Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Ohio,  Jun 14, 2011

I was a little worried about this purchase because it was on the cheaper side, but it turned out to be a great mattress, especially for the price. It's very comfortable. I would recommend getting a cover for it though because the outer fabric isn't the best quality and may stain or tear somewhat easily. I would definitely recommend it though!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, I ordered black and it came black.
  • How is the quality of the product? Good quality.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yay! Great futon!
 from Orange, CA,  Mar 30, 2012

I am very impressed with the product and Overstock's service. I needed this futon because I didn't want my house guest to be sleeping on my stinky, sagging ten-year-plus futon. Even though the reviews were great, I was a bit skeptical as I am with almost all online reviews. Boy, I was pleasantly surprised. I placed the order for the mattress on Monday and got the order confirmation the same day. After not receiving any shipping notifications like one usually does from online sites, I was shocked to get an email on Thursday morning saying that the mattress was being delivered later that day. Everything arrived just as predicted. The mattress came in a cardboard box. As described by other customers, the mattress itself came carefully wrapped and vacuum-packed in two layers of plastic so the product was very pristine when I got it. I think unwrapping it was the best part -- when you cut open the inner plastic layer, there is a great big "whoosh" sound and the futon starts to "grow" as it takes on air. It's better than watching sea monkeys! As for the mattress, I am sitting on it right now while I am typing and it is very comfy. I was scared that it would be really heavy and hard to maneuver like my old cotton-stuffed futon, but it is surprisingly light (about 45lbs). I was able to carry it up to my second-floor apartment and put it on the futon frame all by myself. The mattress takes a few hours to achieve the full 7-inch loft after the vacuum-packing so don't be alarmed if it seems a little thin at first. In fact, if you have a cover, I recommend putting it on before the futon expands to its full size so you don't have to struggle to pull the fabric over it. The color is exactly as described -- I ordered black, so there is not much that can go wrong with that. The canvas fabric is about 12 gauge so plenty tough but soft enough to be comfortable. It is a standard full size futon so I was able to use my old cover to keep it clean and extend the life of the mattress. One thing to keep in mind though: the mattress is padded more on one side than the other so be sure to put it on the cushy side, otherwise, you will wind up sleeping with springs poking your back. I know the "bed experts" say that you should flip a mattress every once and a while to keep it from wearing down in one spot. If you plan on turning the futon over, it may be a good idea to put a thick mattress pad or something on it. Since I have only had this futon for a few days, I cannot really vouch for the overall durability. Nonetheless, I am very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well, I ordered black so there's not much that can go wrong. :)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is much better than expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was exactly as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I can't believe how good it was!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 17, 2012

I moved into an apartment 4 months ago without a bed--only cushions I could prop up and attempt to make into a bed. I finally said "Okay this is stupid--I need a mattress!" I was wary of the price but the other reviewers tempted me into buying it. I'm so glad they did! I ordered it and it shipped/was delivered within the week (and my order shipped for free!). It came in a long thin box, and took two of us girls to heave it inside. Despite the box damage, It came airtight and rolled. We cut it free and let it slowly rise up. After laying on it for a few minutes, we were already in heaven! We loved the firmness the springs gave, but the cover was very soft. We decided to give it a little extra padding with some of our blankets and made it up like a bed. I will tell you I have been cranky, tired, and groggy ever since I moved in, but I woke up having had a great sleep! Most of my lower back pain was gone, I woke up well before my alarm despite being up late, and was just warm and comfy the whole night through. My friend has to sleep with TV on, which always makes my sleep light and uncomfy, but with this bed, I rested so well I didn't even care! The only thing I'd say is if you like your mattress or sofa a little more plush, just lay down an egg crate or a blanket or two and that will help you not feel the springs so much (but any springy mattress will feel this way unmade). Loved it and totally recommend it!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great. No complaints.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Came in great condition with fast shipping
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT
 from FL,  Oct 31, 2009

Previously, I had the standard futon mattress. It was not comfortable at all (oh my achy back). Since upgrading to the 'Evolution Spring Mattress' there has not been any more aches. Actually, I sleep like a baby on it. To say the least I'm a 'Happy Camper' / 'SLEEPER'.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy and affordable
 from Nebraska,  Oct 31, 2012

For a futon mattress, it's surprisingly comfortable! It folds into shape easily and stays put without the springs "popping" it off in the couch position which I was worried about. It also stays put nicely, so no slumping down to the floor like friend's futons I've seen. I purchased this for a guest room/play room just to have an extra bed, but my kids love it so much they fight over who's turn it is to sleep on the futon. The cover is really just the top fabric, and you do need to have a separate cover to wash it. For the price, it can't be beat. I'd highly recommend this mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, well built
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MUCH more comfy that expected
 from Atlanta, GA,  Oct 4, 2012

I actually bought this for the bottom futon to my son's bunkbeds. We bought the thicker mattress (6" or 7" one) that came with the bunkbeds, hoping to get some extra comfort from it. MY how disappointed were we! Just sitting on it, you could feel the bars poking through. I don't know how my son managed to sleep on it each night. I'm guessing because he is 7 and weighs only 60 lbs! Just laying down with him each night near bedtime made my back hurt. So, needless to say we started looking for something else. Bought one of those egg crate things for extra comfort and didn't make an ounce of difference. HOWEVER, once this mattress arrived... WORLD of difference!! The first night my slept on it, he didn't want to get out of bed the next morning. He said it felt "like I was sleeping on a cloud"!! hahah... It has truely transformed the bed into something much more comfy! HIGHLY recommend!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for lower style futon
 from Metro Detroit, MI,  Aug 31, 2011

Happy that we went with the spring style for the daily dorm use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great, really expect the two college athlese who are over 200# to get good long term performance.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better & more comfortable than expected
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jun 22, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this futon mattress compared to the price. Since the price was reasonable (or in my opinion, fairly cheap), I expected the quality to reflect the same. I was wrong. The mattress was sent promptly and when received, I immediately threw out my old one and put the new one on my futon, which I use as a guest bed/couch in our home office. It is super comfy and the coils really make a difference in maintaining the shape and comfort (since I have cats who like to lay on the back of it). The fabric of the futon mattress cover, which is removable, is very nice and soft. I got the full size and it fit perfectly on my futon. I am very happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive, but comfortable mattress.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color (black) matched the color displayed onsite.
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent quality and nice fabric for futon cover.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Item as described on the website.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
improvement from current mattress
 from New Mexico,  Jun 15, 2011

I searched for awhile reading reviews and decided to go with this purchase. (I figured anything is better than what I had) It is pretty good so far - it is used as a couch and bed everyday. its holding up , has kept its shape, looks nice. average comfort. BUT definitely plan on buying a cover for it. when it is decribed with a "cover" it is only the "skin" that holds it together. shipped fast & in good shape.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? this product is good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? when it is decribed with a "cover" it is only the "skin" that holds it together
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Evolution Spring with coils
 from Diamond Bar,  Sep 3, 2010

yep... with coils. I believe it is important to order it with coils. I got two of them in the same day one with and one without coils. The futon mattress without coils is already in the garage waiting for a permanent home. The spring mattress is still comfy and springy! Evolution spring futon mattress wins!...gooood niiight! The only reason not 5 star was because the "Cover isn't really the cover at all... its the skin that holds it all together... not removeable as a real "Cover" should be.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful product!
 from Sandpoint Idaho,  Dec 17, 2013

It's been over a year since I purchased this and it is holding up just fine. No sagging, no wear. It looks just like new. It had a chemical smell for a few days after I got it, and is a bit firm to sleep on (for my taste), but holds up perfectly as our main couch in the living room. Would definitely purchase again, especially at that great price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Pittsburgh,  Sep 25, 2013

I use this on the futon in my home office (I'm sitting on it as I type!). It's very comfortable as a couch, and my guests have all commented that it makes an excellent bed when used in that capacity.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality!
 from Kent, OH,  Jul 30, 2013

Great mattress! I have used my futon as a couch for the past two years and the mattress is still holding up great! It is thick enough to not feel the bars beneath, and still feel supported. I still think it is just as comfortable as my bed! I use a fitted bedsheet as a cover (way cheaper than buying an actual futon cover!) so the mattress has stayed clean. The mattress does have ties sticking out on one side (I think most futon mattresses do), so I would advise getting some sort of cover so you can flip it regularly to avoid one side sinking. Overall I think this mattress is a great value and plan to keep it for years to come! It is well worth the extra money to buy a thinker mattress!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy futon?
 from Portland, OR,  Jul 12, 2013

I was really excited about this futon! I am a college student, so a futon was a more economic way to go for a bed. However, it is much better for casual lounging than trying to get a good night's rest in an already loud and distracting city environment. For the price, it is an awesome futon! Use it as a couch! The foundation for a fort! Sound-proofing for walls! Just be wary if you plan on sleeping on it every night. I am definitely going to buy a mattress pad. Then, I am sure it will be heavenly. However, shipping was speedy and the package came in a much more compact box than I expected which helped a lot with transport.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon mattress extremely comfortable and durable!
 from Rural Underwood, IA,  Apr 20, 2013

Awesome product for the price. Had to replace the existing futon mattress we had. Our original one was nice but it was just cotton filled so it wore out very quickly as was no longer comfortable nor did it keep it's shape. I read the reviews online on your site and I was sold. Upon receiving the product, it was exactly as described. It is very comfortable to sit and lay on. It is very durable. Sitting is a pleasure on the mattress and sleeping on it is an absolute dream. Extremely GREAT product and the price was FANTASTIC! I would recommend this to anyone, even my enemies! Ha! Don't waste money on those really expensive futon mattresses. This one is perfect and the price was right! Thank you very much!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality. Professionally made. Durable and comfortable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate, just as advertised.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Evol.Spring 1 full sz futon matt.w cotton cover
 from suburbs of St. Louis, MO,  Apr 14, 2013

I purchased this for a futon/twin bunk bed purchased from Big Lots store. It is to be in a spare room that is a play room/bedroom for visiting children. I was about to purchase a futon mattress from Big Lots when I decided to unzip the mattress cover and check the insides. The high end mattress Big Lots sold had a description (innerspring,foam,etc.) that did not match what I was looking at inside the mattress. It was not high density foam but contained lots of the chopped felt type of stuffing with polyester batting such as one uses to fill a quilt. I wrote to the company (am a buzz club member) and this was the 1st time I did not ever receive a reply to my complaint & observation. So after a lot of research & trusting all the reviews all you great people out their gave, I purchased this mattress instead. I have not regretted it a moment. The mattress was delivered faster than I expected & in fine shape. It is compact upon delivery as it is vacuum packed. The futon/bunk bed frame was not assembled yet so the box was in the living room for days. I had to get it out of the living rm. I sleep on a full sz. innerspring mattress that is over 10 yrs. old & needs replacing. I have put an egg crate foam topper on it, but it only helped a little. A light bulb went off & I decided that until my helpers could find the time to put the frame together I would open the futon mattress & put it on top of my mattress/topper just temporarily. It did have a slight odor for about 2 or 3 days. I am an astmatic & it was not enough to be a big deal. It does take a day or two to fully expand to about 6-8" thick. I tried to peek inside this mattress, too, but upon uzipping it, I found it to be wrapped inside with a cottony mesh cover probably to ease the manufacturing process. So I cannot tell you what it looks like inside. BUT it gave me a great nights sleep. It definitely is supportive & you don't feel the springs. I am about 160 lbs. & love this mattress.So does the cat. I still have to get a soft microfiber cover for it. I have a waterproof mattress pad on it with sheets for sleeping. The waterproof pad offers protection from any children or cat fur ball accidents. And, unlike the waterproof pads of the past, it is not hot to sleep on as it is well padded so you do not feel like you are sleeping on a plactic cover. I couldn't be more pleased with this mattress or the great customer service & delivery. I got a good price, had a coupon offer & joined the O club during a discounted price period. I will probably buy my new regular (maybe memory foam instead of inner spring) full size mattress for my regular bed from overstock.com, too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 6-8" thick, not 10"
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is just as others describe, seems like a good product. I also got a memory foam mattress topper and I am told that it is very comfortable for sleeping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just Right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems like very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate Description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent for the price
 from Hudson, MA,  Apr 2, 2013

We've had this futon mattress for about a week. We are currently using the futon as our couch, and we wanted to replace our lumpy, uncomfortable 6-year-old mattress with something that would be fairly comfortable to sit on and that would be easy to move since we are expecting to move within the next 6 months. The mattress came rolled up and vacuum sealed, and it inflated to full size within a couple of minutes. It also seems to be a bit lighter than our old stuffing-only mattress, which is a plus. There was no smell whatsover, which I was very pleased about. I don't know how comfortable the mattress would be for sleeping on, but it's just fine for sitting. It seems a little bit big for our full-size wooden futon frame, but I actually like that---I'd rather it was too long than too short. If you are looking for a decent futon mattress for a couch and/or occasional guest bed, I would recommend this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Mattress
 from Baltimore, MD,  Mar 30, 2013

I am pleased with the quality of the mattress so far. Was less than pleased with the service from Overstock. First it showed item shipped. Then it showed item DIDN'T ship. Then there was a time lag. Then the item appeared.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far, so good....
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great nights sleep
 from Orem UT,  Mar 15, 2013

This mattress is spectacular. I was using an older cotton fill mattress, it was lumpy and terrible. I threw this onto the frame, let it inflate for a couple of hours. It is amazing! Springy and comfortable, feels like sleeping on a mattress with a boxspring. And it folds right down the middle with virtually no resistance to be the most comfortable couch I've ever sat on. Definitely worth the price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful, springy, comfortable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exacting.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top