Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 444 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 23 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Tough little vacuum
 from Sioux Falls, SD,  Jan 4, 2014

This Dyson came with clear instructions and went together easily. It was a bit more "refurbished" than I was expecting based on past experience, but it is clean and works great. Used it on multiple surfaces and up/down stairs with no trouble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson animal dc40 refurbished
 from Deltona, FL,  Jan 1, 2014

I never thought I would spend $260 on vacuum. But, I'm glad I did. It's easy to use and set up. Just wish the how'e wand was longer when vac couch etc. but boy what strong suction. First time buying refurbished also, but appears to be new and very well made and inspected. So easy to empty dirt from canister. I just luv it. And now I luv to vacuum more so, than ever before. The sound still scares my cats. Haha. It's okay it doesn't scare me. Buy it without reservations. U won't be sorry! I'm not. Don't understand where some ppl complain about the cord. They make it so it wraps around two end loops for easy storage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from PA,  Dec 31, 2013

This is my second Dyson. They are fabulous. I have a very thick pile carpet and this is the only vacuum that you can use with the brush on to get the deep dust and dirt. Fantastic!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
did not pick up pet hair as advertised.
 from Connecticut,  Dec 31, 2013

Npt sure if it was because this was a refurbished model or not but this did not pick up pet hair like it was supposed to. We have two long haired large dogs and any vacuum will be challenged but a vacuum that is designed to pick up pet hair should be able to do a better job. We had an old vacuum that was on it's last legs that did a better job than this new Dyson. Have sent it back and reordered another brand which is less expensive (and refurbished as well). we'll see if that one does a better job. Too bad as I was hoping Dyson was as good as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ltw2007
 from Auburn, CA.,  Dec 29, 2013

I had the cordless (20 minute battery operated Dyson) for a while and enjoyed the way it did a cordless job. I was very happy to get back to a upright vacuum and this one turns into tight spaces better than anything I've every used with the ball pivot feature. Also, I found it very easy to interchange between the upright and the attachment hose for furniture, narrow spaces and baseboards. This enables me to clean one room at the same time with the same tool, much faster than using multiple tools. The suction is exceptional, even better than the cordless. It picks up pet hair with amazing ease. It also transitions from the hard wood floors to the area rugs with no noticeable change in performance. And finally, the long cord makes it easy to work on an entire room without stopping to switch plugs. I actually like using the Dyson and find I don't dread the task of vacuuming, and I feel my home is cleaner when I empty the canister and see all the dust and dog hair I had been living with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson for Newfi hair!
 from Northern Michigan,  Dec 27, 2013

This vacuum is light and is doing a good job picking up my two Newfoundland dog's hair. I like how it maneuvers around things.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson
 from Philadelphia , PA,  Dec 26, 2013

Lightweight and efficient. Love the attachments. Good value. Product was refurbished but like new

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor suction
 from St. Louis, Mo.,  Dec 12, 2013

I was very disappointed. I had seen commercials about these vacuums in the past and they looked great, but the one I received has very little suction. It doesn't even pick up pieces of lint from carpet. I am going to take my old Orrick into the shop for refurbishment. Even old, it works better than this Dyson.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not worth it
 from east Tennessee,  Nov 3, 2013

The first vacuum shipped to me did not work straight out the the box. There was no suction and it overheated. It was easy to return and I was excited about how well the replacement worked. Unfortunately, it worked about 6 times and then it, too, stopped working. The replacement stopped working mid-vacuum, with it also apparently overheating and shutting off the suction. While the product itself may be an excellent product, it is highly frustrating to receive multiple items that do not work. I don't think going the route of a refurbished item is worth it. While it is nice to think about saving that much money, it seems like a loss in the end if the product only works for a short time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson vac a good value
 from Colchester, Conn.,  Aug 23, 2013

I was already a Dyson ball vacuum owner. This Dyson animal upright vac is much lighter than my other Dyson. But, it also has more parts made of plastic. It is easy to maneuver, has fabulous suction, and a stair brush accessory (which my other Dyson does not have). In all it was a good value for the price. I purchased a refurbished model, which was about 60% of the new price. So far I am pleased with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the commercials tell it true
 from Texas,  Aug 15, 2013

This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever owned. Light, easy to maneuver, excellent cleaning on both hardwood/tile and carpet surfaces. Dyson makes vacuuming fun again. No issues at all with the reconditioned model, which works perfectly right out of the box.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Aboustely amazing machine!
 from Annapolis, MD,  Jul 19, 2013

Where do I begin. I have a 4 year old black lab who sheds more than any other lab I've ever met, as well as a very active 10 month old little boy. I was a little concerned because everyone I know who owns a Dyson has carpet throughout their home, and my home is entirely hardwood. I was curious if it would perform as well with no carpet to suck the dirt out of. I couldn't really find any reviews that were specific to exclusively, or mostly, hardwood floors. So for all you exclusive hardwood floor owners, this is for you! This is the most amazing thing we could have bought. It picks up stuff that the naked eye doesn't even see. I vacuum the main areas daily, with the bedrooms and hallway 3 times a week or so. I start with an empty bin and before you know it, there is dust and dog hair and "free range cheerios" (as we like to call them) that I didn't even know existed all hanging out in the container. The extendable wand is amazing, though I worry sometimes that the hose will crease when I use it at a low angle. I agree with the previous reviewer who said the instructions were a little confusing .. they are photos only and really could use a few lines of text. I wish that the pet hair brush attachment was able to be stored on the machine with other attachments, but it's not a huge deal. Or maybe it can be, and I just can't figure it out! The bin opens easily, though I find a quick tap or two against the side of the trash can helps get all the clumped up dog hair out that doesn't fall out voluntarily. It's not the quietest machine, but it's not the loudest either and the baby sleeps through it. The rolling motion with the ball takes a little getting used .. the first few times I was bumping into everything. Now I'm much smoother with it and it works just like the commercials. All in all, for me and my hardwood floors, this was the absolute best vacuum we could have purchased. If you have pets, or active kids or husband and want to KNOW your floors are clean, this is what you need to buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top notch quality, can't tell it's a refurbished model
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from NC,  Jun 12, 2013

A wonderful vacuum. Very easy to use and light weight. We we very pleased with this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy Refurbished
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 2, 2014

I had to return this refurbished Dysun DC40 because it did not work unfortunately. I thought I was getting a great deal on a great vacuum. In the end I bought one from *** for about 40% off. It was $*** vs. $***, but it came with more attachments and is brand new so I know it will work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing Dyson
 from Charleston, WV,  Oct 13, 2014

I have been extremely disappointed with this vacuum cleaner. As we only have carpet in a couple of low-traffic areas, the vacuum has been used very little. I started having issues with suction after about six months. Every time I used it, I needed to completely empty the bin, check the filters, and remove debris. Now, I'm getting no suction whatsoever. It seems that the seals are defective/inadequate. I would definitely recommend going with another brand, as I'm now having to replace this one after using only once every couple of weeks for a year.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Vacuum and a Great Value
 from Apex, NC,  Sep 9, 2014

This is the best vacuum I have ever owned, hands down. I cannot attest to its longevity, though, as I have only had it a couple of months.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vacuum works great, but piece was missing
 from Charlotte, NC,  Aug 28, 2014

When the vacuum originally arived, the handle piece was missing. I had to call the number listed on the manual and Dyson shipped me the missing piece at no additional cost. But it was frustrating that Overstock committed this oversight. Even for a refurbished vacuum, it's hard to imagine how this oversight passed quality control. Once the missing piece arrived (about 3-4 days later), I cleaned my entire house with the vacuum and it worked great. I love all of the different attachments and the flexible extending hose, which makes cleaning stairs and pet hair from furniture very easy. Definitely the best vacuum I have ever used. Very user friendly to put together and take apart.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's alive!
 from Mpls., MN,  Aug 16, 2014

I've only used this animal a couple of times, but each time I have, I am impressed. Definitely has superior suction as advertized.. It's relatively light and maneuverable. It is rather intriguing for a vacuum cleaner Delivery was prompt.. no issues at all until the minor 'assembly required' part.. It could have been better documented beyond lots of colorful graphic images.. Yet, overall, I believe this was a good buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished and Excellent
 from Clallam Bay, WA,  Aug 13, 2014

Unlike some other reviewers I had no hesitation about a reconditioned or refurbished product. This product is excellent. I am a member of a Facebook group about all things animal, all things pet. I posted a request for recommendations--the best vacuum cleaner for pet hair. (I have 3 cats, two of whom are longhaired, and two dogs.) Somebody on the page recommended the Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum Cleaner. Did extensive research and knew I could not afford a new one, so was very glad to see a refurbished one on Overstock, for less than half the price of a new one. I am happily and easily vacuuming up pet hair and everything else. One complaint, and it is minor: it reaches the MAX level too soon! But emptying the cylinder is so easy that it's really not a problem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works good as new!
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Aug 8, 2014

Although it works very well, I could definitely tell it was used. Although the refurbished warning said that they had been clean, I found a ton of hair still in the roll brushes. Yuck! Despite that incident, it is a really nice vacuum for the money and the best value for a Dyson by far. Although I believe one side of it sucks more than the other, it is definitely an upgrade. The ball makes it very maneuverable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 444 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 23 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought