Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great for hard floors!
 from Holland, MI,  Aug 15, 2014

Purchased this unit because I have lower back issues and can't be bending down changing attachments or dragging around a canister. So far this has been a great purchase - can't tell its refurbished other than a few scratches. Its quiet and easy to maneuver. We have mostly hardwood/tile floors (small areas of carpet), and this unit is perfect. It does a fantastic job picking up pet hair (dog and cat), and the attachments do a great job with pet hair on furniture. The only somewhat negative thing I can say about this unit is the hose unit is a bit awkward to use - it does stretch out really far, but the hard plastic part of it is too long to be able to give a lot of flexibility when you're trying to clean something up close (I was trying to vacuum the dust off an oscillating fan grill and it was tough). Overall a great buy, though.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This machine is excellent!
 from Buffalo,NY,  Aug 13, 2014

It is amazing to me how well this Dyson picks up cat hair, dust and dirt. My apartment feels so much cleaner since I bought this. The vacuum is easy to maneuver and light enough to do the stairs. I am very pleased with this Dyson.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I should have bought this vacuum years ago!
 from Queesbury, New York,  Aug 3, 2014

I vacuum on a regular basis, and the first time I used this "Animal" it sucked up so much dust and pet hair I couldn't believe my eyes! Easy to maneuver, and carry upstairs. Bought mine refurbished, and it runs perfectly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cleaner floors
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 22, 2014

This is the 2nd refurbished Dyson that I've owned. Since this one is a newer model, it is easier to handle and it is has more suction power. I have tile floors and two large dogs, so it was a no-brainer to buy the animal model. It picks up all the pet hair and the machine draws the debris easily and doesn't blow it around the floor like other vacuums. Thanks Overstock for making this purchase affordable.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good deal for a good vacuum
 from Modesto, CA,  Jul 19, 2014

The unit I received is clean, no odor, and shows minimal use only on the roller. It is easier to use each time as I learn how to switch back and forth quickly from the hose to the roller head. I clean everything with my vacuum: the ceiling, furniture, cushions, lamp shades, and wood laminant flooring with a few low-pile throw rugs . The hose was stiff at first and difficult to stretch, but after just two uses it is loosening up. All the parts snap in easily with an audible click supporting their proper attachment. The suction is too strong for small, door-mat-type rugs, and I ruined one right off the bat so be careful. It does my hall runner beautifully. The canister is easy to pop out and empty, and I don't get dirty at all as someone stated. I simply give it a shake into a paper bag, fold top and take to outside toter . I used an Animal 25 first but decided on the Animal 49 due to larger canister and 10 ft longer cord. I'm very happy with my decision even though the 49 is heavier (not lighter as the description wrongfully states). I loved the smaller, lighter Animal 25 except for having to plug in to every single room and it fell over when I used the hose. The smaller head on the 25 fits easily into small spaces, and I miss that with the larger head on the 49, but I use the hose a lot and the 49 does not tip over for me. This vacuum gets very hot and it burned my foot to hold it down while using the hose. If I had wall-to-wall carpeting, I would choose the 25 (I have a bad back and neck) as there is quite a bit of difference in the weight between the two.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Met my expectations and more
 from Lochbuie,CO,  Jul 15, 2014

Always wanted a Dyson vacuum and now that I have one, even though it's refurbished, I am very pleased with it. I would defiantly recommend it to a friend. It lives up to it's hype for sure.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Extended Warranty
 from Lady Lake,FL,  Jun 11, 2014

The vacuum is not as sturdy as earlier models. DO NOT PURCHASE THE PROTECTION PLAN! Still waiting for a return label to send back for service. This is the second time in 14 months that the machine needs servicing. The first was within the 6 month warranty with dyson. Dyson's service was great, Overstock,s platinum service plan Ina's fallen short.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy~Great Vacuum
 from Hendersonville, NC,  Apr 12, 2014

I've heard about Dyson's quality for years and now I'm a believer. Great Suction, easy tools to use and works wonderfully on both bare floors, carpeting and rugs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This vacuum is awesome
 from Louisville, KY,  Apr 1, 2014

I have two cats and my daughters two dogs visit often. My old vacuum would just sort of pull the hair into the vacuum but then throw out dust through the exhaust. This one leaves the room feeling fresh and clean. I'm very happy with it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC41 Works Great!
 from Cadillac, MI,  Mar 16, 2014

This Dyson DC41 replaced a ******* upright purchased new 11 years ago and was rated a Consumer Report Best Buy at that time. I vacuumed a 5 foot x 5 foot area with the ******* and then went over that same area with the Dyson and couldn't believe how mush more came out of the carpet! The Dyson is 3.2 pounds lighter. Dyson's digital motor does not emit carbon dust like the XXXXXXX motor with brushes that wear. Dyson does not emit the smelly dust particles into the air that escape from the HEPA filter on the XXXXXXX. The Dyson motor is much more powerful, enabling it to pick up more. There are no more bags and filters to buy and replace with the Dyson. Purchasing a refurbished unit through Overstock.Com saved me money and delivered like new quality. Thanks Overstock.Com.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished Dyson DC41
 from Cape Coral, Fl,  Feb 20, 2014

I've wanted a Dyson forever, but just couldn't justify paying full price, so I opted to go with a refurbished DC41 Animal from Overstock.com when my Electrolux quit sucking. I'm so impressed with this vacuum! Sucking power galore, it's easily maneuvered, easy to empty the canister. It comes boxed like brand new, and snaps together easily. I. LOVE. IT!! It even sounds expensive! Oh, and I bought the Animal, but I have no animals, and my floors are all ceramic tiled...you know, that Florida living!! Moves easily from ceramic floor to rugs...you just can't go wrong with this vacuum! Buy it refurbished, it's like new!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson dc41 animal upright vacuum
 from Southern California,  Feb 5, 2014

This vacuum exceed my expectations . I have two dogs and four indoor cats. As a test I thoroughly vacuumed my house and furniture with my previous vacuum (a Hoover). I was shocked by what the Hoover left behind. I am a believer in spending the extra money on a Dyson.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Vacuum
 from UpNorth Michigan,  Feb 2, 2014

I ordered this refurbished but I don't believe anyone ever used it; all of the pieces were sparkling clean and wrapped in plastic. I have two of the other Dyson Animal vacs without the ball so I wanted to try this one for maneuverability. Turns corners well, great suction and pick up which is important since I have two golden retrievers. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 was because it doesn't always stay upright - the lock doesn't seem to engage easily so I have to be careful. Also, it doesn't seem as sturdy as the original. That being said, I purchased the warranty to be on the safe side. I would purchase this again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The ball style makes for easy vacuuming of any roo
 from Rancho Cucamonga,Ca,  Jan 28, 2014

I have gone through four vacuums in 4 years. This vacuum when used you can tell the floors & carpet are clean .I have arthritist, so I appreciate how easy it is to use.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
1st time Dyson owner, and bought refurb
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jan 16, 2014

We got a refurbished vacuum, and it broke on its first run (plastic cover over that big wheelie ball) and it was dirty (gross). Overstock didn't blink an eye when I said I wanted to replace it, and I was surprised by how quickly the replacement arrived. It took me a couple weeks to manage to get the broken vacuum shipped, but Overstock never pressured me about returning the broken one any faster than I did. Service was awesome! The suction on the vacuum is awesome! It takes a little getting used to the wheelie ball, and it resists wanting to lock in the "park" position sometimes. But, overall, we're very happy with the Animal and despite the initial set backs I'm glad I purchased the cheaper refurbished vacuum.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great vacuum
 from New Mexico,  Jan 13, 2014

I have bought less expensive vacuums in the past. (5 of them) This vacuum works great! I have 3 dogs and a bird, whether if is dog hair or feathers, this Dyson doesn't have any problems.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works like it says!
 from CALIFORNIA,  Jan 11, 2014

Purchased as a Refurbished DC 41 Animal Upright, so a little nervous. But it arrived in original boxes, and everything looked brand new! And with 3 cats, this vacuum gets tested all the time. Love the small beater bar attachment that comes with it, really helps with the cat hair on the sofas. Very powerful, and really like how it adjusts automatically to various carpet height. Works better than my Electrolux! Dyson got this one right!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy new if you can
 from Seattle, WA,  Jan 8, 2014

I was very excited to get my very first Dyson. It arrived quickly, and, although refurbished, looked in "new" condition when I took it out of the box. I fully expected to be blown-away by it's power and ability to pick-up dog hair, but was completely disappointed when it performed no better than my 3-year-old Hoover wind tunnel. Things went downhill from there. It would not lock into its upright position without a lot of effort, which was very frustrating. Then, the brush stopped rotating after 5 days. A few hairs were wrapped around the brush, so I removed those, and it started working again. Having a house full of malamutes, I was NOT going to deal with that every week. And lastly, the easy-empty bin was simply not. Hairs (mine and dogs') would get stuck up in the bin, and I had to reach up and pull it out every time I emptied it. Returning it to Overstock was easy. I'll stick with my Hoover for now.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from AKRON, OHIO,  Jan 7, 2014

lightweight, easy assembly, long cord, easy to clean, easy to operate, doies what it is advertised to do

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the price or the hype
 from California,  Dec 29, 2013

I purchased the refurb based on the promise that it would be the same motor power as the new vacuum. First, the assembly was confusing, I ended up at *** **** to find a video that showed CLEARLY how to assemble the vacuum. Secondly, I purchased this because I have dogs, it's supposed to be the best, right? NO, this vacuum did not pickup even the crunchies, and after 2 dogs, and no vacuum for 3 weeks. (old one died, awaiting this one.) There was more than enough for this thing to suck up and clean. I'm still not sure what the silver button is for, the top handle has a vent that keeps sucking my sleeve into it, not sure if that's supposed have a part that covers it??? I accidentally hit the button (dumps from the bottom, beware! and the canister dumped onto my kitchen floor. This thing has not even enough power to suck up from lineolum, what it has half assed sucked up from my carpet. I went next door and borrowed my neighbors 10 year old Hoover. It cleaned it all up in a jiffy. I'll be calling Dyson in the morning to give them one chance to make this right. If they don't, I"m putting a credit card hold on this purchase until the situation is resolved, for almost $***.** I expect far more in the way of machine meeting hype.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top