Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
DIFFICULT TO ASSEMBLE
 from Endwell, NY,  Oct 30, 2010

Purschaed the TALL bookcase. Arrived in 2 boxes (bottom and top pieces). Put the bottom part together first. Then when I started reading direction to put the top piece together the instructions stated "DISREGARD INSTRUCTIONS FROM PREVIOUS BOX". WHAT?? I was so mad! Wood is cheap, chipped pieces off while tryng to put it together. Instructions are terrible!! If I hadn't messed up on putting the bottom part together first, I NEVER would have known how to put the top part together. Very disappointed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As poorly constructed as you would imagine
 from Rochester, NY,  Oct 5, 2010

This bookshelf would look great if it was not so poorly constructed. It uses a latch and dowel system like most unassembled furniture, but most unassembled furniture does not use plastic dowels to hold the front rails on. This one does. And they break off inside the particle board when you try to assemble it. Forget trying to get them out to install replacement ones because any attempt will simply break off chunks of the particle board rendering the bookshelf even more useless than it was before you tried. Further, they give you a single anchor to anchor it to the wall. The screw they give you is not even long enough to make it through the drywall, let alone into the studs like they tell you to. Then they give you a zip-tie to hold it to the wall, but of course that is so lightweight that it would not hold a 5lb picture to the wall, let alone a 70lb poorly constructed wobbly book shelf. If you plan to actually put books on the BOOK shelf, think again. The flimsy plastic shelf holders started to crack as soon as I started inserting a couple books. Do yourself a favor. Do not order this bookshelf. Spend the extra couple hundred dollars and get one made out of real wood and screws.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Everett Espresso 77-inch 6-shelf Bookcase
 from New York, NY,  Aug 21, 2010

It took longer than expected to arrive the bookcase was not as easy to install as it looked like at first. It was easy to mix the parts. that created some dents in the finished bookcase. The backing is uneven and flimsy But all said and done it looks good for the price paid and I got to do it all by myself!!!! I am proud of the result and now I can display all my memorabilia in style

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheaper than it looked online
 from Richmond, VA,  Sep 13, 2010

Was a little disappointed in the quality - it assembled just fine and is now filled with books because we needed somewhere to put them. Didn't match the caliber of the shelf we picked up at *****, next time we will just go there!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from Ellenton, Florida,  Sep 16, 2010

I ordered this bookcase for my grandson's room. At first the assembly was intimidating, but my son was able to put it together without help and it is a nice piece of furniture for the money. A few mars that he was able to go over with crayon. Sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase works out perfect. In office.
 from North Las Vegas Nevada,  May 21, 2014

Had some minor damage from shipping. That seems to be a chronic problem when furniture is shipped. Pleased with the bookcase. Finished product looks very nice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What I wanted, but hard to figure out directions
 from Richland, WA,  May 20, 2014

This bookcase is what I needed and wanted. The directions were difficult to figure out.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, but came with a broken piece
 from Santa Maria, CA,  Dec 4, 2013

Easy to install, product looks great. Only problem I had was that it came with a broken part (kicker at the bottom). It came last week, so I called the number in the box the next day and they said they were sending one right away. It's been exactly one week and I still haven't receive the part. It's probably because last week was Thanksgiving week, so I'm hoping it will arrive at my door in the next couple of days.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase for the price.
 from New York, NY,  Nov 24, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for in a cheap bookcase. I have two. Note that the height of the second shelf from the bottom is not adjustable.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average
 from Oregon,  Oct 11, 2013

Not easy to put together, didn't line up right. Took about 2 hours.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece of furniture
 from New York, NY,  Jun 4, 2013

Nice piece of furniture that looks even better with books inside. Want to order another.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not the best, but great for the price. No complaints
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the money.
 from New Jersey,  Mar 30, 2013

Exactly as shown. Great workmanship and a great product for the money. I buy often from overstock because they always come thru.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent workmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase!
 from MONTANA,  Oct 20, 2012

I love this bookcase, I needed something to get between my fireplace and wall and this was perfect! I love the color and the height gives you lots of space for your books, pictures, candles and decorations. My brother put it together when I wasn't home, so I am not sure how it was to assemble, but it was done when I got home and I love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For under $200, this is a great quality bookcase.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Woodbridge, NJ,  Aug 25, 2012

I purchased this bookcase for our library. My husband loves it. It's just what he was looking for. 77" Height is perfect. Design and color is elegant looking. Now my husband wants to replace the other two bookcases we already have with another one just like this bookcase. I am just waiting for 10% or 20% discount to be offered before I can purchase another one. I highly recommend this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? On the dot!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Junk Bookcase
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 26, 2012

This bookcase is a piece of trash that now resides in the shed holding junk. I thought I would never place an order at O.com but I forgive and am partly to blame for not shipping it back. But who wants to put a bookcase back in the box and return it.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't pay attention to the directions in the...
 from San Francisco,  Apr 26, 2012

The pieces in the small box actually make their own self-contained, short bookshelf, and tell you to do so in the directions that are part of this set. Don't follow them. Follow the directions in the big box, and you won't put the top piece on the small bookshelf and then wonder why the tall pieces don't fit on top like the directions show. Ok, just trust me, ignore the directions on box one, hunt for the ones in box 2 and follow those. And it'll look great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent Addition to My Living Room Decor
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 29, 2012

The product arrived and was relatively easy to assemble. I was glad that I'd already read a number of product reviews which warned that the assembly directions in the smaller box should be disregarded. It would be nice if this was made more clear to the consumer so that those who don't peruse product reviews don't make the mistake of following the wrong directions. The product looks great and is relatively sturdy. I have noticed bowing in one of the shelves which I actually filled with books (it is a bookshelf after all). I feel that given the price of the product, the shelves could have been a bit sturdier. All of the other shelves (which are filled half with books and half with knick-nacks) look great. All the bowing is a bit irritating, I would still consider myself to be satisfied with this product. Overall I think this is a decent product. A bit expensive for the quality, but I'd buy another if given the chance.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual color of the product matched the pictures on the website very well.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking bookcases
 from Colorado,  Feb 4, 2012

The product arrives in 2 boxes. One box contains a 29" unit that can be assembled to stand alone or when following instuctions from the second (larger) box it can become a lower portion for the 77" unit with slight modification. I didn't realize that at first and was confused as to how I was going to conect the upper unit with the lower. I ended up redoing part of the assembly on the lower unit. Should you order a 77" unit, follow the instructions from the larger box ONLY.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color has more variation than appears on site but works well with room decor.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As expected with pre packed, do-it-yourself assembly it requires extra attention to make sure it is square.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, Classic Bookcase
 from I am in PA and my children are in OR,  Jan 10, 2012

This was a Christmas present for one of my sons and his wife. They are just now putting their first home together. They love the bookcase. It is classic and roomy. They can see it in any number of rooms in a home. The shelves are an appropiate size for lots of books and collections.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is not quite as dark as pictured which is not a bad thing. It is a warm finish.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice. Detailing lifted it from the realm of particle board, flat "everything" bookcases.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble
 from Atlanta, GA,  Nov 16, 2011

I'm not a very handy woman, and I live by myself, so the fact that I was able to assemble this bookshelf on my own was great. The instructions are easy to follow. It took me about an hour to assemble, but that's because home improvements/handy work is not my strength.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exact.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
6-shelf Bookcase
Today $169.99
Compare $188.05
Save 10%
(59)
Mulberry Wood Bookcase
Today $219.99
Fair Haven Tall Bookcase
Sale $200.69
Was $222.99
(31)
Comfort Products Coublo Collection Bookcase
Today $160.99
Compare $335.15
Save 52%
Ferndale Large 6-foot Espresso Bookcase
Sale $359.99
Was $399.99
Compare $406.23
Save 11%
Austin' 4-foot Bookcase
Today $208.99
Compare $258.74
Save 19%
(13)
Back to top