Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great way to keep DVDs handy and out-of-sight
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 19, 2011

First of all, let's state the obvious - this product is NOT made of solid wood and you have to put it together yourself. However, anyone who reads the description will know that going into the purchase. Some reviewers seem to be disappointed by these facts and give the cabinet a low score based on these points, which doesn't make much sense to me. That being said, the product went above and beyond my expectations. Assembly is definitely a two-man job, but we made it go faster by having a cordless drill to help with assembly. Mine came with all its parts (including the wood pieces) in flawless condition. The finished project looks great in my living room. I have the entire cabinet filled (main structure and both doors) and I've seen no issues with steadiness or sturdiness. I'm pondering purchasing a second, since I've already maxed out the capacity in this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasantly surprised!
 from USA,  Jul 25, 2012

I used to assemble flat box furniture for all the major office supply companies for a living, so I was hesitant about purchasing flat box anything. Typically you encounter missing pieces, damaged finishes, incomprehensible assembly instructions, holes not pre-drilled where they should be, etc. However, because of the reviews, I decided to take my chances on this cabinet, and I'm very, very glad I did. The finished piece is incredibly stable, which was my biggest concern, attractive, and the storage capacity is ample with room to grow. I did assemble this myself, and found it quite manageable, even for a petite lady with a bad back. At any rate, I highly recommend a cordless drill if you have one; screwing the cam bolts in by hand can really give you a sore wrist, so be prepared to tag team or take breaks. If you do have to assemble alone, however, be aware that hanging the doors can be rough without someone to hold them in place, but I managed to utilize some kitchen cutting boards to help keep them up while I attached them to the cabinet. (This, however, WAS NOT FUN. I wouldn't recommend it.) As always, excellent product and excellent service from Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Agree with previous reviewers that the actual product seems a bit darker than pictured, here.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!!!
 from va beach, va,  Apr 15, 2012

I have three kids under two years so I needed a locking cabinet. I love it. The color is great and was easy enough to put together. It did take a coupled hours. We had a piece broken off on a door part and customer service was great. Took care of everything and we had our piece in about a week in a half. Also I see others complain that the piece is unstable. In the directions it says to anchor to the wall. We don't have to do that. It is fine on our carpet. We love that we can organize our screen and few under lock and key. Great piece of furniture for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Perfect, but works.
 from Post Falls, ID,  Sep 4, 2010

This product took me 2-3 hours to assemble. To be expected, but be careful you put your non-movable shelves where you want them. It is nearly impossible to change your mind once you nail the backing piece on. The cabinet is a little shaky, but if you tie it to a stud on your wall or have a flat flooring (not carpet) it would probably work fine. The pieces did come with a lot of scuffs and a dark marker to cover up the marks. I would consider buying another since I completely filled up the cabinet with my current collection.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to Assemble
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Apr 25, 2012

We just today got this put the rest of the way together. We are elderly, so we did it in several segments on several days so we wouldn't stress our backs. It definitely takes two people to assemble it. It is heavy, but with two people, it was quite doable. It went together with nothing more that a few household tools - nothing exotic. Now to the task of organizing our DVD's and CD's into some sort of logical system so we can find them when we want them! That's the real challenge.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It seems perhaps a tic darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinet for the price.
 from Conyers, GA,  Dec 28, 2011

I am very pleased with this purchase. The cabinet arrived quickly and was very sturdy and heavy. I wasn't prepared for two boxes so I became a little nervous when I opened the first box and not all pieces were there. The next day the second box was delivered and then I began the assembly. It took a while to assemble and it wasn't always clear which should be the top/botton/front/back. I had to reverse a couple of the shelves when I noticed that the unfinished side faced forward. It took about three hours to assemble however I chose to reinforce it with wood glue at each joint. This was not in the instructions but from my experience assembling cabinets, I thought that it wouldn't hurt and that the extra time would pay off in the long run. Overall I am very happy with the cabinet. The color is true to the picture and description. I am waiting to have the room painted so I haven't yet filled it with the DVDs or I would have probably rated it Excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It appears to be very sturdy and heavy. Very nice item.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good size, butyes its unstable.
 from SF, CA,  Oct 26, 2011

I wanted a cabinet that had a large capacity but was also small when closed and tall. Alot of the units sold on Overstock are short. It fits alot. and is decently made for this type of cheap furniture. Although the 50 brad nails to attach the board backing seemed to be excessive. Capacity-wise I'm very happy. But the other reviewers who say it is unstable are completely right. On my carpeted floor, against the wall it has never stood perfectly flat. Living in SF, I assume it would topple during a big earthquake. Sure they give a little kit to attach to the wall, but still, the unit is unbalanced from the start. I tried loading DVD's starting from the bottom and only on the back and that doens't seem to make much differnce. Also when you open the doors the whole unit is more off balancefrom the weight in the doors. It does exaclty what I wanted it to do. but this is not a high quality piece, and the balance issues make me question the overall design.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. its laminated particle board but that's no secret.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD Media Storage
 from Washington State,  Sep 29, 2011

I had too many piles of CD's and needed a good place to store them. The fact that the unit closes up is very important. I like protective covering on the case to keep dust out of the way. It looks trim and neat, also. Luckily, I had a friend put it together. I could not have done it by myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'm happy with the product and it met all my needs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is an accurate description of the product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Charlotte, NC,  Dec 13, 2010

Yes, it takes awhile to put together but its worth it for the price. It helps to read the instructions carefully

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great idea, but poorly executed design.
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 17, 2012

The whole idea of the CD/DVD storage was great, but the design was poorly executed. For starters, if you don't have the doors locked the unit remains open. One door has a lock and the other has a slide that is goes into on the inside of the unit and it's not very easy to get into. The directions to put the unit together were very vague and made it difficult to put some of the parts together, especially the doors. We are satisfied with the look, but some of the design flaws just make the unit a little more difficult to use. We expected it to be like a closet, but it is more of a pain to get open than a normal closet of storage unit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some of the pieces were flimsy and the directions were very vague at times.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Burnsville, MN,  Apr 12, 2012

Easy to put together with two people if you follow the directions. The hardest part was putting on the hinges as the two sections that you are hinging together do not line up on the ground exactly - we put items underneath to raise one section up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected - love it.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great - the locking mechanism is a little cheesy and appeared difficult to install. We weren't concerned with having a lock so we only installed the outer portion for looks.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Did not actually count the DVD spaces - but everything else was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Passed my expectations
 from Lompoc ca,  Mar 17, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised in the quality. Many of the reviews posted how cheap it looked and poor quality that it was. It came with all the parts and even a few extra. I would definitely purchase again if it became filled,( which we are about a dozen away from.). The doors haven't seemed to sag from the weight. Very pleased overall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was a perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Way better than I thought.. Not cheap looking at all for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great item
 from Atlanta ga,  Feb 29, 2012

Great item. Took awhile to put together. Be aware that it has to be secured to a wall though. Could easily tip over if not secured. Saved us alot of room in our living room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great item
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice unit for price
 from Woodstock, Virginina,  Jan 31, 2012

Unit went together easy, you need two people as there are a lot of parts. Plan to attach to wall as the unit is heavy and could tip over when filled. I would consider buying a second one if all the DVD's and CD's do not fit in this one. Even though this is press board constuction it is higher quality, back is very thin so it would be possible to shove something through it, putting it against the wall would help prevent that from happening.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? unit looks bigger than it is
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of storage and cool feartures
 from Huntsville, AL,  Jan 28, 2012

It took me about 2.5 hours to assembly it all by myself. The only thing I needed help with was to bring it in the front door but i really could have done that myself if I didn't care about my back. It has 2 locking features to keep it closed and all the piece fit perfect together. It holds countless DVDs so its really cool. I also close it most the time so my asymmetric DVDs aren't an eye sore and so my dogs don't eat my DVDs (which they have before). The only 2 problems are that the doors don't stay open all the way and that the wood is easily scratched.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Careful with security divider- need two people
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 5, 2011

Be careful as you read the directions. You're supposed to put together the bottom, then flip it over with the security divider piece only attached by two screws. This really requires two people and it should say so. I'm not generally one to complain about directions but the piece broke when my husband was putting it together and we've been waiting three plus weeks to get a new piece. Not impressed. For the "not cheap" price, I would have expected a bit better. I do look forward to getting it and getting the piece put together so we can use it though. I might be able to recommend it more once that happens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is beautiful and what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. okay quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD case
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Sep 29, 2011

Nice product fairly easy to put together with good directions looks nice and fuctios well

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely, compact and easy to assemble.
 from Alexandria, VA,  Sep 19, 2011

I am very happy with the Media storage product. The boxes were a bit heavy...but the product (once assembled), makes a wonderful addition to any room...and it helps to neatly store away DVDs and CDs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice-looking Cabinet
 from Milpitas, CA,  Aug 3, 2011

This cabinet holds more than it looks like it would. Assembly is easy but takes some time- you'll definitely benefit from a power screwdriver or drill. The finished product looks very nice with clean lines, nice hardware, and dark coloring to match our existing living room furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Hard to tell color on site photo--has dark "espresso" color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy with nice look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MEDIA STORAGE CABINET
 from SAN DIEGO,  Apr 6, 2011

I AM OVERALL PLEASED WITH THIS CABINET, IT DID APPEAR LARGER IN THE PICTURE AS FAR AS HEIGHT BUT THE QUALITY IS FAIR, I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PURCHASE 2 MORE TO GET ALL OF MY MEDIA ITEMS SAFELY TUCKED AWAY, THE ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE LOCK, IT IS FLIMSY AND NOT SECURE.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? YES
  • How is the quality of the product? AVERAGE
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? YES
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
'Windowpane' Espresso Media Cabinet
Sale $194.44
Was $216.05
Compare $309.00
Save 37%
(21)
Back to top