Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
OH BABY!
 from Connecticut,  Nov 22, 2011

I'm a Dyson fan, I have to say that upfront. This is my third. With two dogs, I gotta have that kind of suction, otherwise the dog hair and smell take over my life. With daily or every other day usage, these vacs last us about two years and then the dog smell is IN THE VAC and it's kind of gross plus they seem to lose a tiny bit of suction as they go along. I think that's because they're too good, meaning they grab everything, right down to the finest microscopic particles. And then it sort of builds up inside the machine. This model requires a monthly change/cleaning of filter, so that MIGHT address it. The filters are washable. So that's a plus. This is a new design...the head doesn't have all the little suction holes and there are some other engineering features you can read about on their site. I'd say it's definitely more powerful. This is my first "ball" and I LOVE it. I love how it moves and the design allows you to smoothly transition from bare floors to carpet without having to lift it, which was a big problem with the Allergy model, which sometimes felt like it weighed about a hundred pounds. This vac in comparison is light. I tried NOT to buy it. The price always sends me into fits of doubt and apoplexy. My local **** had a Shark on sale so I bought one, but it lacked umph. Nomatter how I came at my carpet, I never felt the suction grab at the fibers like the Dyson does. You need something with some POW if you're going for serious puppy hair cleanup, and that one just sort of skimmed. It did do the job after about five or six passes, which I really don't need to have to do everytime I want to clean up. It had some tools, like an extra long hose attachment, which I think Dyson could pick up on since everyone else is picking up on the Dyson design. I loved the Shark rolling brush for upholstery, which seemed to do better job than the Animal tool. But none of it was enough to make me stick with it. I missed having a vac that could clean up quickly and really really well. And that's Dyson. So to sum it up, it's light, it's got killer suction and good tools that don't fall off which was a huge problem with my old Allergy. Oh...speaking of tools, your old tools may not fit on this one. Part of that suction thing is that they've modified the width of the tubes, so it's suckier, but your old Dyson tools are going to be too big. I wrote Dyson so we'll see about that. (I miss my wand with an extender) It's got a big pricetag, but if you're a vacuum nut like I am, eventually you see it can't be avoided.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. can't beat it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DC41
 from Denver, CO,  Nov 21, 2011

Been thinking about getting a Dyson for some time now since other vacuums seem to be lasting only a year or so with my cat and dog but couldn't bring myself to spend that much money on one. I am so glad I did. Love the self adjusting base plate for different types of floors! Works perfectly going from hardwood to tile to carpets. The extendable handle takes some getting used to but its getting better. Overstock had it at my door in a few days and couldn't be happier with the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's a Dyson - what more do you need to say?
 from Nashville TN,  Nov 19, 2011

Dyson does it again. I had had earlier models & this one is the most powerful & lightest plus the manueverablitity of the ball into corners & around furniture is awesome

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The best & lightest Dyson I've ever had, suction is outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing!
 from Redding, CA,  Jun 25, 2012

I have been eyeing a Dyson for years, and when I saw the 'Animal' I couldn't resist. I bought this to replace a perfectly good and quite new vacuum, and the difference is really amazing. It is sleek, spare and simply elegant in design and function. It works! Worth every dollar to me!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good vacuum
 from Nebraska,  Mar 9, 2012

The only problem we encountered with this vacuum was putting it together. Why can't they write the instructions? All there was on the assembly instructions was a bunch of pictures. So it took a while to decipher just what the illustrations meant. I guess maybe some people need pictures rather than written, but it was a bit confusing. The vacuum itself is great, picks up tons of hair from our dog and four cats. The carpets definitely are much cleaner now.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I worry about all the plastic, but it does seem pretty sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC41 Animal
 from Jacksonville, Florida,  Nov 20, 2011

The only problem I have with the DC41 is the stiffness and awkwardness of using the hose and wand. You have to wrestle with it to keep it extended. I'm hoping the hose eventually gets broken in, but it's very hard to manage. The suction is great and the canister is easy to dump. I do try to wipe the canister out with a paper towel each time I dump the contents though and that gets a little messy. Overall it's a nice vacuum cleaner. I have all tile floors so it probably would be a better unit for those people who have carpets.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems very well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ecellent Vacuum, Great Price
 from Colorado,  Nov 28, 2012

I purchased a *refurbished DC41 Dyson Animal Vacuum that Overstock was having a sale on for Black Friday. That was 5 days ago, product arrived today. Price was nearly 60% off from purchasing a new one and works perfectly! It was easy to assemble out of the box. Up and running in 5 min. Worked great. Don't spend full price for a new one if you can (I've noticed there are no more refurbished ones on OS). One note is that my refurbished did not come with the mini turbine tool that a new one would. Not a big deal. You can purchase one seperately for around $60 which would still be way way less than buying a brand new DC41. For my first test I used my old vacuum to clean the floor and then used the DC41. You couldn't even tell that I had vacuumed with my old bottom-of-the-line vacuum. The DC41 picked up so much dust and pet hair it was ridiculous. Great Buy! Would recommend to others out there but once again....don't waste your money on a brand new one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exceeds expectations
 from Cailfornia,  Sep 24, 2012

Great performance from this machine. It looked like I had a third cat in the canister after the first time I use this -- there was that much fur picked up. I bought this just before having my carpets professionally shampooed, and the service tech said he noticed very little cat fur in his machine. It lightweight and easy to maneuver. CONS: Assembly was irritating because there was no instruction on how to attach the holder for the wand accessories. We figured it out by looking at the photo on the box, but without that it would have been impossible as the booklet does not address it at all. The other issue that takes getting used to is how to handle it when done with your session. There is no foot lever to release the handle from standing position to the angled position for operation -- you simply grab the handle and it releases. That is fine, but at the end of vacuuming it takes practice to quickly "park" the handle back into the standing position. Several time I thought I had it and then the handle fell to the floor because it didn't catch. Also, everything is SO lightweight that I wonder how fragile the plastic parts are. So overall I do love this machine and would buy it again -- after 3-4 times you get used to the balance of the handle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. powerful and easy to use
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson is the best
 from Nixa, Missouri,  Jul 17, 2012

OMG!!! what a wonderful and effective vacumn. We have a cat and two shedding dogs and one sweep across the floor and the hair that was collected was embarassing. We could not believe what our old vacumn was leaving behind. This Dyson was everything and more of what is was described as. I cannot brag enough about it to everyone. I would highly recommend to to anyone especially people with pets.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This vacuum is everything I had hoped for!
 from Lexington, AL,  Jun 6, 2012

I'm a single mom with not only kids in the home but also a cat and a dog. I have looked at this Dyson for nearly a year and was just sooo afraid that it wouldn't be worth the price. I'm so happy to say I was proven wrong! This vacuum is incredible! It is so easy to use with the ball design making it a breeze to get in and around all kinds of spaces easily. And I have never seen anything manage pet hair this well....I'm still in awe! If you're like me (very money conservative), trust me....it's worth every penny. I am so glad I bought this vacuum and I recommend every household have one!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Animal
 from Friendswood, TX,  Mar 14, 2012

This is a wonderful vacuum. I love that it picks up the tiny specks and threads that all the other vacuums i have tried missed! It goes easliy from carpeted surfaces to hardwood, from kitchen tile to area rug. And it is so each to empty - my hands never get dirty. And I love the color!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is an amazing applicance. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description on the web site
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good vacuum
 from Frederick, MD,  Feb 6, 2012

This is my first Dyson and I hope that it will do well over the years because it is a significant investment. We just bought a house and have new area rugs in several of the main living areas. It has done well to help me keep up with the shedding that is common with new wool rugs and it moves reasonably well from carpet to wood floors. The most frustrating part is when I'm transporting it from one floor to another—or just taking it from the closet—if I don't hold it with the correct handle (the clear one near the midsection and just over the dirt chamber), it disengages from the vacuum and crashes to the floor. So, don't carry the vacuum by the top handle (the one you use to push it around while vacuuming), because it can't handle the weight of the machine. It has been good at picking up animal fur; we have a short-haired dachshund. But it isn't great at cleaning out the vents in the floors. I don't think the last owners ever cleaned out any of the vents and so I've spent a good deal of time cleaning up their animals' fur. Mounds of it. When I try to clean out a floor vent, I lift the cover off and have to wrestle with the vacuum hose to get it to go the correct angle. It's difficult and trying, but what the vacuum hose does reach, cleans up reasonably well. In short, I'm glad I have the vacuum, it is better than the last one I had. But I wish, especially for the high price tag, that it was a bit more user-friendly and that I didn't have to read a manual just to properly carry the machine.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They ain't kidding on the suction.
 from East Rutherford, NJ,  Jan 5, 2012

I have just vacuumed my whole floor with my Oreck LX2 then I used my new Dyson DC41 straight after. All I can say is "holy moley"!, the Dyson sucked up so much dirt and fur from two dogs and four cats, I was gob smacked. My hubby thought I was mad spending this much money on a vacuum, so I showed him the canister full of what my Oreck had left behind and he said "EWWWWWW"!!!! we've been walking on that. If you have dogs/cats etc. and wall to wall carpets this is the tool for you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really Sad about this purchase.
 from Texas,  Sep 13, 2013

Shopper beware! I've had this for nine months and treated it very kindly. It is now Kaput! The brushes do not rotate or work; the suction has dramatically reduced and it is just not worth the effort to use. By the by, filters have been cleaned and replaced regularly, and all other instructions followed precisely. Luckily, I have an Electrolux Oxygen that works perfectly even after many years of use. I am beginning to wonder if Overstock staff write some of the reviews for this merchandise. Truly NOT up to snuff!

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Vacuum Ever!
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 18, 2013

LOVE THIS MACHINE! With two dogs in the house, I was at my wit's end keeping up with their daily shedding. My mother insisted that I get this vacuum and, after much pleading with my hubby, I finally got one. It is easy to operate and easy to clean. And, OMG, you'll be amazed at the dirt you'll get out of your 'clean" carpet! I vacuum twice a week now and can't believe what it picks up!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As advertised
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Vacuum
 from Detroit,  Mar 14, 2013

Was not sure I could justify the money for a Vacuum but after the first use the house felt better. We have two cats and lesser vaccums were not up to the challenge. First time through the house I must have dumped 4 cats worth of fur in the garbage and it still keeps on going.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best Vacuum I ever owned. Was not sure I could justify the money for a Vacuum but after the first use the house felt better.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It Really Sucks
 from Lansing, MI,  Dec 29, 2012

Tested it on a small living room rug that I have vacuumed many times with my old unit. Picked up more dirt and dust than I thought could have been left. The same with my hardwood floors. There was that much dust remaining? Very happy with the Dyson.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same metallic purple
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy duty; easy to use and empty
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Matched well
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC41 Animal
 from Murphysboro IL,  Dec 19, 2012

This vacuum is an excellent product. The ease of set up was so simple. In fact, the whole concept is simple and efficient. I love the way it handles and the suction is unbelievable. I hope it will continue. The machine is heavier than I thought it would be but that is ok with me. I would recommend this product to anyone. I do have dogs and cats in house and live on a farm; so, my residence can be full of lots of things. Glad I made the investment.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best investment Ive made in cleaning!
 from Tucson,AZ,  Dec 18, 2012

I would have never believed this was an amazing vacuum cleaner, had it not been for the cleaning power it demonstrated the first day. We had recently had our rugs cleaned, and I was amazed at how 'not clean' they were. Even in the formal living room, the vacuum managed to pick up dirt and hair that I otherwise thought was not there. The rugs looked so much cleaner and smelled fresher. The dust problem (we live in desert area) has gone down to almost none and the allergens as well. If you’re contemplating it because of the price...trust me, don’t contemplate any longer. Remember, you get what you pay for! This is worth every penny!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Phenomenol!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just got my Dyson DC41, I have an older model
 from Long Beach, CA,  Dec 1, 2012

I have a DC14, it was hard to maneuver around on the area rugs. This one glides like a dream. Even though I just vacuumed, this new one is still picking up dirt. My only complaint is the brush attachment. I will keep my old brush from the DC14, to use. The hose on this one, when I stretch it out its full length, kinks up some. But I don't really need it to go out the entire length on the hose. My other one didn't have this issue. Overall, very pleased, the brushes don't tangle in the fringe of my area rugs any more. Bonus points.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems well made
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top