Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-39 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Pretty cabinet (recommend some assembly changes)
 from Cedar Rapids, IA,  Jun 13, 2014

It is a really pretty cabinet and I know it will meet my needs but they need to work on the instructions. It would be better if the instructions had the locking hardware installed while the pieces are flat. I also had to get my drill out because where the lock is installed because there were no holes pre-drilled and there was no way I could get the lock installed without drilling. I also had troubles with the apparatus that holds the other side closed. The screws (or the holes that are there) do not match in size so I can't get it attached. It too, would have been easier to install with the unit flat. I am either going to have to glue that apparatus in place or go to the hardware store or use some command strips to hold it in place. In the end it took me about 4 hours to assemble. With all of that said, I should reiterate that it is a very pretty unit and it will meet my needs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shipping nightmare
 from Anoka, mn,  Mar 8, 2014

UPS screwed up the delivery. I've got the parts laying on the floor of my living room while I have to wait the entire weekend to receive the parts box on Monday so I can finally put it together... Grrrr!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have room to spare after loading my movie collection in this cabinet. It saves space and is very attractive too.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product only fair instruction
 from Kingman, AZ,  Oct 10, 2013

Bought two of these. Took 5 hours to assemble. The assembly instructions were not real clear and half the nails were missing which I suplemented. But I finally got it together and it looks good and will cleanly store half of my DVD's. I know what to expect now with the second one.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD cablnet
 from Maryland,  May 1, 2013

Went together easily and should last a long time. Did take two of us to move it; it is quite heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice quality; seems durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall its pretty good
 from California,  Mar 24, 2011

Overall it wasn't too hard to put together. I found hammering in the bottom "legs" to be very difficult. They kept moving so finally I held them in place with a wrench and that made it easier. Also both lock areas aren't predrilled so that was more difficult but not too bad. I love the amount of things it can hold

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge Storage, With Minimal Space
 from Queens, NY,  Dec 23, 2010

It took a long time to put together but instructions were easy to follow. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the left sided latch is very difficult to close when its filled with DVDs. Other than that it is a great buy for a great price. Plus it is an attractive way to store your dvd/cd collection.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we're happy
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Jul 20, 2010

We're quite happy with this piece. For the price, we couldn't have asked for more. It fit almost all of our DVDs and looks pretty great. We were very happy with the quick delivery - less than a week! The assembly was fairly straight foward, although it did take two of us at least 2 hours to complete it. We were expecting this from other reviews, so no skin off our backs. The instructions were good, but not great. You really have to have an eye for detail when reading the instructions. I cracked part of the unit when nailing on the back panel because I nailed too close to the corner. The instructions say to nail back panel on to unit, but you have to look closely at the picture/diagram to see that you're supposed to leave two inches from any corner. Just small stuff like that to look for. We did not have any issues with scratches or dents and were very pleased with it. As with other reviewers, we found that the doors do not stay closed unless locked (due to the weight of the door). Also, when placing your unit, make sure to measure how wide it is with the doors open (mid-swing) so that you have enough space. This unit looks great in our office and hides the DVDs for a classier look in our home.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 13, 2010

Easy to put together, and it looks great. I put it together on a blanket because I read in other reviews about scratching, and I had none. Would buy again and recommend to others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD Storage Unit
 from Florida,  Jun 23, 2010

The Everett Espresso Large Deluxe CD/DVD Media Storage unit came in two boxes and had a lot of parts to put together. My husband finished in two evenings about three hours total. The instructions could have been a little clearer. We suggest putting down a rug or other soft item to protect it and your floor. It did take two of us to put it together as one person would have difficulty with holding it up and also putting in the screws. Once it was together we were very happy with it. The color is a deep brownish/black and looks very nice. It looks more like a nice piece of furniture than a DVD unit. The doors swing open if you don't lock the lock on the top of the unit. That could probably be helped by putting shims under the front of the unit. The shelves were easy to install and they even give you extra ones. It held all my DVDs and I even have room for many more. The touch up stick came in handy for a few nicks and scratches that happened during construction. It looks wonderful in my TV room next to my TV. Overall a good item to purchase that looks good and also is functional. Thank you Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy
 from El Paso, TX,  Jun 10, 2010

There was a lot of screws but direction were very easy to follow. The product exceeded our expectations.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assemble in a soft setting with helpers nearby
 from Northern NJ,  Mar 22, 2010

Assume when you get this product that the directions are not smartly written because they are not. Read everything through before you begin, because it would be best (as I've found out the hard way) to do things in the order that appears to make sense, not the order recommended in the directions. For example, the bottom pegs to keep the wood from scratching the floor are put on in the directions before the backing to the entire piece, so in order for the backing to be centered and straight, it has to be propped up on each side on something and held by a second person so that it doesn't warp or bend. At another point when the doors are supposed to be attached by the hinges to the main part of the piece, the picture in the directions shows the door side and cabinet side as being level with each other, so the hinges should go on easily. That's not the case either. The front piece of each door raises up the level of the door so that the pieces can not be laid next to each other and assembled. You need one, possibly two other people to hold up the ends so that the hinges can be put on straight - either that or you have to prop up the back of the unit on something that's about as thick as the front door is. And don't assemble this on a rough surface or the front doors will be scratched badly. I thought the courtesy pen with the stain color included in the box was a courtesy; I didn't know it would be needed to hide the deep gashes in the soft-surface front door that would make the finished cabinet look like it's been beaten up in a children's playroom for five years or more. All in all it does its job, it holds the movies, but if you want it to LOOK nice, have two to three people with you who are free for at least three hours time and assemble the cabinet over a thick plush carpet. Good luck.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 4, 2010

I actually bought two of these cabinets (one for each side of the TV). I have seen a lot of complating regarding the assembly, but did not have too many issues myself. Although, I would reccomend having an electric screwdriver available. It makes things go by much faster. Once assembled, the cabinets look great and serve their purpose. They may be a bit flimsier than I was hoping, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must Use 2 People
 from Tampa, FL,  Feb 18, 2010

Do not try to assemble this alone... it won't happen! But WOW is it nice once it's done. I'm thinking of getting another one because we have way too many movies! Great wood, good directions, perfect color. Very Impressed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty good cabinet
 from Texas,  Feb 3, 2010

It was very easy to put together. The cabinet itself is heavy but if you have small children be aware that if pushed back and forth it will loosen up and feel a little rickety. Once the kids left it alone though it is a good piece to own. Two of the shelves in the body can not be moved once assembled so be aware that you can't adjust ALL the shelves. The latch for door one is a bit tricky but after a few tries it becomes fairly easy. The lock doesn't hold the doors flush tightly but it does work. It gets the job done. I would buy another one. The price was right.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Some plusses, some minuses
 from Manhattan,  Nov 29, 2009

I am pretty good at assembling things, and this one was a pain. There is no "easy assembly" here as its akin to assembling 2-3 pieces of furniture and then attaching them together. It took several hours. Worse, the "lock" on the cabinet are an absolute joke. The hole drilled in the front of the cabinet tis larger than the lock to start with, so the piece looks like it was mismatched. Second it only would be effecting as a lock against someone who did not have the strength to bend aluminum. Against anyone stronger than a three year old--anyone strong enough to bend a tin can--there's no doubt that lock would break against anyone pulling on the door.If you stand far enough away from it to not see the lock, the piece looks okay now that it is together, and it does have a number of shelves. So it's not completely worthless. If they had the same piece without the feeble attempt at a lock, it would be better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
have help
 from oak ridge, tn,  Nov 19, 2009

this is a nice cabinet for the value holds all of our dvds and cds was a little hard to put together by myself had to get my 11 yr old to help a couple of times but nothing bad

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE!!!
 from CA,  Aug 31, 2010

TOOK 2 OF US TO ASSEMBLE, AND AFTER ALMOST 2 HOURS WE GO TO PUT THE SHELVES IN AND THE WHOLE UNIT TIPPED OVER (SO CHEAP) . THANKS TO OVERSTOCK FOR ALLOWING US TO RETURN IT.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dvd\cd shelves
 from Queens NY,  Aug 16, 2010

the product needed to be assembled. The instructions were vague and seemed to imply that whoever buys this must have a working wood shop available too them. It took me almost 5 hours to assemble it. Tthe locks on it that hold the shelves together donot hold it after one week due to the wieght of the dvd's on the door of hte cabinet and the cheapness ofit. It is, after all, a dvd cabinet and the item should not be adversely affected by adding dvd's to the shelves of it. This product is cheap cheap cheap. I am sorry I purchased off line rather than going to a store where I could have"kicked the tires a bit" first. Do not waste your money on this item

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-39 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Oskar Media Tower 1080 CD/504 DVD Cabinet
Sale $116.99
Was $129.99
Compare $244.25
Save 52%
(15)
'Windowpane' Espresso Media Cabinet
Sale $194.44
Was $216.05
Compare $309.00
Save 37%
(19)
Back to top