Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from Pennsylvania,  Sep 11, 2011

Excellent value for your money. Minimal assembly - the top comes fully assembled, you only attach the legs. The hardware is sturdy and well-installed (helpful that this assembly is not left to the purchaser). I was very surprised at how thick and heavy it was given then price I paid for the product. The only imperfection in the design is that the surface of the desk, when opened, has to rest at about 182 degrees or so (just past a flat 180 degrees) in order to take advantage of resting flush on the pull-out supports. I imagine over time this might pull on the hinges but that strain is not evident currently.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall - Better than expected. Sturdier than expected. Hardware nicer and sturdier than expected. Excellent especially considering the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Laptop storage desk
 from Raleigh, NC,  Nov 13, 2009

I needed a secretary style desk for my kitchen to house my laptop and control the papers that seem to constantly clutter my dining table and kitchen counters. I ordered this desk because it was hard to find a desk of this type in black for such a reasonable price. The desk came yesterday and I put it together today in about 25 minutes--all I needed to do was attach the legs to the table with the enclosed wrench and I was done. I'm very impressed with the quality and appearance. However, I do want to note that while the description of the hardware said it was brushed nickel, leading me to believe it would be a silver color, it's more of a brushed brass with undertones of yellow. Other than that, I am very happy with the purchase so far!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
compact, sturdy, good value
 from Massachusetts,  Jan 14, 2013

Very sturdy, compact desk. Large work surface when open, stable and solid even when you lean on it, and surprising amount of storage in desk top (I put small baskets for frequently used items, kept drawer for extra supplies since you can't easily access that when lid is open). I put it behind my couch like a sofa table, so I can open and do bills while I watch TV-- it's a little deep (18") for that, but the narrower top makes it look less so. Work surface is fairly high-- I actually sawed off about 2.5 inches from each leg (detached them first) to make total height the same as my low couch back, and to lower the work surface to a better laptop typing height with the chair I'm using (test it out *with chair* you'll use before cutting!) Super easy assembly, just attach the legs (hex key supplied), desk part and slant lid come pre-assembled. I did have a slight misalignment in the folding top, where there are rubber nubs and slots in the slant top lid on each side that the nubs fit into when you fold it up. It was operational (nothing I would have returned it for), but made the seams uneven when pressed closed snugly. That slight aesthetic issue bugged me (most people wouldn't notice), so I solved by cutting the slot a little larger myself, so it looks perfect when closed now

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, easy assembly, mine had slight misalignment in folding top
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect small desk with contemporary style
 from Burlington, NC,  Jul 4, 2012

I wanted a small desk in a dark wood tone for my living room and this desk was perfect. I also ordered the ebony Pasha dining chair on casters to go with it. The two are a good match, both in style and color. My husband put the desk together, which consisted of attaching the legs to the desktop. I unpacked and put the chair together, which also consisted of attaching the legs. I am very please with both products and have had several compliments on both.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color shown on the website is very "true to life".
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the desk is good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of the desk was very acurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 13, 2010

I love this desk. In addition to perfectly matching my other pieces of black wood in my apartment, it's very compact and clean looking when closed, but when open provides a great amount of space for papers, laptop and accessories, and office supplies. The desk surface feels very stable when I work on it. I keep a pendaflex filing cabinet under it for additional storage. Also, it's about the easiest furniture to assemble -- you basically just screw on the legs! Highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from Virginia,  Feb 16, 2011

I love this desk. It was easy to put together and it looks great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Suprise.
 Dec 29, 2010

I'm glad to have found you again. The price of this item was hundreds less on Overstock. The product was delivered correctly and in very good condition. One little minor ding which took no time to clean up. The desk is just exactly what was advertised. Made of very good quality wood and put together well. The small part I played in putting the legs on was no problem. The best part , my wife was very happy with it as one of her Christmas Present. She will now have her own desk. A good thing. :) Keep up the good work. Thanks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
big enough
 from New Mexico,  Dec 28, 2010

I bought this for my son who has a room in a group house. It fit his minimal space and gave him enough room to do his writing. Went together easily. He loves it! And I loved the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Compact Desk
 from Florida,  Dec 3, 2010

I wanted something compact yet sturdy for the work area in my room. It's true about not being able to access the drawer with the desk open, but the space the desk saves allows me a two drawer file cabinet and a floor lamp all next to each other, so no complaints here! Instructions are pictures and easy to follow. I assembled the desk in about 20 minutes or less. The desk is packed well and had no nicks or dings. Be careful when you open the box as the legs and hardware are stored inside the closed desk. Also it's a bit heavier than you may think. I use a laptop as it's designed for; therefore, I have not needed to use the wall anchors the desk comes with for awkward front loading to avoid tipping. Great Design! Worth the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 Dec 24, 2009

Quick delivery; easy to assemble; just the right size.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from MI,  Dec 17, 2009

I am just thrilled with the desk. Well made, attractive, functional; really a bargain for the price. It arrived quickly and intact. Very pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
surprisingly good
 from portland, oregon,  Nov 21, 2009

After searching online for a reasonably priced work desk for a guest room, I found this one at Overstock and after reading other's reviews, decided to get it. Other than how heavy it was to bring upstairs by myself, this was easy to assemble and very nice looking for the price. It doesn't take up too much room, is sturdy and looks more expensive than it cost. I'm very pleased with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Glad I bought it
 from North Carolina,  Feb 27, 2014

Bought this for my son and his fiancée. They are very picky and they love this desk. I know it took a while to put together but the fiancée did it with little background in carpentry. She's thrilled with it . It's much roomier than I thought and yet looks small and unobtrusive in their room. I think the design is quite elegant.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Drop Leaf Desk
 from Edgewater, MD,  Feb 9, 2014

Just the right size for the space I had to fill. Love the drop leaf to close when not in use. Great buy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

It is perfect for my guess room and I really like to wooden pattern on it. Nice!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice - but smelly
 from New Jersey,  Jan 27, 2014

I like this desk. It is exactly what I was expecting. My only complaint is that it has a "varnishy" odor coming from it. So far it has been assembled for 4 days and the odor has not gone away. Otherwise it is worth the money.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality writing desk for the price
 from Albany, NY,  Jan 21, 2014

We ordered this piece so we could have a place to organize mail and pay bills. This piece is solid and easy to put together. The dark wood is a nice look as well. This is of good quality and definitely worth the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk, Easy Set-Up, Good Price
 from St. Louis, MO,  Sep 27, 2013

I am very happy with this Desk. Goes perfect in my bedroom. I have put together a lot of furniture in my life, and this was by far the easiest. I have never been misled with products purchased from Overstock. I read the reviews, and make sure there are enough reviews to come to a conclusion. I try to stick with 4 star or better products. This desk is very nice!!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent! LOVE this desk!
 from Aruba,  Aug 16, 2013

Love! Love! Love! everything about this desk! It sets up easy- it is very stylish and sturdy. There is plenty of room to store all of my work and then - pop put the shelf up and no one sees the papers, files, laptop. It looks just as good opened as it does closed. If you think the photo is deceiving - this desk looks even better than the photo and was a tremendous value- looks like a very expensive desk - although the price was so low. I have onyx furniture that it matches perfectly with. Out of all of the items I hv bought online, this is by far the best choice.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little desk...smells like patchouli oil?
 from Rowlett, TX,  Jul 2, 2013

Good little desk; only had to screw on the legs. Exactly as promised. However, I've had it for about three weeks now and it still makes my whole living room smell like patchouli oil. Not sure why...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top