Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Detroit,  Mar 6, 2011

This is my 4th pressure cooker in as many months. I first bought a super cheap one to make beans for my Colombian exchange student, and was amazed at what a pressure cooker could do. The lid on that model was horrible and it became unusable within a week, but hey it was $10 new. That one had a rocker style release, which was a bit noisy and crazy, but was awesome in that you could "hear" when it went to pressure. Strike one. Next one, the Wolfgang Puck model off of Overstock. Started good, liked the electric set it and forget it, but it stopped working with only a few uses and past the return time by less than a month. That is a separate review, but avoid that model. I then bought a stock pot size of a Fagor and LOVED it! Hence, the purchase of this smaller model. Let me start with how easy it is to get the gasket in and out and the lid on and off. No small feat mind you given my experience with the other models!! Very easy, and when you release the pressure it is managed well, unlike my cheap model spewing foulness up on my ceiling one day. Next, it comes to pressure quickly and cooks evenly- fantastic meals for my family in minutes! Clean up is also very simple. You can tell when this comes to pressure when a little part pops up, sorta like a pop up timer on a turkey, but on a smaller scale. This makes it quiet, although I feel like I should monitor it until this occurs to adjust the heat. Pressure cookers save a boat load of energy so you can feel good about it being a green choice. This bad boy seems to be very durable, and I am super harsh on kitchenware, and even I do not think I will mess this up. Recipes are critical to a good experience if you are new, and I would encourage you to purchase a good cook book- Lorna Sass is a good author that I can recommend either her Pressure Perfect (a great intro for beginners) or her One Pot version (my kind of cooking). Examples of what i cook- unstuffed cabbage rolls literally from start to finish (including chopping) 15 minutes, pasta with homemade sauce in under 15, beef stroganoff (frozen meatballs for the meat) in less than 20, and all of these times include the time it takes to pull out the cookware, dice and dump ingredients in, cook, and serve. A working mom's angel! I also now make homemade chicken broth with excellent quality compared to what I used to buy and a whole lot cheaper. For the first time in my life I made pinto beans starting from the dried state, and it was wonderful. I am only just getting started with recipes, so you can imagine how much more you can do that I have not even started yet!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!!!
 from Lakewood Ranch, FL,  Aug 16, 2011

I have used pressure cookers for a long time and this is my favorite one. The size is great. For those, like me, who didn't know how big to go, the 6 qt cooker is good for curries when you are using 1-2 pounds of meat but it can also do larger quantities. I needed a larger pot and I have a 4 qt, which is too small for my needs. It is a heavy stainless steel and I would steer away from aluminum due to the nature of its use. Aluminum won't last as long, and there is a reason it's cheaper than the stainless. I really love this, I would recommend it to anyone...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent craftsmanship, love the locking mechanism
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the best!!!
 from Philadelphia,  Dec 4, 2010

This is the best pressure cooker I have ever used, and I have used different ones for the last 30 years of cooking. The Fagor cooks faster and more evenly than I've ever known a cooker to do. The release valve is an excellent option. Overall a great buy making great food results.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fagor Splendid 6-quart Pressure Cooker
 from San Jacinto, CA,  Jun 10, 2011

This is my second Fagor Pressure because I was telling one of my kids how great it is and they took mine home. This is a quality product and made even better because I purchased it through Overstock. I save on the product and a lot on the shipping/handling.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent Quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
New experience
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 1, 2011

I've used a presure cooker for many years and needed to update my old one. I'm still experimenting with this one; but am pleased with results so far. I would be cautious the first few times when cooking vegetables as they can easily overcook to mush. This is a nice large pot suitable for a whole chicken or lots of vegetables. A great way to cook quickly while retaining vitamins and minerals.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy With My Fagor Pressure Cooker
 from Marengo, Ohio,  Oct 31, 2013

I am new to using pressure cookers, other than a pressure canner. I began researching to find a good but not too expensive one. I did read reviews on this particular model and ordered one. I have only used it once so far, however, it did a fantastic job and some venison roasts. Very tender and tasty! It was easy to set up and easy to clean.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a great kitcken aid
 from MA,  Dec 28, 2011

I am enjoying this pressure cooker specially when I cook meat. It is done in a fraction of the time it usually takes to cook in a regular pot. The inside stained the first time and I cant take them out. The outside is shiny and easy to clean. Great product. Every day I trust Overstock more and more.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. comfortable weight and user friendly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description and reviews helped me in my desision.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive, nice quality, works great, but...
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Apr 16, 2011

...it's tricky to clean. I made rice with this the day it came I was so excited to use it. Builds up steam well, really easy to use but it spurts out some foam under the black attachment on the lid that makes it a little difficult to clean well. That's really my only strife. Pressure cookers generally do spurt out some gook but the very slight dome-ish shape of the lid encourages it to drip onto the stovetop. I'm still very happy with the ease of use and quality of the pot. Besides the professional pressure cookers I'm used to, I would say this comes in as a very close second best. For home use, that's pretty good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 20, 2011

I'm going to say that this is a fabulous pressure cooker because it's exactly what my mother wanted for Christmas. She used it Christmas Day to cook the mashed potatoes. They were outstanding. And, best of all, there isn't a way for you to make the thing explode like her old (ancient) one did.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We bought this brand based on good reviews. We chose to go with the Splendid since we thought we probably would not use the 2nd (lower) pressure although I had found more info on the Duo. So far we like it. The user manual and recipe book do not give too many details on specific items, ie: pinto beans. We have basically guessed at how long to cook things. So far so good. That is only reason I gave it 4 stars. Otherwise, it is fairly easy to use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent pressure cooker!
 from Boston, MA,  Nov 26, 2010

I have never used a pressure cooker before, however now I'm a huge convert! This pot cooks fabulous, tender-crisp veggies in minutes, and risotto is amazing. It's definitely a good idea to try out a pressure cooker cookbook since the cooker itself does not come with a ton of recipes. I love it and use it several days a week!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love it
 from Iron Mountain, MI,  Aug 3, 2010

I couldn't be happier with this purchase. I have been using a 25 yr old model and I could not get parts any more. They have definately improved. The food comes out fantastic, tender, moist and very fast... and the stainless steel cleans up like it is non-stick. I'm going to buy a second one for my vacation home.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pressure Cooker
 from Eureka, CA,  May 28, 2010

Bar none the best pressure cooker I have ever used!!! I have always used the cookers with "the rocker". Well never again. I was so surprised at how easy it is to use a cooker without a rocker. Boy I love this thing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pressure cooker 6 qt. fagor
 from space coast of florida,  Sep 29, 2009

outstanding,had bad gasket in shipping,fagor mailed new one out immediately.not their fault.works good and very easy to clean.double bottom really dissipates heat even for no burn .

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Burleson, TX,  Apr 11, 2014

Excellent product. I'm enjoying using it. I know it will last for many years to come.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, low-tch piece
 from Maryland,  Feb 13, 2014

I received one of these as a gift 6 years ago and love it. It makes weeknight and week end meals quick, delicious and healthy. I bought this on as a gift for an overworked, overextended mom. The hard part about choosing one for her was that the technology changed so much in 6 years that I could not get this simple, low-maintenance one. The Fagor Splendid is EXACTLY what I was looking for. No bells or whistles, easy to clean and maintain.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well built
 from Rome, PA,  Jan 8, 2014

It was a Christmas gift to our daughter and she loves it. She hasn't had the time to try it out because they are in the process of moving.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Jensen Beach,Fl.,  Jan 4, 2014

I love this pressure cooker! I have had my ** pressure cooker for about 30 years and it was not working too well. This pressure cooker is sooo much easier to use - just slide the button up to lock it and let steam start coming out gently and start timing it. Very easy to use and wash up is a simply soapy clothe! Definitely work the $$ very well made!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 27, 2013

I needed a new pressure cooker and researched this brand and found that it was rated top quality. I purchased it and I am thrilled with the design and quality. The gauge is actually built into the top so no more searching for the gauge and the gasket is heavy duty. This product was even better than I anticipated and the price was definitely a savings from the price in the stores.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It Works
 from Sacramento, CA,  Nov 9, 2013

I would recommend this cooker because , in the end, it works. But it is not easy to use. Putting the lid on is always problematic... It's a struggle to put on and a struggle to take off. Once on, though, it's OK.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top