Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 347 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Iowa,  Aug 10, 2013

I needed a vacuum. My family swears by Dyson, but I couldn't bring myself to shell out $$$ for a new one. So I took a chance on buying refurbished. Aside from a scuff or two, it looks new--and it runs like new, too. I can't believe how much dirt came out of my carpets! There were one or two tricky things about putting it together properly, but it was done in 10 minutes and I couldn't be happier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from Pueblo, CO,  Jul 27, 2013

I really like it. It has amazing suction, just as advertised, and it's lightweight. My previous main vacuum was an ancient Kirby which must have weighed 50 pounds. This Dyson is so light and nimble it's easy to get it out and vacuum every time the dog sheds, which is all the time. It's a little baffling to interpret the pictures in lieu of words in the instructions for the attachments, but I'm getting used to it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Buy! Worth the extra $$
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jul 25, 2013

I was a little reluctant to purchase such an expensive vacuum, but it seemed like all of the other cheaper ones didn't last very long. I finally broke down and bought this dyson and I only have one complaint and that is it feels very flimsy and is so light weight I feel like I'm going to break it. It works great though...my house smelled better after the first use. I read other reviews and customers were unhappy because of the size of the canister. I Really dont see that as a big issue because its so easy to empty. I am very satisfied with my purchase and don't believe I'll ever go back to the less expensive vacuums....you get what you pay for!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for excellent vacuum
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 23, 2013

This vacuum is awesome. It's blows any other vacuum I've owned out of the water. I couldn't believe what it picked up the first time I used it. The only caveat is that it took 2 tries to get a refurbished model that actually worked. The first one I ordered had a problem with the latching mechanism (taking it from upright to tilted back) which also rendered the want unusable. However, Overstock took care of the return and shipped a new one before they even received the first one back (and shipping was free). It was a pain to pack the broken one back up and ship it, but I'm still glad I saved the money and went with this refurbished model. Still worth it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really sucks!!
 from Asheville, NC,  Jul 21, 2013

I have 2 dogs and like to keep a clean house. I have bamboo floors with oriental carpets - it is a breeze switching from using the brush to straight suction - going from carpet to floor. I have 2 flights of carpeted stairs and the attachment piece with the little brush works brilliantly. I could never have known it was refurbished - it was in perfect condition. Love this vacuum!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Vacuum!!
 from San Diego,  Jul 18, 2013

I love this vacuum. It made my 12 year old shag carpet look brand new and feel like silk. I know it sounds dramatic and unbelievable but it's true. I've even received compliments on the carpet. It's easy to use and moves well. Putting it together wasn't quite as simple as one would imagine but I got it done in 20 minutes or so. I recommend this vacuum strongly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Equal
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fabulous
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the new dyson
 from Binghamton, NY,  Jun 7, 2013

The Dyson is considerably lighter than my first Dyson that is working perfectly as the first day I received it, also from Overstock! I love it, the suction is amazing and a great deal I got from you! I own 4 cats, three of which are long haired and it never fails me with picking up the hair and dirt! Thank you for allowing the people who cannot afford a Dyson as new and I love this web site!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. lighter than my original dyson that is 10 years old and still works wonderfully
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Vacuum - Easy to Maneuver
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  May 28, 2013

After getting two cats and heading into the summer shedding season, we decided it was time to get a new vacuum because our old one just didn't seem to be pulling its weight. The refurbished Overstock exclusive was a great deal compared to other Dysons and it arrived at our house very quickly. I vacuumed the whole house this weekend and it worked great! I love the attachments to get all the fur off our couches and the ability to turn the spinning brush off so that it works better on the tile floors. The ball design was a little bit hard to get used to, but after using it for a bit I realized it was much easier to use as you don't have to put in a lot of force to turn or move the vacuum. It seemed like the DC 40 kicked up a lot lest dust than our old vacuum and got our floors and other surfaces a lot cleaner. And it is pretty small so it fits in our closet nicely. The only issue we had is that one small hose attachment that was in the pre-assembled base was not properly attached at first, so the suction was not good until we found what needed to be adjusted- so if it does not look like it is sucking up very well, check the assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excelent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unbearably Loud
 from Montgomery, MD,  Jul 3, 2014

This vacuum does its job but is unbearably loud and this is a DEALBREAKER. We spent almost 3 times more money on this vacuum cleaner compared to an equal performer and thought we are getting a well-designed, quality product. Initially we were happy with its performance, but now the noise is too much. Feels like they put a jet engine inside this vacuum cleaner, it is that loud. Wish they had put some thought to minimize the noise when designing this vacuum cleaner. We have passed the return period, so are now stuck with it. I will recommend anyone who is thinking of buying this vacuum cleaner to first test the noise of the machine and then buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Refurbished Dyson Was an excellent buy!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jul 3, 2014

I use a walker and vacuuming can be a struggle, but this Dyson DC40 is wonderful. It is light weight and very easy to handle. I had to put it together myself and it was very easy. I have had two Electrolux and a Sears vacuum over the years. And usually left them when I moved because I was not satisfied. This Dyson is by far my favorite at this point.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Sucker!
 from GA,  Jun 13, 2014

I mulled over this purchase for quite awhile, read all the reviews and finally went for it. With 2 dogs that shed a ton, I knew I needed a Dyson. I previously owned a Dyson, so I already knew how awesome they are. But was hesitant with this being refurbished, and my previous Dyson being a canister version. I currently own an *** and it has not been up to the task of 4 kids and 2 dogs. I opened the box, I was able to "pop" it together in less than a couple of minutes. It looked brand new and just WOW, on what it sucked up after I had just vacuumed a few hours earlier!! It feels very solid, moves smoothly and it easy to empty (although I hate the "dust cloud" it creates, definitely take it outside). I do wish the cord was like 6 feet longer... Just a personal preference. I do not like having to re-plug in the same area. I love the attached hose and tools, and the how simple it is to switch from very thick pile area rugs to bamboo floors. WONDERFUL PRODUCT!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not as expected-piece of junk
 from New Brighton, MN,  Mar 8, 2014

I ordered a Dyson DC40 Animal upright vacuum-refurbished. I'm not sure if the problem is the Dyson product itself or that Overstock sold a machine that was never really refurbished. It smelled and made a horrible squealing noise right out of the box. It did clean the carpet pretty well for about a month. After that the beater bar stopped turning and it no longer picked up anything. While it was working it had to be emptied way too often. The collection cylinder empties from the bottom and I never managed to empty it without getting dust all over my clothes-very poor design. I've heard people rave about this vacuum--they must not have one. I was replacing a 3 yr. old Bissel machine also designed for pet hair. It cost less, worked better, worked longer, didn't smell, was quieter, and I guess I will go buy another one of those. I wish I had not wasted my money on this machine. I suggest that you think twice before buying one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed
 from New jersey,  Feb 25, 2014

What a mistake! I was so excited to get my refurbished dc 40 and try it out. Unfortunately, it was nothing but a disappointment. Not only is it heavy and has a short cord but it takes numerous passes to pick up daily household messes. Don't buy this vacuum!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great vacuum!
 from Georgia,  Jan 21, 2014

I bought a refurbished one and also bought the 3 year warranty. This is a great vacuum. It even picked up stuff that my old Dyson missed! I would definitely recommend it (I have a boxer that sheds and it picks her hair up very well...even off of the furniture).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Love It!
 from Key West, FL,  Jan 15, 2014

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my daughter who has a persian cat. We immediately tested it at my parents, who had just had their carpets shampooed. We were shocked with the dirt if picked up! I decided to order a second one as a gift for my parents. Although they are refurbished, they both looked and operated like brand new.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Vaccume
 from WV,  Jan 14, 2014

Best of the best. Great value. I have used Dysons in the past and in my opinion that is the best of the best. Love the performance of the Dyson

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson refurbished
 from Ohio,  Jan 13, 2014

Love this vacuum! I got it as a gift for my parents and they absolutely love it. We have never had that great of a vacuum and the difference is truly amazing. Better yet this was a gift for christmas and an error on ups made the gift come late. Overstock made right the issue even though it wasn't entirely their fault. I will definitely be using overstock again because of the way they treated me.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow
 from Maryland,  Jan 10, 2014

Just got this vacuum today. Very easy to assemble and though there were a couple of scuffs, it looks new for the most part. The machine is amazing. It sucked up unbelievable amounts of dirt from our rugs and carpet. Our previous vacuum was a Bissell pet hair eraser and it does not compare to the Dyson. Our rugs look and feel like new. You can see clear lines where the vacuum pulls from the carpet. It is extremely lightweight, easy up steps, and moves very smoothly with the ball. I have not tried this on our hardwood or tile yet so not sure how that'll work. If I had known the difference between the Dyson and every other vacuum that I've owned I might even consider it worth $ new. Plus you never have to buy filters or belts which is a regular purchase for a lot of other machines. I was hopeful, but still kind of shocked at how nice this is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from chicago,  Jan 9, 2014

This vacuum is worth it's weight in gold...Handles with ease...Picks up so much dirt, more than you think your carpets have.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this!
 from Seattle, WA,  Jan 7, 2014

I love this vacuum. I haven't used all the attachments yet, but love what it has done to my carpets. I thought they were clean before, but my old vacuum was leaving behind stuff..... Now all the dog hair, dirt, and dust are sucked up!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 347 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought