Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 48 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great item
 from Atlanta ga,  Feb 29, 2012

Great item. Took awhile to put together. Be aware that it has to be secured to a wall though. Could easily tip over if not secured. Saved us alot of room in our living room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great item
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice unit for price
 from Woodstock, Virginina,  Jan 31, 2012

Unit went together easy, you need two people as there are a lot of parts. Plan to attach to wall as the unit is heavy and could tip over when filled. I would consider buying a second one if all the DVD's and CD's do not fit in this one. Even though this is press board constuction it is higher quality, back is very thin so it would be possible to shove something through it, putting it against the wall would help prevent that from happening.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? unit looks bigger than it is
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of storage and cool feartures
 from Huntsville, AL,  Jan 28, 2012

It took me about 2.5 hours to assembly it all by myself. The only thing I needed help with was to bring it in the front door but i really could have done that myself if I didn't care about my back. It has 2 locking features to keep it closed and all the piece fit perfect together. It holds countless DVDs so its really cool. I also close it most the time so my asymmetric DVDs aren't an eye sore and so my dogs don't eat my DVDs (which they have before). The only 2 problems are that the doors don't stay open all the way and that the wood is easily scratched.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinet for the price.
 from Conyers, GA,  Dec 28, 2011

I am very pleased with this purchase. The cabinet arrived quickly and was very sturdy and heavy. I wasn't prepared for two boxes so I became a little nervous when I opened the first box and not all pieces were there. The next day the second box was delivered and then I began the assembly. It took a while to assemble and it wasn't always clear which should be the top/botton/front/back. I had to reverse a couple of the shelves when I noticed that the unfinished side faced forward. It took about three hours to assemble however I chose to reinforce it with wood glue at each joint. This was not in the instructions but from my experience assembling cabinets, I thought that it wouldn't hurt and that the extra time would pay off in the long run. Overall I am very happy with the cabinet. The color is true to the picture and description. I am waiting to have the room painted so I haven't yet filled it with the DVDs or I would have probably rated it Excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It appears to be very sturdy and heavy. Very nice item.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great way to keep DVDs handy and out-of-sight
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 19, 2011

First of all, let's state the obvious - this product is NOT made of solid wood and you have to put it together yourself. However, anyone who reads the description will know that going into the purchase. Some reviewers seem to be disappointed by these facts and give the cabinet a low score based on these points, which doesn't make much sense to me. That being said, the product went above and beyond my expectations. Assembly is definitely a two-man job, but we made it go faster by having a cordless drill to help with assembly. Mine came with all its parts (including the wood pieces) in flawless condition. The finished project looks great in my living room. I have the entire cabinet filled (main structure and both doors) and I've seen no issues with steadiness or sturdiness. I'm pondering purchasing a second, since I've already maxed out the capacity in this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Careful with security divider- need two people
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 5, 2011

Be careful as you read the directions. You're supposed to put together the bottom, then flip it over with the security divider piece only attached by two screws. This really requires two people and it should say so. I'm not generally one to complain about directions but the piece broke when my husband was putting it together and we've been waiting three plus weeks to get a new piece. Not impressed. For the "not cheap" price, I would have expected a bit better. I do look forward to getting it and getting the piece put together so we can use it though. I might be able to recommend it more once that happens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is beautiful and what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. okay quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good size, butyes its unstable.
 from SF, CA,  Oct 26, 2011

I wanted a cabinet that had a large capacity but was also small when closed and tall. Alot of the units sold on Overstock are short. It fits alot. and is decently made for this type of cheap furniture. Although the 50 brad nails to attach the board backing seemed to be excessive. Capacity-wise I'm very happy. But the other reviewers who say it is unstable are completely right. On my carpeted floor, against the wall it has never stood perfectly flat. Living in SF, I assume it would topple during a big earthquake. Sure they give a little kit to attach to the wall, but still, the unit is unbalanced from the start. I tried loading DVD's starting from the bottom and only on the back and that doens't seem to make much differnce. Also when you open the doors the whole unit is more off balancefrom the weight in the doors. It does exaclty what I wanted it to do. but this is not a high quality piece, and the balance issues make me question the overall design.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. its laminated particle board but that's no secret.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD case
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Sep 29, 2011

Nice product fairly easy to put together with good directions looks nice and fuctios well

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD Media Storage
 from Washington State,  Sep 29, 2011

I had too many piles of CD's and needed a good place to store them. The fact that the unit closes up is very important. I like protective covering on the case to keep dust out of the way. It looks trim and neat, also. Luckily, I had a friend put it together. I could not have done it by myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'm happy with the product and it met all my needs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is an accurate description of the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely, compact and easy to assemble.
 from Alexandria, VA,  Sep 19, 2011

I am very happy with the Media storage product. The boxes were a bit heavy...but the product (once assembled), makes a wonderful addition to any room...and it helps to neatly store away DVDs and CDs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice-looking Cabinet
 from Milpitas, CA,  Aug 3, 2011

This cabinet holds more than it looks like it would. Assembly is easy but takes some time- you'll definitely benefit from a power screwdriver or drill. The finished product looks very nice with clean lines, nice hardware, and dark coloring to match our existing living room furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Hard to tell color on site photo--has dark "espresso" color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy with nice look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MEDIA STORAGE CABINET
 from SAN DIEGO,  Apr 6, 2011

I AM OVERALL PLEASED WITH THIS CABINET, IT DID APPEAR LARGER IN THE PICTURE AS FAR AS HEIGHT BUT THE QUALITY IS FAIR, I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PURCHASE 2 MORE TO GET ALL OF MY MEDIA ITEMS SAFELY TUCKED AWAY, THE ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE LOCK, IT IS FLIMSY AND NOT SECURE.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? YES
  • How is the quality of the product? AVERAGE
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? YES
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall its pretty good
 from California,  Mar 24, 2011

Overall it wasn't too hard to put together. I found hammering in the bottom "legs" to be very difficult. They kept moving so finally I held them in place with a wrench and that made it easier. Also both lock areas aren't predrilled so that was more difficult but not too bad. I love the amount of things it can hold

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge Storage, With Minimal Space
 from Queens, NY,  Dec 23, 2010

It took a long time to put together but instructions were easy to follow. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the left sided latch is very difficult to close when its filled with DVDs. Other than that it is a great buy for a great price. Plus it is an attractive way to store your dvd/cd collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Charlotte, NC,  Dec 13, 2010

Yes, it takes awhile to put together but its worth it for the price. It helps to read the instructions carefully

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Perfect, but works.
 from Post Falls, ID,  Sep 4, 2010

This product took me 2-3 hours to assemble. To be expected, but be careful you put your non-movable shelves where you want them. It is nearly impossible to change your mind once you nail the backing piece on. The cabinet is a little shaky, but if you tie it to a stud on your wall or have a flat flooring (not carpet) it would probably work fine. The pieces did come with a lot of scuffs and a dark marker to cover up the marks. I would consider buying another since I completely filled up the cabinet with my current collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE!!!
 from CA,  Aug 31, 2010

TOOK 2 OF US TO ASSEMBLE, AND AFTER ALMOST 2 HOURS WE GO TO PUT THE SHELVES IN AND THE WHOLE UNIT TIPPED OVER (SO CHEAP) . THANKS TO OVERSTOCK FOR ALLOWING US TO RETURN IT.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dvd\cd shelves
 from Queens NY,  Aug 16, 2010

the product needed to be assembled. The instructions were vague and seemed to imply that whoever buys this must have a working wood shop available too them. It took me almost 5 hours to assemble it. Tthe locks on it that hold the shelves together donot hold it after one week due to the wieght of the dvd's on the door of hte cabinet and the cheapness ofit. It is, after all, a dvd cabinet and the item should not be adversely affected by adding dvd's to the shelves of it. This product is cheap cheap cheap. I am sorry I purchased off line rather than going to a store where I could have"kicked the tires a bit" first. Do not waste your money on this item

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we're happy
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Jul 20, 2010

We're quite happy with this piece. For the price, we couldn't have asked for more. It fit almost all of our DVDs and looks pretty great. We were very happy with the quick delivery - less than a week! The assembly was fairly straight foward, although it did take two of us at least 2 hours to complete it. We were expecting this from other reviews, so no skin off our backs. The instructions were good, but not great. You really have to have an eye for detail when reading the instructions. I cracked part of the unit when nailing on the back panel because I nailed too close to the corner. The instructions say to nail back panel on to unit, but you have to look closely at the picture/diagram to see that you're supposed to leave two inches from any corner. Just small stuff like that to look for. We did not have any issues with scratches or dents and were very pleased with it. As with other reviewers, we found that the doors do not stay closed unless locked (due to the weight of the door). Also, when placing your unit, make sure to measure how wide it is with the doors open (mid-swing) so that you have enough space. This unit looks great in our office and hides the DVDs for a classier look in our home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 13, 2010

Easy to put together, and it looks great. I put it together on a blanket because I read in other reviews about scratching, and I had none. Would buy again and recommend to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 48 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought