tossing and turning. Well, I finally decided to get a ďrealĒ bed instead of a mattress on the floor. I canít believe I didnít upgrade sooner, because now I sleep like a baby. The ancient Greek epic poet Homer wrote, ďEven where sleep in concerned, too much is a bad thing.Ē Well, Homer obviously never fell asleep in the Fenton Modern Dark Brown Queen Platform Bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed but...
 from Colorado,  Aug 20, 2013

So let me preface this review by saying I love this bed. It has great style. It's sexy and masculine. However, the boxes were delivered a little dented so I was concerned that there was going to be damage to the bed. There were some scuff marks and small chips in the wood when it arrived. All the marks happened to be on the inside of the frame and not visible when the bed is actually put together with the mattress on top of it so I just let it go. Another issue is there was a lot of mold growing on the frame itself. This was not a huge issue. I just cleaned it off and was good to go. I would have given this bed 5 stars if not for the condition I received it in. That being said this is still a great bed and I plan on using it to it's fullest.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed.
 from Ohio,  Oct 15, 2012

We have had this bed for 9 months with no complaints. Keep in mind that this is a low-profile bed which was fine for us as we purchased a very thick (14") mattress to go with it. The result is a perfect height for us. The bed is well built and was easy enought to assemble ( probably easier than the time I had putting on a zip up mattress cover. Its design is sleek and contemporary. We have an oriental motif in a large room with a sitting area at one end. It looks great and we have received complements on our good taste (ha!) Anyway, the bed is built very sturdy with no give or shake. I really enjoy having the depth in our headboard so that I can place my book or kindle on after my nightly read. A++

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Righ on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly recommended!
 from TEXAS,  Oct 9, 2011

Great platform bed! Looks perfect in our modern and minimal home. And of course, we love the fact that it features eco-friendly construction, which is becoming more of a necessity for us as we try to be more socially responsible consumers! But as this piece proves, you donít need to sacrifce quality or style when you go for products that are sustainably made! Chalk one up for the rainforest -- hopefully it wasnít affected by this manufacture of this bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Zen Bedroom!
 from New York Metro Area,  Aug 26, 2011

The only thing that I worried about was the light wood slats that support the mattress. One was broken out of the box, but I let it go since there were so many other supporting slats. (I checked how it felt and if I can't tell it's not there.) My husband and I are pleased with the look and quality. Everyone that sees it is impressed as well. The style and quality shine through! It's gorgeous and we recommend this item to anyone who wants a modern, minimalist look and high quality. We love this bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on my screen is pretty accurate (espresso brown frame with black leather headboard)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wooden bed frame is SOLID construction. The wood slats that support the mattress seem too light for their purpose but do the job surprisingly well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The online description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inspirational
 from Illinois,  Aug 5, 2011

I got this bed after reading the reviews and I must say, thank you reviewers! This is a supreme investment in not only my comfort by my personal style! My bedroom looks better than ever before and it has inspired me to upgrade my entire house with better looking stuff, which of course I plan to do on Overstock! Their customer service is helpful and everything arrive in absolutely perfect condition!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid yet airy, eco-friendly design
 from Tempe, AZ,  Jul 24, 2011

The Fenton platform bed has really given my bedroom a serious uplift! I love the eco-friendly, sustainable rubberwood design, which manages to be both airy and solid looking at the same time. The foam padding of the headboard is nice and cushy and the slatted construction means I was able to dump my boxspring! The dark brown hue is deep and rich and the whole thing was a snap to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
We love this bed.
 from Seattle, WA,  Apr 5, 2011

Overstock should take a look at their shippers. The main difficulty with this purchase was the manner in which it was shipped. The boxes were free falling all over the truck interior and one box had been snapped in half! My husband and I were surprised that the wooden bed frame was still in one piece. There was a resulting gouge on the edge of the frame that we will re-stain. We really like the way the bed looks and it is too much trouble to send back. Overall the bed is gorgeous! Deep rich color and solid frame. There was difficulty with the wooden slats that the mattress lies on. They were very warped and difficult to lay down in place. It is doable and worth it with patience.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Absolutely
  • How is the quality of the product? The wood frame is beautiful in color and it seems like solid wood. Very good quality with the exception of the wooden slats the mattress lies on..
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish and won't overpower a smaller bedroom
 from Seattle,  Mar 12, 2014

This queen sized platform bed is stylish and low profile; perfect if your bedroom is on the smaller side. The snap-in curved wood slat system, with plastic "spanners" in the center was something different that I'd not dealt with before...have a rubber mallet on hand to tap the end caps and the center spanners into the pre-drilled holes in the frame. (A regular hammer will crack the plastic.) A little tricky, but once you hear them "snap" into the holes, they stay put. Nice that the frame has support legs down the center. My foam mattress seems to be well supported by the unusual slat system--but no guests have slept on it yet; we'll see! Leather on headboard was neatly attached and in perfect condition; stain on the wood is nice, rich color.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bed with leather headboard.
 from Virginia,  Jul 22, 2013

My husband has been ill. Unfortunately, he has a tendency to lean his head again the headboard during the night. I felt it would be better to switch to a bed with a headboard that is padded. This product really fit the bill as the headboard is super thick and nicely padded. Also, it was fairly easy to assemble. The only thing I did not like was the center support for holding the mattress. I substituted boards I had cut to size at the local hardware store. I just laid they across and inside the bed's frame (plenty of inside shelf space to rest the boards) and it worked much better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I was looking for
 from Boston, MA,  Jul 21, 2013

This bed was exactly what I was looking for; More modern and minimalistic with the ability to easily match other furniture items. The quality is pretty good for the price, though the slats on the platform seem a bit flimsy. That's something that could easily be rectified at a later point in time if necessary. The wood is a deep, rich color, but it should be known that it is fairly soft. Not really a big deal, but just something to keep in mind. It's more on the softness of pine than oak. Assembly shouldn't take more than about 15-20 minutes. This bed is pretty heavy, which I love, and ships via freight in three boxes. Because of the size and weight, the bed was shipped via freight. This will add a lot of time before it'll arrive compared to normal shipping carriers Overstock uses.. Be careful and attentive when they deliver this to your house. Inspect all three packages carefully. Mine arrived with a huge hole in one box with a matching hole on the footboard inside. Unfortunately, I did not notice the damage to the box because the delivery guys placed the box with the hole facing down and underneath the other two boxes. Customer service at Overstock was great, and promptly and courteously responding to my inquiry to obtain a replacement footboard. It was Overstock's warehouse that delayed the delivery of the replacement footboard for nearly 5 weeks, though (some garbage excuse about them relocating to a different building and 'forgetting' to ship out 'some' packages). Regardless, I am very happy with how customer service handled the replacement request, and the replacement footboard arrived double-boxed via FedEx without any issues.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Above Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous Bed!
 from San Francisco Bay Area,  May 29, 2013

This is my third furniture piece purchased on Overstock and I cannot be more pleased with all of the purchases! I selected this bed based on reviews and also trusted reviewers' comments about rubber wood and how solid this bed really is. They are not lying, this is a very well built bed! I would highly recommend this bed for its contemporary design and solid build. Cannot beat it for the price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superior quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Such a great addition
 from Brooklyn NY,  Apr 22, 2013

This bed is great. As a big guy (6'2" ~250lbs) I've broken many beds just coming home after a long day of work and passing out. This bed's construction is solid and paired with a great set of sheets and a memory foam mattress I never want to leave. It fits perfectly on the area rug I also purchased from Overstock, and with the Ludlow Cube nightstands I couldn't be happier with the way my apartment looks. I would recommend this bed to anyone. While the price is fairly high for 'just' a bed...I'm one of those people that will pay a premium for quality and I've gotten it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well built, extremely easy to put together
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to build, extremely sturdy.
 from Houston Texas,  Apr 2, 2013

I love this bed. It's manly, modern, the frame is hard as a rock, extremely sturdy and easy to build. The wood color is rich and the headboard looks like real leather. Only 2 things I didn't like. 1. Somehow I overlooked on the description that it is bicast leather, and I hate fake leather.(it looks REAL tho) 2. If you want to see your headboard?, you better get a thin thin mattress, cuz it's waaay to low. But, it's pretty deep, so you can put your cell phone, a computer, a sofa, a fish tank ect. (you get the point) The frame is contemporary (which I love) and super hard, so becareful with your toes, cuz it's gonna hurt. (trust me, I know) I gave this product 5 stars, I'm in love with my beeed, I'm in love with my beeed. yup, I love my bed. that that that's all folks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just like in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fenton bed
 from Florida,  Feb 26, 2013

I got this bed delivered and it was damaged. Overstock.com gave a full refund and they were easy to work with. I believe it was damaged in delivery. The bed is a nice contemporary piece, my friend bought one and it is beautiful. Buy it if you like a modern style.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top