Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 44 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great way to keep DVDs handy and out-of-sight
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 19, 2011

First of all, let's state the obvious - this product is NOT made of solid wood and you have to put it together yourself. However, anyone who reads the description will know that going into the purchase. Some reviewers seem to be disappointed by these facts and give the cabinet a low score based on these points, which doesn't make much sense to me. That being said, the product went above and beyond my expectations. Assembly is definitely a two-man job, but we made it go faster by having a cordless drill to help with assembly. Mine came with all its parts (including the wood pieces) in flawless condition. The finished project looks great in my living room. I have the entire cabinet filled (main structure and both doors) and I've seen no issues with steadiness or sturdiness. I'm pondering purchasing a second, since I've already maxed out the capacity in this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Careful with security divider- need two people
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 5, 2011

Be careful as you read the directions. You're supposed to put together the bottom, then flip it over with the security divider piece only attached by two screws. This really requires two people and it should say so. I'm not generally one to complain about directions but the piece broke when my husband was putting it together and we've been waiting three plus weeks to get a new piece. Not impressed. For the "not cheap" price, I would have expected a bit better. I do look forward to getting it and getting the piece put together so we can use it though. I might be able to recommend it more once that happens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is beautiful and what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. okay quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good size, butyes its unstable.
 from SF, CA,  Oct 26, 2011

I wanted a cabinet that had a large capacity but was also small when closed and tall. Alot of the units sold on Overstock are short. It fits alot. and is decently made for this type of cheap furniture. Although the 50 brad nails to attach the board backing seemed to be excessive. Capacity-wise I'm very happy. But the other reviewers who say it is unstable are completely right. On my carpeted floor, against the wall it has never stood perfectly flat. Living in SF, I assume it would topple during a big earthquake. Sure they give a little kit to attach to the wall, but still, the unit is unbalanced from the start. I tried loading DVD's starting from the bottom and only on the back and that doens't seem to make much differnce. Also when you open the doors the whole unit is more off balancefrom the weight in the doors. It does exaclty what I wanted it to do. but this is not a high quality piece, and the balance issues make me question the overall design.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. its laminated particle board but that's no secret.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD case
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Sep 29, 2011

Nice product fairly easy to put together with good directions looks nice and fuctios well

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD Media Storage
 from Washington State,  Sep 29, 2011

I had too many piles of CD's and needed a good place to store them. The fact that the unit closes up is very important. I like protective covering on the case to keep dust out of the way. It looks trim and neat, also. Luckily, I had a friend put it together. I could not have done it by myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'm happy with the product and it met all my needs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is an accurate description of the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely, compact and easy to assemble.
 from Alexandria, VA,  Sep 19, 2011

I am very happy with the Media storage product. The boxes were a bit heavy...but the product (once assembled), makes a wonderful addition to any room...and it helps to neatly store away DVDs and CDs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice-looking Cabinet
 from Milpitas, CA,  Aug 3, 2011

This cabinet holds more than it looks like it would. Assembly is easy but takes some time- you'll definitely benefit from a power screwdriver or drill. The finished product looks very nice with clean lines, nice hardware, and dark coloring to match our existing living room furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Hard to tell color on site photo--has dark "espresso" color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy with nice look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MEDIA STORAGE CABINET
 from SAN DIEGO,  Apr 6, 2011

I AM OVERALL PLEASED WITH THIS CABINET, IT DID APPEAR LARGER IN THE PICTURE AS FAR AS HEIGHT BUT THE QUALITY IS FAIR, I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PURCHASE 2 MORE TO GET ALL OF MY MEDIA ITEMS SAFELY TUCKED AWAY, THE ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE LOCK, IT IS FLIMSY AND NOT SECURE.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? YES
  • How is the quality of the product? AVERAGE
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? YES
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall its pretty good
 from California,  Mar 24, 2011

Overall it wasn't too hard to put together. I found hammering in the bottom "legs" to be very difficult. They kept moving so finally I held them in place with a wrench and that made it easier. Also both lock areas aren't predrilled so that was more difficult but not too bad. I love the amount of things it can hold

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge Storage, With Minimal Space
 from Queens, NY,  Dec 23, 2010

It took a long time to put together but instructions were easy to follow. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the left sided latch is very difficult to close when its filled with DVDs. Other than that it is a great buy for a great price. Plus it is an attractive way to store your dvd/cd collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Charlotte, NC,  Dec 13, 2010

Yes, it takes awhile to put together but its worth it for the price. It helps to read the instructions carefully

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Perfect, but works.
 from Post Falls, ID,  Sep 4, 2010

This product took me 2-3 hours to assemble. To be expected, but be careful you put your non-movable shelves where you want them. It is nearly impossible to change your mind once you nail the backing piece on. The cabinet is a little shaky, but if you tie it to a stud on your wall or have a flat flooring (not carpet) it would probably work fine. The pieces did come with a lot of scuffs and a dark marker to cover up the marks. I would consider buying another since I completely filled up the cabinet with my current collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE!!!
 from CA,  Aug 31, 2010

TOOK 2 OF US TO ASSEMBLE, AND AFTER ALMOST 2 HOURS WE GO TO PUT THE SHELVES IN AND THE WHOLE UNIT TIPPED OVER (SO CHEAP) . THANKS TO OVERSTOCK FOR ALLOWING US TO RETURN IT.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dvd\cd shelves
 from Queens NY,  Aug 16, 2010

the product needed to be assembled. The instructions were vague and seemed to imply that whoever buys this must have a working wood shop available too them. It took me almost 5 hours to assemble it. Tthe locks on it that hold the shelves together donot hold it after one week due to the wieght of the dvd's on the door of hte cabinet and the cheapness ofit. It is, after all, a dvd cabinet and the item should not be adversely affected by adding dvd's to the shelves of it. This product is cheap cheap cheap. I am sorry I purchased off line rather than going to a store where I could have"kicked the tires a bit" first. Do not waste your money on this item

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we're happy
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Jul 20, 2010

We're quite happy with this piece. For the price, we couldn't have asked for more. It fit almost all of our DVDs and looks pretty great. We were very happy with the quick delivery - less than a week! The assembly was fairly straight foward, although it did take two of us at least 2 hours to complete it. We were expecting this from other reviews, so no skin off our backs. The instructions were good, but not great. You really have to have an eye for detail when reading the instructions. I cracked part of the unit when nailing on the back panel because I nailed too close to the corner. The instructions say to nail back panel on to unit, but you have to look closely at the picture/diagram to see that you're supposed to leave two inches from any corner. Just small stuff like that to look for. We did not have any issues with scratches or dents and were very pleased with it. As with other reviewers, we found that the doors do not stay closed unless locked (due to the weight of the door). Also, when placing your unit, make sure to measure how wide it is with the doors open (mid-swing) so that you have enough space. This unit looks great in our office and hides the DVDs for a classier look in our home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 13, 2010

Easy to put together, and it looks great. I put it together on a blanket because I read in other reviews about scratching, and I had none. Would buy again and recommend to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD Storage Unit
 from Florida,  Jun 23, 2010

The Everett Espresso Large Deluxe CD/DVD Media Storage unit came in two boxes and had a lot of parts to put together. My husband finished in two evenings about three hours total. The instructions could have been a little clearer. We suggest putting down a rug or other soft item to protect it and your floor. It did take two of us to put it together as one person would have difficulty with holding it up and also putting in the screws. Once it was together we were very happy with it. The color is a deep brownish/black and looks very nice. It looks more like a nice piece of furniture than a DVD unit. The doors swing open if you don't lock the lock on the top of the unit. That could probably be helped by putting shims under the front of the unit. The shelves were easy to install and they even give you extra ones. It held all my DVDs and I even have room for many more. The touch up stick came in handy for a few nicks and scratches that happened during construction. It looks wonderful in my TV room next to my TV. Overall a good item to purchase that looks good and also is functional. Thank you Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy
 from El Paso, TX,  Jun 10, 2010

There was a lot of screws but direction were very easy to follow. The product exceeded our expectations.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assemble in a soft setting with helpers nearby
 from Northern NJ,  Mar 22, 2010

Assume when you get this product that the directions are not smartly written because they are not. Read everything through before you begin, because it would be best (as I've found out the hard way) to do things in the order that appears to make sense, not the order recommended in the directions. For example, the bottom pegs to keep the wood from scratching the floor are put on in the directions before the backing to the entire piece, so in order for the backing to be centered and straight, it has to be propped up on each side on something and held by a second person so that it doesn't warp or bend. At another point when the doors are supposed to be attached by the hinges to the main part of the piece, the picture in the directions shows the door side and cabinet side as being level with each other, so the hinges should go on easily. That's not the case either. The front piece of each door raises up the level of the door so that the pieces can not be laid next to each other and assembled. You need one, possibly two other people to hold up the ends so that the hinges can be put on straight - either that or you have to prop up the back of the unit on something that's about as thick as the front door is. And don't assemble this on a rough surface or the front doors will be scratched badly. I thought the courtesy pen with the stain color included in the box was a courtesy; I didn't know it would be needed to hide the deep gashes in the soft-surface front door that would make the finished cabinet look like it's been beaten up in a children's playroom for five years or more. All in all it does its job, it holds the movies, but if you want it to LOOK nice, have two to three people with you who are free for at least three hours time and assemble the cabinet over a thick plush carpet. Good luck.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 4, 2010

I actually bought two of these cabinets (one for each side of the TV). I have seen a lot of complating regarding the assembly, but did not have too many issues myself. Although, I would reccomend having an electric screwdriver available. It makes things go by much faster. Once assembled, the cabinets look great and serve their purpose. They may be a bit flimsier than I was hoping, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 44 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought