Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Can't be worse
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  May 19, 2011

This is an awful A/C. It's small and compact but so is a fan. Does not cool. Don't even hope that it will. It can cool maybe 15 sqft. Very badly manufactured product that should not be sold.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great unit -- until it wasn't
 from Denver, CO,  Aug 1, 2011

I was really pleased with this A/C/ unit intially. It did everything the site and other reviewers promised. I started noticing that the unit leaked when in A/C mode. The water reservoir wasn't full and the indicator light never turned on. Another reviewer commented that their unit leaked due to a manufacturer's default and when I called Edgestar (who were awesome to work with!) they suspected the same thing was making my unit leak. Edgestar made it really easy to return the unit and even supplied a prepaid FedEx label. O.co supplied the refund and all was taken care of. I have since purchased a Koolfront 8,000 BTU portable air conditioner and it is working like a charm.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. There is a known manufacturer's default.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Poor
Will not cool even a small room
 from New York, NY,  Mar 22, 2014

No idea why companies make products that are completely not effective. It's very frustrating. I guess I was taken in by the price but ended up with nothing but a waste of time. This cannot and will not cool anything larger than a 5x5 closet. It is short and noisy. all in all an annoying product. not sure how much return shipping is going to be...very disappointed.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Poor
Edgestar Junk
 from Corrales, NM,  Mar 8, 2014

This DOES NOT COOL. It will blow some cold air, but it's probably only enough to cool the box it was shipped in. Called the manufacturer to see if it was a defect and was basically read from a script about this and that with no straight answer. Very disappointing purchase. The hose is a crazy adventure to connect as well.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the job
 from Houston,  Mar 24, 2011

The EdgeStar 8,000 AC unit is doing a great job of cooling and dehumidifying a tack room in our barn. The room is not insulated and our weather is hot and humid, even in March. The EdgeStar makes the room comfortable quickly after we turn it on. The remote control allows us to change modes and settings with a few clicks. The AC has a good capacity for storing water from dehumidifying and is easy to drain. It comes with an easy to set up exhaust hose and window panels. It doesn't take up a lot of room. We are very happy with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Portabe Air Conditioner
 from Dayton, TN,  Jun 24, 2011

This "portable" air conditioner is not quite as portable as the description would have you believe. It needs an exhaust vent so you must have it hooked up to the exhaust hose provided and near a window for use. We bought it to use in our camping van. The hose was not long enough so my husband hooked a dryer hose up to the provided hose and vented it out the front window of the van. This does not work. The dryer hose is not large enought and the hose gets much too hot. We hesitate to cut a hole in the body of the van to vent it, so we have decided to use it in our travel trailer where it works very well.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? It seems to be of good quality.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed, compact and easy to install
 from New York, NY,  May 18, 2011

I knew I needed a small moble air conditioner for my bedroom. Last summer I had moved to the living room and slept on my pull -out sofa, did not want to do that again. I started looking early April and found this Edgestar 8000 btu that would plug right into my outlet in the bedroom and it fit my pocketbook . It arrived three days after I ordered it, I uppacked it , put it together (really simple) rolled it to my bedroom, set up the vent in the window and plugged it in. I did have a question about the condensation so I called Edgestar and they answered my question.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes, color and size are perfect
  • How is the quality of the product? Was just what I needed and I am very happy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes, you described it exactly as it is. Very easy to move.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for my bedroom
 from new york, ny,  Jun 23, 2011

I have an 8x19 foot room and this is the perfect size. Cools the room down quickly. Dehumidifier option is great too because I live on the ground floor and takes away the humidity while also seemingly cooling down the room. A little loud, but I suspect all portable a/cs are pretty loud. I also have it on a table which could make it a little bit louder than if it were on the ground.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Relatively easy to install, But my neighbor had to trim off a portion of the window insert in order to intall it in the room I purchased it to cool. It does a good cooling job for this bedroom.Saved us from the heatwave...did not realize how much this addition would improve our quality of sleep.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct/exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cooled so well
 from El Paso, Tx,  Jun 29, 2011

This a/c was perfect except that it leaked on my floor. Used only once and had to return. very nice though. I would purchase another in the future.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? manufacture problem
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes, but sad that their was a manufacture problem
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value.
 from NJ,  Jun 23, 2011

It's a good air conditioner, easy to install and pretty powerful for the size and cost. The only problem is that it's very noisy. I bought if for my sons' room, but my older son can't sleep with the noise.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top