Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 143 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Fantastic, only thing you can expect from Dyson
 from Corona, CA,  May 22, 2012

This vacuum is fantastic. The suction is just as strong as the dc41 i bought my wife for xmas and yes we have 2 dysons, not that im lazy and cant lug the other one upstairs and downstairs, this works for many uses. *Cars *Hardwood ( one room in our house has carpet downstairs, rest is hardwood) *Carpet of course, but this is mainly used for the hardwood *Pets - ill explain later *Stairs - a must!! This thing maneuvers super easily gets in corners, under the couches, under small tables, etc. very easy on the hardwood, the width on the head may turn off some people since it will take longer. We have a very large downstairs so this takes a while , works up a sweat, but gets the job done. We went from a I*obot Pet R**mba(this thing was the ultimate garbage, i have never been so unhappy) and This thing cleaned the after math of it. Grant it, i had to clean the roomba filter 3 times during one outing (annoying) and the thing wouldnt make it back to its homebase to charge. So, we used it one last time before this bad boy came in and let it clean. I used the dyson after, and it filled 2 canisters after the roomba did the entire downstairs. I am so glad we took that ting back. The dyson has such a strong suction that it doesnt leave anything behind, even paper towel chunks ( i didnt see under the table) . Car - I havent used on the car, but i dont see why it wouldnt be easy. especially with the attachments included Stairs - came out looking fantastic, it manuevers so easy to use on stairs. This made my decision to keep easy. Carpet - Used on the carpeted room and stairs, and no surpirise here, sucked very nicely and left carpet looking new - again - roomba sucked Pets - I bought the grooming kit from dyson, was on sale on another site and this blew me away. We have a pom/shelty mix and this dog sheds like a freshly shaved back. Grooming her with the attachment left her hair ultra silky and the vacuum sucking the hair, shocking how much the canister filled. Her coat was glossy and she didnt even mind it. She just doesnt like the normal vacuum when im doing the hardwood but the dyson groom tool , you really need to look into. My pitbull is also shedding since the summer is here and i brushed her too and she didnt like the vacuum at all, but after a bit groomed her too and she doesnt look shaggy. This is by far the greatest selling point to me and recommend anyone to buy the attachment with this vacuum if you have pets, you will be so happy. Self coiling plug is awesome. Wish my dc41 had that. Cons - Cord - Could be the size of our home, but i only had to unplug 2 times to place elsewhere to finish the rest of the house. Not a big deal. Main attachment - could have been wider , but thats the lazy part of me talking. the not so widepart is convenient when cleaning Scratches - I know this is refurbished, guess my luck ran out as usually when i buy refurb products, and i do alot, they are 99% new, this is about 96% as the scratches are barely noticable. Warranty - while the ext. warranty here isnt much, dyson usually gives 5 years, but this only comes with 6 months? Doesnt sound right. None of the above cons would force me to lower my score on this. This is a great machine and the scratches would have come eventually

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact same color, tiny scratches on the purple finish but saved me over 120.00 works for me, you wouldnt see them unless you are cleaning the unit
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looked brand new other than the scratches
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No motorized brush bar
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jun 23, 2012

This is my buyer beware. I have had a Dyson Animal upright for over 6 years. I LOVE that it has a motorized brush bar, and the suction, but it never fit under furniture, and the air driven brush bar on the stair attachment would always make total contact, causing the brush bar to stop turning (because air could no longer get through). After reading the description here, I decided it was time to go with the Animal Canister. This would allow me to reach under beds/couches/chairs. I was fairly certain they did not have a model with a motorized brush bar, but the description stated such, so I took the plunge. The quality of the refurb is EXCELLENT. I can't tell that it has been refurbished. The pieces snap together with ease, the suction is great. This is not the Ball model, as the description says, but that wasn't a deal breaker for me. The brush bar is NOT motorized. I tried it-on wood floors, great. Just like you would expect from a Dyson. On the carpet-meh. The brush bar would turn for a bit, then decide it was close enough to make a vacuum seal on the carpet and stop turning. Deal breaker. So for what it's worth, this is a great, lightweight canister vac with tons of suction power. If you have animals and need a brush bar to help get all that hair out of your carpet/couch/etc, it just does not cut it. Save your money and buy the cheaper non-Animal Dyson, there is no more benefit with this vacuum.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No Mini Turbine Head - Contradicts Description
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 10, 2012

Firstly, I will be happy to update this when everything gets resolved with customer service - but until then I wanted other customers to be aware of the accessory issue with this refurb. I bought two of these and have had lots of issues getting the missing mini turbine head tools sent out to me. The Q&A section for this refurb product CLEARLY states that the mini turbine head is the only tool you can basically count on getting (check out that section for yourself, the link is on this page). Customer service has been so friendly, and initially I was told - yep - they should have been included in my shipment but after waiting a week or so I was just told they are not included. Now, knowing that is contradictory to the product description and Q&A answers from Overstock reps - I called up to triple check. She said she did see how it WAS supposed to be included and that they are going to either include it or update the website and give me a consolation. Hmm. As long as the consolation is enough to turn around and buy the mini turbine that Overstock sells for $$$ - I'm peachy keen. It's weird that they would not just send it my way when I know it is in stock because they are selling it separately - but I will not fret over that. But I do worry that other customers didn't get the mini turbine either and overpaid for what is no longer the "Animal" DC23 but instead the cheaper but cheaper DC Turbine head. The machine specs are identical - the only difference in the machines is the accessories and the color. Well, I love the vacuum. Overstock has been very friendly - and I am pretty confident that they will right this. But I also wanted to put this online so that other people are aware of what they are/ or are not getting with this product.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Inaccurate, unfortunately. Missing the part it says it includes.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson all the way!
 from Chicago , IL,  Jul 12, 2012

The first time I vacuumed and really felt like I really cleaned up. It pulls so much dirt out of the carpet. Animal hair was no problem. I love it...love it...love it!!!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I love my Dyson. I was pleased on how well it worked. Easy to put together!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This little canister does a super job
 from Lanark, Illinois,  Jan 10, 2013

I love it!!!! Although it does not have a motorized head, it still works like one. The suction is incredible. Easy to put together, easy to handle, easy to maneuver, easy to clean...I used to own the animal upright and although it is a great machine, it was just too hard to maneuver when just using the attachments; especially on hard wood floors, it kept falling over and just too much to lug around. I own two dogs that shed horribly and this little machine works wonders!!!! Be careful on some throw rugs, however. Note: Always keep the turbo (on the side of the head), wiped off clean of hair or debri for the head will start acting up. Otherwise, this is a great canister and I will never own another vacuum cleaner after purchasing the Dyson DC23 Animal Canister.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color on site was the same as actual product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of product is wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description of product was exactly what I received
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
powerful and quieter
 from Muskegon MI,  Dec 29, 2012

This Dyson was an upgrade for me. I had a DC14 for years and since I have no carpet in my house, I was using the hose all the time. A canister vacuum is a better fit for me and the Dyson DC23 did not disappoint! It is quieter than my previous Dyson and it is easier to maneuver. The attachments are docked and easy to access. I really like the push button cord reel. I have 2 pets and long hair and the Dyson handles it all perfectly. It is easier to bring upstairs and I think the suction is more powerful than the older model.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC23 Animal Vacuum (refurbished)
 from Huntington, WV,  Dec 25, 2012

Too much suction => sucks We were very excited about our Dyson but found out it just has too much suction for our newly installed carpet. It "sticks" to the floor and you cannot sweep with it. The internet has other examples of this problem if you do a search or watch some videos of the ordinary people reviews. Some say it will not work on "good carpet" due to the suction, others just note the suction issue on carpet. So this product may not be usable on carpet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love our Dyson Animal cannister vaccuum!
 from New York, NY,  Dec 18, 2012

Thus far we LOVE this vaccuum cleaner. Works well on hard floors and carpets both. Easy to manuever. Easy to empty.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best vaccuum we have ever had!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not going back
 from Portland, OR,  Nov 6, 2012

This is the first time we've owned a bagless vacuum. With 2 dogs and a cat we found ourselves frequently making trips to the store with our old canister vacuum. It also required frequent level adjustments moving from carpet, to wood, to flat carpet throughout the house. The Dyson is a dream, and especially at the Overstock refurbished price. It is very easy to use and clean, and requires no level adjustments. It swivels to get under difficult spots and around corners and clearly cleans better than our prior model. It came with three accessory pieces which have been useful for car and couch. I am sold.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC23 Animal Vacum
 from Portland OR,  Sep 22, 2012

The vacuum makes terrible whistling sound, at times so loud as if it was a fire alarm. I have not read complaints about the loud whistling sound, so this vacuum has to be defective. I’m returning the vacuum because it would drive me crazy with the loud noise. I’m reluctant to order a new one, since I have to pay for the return shipping. The carpet attachment is cumbersome to use on hardwood floors, and I found it difficult to use it on the steps.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very noisy, makes loud fire alarm kind of sounds.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ms GK
 Aug 23, 2015

I was expecting more from a Dyson since i own another handheld model and I love it. This one performs decently except with any sort of carpet powders or baking soda. It completely chokes and you have to open it up and clean every part, which is not a short task. However, the fact that you CAN open up and clean nearly every part is fantastic. I thought the canister design would make it less of a pain to haul out and use but it really makes little difference compared to the stand ups. It's still quite heavy and at times awkward. If you have a convenient place to store it, this may not matter. Other pros: retractable cord, removable canister, extendable in various ways. small perch for tube Cons: heavy, not HEPA, perch is very small and easily knocked off so it requires a rather large or oddly shaped storage space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fair
 Aug 12, 2015

worked okay on the floors but the carpet head was suction driven and as soon as you put it on the carpet it lost a lot of drive.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nancyp
 Aug 8, 2015

Used this vacuum for a year now and it has done a lot of messy cleaning. Suction is good, weight of the machine is easy to work with. Works very nicely on my wood floors, but fair on thicker carpeting (reason for average rating). Being a refurbished vacuum was not an issue - just like new in every way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

If you like dragging a concrete block around your home you will love this beast. It is a disappointment. Does not 'follow' the user as you might expect. I usually carry the dang thing with one hand and use the wand with the other to avoid it tipping, crashing into walls or furniture, etc. The design is ridiculous. It has moderate suction, okay on hard floors, just about any vac on the market would beat this in performance.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is my second dyson and it's great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I don't know why anyone would buy a non-Dyson vacuum. Not only does it "never lose suction", every single element about this vacuum has benefited from clever design. And it is sturdy. I bought this particular model because it can sit happily on stairs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

dyson is the best. the one and only.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Coos Bay, OR,  Oct 23, 2014

I bought this particular unit because of the price and the suction. The canister units apparently have better suction than the standing units. It is bigger than we would like, just because of it's shape, but that isn't major. Also, according to the directions, you are supposed to wash it completely after every use. That is absurd. Vacuum cleaners are supposed to make life easier, not harder. Anyway, if it is cleaned fairly regularly, it will keep its suction a long time. We have had it a couple of years now, and it still does a better job than any other vacuum we've ever had. I do wish it didn't need to be cleaned so often though.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 from Texas,  Aug 2, 2014

Love it works great. It was a real bargain. I use it daily.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Vacuum
 from Chicago suburbs,  Jun 19, 2014

Unfortunately this product didn't last very long. It died. Was constantly clogging with the dog hairs, which is supposed to be it's specialty. We no longer use this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 143 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought