Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 56 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I purchased this item and the power head did not work upon arrival. I called Dyson that day, and they told me to take it to the authorized repair shop. Since I have had a Dyson before, and they did warranty work on it before, I didn't think much of this. FOUR weeks later, the repair shop had received THREE separate orders from from Dyson on how to fix this machine. They were then asked to ship it back to Dyson. I called Dyson and asked if they could credit me, or offer me a new one, since it would take at least TWO weeks according to customer service for them to decide what they were going to do. They actually told the shop that this was the first time this happened to this model, and after I logged onto Consumer Reports and read the review, I found that this powerhead/computer issue is not uncommon at all. I had no vacuum for a month, I wasn't going to wait another one. This machine is a LEMON, which I realize can happen to any manufacturer, but customer service at Dyson should have made it right, and they didn't. I immediately called Overstock, and they made it right! The rep was not only understanding, but completely professional, and was quick to suggest options. I will never buy another Dyson, no sense in a warranty if you only are going to have a vacuum for half the year! I will continue to buy from Overstock without fear.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Am Going to Marry my D28
 from Sedona, Arizona,  Apr 19, 2011

Without any doubts this vacuum is the best I've ever used. I've owned Hoover, Kirby, Bissell, Oreck, Omnivac and now the Dyson D28 Animal. There are five cats living in my house. The fur actually BROKE my Oreck XL21! I also have long hair so vacuuming often is a priority. And the high winds here in Sedona force red dirt through even the tiniest openings. The D28 sucks up everything. There are several area rugs that the Oreck just couldn't touch as far as the accumulated cat hair. One pass on one rug with the D28 FILLED the lint reservoir. I love the onboard tools, this is the first upright vacuum I've owned where the hose is attached to the vacuum. It does an incredible job with the included tools on bedspreads, walls, crevices, window tracks, furniture, everythng. I have fallen in love with a vacuum sweeper.What the heck do I write on the marriage license application? :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JeanneRN
 from Ohio,  Aug 12, 2009

This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever owned! I was intimidated by the thought of having to put it together, but in just two clicks I had a vacuum! The last vacuum cleaner I bought not only required a toolbox full of tools, it took over an hour to put together. I was impressed from the start. I have a one year old boxer and every other vacuum cleaner that I had tried never picked up the dog hair. This dyson not only got the dog hair off of the carpet, it picked up every piece of hair on my hardwood and ceramic floors as well! I actually enjoy using my dyson...and would recommend to anyone with pets!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unfortunate that this went this way
 from Moab, Utah,  Jan 24, 2012

So here is my issue, I ordered the Dyson DC28 and received it promptly from overstock. I was very excited, opened the box put it together and began to vacuum my living room. The sucking power on this machine is amazing and I have no complaints about that. I stopped emptied the very easy to empty canister and then moved the vacuum to begin in the hallway. That's when the problem happened. The handle would not go back no matter what I tried. I called customer service and they were amazing. They immediately send out a new machine. I packaged up the old one and sent it back. The new one arrived two days later but did not arrived in the normal box. I opened the box and it had been dropped in shipping and broke the connector for the handle. I again called customer service and again they were wonderful. They sent me out what would now be my third new Dyson DC28. This evening the new vacuum arrived, I excitedly opened the box, put it together, vacuumed my living room, emptied the canister and guess what happened.... the handle stuck again! This time I called Dyson because I thought maybe there was something wrong with the vacuum the could be fixed. Their suggestion: "Return it and get your money back. Then buy the DC41 Animal it's a better vacuum and won't give you the trouble." So that's what I ended up doing. It's a sad thing because I really did love the old one. I hope the new one is better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good power - Poor Design
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it
 from MN,  Oct 1, 2011

I bought this to replace a 5 year old Bissell Lift Off. I like it but it does have some things that will require getting used to. First off, I vacuumed with my old Bissell first and then I went over it with the Dyson. I was shocked that there really wasn't much in the Dyson canister afterward. After reading reviews I thought I'd be shocked by how much it would pull up but it wasn't anything significant. Guess my old Bissell wasn't as bad as I thought when it came to vacuuming the carpets. That said, the bare floor setting on this vacuum is FABULOUS!! The main level of our house is all hardwood and tile and it works WAY better then the other vac on the hard floors. The hose is a bit cumbersome to use. It's very tight and when stretched to get to the top of our 15th stair it's very tight and therefore requires a bit of effort to use. The hose suction is wonderful though and I can vacuum our upholstery in half the time it took me with the old one. I personally don't like that you lower the handle by stepping on the front of it. It's kind of awkward and I'm used to a peddle in the back. That's just a personal preference though and doesn't affect the functionality. I like the way you empty the canister but then I don't. It's nice to push the button and it releases from the bottom. I've found though that if your garbage is full and therefore you can't stick the canister far down into the garbage, you'll get dust that flies out. Would I buy it again? Yes. I just don't drool over it like it's the most amazing, wonderful vacuum on earth!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible!
 from Minnesota,  Sep 15, 2010

I was so excited to purchase this vacuum only to have it break down within the first four-five uses. As if that's not bad enough, I have been without this vacuum for almost 3 1/2 weeks while it is getting "repaired". The customer service is also terrible as they can only apologize and pass me onto someone else. If I had to do it all over again, I would not purchase a Dyson product. There should be no reason why this supposed top of the line vacuum breaks right away!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works awesomely. Lots of pets
 from Newport Beach, CA,  Mar 22, 2013

We have two dogs and my wife has a pet sitting business. This thing is a champ, picking up pet hair and everything else no problem. One time I did have an issue so I called Dyson, explained the noise and he instructed me on how to fix it in two minutes. Turned out I had sucked up a pieces of metal that was blocking one of the hoses. Highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the is our second dyson
 from Norfolk, VA,  Mar 8, 2013

Our first dyson took a lot of abuse for 10 years and it was time to replace it. The new one is awesome. I love all of the attachements and the suction is amazing. Highly recommend this cleaning machine!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This vacuum was the worst money i ever spent.
 from quincy,massachusetts,  Jan 28, 2013

This vacuum is way overpriced and way to difficult to use. I am terribly disappointed in this vacuum. For the money it cost it is a big rip off. the only good thing i can find to say about it is it has a long cord. other than that it sucks. no pun intended. it is way to heavy and difficult to maneuver the attachments are decent but the hose gets jammed up , the cord came off twice when i accidently stepped on it which is almost impossible to avoid and it is no better than any other vacuum i ever had most of which cost a fraction of what this one does. i cannot in good faith recommend this to anyone. we wish we never bought it and cant wait to get rid of it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from Albertville, MN,  Jun 5, 2012

This vacuum is heavier than I'm used to but that is my only complaint. It does a great job sucking up the dirt and pet hair. Highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be of good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Picks it all up
 from Alpine, CA,  May 27, 2012

Excellent vaccum. Easy to assemble and operate and cleans up the dirt. A lot of money, but worth the price - especially if you have pets. Highly recommended

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Easy to assemble and operate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dyson dc 28
 from mi.,  Feb 10, 2012

Best vacuum ever, the suction and power is unbelievable..

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. best vaccuum ever.. have a dyson with the ball and bought this one without .. ten times the suction and would never go back to the ball ...
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Vacuum EVER MADE!
 from Overland Park, KS,  Jan 24, 2012

I've never spent over $100 for a vacuum, but I've read and heard so many good things about this brand...so I decided to give it a try! I'm glad that I did, because this is by far the best vacuum I've ever purchased. There are so many attachments that assist you in getting into those hard to reach places, which includes an attachment for getting underneath couches and furniture. The vacuum itself is the perfect weight for an upright vacuum and the width is actually smaller than my previous, which provides me with the ability to get into little nooks that I wasn't able to get previously without the use of attachments. The vacuum itself is AMAZING! My fiance and I used it immediately, vacuuming every room, and we couldn't believe how much it picked up on what we thought was already 'clean'. Disposing of the dirt is made easy, as I was able to place the dirt container into my trashcan and press a handle, which in turn opened the bottom and released all of the dirt captured. Even better! I would highly recommend purchasing this vacuum, as it is definitely a life changer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The picture online was spot on with what I received.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb quality vacuum that includes various gadgets to get the most out of your efforts.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description online accurately described what I received.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from San Francisco, CA,  Dec 29, 2011

First Dyson ever for me - the suction is great, picks up a lot of dirt out of rugs that you don't see, like pet hairs. It's a very simple to use vacuum, however the tube and attachments are a bit underwhelming, specially in a vacuum this expensive, it's best used as an upright vacuum. I'm comparing this to my Kirby which is mostly metal vs. the plastic Dyson, and the attachments and versatility of the Kirby blow the Dyson away. The Kirby was more expensive however, and as a pure upright the Dyson is on par with it's performance. Definately pleased with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great suction as advertised, very simple to use
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This Dyson works great. If you have a dog you must get the large canister like this one offers. I have to empty this almost everytime and I vacuum at least twice a week but still manage to suck up a ton of dirt and hair. I couldn't imagine how many times I would have to empty a smaller container. The suction is great and it cleans well. The one problem I have is the hose/ wand is rigid so it is not the easiest to use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from NY,  Dec 11, 2011

love it. picks pet up hair wonderful. A little heavy but you can't have everything. Needed it for pet hair.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Expensive, but, worth it, so far.
 from San Diego, CA.,  Nov 29, 2011

Had bought new area rugs that shed terribly. When vacuuming with my Hoover Wind Tunnel, the fuzz from the carpet clogged the machine, and eventually burned out the motor. This vacuum handles the shedding very well, even though i have to empty the canister often. It's a "work horse."

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Effective cleaning; easy to assemble; enjoy the bagless feature
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good job
 from Pittsburgh area,  Nov 27, 2011

does a good job - but is ackward - heavy, not easy to use on steps - the hose is not long enough but it does a good job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, but heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson "animal"
 from cincinnati,  Nov 27, 2011

I am still amazed at how this product removes dirt and hair from what our pug and terrier obviously spread throughout the carpet. I had vacuumed immediately before using my treasure of a Dyson and felt comfortable that my Kenmore had done a good job. The miracle was the dirt and hair that the new love of my life(Dyson) trapped in its bin. I cannot praise it enough. Remarkable product! !

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superior
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? on the mark
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cleaning business
 from VT,  Nov 26, 2011

We are changing from electrolux to dyson for our cleaning business. We like them and they clean well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 56 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top