Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Wow!
 from Orlando, FL,  May 28, 2011

All I can say is, "Wow!"... This water heater is great. I purchased my house in 2008 and the old water heater has been in this home since 1990. About 4 weeks ago, I needed to replace a faucet in the laundry room. I turned off the old water heater and shut off the water supply to the house. When I replaced the faucet and turned the water back on, the 21 year old beast sprung a leak.... dripping water at a moderate rate into the drain pan beneath it (thankfully, there was a pan installed!). After doing a decent amount of research online, I found out that my gas company has a rebate program for customers who upgrade their water heater to a more efficient model. The more efficient the heater, the bigger the rebate (up to $450). I began hunting around my local big-box home improvement stores (**** and ****) to see what they had to offer. To my dismay, their cheapest models were not efficient enough to qualify for a rebate (I needed an "energy factor" of at least .63). And the models with the higher efficiencies cost over $1000!! Needless to say, I hightailed it back home to see what the various internet retailers had to offer. The prices online were certainly easier to stomach, but the shipping from a lot of them was exhorbitant (especially the tank-style monstrosities). I found a few sellers on **** selling some strange chinese-brand of tankless heater for around $400, but I was concerned about using **** for such an important purchase. What if the water heater was defective? Or sprung a leak? No... I wanted a reputable vendor selling a decent brand. That's when I saw the Eccotemp on Overstock. At first, I thought it was too good to be true. A price under ***, with $3 shipping?? After reading a bunch of review, I decided to pull the trigger. Overstock only had a few left, and I really wanted to take a hot shower! After paying for the water heater, I expected to wait AT LEAST a week for it to arrive... but lo and behold, it came in THREE DAYS! Talk about fast service! I was absolutely thrilled! I've never installed a water heater, and after a lot of planning, trips to **** for parts, screaming and bruised knuckles, I managed to get the old water heater out and the Eccotemp plumbed up to the old piping. It works great! On demand, endless hot water. No wasted energy heating 40 gallons of water just sitting in a tank! It has an energy factor of .80! I can easily change the temperature of the water using the digital controls. It's so small, I have more room in my utility closet for my lawn and garden tools! And to top it all off, my gas company sent me a check fours days later for the FULL AMOUNT of my purchase... so basically, it was "FREE"! (I still had to pay for all the parts, including the gas line, pressure relief valve, copper pipes, flexible water lines, exhaust pipe, etc). Mind you, installation is not for the meek. But, with the right prep, any homeowner comfortable with hand tools and some basic plumbing can install one. I didn't even use solder, instead opting to use a special "copper epoxy" specially made for plumbing copper.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Fantastic in fit, finish and function
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT RATED
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 30, 2011

Seems to work just fine. However, they are not rated by any professional plumbing association and/or not rated ENERGY STAR. Therefore, after buying 4 of them for an apartment building i own in Los Angeles they would not pass inspection and i was forced to remove them. When they get some certifications i think this will be a good product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Updating a tank-type heater.
 from CA,  Feb 5, 2011

I think this may be helpful for those who are considering replacing an existing tank-type heater, The heater arrived exactly when it was supposed to; the thing that got me was how small it was, even though I'd checked the dimensions before purchase. We have very old and internally rusted 1/2" galvanized pipes, but are planning to finish a copper replacement project soon. Since I didn't want to do things twice, I used copper for the neccesary repiping; as I didn't want to clog the heater, I elected to install a water filter on the inlet side which lowered the water pressure even more, near to the bottom end of acceptable. A pressure safety valve of 150 PSI or less must be installed on the outlet side and is not included; I pulled the one from the old heater, which worked fine after I built a T extension to accomodate it. The heater should be mounted to a stud and as close as posible to the old vent system; you may be able to grandfather the old system if it's in good shape, the heater is located in an unheated area with good ventillation. and the vent pipe has several inches of clearance (particularly on the top) Another important thing is the temperature setting; I found with the gas in 1/2" pipes that the max temperature was just under 115` F. The important thing to remember is the hot water flow is endless, so it is not neccesary to mix with colder water to extend the usable time; consequently I set mine to 114`. This worked perfectly and I could shower as long as I liked, while allowing a slight mix with cold water for a comfortable starting temperature. You'll probably need an extension cord for the electronics; although the length is given as 10', it is actually 6'. I think this heater is a HUGE bargain. It cost less than replacing the old one with the same model, has a longer warranty and should save a lot of money over it's lifespan, Although I had initial concerns over whether it would work for my situation, I found it did with a little tweeking and was very pleased with almost everything about it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Water Heater
 from Loveland CO,  Jan 12, 2011

This is a great heater and has a fantastic warranty it installed easily with no issues. I love it. what a GREAT value. I highly recommend this unit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Quality Good Price
 from Liberty, TX,  Jan 6, 2011

Received product quickly and was impressed with the quality. My only drawback was the need for other parts necessary to install the unit properly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from California,  Aug 25, 2009

We planned to replace our old water heater with a tankless one for some times. Overstock dropped the price on this unit. It is an excellent price comparing to over $1000 in local home store. Great value!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from Kansas City, MO,  Jun 30, 2009

This is a great tankless water heater though it is my first. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced. I called their support line at 10 pm and the engineer that wrote the manual was answering the phone!!! They were very pleasant and helpful. Be prepared when you go green you will have to make some sacrifices, however, I can take a two hour long shower!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gas Indoor Tankless Water Heater
 from Texas,  Jan 2, 2012

Replaced my mother's old water heater with this unit. After removing the old water heater you will need to buy some new fittings, relief valve, shutoff valves, and relocate the water pipes toward the wall where you will hang the unit. You will also need some vent pipe and some connectors and angles for the vent. Expect to spend about $160 more on these parts to complete the installation but it is well worth it in unlimited hot water, as long as you don't have too much demand on the system at once. Also much more economical to heat the water only on demand and not all the time. Installed for almost a whole year now with zero problems.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality and craftsmanship
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pleased
 from San Antonio, Texas,  Jul 27, 2011

I am very pleased with my experience with OVERSTOCK.COM, and most certainly will make future purchases from them. My tankless water heater arrived in 5 days. (I had allowed 7 to 10) It was in perfect shape! The price was just a few dollars more then I would have paid for a tank water heater. Now every time I think about making a purchase, I always check out OVERSTOCK.COM first. W. C. Snow

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. extreamly good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
had for 8 months
 from NJ.,  Jul 4, 2011

Excellient product, works great even when using the shower, bathroom sink & Kitchen sink. no loss of hot water or pressure gas bill dropped alot $26. to $30 Month easy installation you do have to go to a major plumbing supply co. Home depot & lowes don't carry parts for installation one supplier i found: GPS plumbing supply co has everything.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? matched
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product
 Feb 26, 2011

I have owned the Eccotemp 6.3 GPM Natural Gas Indoor Tankless Water Heater almost a year now. Bought it last year in March 2010. The additional cost to install it was breath taking, but over all in the long run it was worth it. The product is great, if you want to take a shower for 2 or 3 hours come out looking like a prune, you can do it with this water heater, it just keeps right on heating. Product is great, and overstock.com's price was good also. I have recommended this product to all my friends and family, and would recommend it to anyone wanting get rid of that old tank in the wall of a water heater that runs out of hot water in 20 minutes. Go with the Eccotemp 6.3 GPM Natural Gas Indoor Tankless Water Heater, you'll be glad you did.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ECCOTEMP GAS WATER HEATER
 from Milford, CT,  Dec 21, 2010

Note that I reviewed several water heaters before buying this one. This one does an adequate job heating one shower at a time but don't run water elsewhere or your shower will go cold. I turned the unit to the hottest setting (140 degrees) and the shower has a nice hot flow, but does sometimes go cold. I would definitely look for one with more GPM and also poassibly a 3/4" inlet and outlet insteaf of just 1/2". As for the venting, buy the specific venting for the Eccotemp at about $175. online which was not bad.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased with Reservations
 from Orem, UT,  Nov 16, 2010

The required stainless steel vent pipe ended up costing me nearly $600 (from local plumbing supply place) It requires higher water flow rate before it will turn on than many of my faucets provide, so I don't get hot water unless more than one faucet is open. I would consider looking for one that allows venting through PVC pipe, or mounting the water heater where the vent run would be shorter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect replacement
 from Atlanta, GA,  Nov 16, 2010

Easy to install, very reliable and very hot! I purchased this item to replace an old gas 50 gallon heater that began to fail. It installed both quickly and easily into the same area as the old water heater using the same gas connection. I would recommend self installation to anyone who is mechanically inclined. This being my first major plumbing job, I used push fit connections that were available at local hardware store. This sped up installation and did not require any sweating and soldering of the existing pipes. Unfortunately, the special stainless steel pipes required for venting are not available locally unless your application is venting directly through an exterior wall... Order these online at the same time. Also, this heater requires a service valve kit and an electrical outlet to be near.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Northern IL,  Nov 11, 2010

Received the unit quickly (within the week I ordered it). First thing I noticed about the unit was the high quality materials used. Very nice internal digital display and a nice paint job without a bunch of safety warning stickers all over it. I would have like to see 3/4" water inlet and outlets as the rest of my system is all 3/4 but after using the unit I am very pleased with its flow. I also have not seen any error messages and like the fact that the unit shows actual output water temp as it warms up and stabilizes. This is my first tankless and installation took less than a day, changing from an electric 40 gal tank style. It does take a little bit longer to see hot water but the benefits far exceed the hassle of waiting. As this is my first tankless I didnít realize that it also provides a never ending consistent water temp. No more adjusting the faucet in mid shower to keep the water the same temp. The only draw back I see is that since I live in a cold climate, I need a backflow preventer in the vent system and I was unable to find a 3" appliance adapter with built in backflow preventer. Seems the only way to get one is to buy a 3" horizontal condensation drain with a built in backflow preventer which runs about $70+. Very pleased with this unit. Excellent choice if you can't shell out the big bucks for a Rinnai or Bosch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Described
 from Arizona,  Mar 19, 2010

This item was received as described, shipped quickly and all at a great price. Set up was a snap, as close to plug and play as they come. I'm holding on to the company's customer care number, I hope I never have to call them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HOT, AGAIN
 from Texas,  Mar 14, 2010

Purchased the tankless waterheater to replace my exsisting waterheater. Received this item quickly. Had it installed in just a few hours and am now enjoying the benefits from this system. The only problem that I have noticed is that it does take just a few minutes longer to warm up, and sometimes I will loose the warm water in mid flow, but really is not a problem. We have two of these type of waterheaters and I am hoping that I will see an annual decrease in my utility bill. Overall a great buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good at first... Now is going to the trash.
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Aug 12, 2013

Initially, I loved this unit. I told everyone and referred several people. Now, three years later, I have a unit that is unusable and am going to buy a more reputable and solid rheem product. The flow sensor failed and after getting the replacement one and paying $54 for overnight shipping, the flange it goes into fractured and failed, spewing water and flooding my basement. All the while, I'm told by "service" that it was my fault and it is not their problem. Nice! Don't waste your time or money unless you plan to replace it in 3 years and/or like for your house to be flooded.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This thing MIGHT run like a champ but I never found out. Why? because there was not a suitable location to vent the water heater in my inside-of-group rowhome. It can't be vented into an existing chimney like the old tank heater that only drew 30,000 BTU's of gas. The vent has to be 4' from a door or window and the basement windows and first floor rear door didn't have the clearance. Also, check your gas service if you are using NG to be sure your service and meter will support the 140,000 BTU gas load. Mine would not. The gas company would do the upgrade free of charge but it would entail digging up the front yard and replacing the gas meter. Installing this thing unless you live in the boonies is a job for a licensed plumber/gas fitter.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Sacramento, CA,  Nov 6, 2010

I bought this tankless to replace a Paloma PTG-42PVN. The connectors, piping and size were all very close to the old tankless. I Couldn't be happier with the Eccotemp. So far its working perfectly. It has not failed once and I have yet to see an error code. My previous machcine, gave me error code after error code and would often shut off mid-shower. We suffered through this for years and Paloma was no help. A few tips about this machine that I could not find any info on when researching it. The top of this tankless needs to be connected to your Category III Stainless Steel exhaust piping via a universal 3 inch appliance adaptor. No special sizes needed, it just uses the standard female on both sides 3 inch adaptor. You cant find these in your local big box hardware store and it DOES NOT come with the water heater so Order it from an online retailer the same day you order this machine. You cant install it with out it. The water inlet and outlet are both 1/2 inch but they come with screw on adaptors that make them 3/4 inch. Be sure to use the supplied Rubber washer when installing the adaptor to avoid leaks. I tried to just use teflon tape but it was not enough. The Gas Inlet is 3/4 inch so make sure you use a 3/4 inch pipe to feed it gas. The big box hardware stores have a 24 inch flexible gas line designed for Tankless Water Heaters (7/8 external size - 3/4 internal size) that works perfectly for the last foot or two of the run. Dont skimp on the size of the gas line as Tankless water heaters need it. The Manual for the Eccoptemp says that the wall mounts adjusts but on my machine they were fixed. A few wood blocks were needed to space the machine far enough from the wall so that the exhaust pipes lined up, Overall view of this machine - Its a really nice product, especially for the price. It stands head and shoulders above the nightmare of a product that I suffered through with for years. When you first turn on this machine, you can see the temperature rise on the digital display to show the water temp increasing until it gets to your programed temp. If their is a gas supply issue, it just allows the temp to reduce a few degrees and then gets back up to temp when it can. My old machine popped an error code and then shut off. This machine is simple and easy to install, also its much quieter that my old unit. The manual that comes with the machine is a bit skimpy so if you need install tips, you can find videos on youtube on how to install a tankless that would apply to this machine as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top