Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 90 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Just what we needed
 from Kansas City,  Dec 10, 2007

We were looking for a storage bed, and this bed filled the bill. A very heavy construction quality wood piece of furniture. The bed took us about 3 and a half hours to put together. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow. I have put together probably 100 pieces of knock down furniture and this was by far the easist set of instructions to follow. I would recommend using a hand held screw driver, and not a cordless drill, anytime you use a drill you have the chance to strip screws and damage surfaces if you are not cautious. Assembly will require two people at certain times, and it will certainly help speed things up during the whole process. You do not need box springs for this bed, we are using the mattress only as there are slats that take the place of the box springs. The drawers are not terribly big, but are perfect for extra shoes, or clothes. They are not made for books or heavy items. The color is very dark, and in certain light could be seen as black. We also purchased the matching head board and I would recommend getting it with this bed. Overall I was surprised with the quality of this bed, and I would buy another one if we needed another bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Constantly requires adjustments!
 from DFW Texas,  Sep 25, 2009

We bought this product for the storage it provided as well as the bed frame. When it was delivered we had an idea that putting all the pieces together would be our biggest issue...turns out we were wrong. The frame was not sturdy and the drawers have never lined up from day one. The cheap pressed wood was something to be desired but we knew we weren't buying top of the line when we made the purchase. It squeaks if either one of us moves and the wood is constantly shifting so we are forced to take the heavy platform mattress off a few times a month to make adjustments to the frame. I buy quite a bit online and believe I rate things fairly because of all the good and bad I've bought but this was just a bad buy period and I just couldn't let anyone make the same mistake in purchasing this product like we did.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This bed is okay at best. Mine arrived with scuffs and scrapes in the finish. The drawers were not built thick enough to get the screws flush without damaging them, and they don't slide in or out without being perfectly flush. The "solid wood slats" look more like slices of plywood, and I was concerned that they would splinter into my mattress so I had to get some plastic to lay down between the two. Don't be fooled by the picture, this is not a great deal, it's a cheap price for a cheap bed. Not bad enough to try and return, given the hassle, but enough to prevent me from ever purchasing furniture from overstock again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Falls Church, VA,  Jul 27, 2007

The bed is quite sturdy and has a nice appearance. The particle board structure is solid however the venier isn't as nice a quality as other assemble-yourself furniture. There were two small scratches on both the headboard and foot board but this may have happened in shipping since one of the three boxes opened [well, self-destructed] during shipping. Although the assembly was lengthy the biggest trick is having an electric screwdriver and I fortunately have a ratchet set with a hex-screw attachment which saved a great deal of time. The bed itself was up in less than 2 hours....the drawers took about that same amount of time. You'll need more space to work than you think...i had to modify the assembly order to accomodate rescricted work area. All told, I'd buy it again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Expensive chipboard with plastic vaneer
 from Camden, Me,  Mar 24, 2011

Wow, what a mistake. The furniture is an embarassment to my online shopping prowess - run, don't walk away from this chipboard disaster.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
platform bed
 from California,  Aug 1, 2008

It is good quality, Made in Canada, even smells good, like fresh cut lumber. looks great. Very happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worthwhile if assembled well
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 1, 2013

First of all, this bed is not the easiest to assemble by yourself. I would definitely recommend putting it together with a friend. Even with a buddy I had some difficulties because not all of the screw holes and parts matched up. When screwing in one of the sides it broke through the hole so the side flaps around. The drawers worked well for about a week but if you fill them up the bottoms will fall out on you. Just with sheets and sweaters and stuff the drawers broke. Still the bed looked great for about a year. Then I moved and, well, all I can say is this is not the bed of choice for a transient lifestyle. It DOES NOT travel well. It fell apart in the move and when my movers tried to put it back together they told me that the parts were garbage and it wouldn't survive another move. Also the slats always slide and never stay in place. Once a week I need to lift up the mattress and put the slats back in the place. After two years the bed is in shambles, none of the drawers work and the side panel is coming off. I'm buying another bed for my next move, as this will most certainly not survive another trip across town.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. just so-so
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? average
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Missoula, MT,  Sep 13, 2011

We wanted something with drawers so we didn't have to try to fit a dresser in our small bedroom and this is perfect. The drawers are good sized and work smoothly. The only downside is the two front drawers are blocked by the bedside tables. We did not want a head board and this head oars is so small as to be perfect for our needs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High average quality and great assembly instructions
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Excellent
 from St. Augustine, FL,  Apr 13, 2011

The product picture and design look great but it has couple of flaw's. The wood is like ply sheet pressure wood that has sticker that looks like a finished wood. All of the pieces of wood have some type peeling look to it. The storage system is great but drawers system the weight is supported by cardboard which it will not support wight of multiple items. The screws and nuts don't really work with each other because I still have 3 screws and 3 nuts that has bad threads and it goes inside of the headboard and foot board. Keeping the angles at a 90 degree from each corner will not work because of movement and not being supported to keep it at a 90 degree structure and angle at all times. So I do not recommend this bed just because if not having a proper support angle this wood frame will crack.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor quality
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 9, 2010

I don't typically write reviews, but this product was so bad i decided to speak up to save you the trouble. This bed started to fall apart after about 4 months of use. The drawers don't stay in their runners, the footboard and headboard separate from the sides from the weight of the mattress alone. The wood is cheap particle board, and the screws rub against with ordinary use, tearing away at the wood and making smooth shafts with no grip and leaving you with a floor covered in saw dust. the bed literally falls apart under its own weight. One review says it won't survive a move. I presume they mean moving from home to home. That's absolutely true. For that matter, it won't survive a move across a room, or a move 2 inches to the left. In summary: this bed might fit your bill if -you don't plan on sleeping on it -you don't need the drawers -you don't put a mattress on it -you can leave it exactly where it is -you feel like wasting **** but don't want to burn it

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from west palm bch, fl,  Jun 18, 2008

I received my storage bed within a reasonable time. A couple knicks and scratches here and there but the piece is absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend put it together by himself and it took probably about 4-5hours. The drawers are a very good size. I went to a couple of places around town and they were charging insane amounts for this bed with LESS drawers! Take this while its in stock. You wont regret it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad Choice
 from GRETNA, LA,  Feb 4, 2008

I'm completely dissatisfied with the quality of the product. It has sharp edges, unergonomic finish; the drawers are too small and do not close completely. DO NOT BUY IT!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of Storage, Good Value
 from Jefferson, PA,  Dec 2, 2007

I have a small place and need lots of storage. This bed is perfect for me. 6 drawers which are a little bigger than in my chest allowed me to move my chest into my spare room and use this for my clothes. You don't need your boxspring, just a mattress. Has lots of parts so give yourself 2 hours to assemble but worth the time (the drawers take most fo the time as there's 6 x all the parts) Worth the price and arrived in 8 days. Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, drawers a little difficult
 from new haven, CT,  Sep 3, 2007

The drawers are not as well-fitting as I'd like and they definitely can not hold anything much heavier than clothes and other light items, so please don't plan on putting text books inside them. Also, be aware that the assembly will take at least 2+ hours, so hire someone if you are impatient and non-technical or be prepared. Overall, the color and appearance of the bed is gorgeous and I love that it is very sturdy and will definitely last me a few years. This bed is a good value for someone who wants to be space-savvy. The Everett Espresso series looks great together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not that sturdy
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 6, 2013

I've ordered quite a few items from Overstock and have been very pleased with the products. I was pretty disappointed with this piece. This bed would best fit a child but not an adult. It didn't really support any weight or activity. The dividers that hold the bed on the bottom is all press board so it easily split. The bed completely broke apart in less than a year. Because it was press board used to stabilize it, you couldn't Gorilla Glue it back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed at a Great Price
 from Stedman, NC,  Jul 28, 2012

I am pleased with my purchase. It arrived early and in great shape. Only very minor scratches in 2 places that came from shipping. It was very easy to put together. I put it together by myself. However, It took me 7.5hrs just to put the frame together. But I didnt have a drill. Done it all by hand with a screwdriver. Another 5hrs to put the drawers together. Done it all at my pace. Everything was in the boxes that I needed. No hardware was missing. Very Pleased! Im a curvy lady and I love how sturdy this bed is:)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not great quality
 from Louisiana,  Jun 1, 2012

I bought this bed in 2007. I assembled it myself, but I have experience doing this. If you don't have experience you should have a helper. The sides of the bed, which would be the wood behind the drawers, is very flimsy. It could probably be curved into an "S" with no problem. The only real wood in the bed is the slats. The bed was nice once it was put together. It didn't slide on the floor so the flimsy sides weren't much of an issue. The issue came when we moved. THIS BED SHOULD NOT BE MOVED. We moved twice with the bed, and it fell apart more each time. Finally, we ditched it. Yes, we did get 4 years from it, but I felt for the price we should have gotten more. If we had stayed in the same home, it would have probably lasted longer. One minor note about the drawers... if you have nightstands close to the bed, they will be in the way of the headboard end drawers. We could not use them. Also, the bed has very sharp corners. Several bruises from getting up at night.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This really sucked
 from New Hampshire,  May 31, 2012

It was bad I hated it me and my grandma tryed putting it together and it broke it was cheap wood I will never buy anything for my bed again from here and I'm looking to get my money back from it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed for second bedroom
 from Santa Clara, CA,  Jul 16, 2011

The bed came in 3 pieces from UPS, delivered to my door. It was easy to assemble. I was able to do it myself, but recommend another person to help. The drawers are spacious and the sliders are good quality. They don't stick. The material is MDF and particle board veneer, so it chips easily. A black or brown Sharpie hides the blemishes. The food board is low profile, so it's easy to sit on the end of the bed, and you won't knock your shins or your knees on it. I bought this for my second bedroom which needs more storage, so the drawers were great. I've never had a slat bed before. You don't need a box spring, just a mattress. It's study and comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Lower grade materials but very satisfied
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for small rooms
 from Baltimore,  May 14, 2011

I have a small bedroom (15x15). I saw this platform bed on line and ordered it after reading the reviews. I got the order in a relatively short time, came in two large heavy boxes. It has been a year now since I ordered it and I really can say that this bed is great! Assembly does take two people for best results, pretty easy to put together. The bed is very sturdy, storage drawers are sturdy as well but I would advise that you shouldn't put heavy items/clothes in the drawers, they work better for light clothing/undergarments. I even ordered the matching headboard and received compliments from friends and relatives who saw my room. Bottom line, go ahead and get this bed if you have a small room and you want to get both a nice size bed and storage rolled into one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 90 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought