Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 86 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Looks like PB Samantha
 from NY,  Sep 9, 2006

This shelf looks like the PB Samantha shelf at a fraction of the cost. The directions are really not that clear, but you can figure it out if you take your time. There is not a full backing to the back of the cubbies (meaning that you can see the wall when mounted). If hung correctly, the hooks are study and can support jackets & coats.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sonoma Cubby Shelf
 from Colorado,  May 7, 2006

Great in garage entry near mud room. Sturdy, functional and attractive. Not at all difficult to assemble or mount. Instructions are not correct as others have pointed out, but it isn't difficult to tell what goes where. Good product. Highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from portsmouth , NH,  Jan 8, 2013

ordered this item for storage for entranceway. holds up well and looks more expensive than it is. Great value for the price. we use it to store outdoor items, mittens gloves, dog leashes ect; items that would normally clutter the entrance area. not too difficult to assemble. love that it has hooks to hang, a great organizational item. I see complaints about the quality which is surprising, The quality is exceptional for the price. I didnít invest in a high end piece of furniture , I bought a unit that I know I was going to treat rough, and got above what i would expect for the price. It holds up well for the rugged use we give it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for price, sturdy holds up
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Iowa,  Dec 16, 2010

I love this shelf, it has helped us organize the mud room. It is sturdy and big, and you will need someone strong and good with tools to put it together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cubby shelves
 from Utah,  Oct 19, 2008

We purchased 5 shelves on this site that were awesome. We purchased this one the same day. The quality of this is poor, made with particle board. We purchased it for a bathroom so it will not hold up. We had to finish painting the unfinished sides of all the pieces to seal it and then we could put it together. No baskets came with this set. The other sets we purchased were of a much nicer quality, were solid wood and were finished and then included the baskets for less money. This was a very disappointing purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I was disappointed when putting this piece together. The instructions are not very good. You must be careful to get everything in the correct direction. The holes that the plastic dowels go into were deeper than they should have been and swallowed up the entire peg. I was covered in black "shoe polish" when I was done assembling this piece. The black permanant marker included with the hardware should have been a clue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sonoma Cubby
 from Carlton, OR,  Oct 26, 2007

Coordinates very nicely with Sonoma Cubby Bench. Rich, warm color. Works really well to hang coats if you don't have a coat closet in your home. Would be nice if website linked a set of baskets to this product so that customers would not need to shop around on their own for baskets to fit after receiving the shelf.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Pennsylvania,  Jan 30, 2006

We purchased this along with the bench, (seperate review). There was large gobs of yellow glue on the shelf supports and the paint was scraped from some edges. Also did not appear too sturdy. Would not recomend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from California,  Jan 30, 2006

Sadly, this cubby shelf wasn't up to snuff. The assembly instructions were incorrect as another reviewer pointed out. Please get the correct instructions before attempting to assemble. Otherwise, you'll wind up with holes where there shouldn't be! Otherwise, product is OK...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Cubbie
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 27, 2014

Great cubbie, fairly easy to put together, and large! I was about to order the 4-sectioned cubbie, but remeasured the space it was going to be installed and decided on this 3-sectioned one. The cubbie is quite tall and deep, so it really does take up some space! The 4-sectioned one would have fit in the space but would have overwhelmed it. My only complaint is with the pre-drilled holes in one of the back pieces-- it would have been nice if the holes were drilled in both ends so that it didn't matter which way you tried to screw in the attaching pieces. Because the directions weren't incredibly clear, we ended up securing that back piece in and then realizing that the dividers couldn't be secured because we'd put the back piece in upside down. We just drilled new holes instead of taking what we'd done apart. Also, we weren't impressed by the number and placement of the pre-drilled holes for securing the cubbie to the wall. My husband is quite handy and felt that the weight of the cubbie wouldn't be adequately supported, so we screwed the cubbie into the wall in some additional places.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactlly what I needed!
 from Tempe, AZ,  Jan 2, 2014

I was worried this was going to be some cheaply made shelve, BUT boy was I wrong. Its strong, heavy and very well made! It was true to its dimensions and arrived it good packing so not to get damaged. Also arrived with all parts and screws. Well worth the price!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive and Functional
 from Seattle, WA,  Oct 2, 2013

What I like: the simple clean lines and solid black with sturdy hooks looks beautiful in our foyer (no more of my husband hanging his jacket on the staircase banister. It was fairly easy to put together (just make sure you line up the holes on the shelf dividers to use later). It is nice to have a dedicated space for our daughter's lunchbox and school papers in a cubbie. What I did not like: I am confused why the 2.5 inch screws to mount the unit on the wall were not included with the product . I had to go to the hardware store to purchase them separately. I would encourage you to use your stud finder then use 3 inch wood screws to mount it instead.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, very good quality!
 from Oklahoma,  Feb 22, 2013

This is very classy looking and very sturdy. Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We ordered this for my husbands office to hang sweatshirts on and file small things. It came with in a reasonable amount of time. The material that the shelves are made from is extremely flimsey particle board. It was so flimsey it wouldnt stay together and kept breaking parts off. It was the worst product I have ever purchased, and I would highly recommend not every buying this flimsey piece of garbage. I hope overstock removes this junk from their site. There are other complaints of the same. I didnt read reviews before I purchased, and wish I had. If you are reading this, at least you know how bad this is.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was so bad. It fell apart at every step of the way, and we sent it back. It was the worst material I have ever seen. Particle board was like saw dust, the minute you touched it, it broke.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Storage
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 29, 2012

I have this shelf in my bedroom. It works perfectly to store cosmetics, perfume and medicine. You can also hang items for convenience: towels, bathrobe, loungewear. It takes up a good portion of wall, but is very useful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sonoma Cubby shelf and bench
 from CLeveland, OH,  Nov 24, 2012

I LOVE my new shelf and bench!! It looks amazing in the mud room! I was a little nervous because some of the comments said the packing was badly beaten when arrived (mine arrived in perfect shape) that it was cheap/flimsey (the bench and shelf that we have are are sturdy...my husband is 200lbs and the bench is holding up well). It looks absolutley amazing in the mud room. It is beautiful and functional! We come in through the garage into the mud room and hang up our coats, backpacks, purses...take off our shoes and store them in the bench cubby...It has made my house neat and organized...I cannot say enough positive comments. It looks just as good as more expensive models from other stores....C&B, and that is where everyone thinks these pieces came from! So I just let them keep on thinking it! I would recommend these two products to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color looked exactly as it did when I ordered it
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It arrived at our home in great shape. I will a bit nervous because some of the other comments stated that the packaging was beat up. It is solid, was easy for my husband to assemble and looks fantastic in our new Mud room!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The bench and shelf look exactly like it does in the picture.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 16, 2012

I bought this shelf to put above the flat screen tv in my bedroom. The flat screen is on a black narrow bookcase on a flat wall so when I hung the shelf over the flat screen it looked like a custom built in. I bought large boxes with covers to put in the 3 cubbies and that's where all my dvds are stored. There is even room on the top to set accent lights - it looks like a high end built in. There is a stabilizer bar that gets screwed into the studs and the shelf drops right onto the bar - no worries about it falling off the wall and no need for those horrible wall anchors. I highly recommend this shelf.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice piece but directions were dreadful
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 6, 2012

If you have a couple hours to set aside to put this together, it's a great product. The directions were awful and it definitely helps to have someone to help with assembly. As I also mentioned, you'd have to have baskets to go in the cubby holes as the backing doesn't stretch all the way so half of the wall shows behind the cubbies- doesn't look good. Overall, I'm satisfied with this and it made a fantastic faux entry!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product was great except for the back paneling which doesn't cover the three cubby holes. It appears the back paneling is missing on half of it and you would need to have baskets in the cubby holes to hide the space.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate. Although this piece was a LOT bigger than I anticipated.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome product and great storage!
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Mar 15, 2012

Great nook for storage in foyer or bedroom. Perfect size for what I needed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very practical and veryw ell made.
 from Queens, New York,  Mar 7, 2012

Having a family it's just eaier for a mom to pick up less around the house. Plus they find their coats, hats and school bags all in one place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice and great to have.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 86 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Everett Espresso Entryway Cubbie Shelf
Today $89.93
Compare $129.99
Save 31%
(31)
Wood Cubby Bench
Today $93.99
Compare $135.55
Save 31%
(122)
Back to top