Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 395 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
DC 17 Animal Attachments Review
 from Studio City, CA,  Dec 29, 2010

OK - I won't repeat what everybody else has said in their reviews. This is a great vacuum with lots of power. I had a Dirt Devil bagless which worked just as well until it lost suction power. I am going to review the attachments - no one talks about those much. This refurbished model came without a scratch on it and looked brand new. What everyone should know - ALL the DC17 vacuums are THE EXACT SAME vacuum- same motor, technology, air filtering, etc., everything is identical except they make the top a different color.. It is the attachments that are different for each DC 17 model. So, depending on the model you get, the attachments will vary. EVERY dc17 comes standard with a crevice tool, a round brush tool, and a little furniture tool with red strips on it- like the old fashioned lint rollers- these three attachments fit on the side of the vacuum. The Animal model comes with 3 extra attachments, a bag of carpet crystals which you pour on your carpet and vacuum up, and a bottle of carpet spot remover. The 1st attachment is the mini turbine head. This is very neat! It is like a portable vacuum and you can even turn off and on the roller (pull out the red button on the side). This works for furniture - I used it on my cat tree (which is 5 feet high and shaped like a real tree) and it works great, and on the rocking chair where my cat sleeps. You can also use it in corners where the vacuum is too large to fit without having to move furniture. The 2nd attachment is the low reach floor tool. This is a large attachment with stiff bristles - it doesn't roll or do anything. I found it pretty useless - tried it under my bed and a dresser but the attachment is so large and the suction comes from a hole in the middle so it doesn't work well unless you go over the area at several angles and several times. The 3rd attachment is a brush tool which looks just like the one you already get except it has plastic around it making it bigger and square. This is for stairs I guess? I don't have stairs so I used it on my bookcase and my books - seems to work well as the bristles are fairly soft. I would also use this on delicate furniture fabrics like suede or linen. There is a certain learning curve to using the attachments and getting used to how the vacuum works with them. You basically pull out the handle from the middle of the vacuum and an aluminum rod appears - the attachments go on the end of that. OR, you can take that off and attach them directly to the flexible hose. The hose does stretch pretty well so you have about 5 feet to work with here. The aluminum rod is useful for overhead jobs because it doesn't bend. Great for cleaning the ceiling or cobwebs or the top of book shelves. Note of caution - the first time you vacuum it will look like you are picking up a lot of stuff - BUT the suction is so powerful it pulls up carpet fibers - LOTS of them. Obviously, these are loose already, but it is a little shocking. The next couple of times, it isn't as dramatic. This probably depends on your carpet nap as well, but even with a no nap hook rug, it pulled up a full bin of fibers. OK, thanks for reading this far - I would most definitely recommend this vacuum to all if you can afford it. The attachments for this animal model are a GREAT addition and would cost over $150 if purchased separately. A last note - I have TERRIBLE allergies and this model has helped tremendously. I was going to get the allergy model but when I realized it is THE SAME vacuum and only comes with 3 small extra attachments, I went with the animal model.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my Dyson!
 from Northern California,  May 3, 2009

I have heard such great things about this Dyson, especially from other pet owners, but I didn't think I could afford one, until I found it on Overstock. I have 3 large furry dogs so I need a powerful vac. The amount of fur and dirt I get out of my carpets now is absolutely astounding! Kind of gross really that there was that much in there on a weekly basis. The Dyson is easy and fun to use. I see no carpet fibers or anything negative. Housework is not normally very rewarding to me, cause you clean it and it instantly gets dirty again (yes - I have teenagers, can ya tell?!) I love to vacuum now, because I am amazed by how much cleaner everything is, and I literally see what I have removed from my carpets. I love the attachments, they are easy to use. No big bulky hose, the handle telescopes out. A very clever design and a great vac. Even my husband, who didn't think we needed to spend the money is impressed and said on day one - "What a great buy this was!" Love it! I would buy it again in a minute and highly recommend it to others. -Brenda

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Bad Apple?
 from Texas,  Feb 2, 2009

I heard nothing but positive responses to the Dyson animal and so when Overstock offered it at a $100+ savings, I jumped at the chance to own one. I have four cats and the pet hair just keeps on comin'. The vacuum worked swell the first two or three times I used it, and I was pleased with the suction, although it was a bit heavier than the cannister I was used to. After the third time I used it, the vacuum began to lose suction. I noticed a gap between the hose and its connection to the body of the vacuum, so I placed duct tape over it. This didn't fix the problem. I took the vacuum apart and found the round washable filter was jammed with hair. I cleaned this off and the suction improved somewhat, but it was never as strong as it was when I first got it. This was the first time I ever purchased an item that had been "refurbished." Considering I'm $350+ out of pocket and back to using my cannister, it will also be the last time I purchase an item stating it has been refurbished as well. The Dyson is not pretty enough to be displayed as a postmodern work of art, so it sits, lonely and desolate, in the closet so I won't have to see it and feel like an idiot for spending all that money for a clever coat tree.--Disappointed in Big "D"

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great when it works
 from Florida,  Jul 7, 2011

After two years, this Dyson has now been in for repairs three times. Twice Dyson fixed it under warranty (burned out main motor both times), this time it's not warranty work and the brush motor has burned out. When it's working it's without a doubt a great vaccuum cleaner, however it's now been in for repairs three more times than our ten year old Hoover had been in its entire lifespan. A little dissappointing with the money that we spent on this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. When it's not in for repairs it works great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gone in 60 seconds...
 from Green Bay, WI,  Jun 9, 2009

Read the reviews here as most do. Always take these with a grain... Read the consumer reports which they didn't fall all over it but didn't call it a dud either. They didn't like the noise.... Wasn't really worried about it being a refirb...figured it either works or it doesn't. Wanted a quality machine for a good price. Machine was absolutely clean on arrival. Infact there was more dust on the outside of the box from shipping than inside the unit's internals. Box was slightly damaged in shipping but no slashed or breaks.Was using a small very cheap eureka to spot clean a carpet in the living room. Seemed to work well. Plugged in the DC17...WOW... Holy Buckets Batman... in less than 60 seconds this thing filled the canister solid with particulate. No joke. It pulled dirt that I didn't have a clue existed.Not for those without a strong vaccum hand. Vaccum will literally take off running in your hand in forward motion.Haven't had a chance to use the accessories. Thats coming soon but they look solid and lots of them. Time will tell on the refirb quality and durability. Only complaint at the moment is that I would like to see a 1 year warranty instead of 6 months.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DC17
 from Indiana,  Aug 25, 2009

After checking prices elsewhere we decided this was the best deal. Item arrived quickly and looked like new. Instructions for the various attachments are virtually non exsistent and it is a little quirky but all that pales into insignificance when you start to use it. This vacuum works VERY well, it really shows how bad your old vacuum is. You want to empty it after every room just to see how much you are pulling up and then you want to vacuum the whole house again!! The carpet feels and looks so much fresher. If you don't have Dyson, you probably don't have clean carpet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Animal DC17
 from Arkansas,  Apr 14, 2009

This vacuum really sucks. I don't mean that in an offensive way. It is what vacuums are SUPPOSED to do! (I always have said that would be a good advertising slogan!). I wanted a Dyson after many of my online friends told me how much they love theirs and how well the Dyson performs. I found this one refurbished at Overstock- at the best price I had seen anywhere. My husband was home when the vacuum was delivered, and put it together. He vacuumed one of our 5x11 area rugs. I had been ready to toss that particular rug in the dumpster... but it now looks great. The amount of dirt and pet hair trapped in just that ONE rug was two inched deep in the Dyson's clear holding tank. (I have seven kids, two dogs and one cat... and we live out in the country. The rugs had been previously vacuumed with a "stick vacuum"... which obviously wasn't doing an adequate job.) My house has no carpet- just a few area rugs. I bought the DC17 over other vacuums, as it was listed as best on hard floors. It has been great. It came with many attachments- some of which I am still figuring out. (The assembly and use instructions are basic pictographs, and do not cover the attachments). I have used the Dyson to clean my furniture, mini-blinds, ceiling fans... I have found the hose somewhat stiff and cumbersome- I attribute this to the quality of materials. It is sturdily built, to last a long time. As I have personally only had this vacuum for a month, I can only rate its durability based on comparing it to other vacuums I have owned, and based on friends who have owned (and loved) their Dysons for years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC17 Vaccum
 from Missouri,  Aug 14, 2012

My only complaint would be that I would've liked a more description of what all the attachments can be used for. The vacuum itself is awesome. I'm amazed each time (which is several times a week since we have 2 dogs in the house) on how much dirt/dust it still pulls up. I bought the smaller one for my daughter but wish I had gotten the larger one for her too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome! We have 2 dogs in the house and I vaccuum often. I'm always amazed at how much dirt it continues to pull up. I've raved about this vacuum so much that my UPS delivery man wants to buy one too. Lots of attachments came with it. I'm not even sure what they are all for. I do wish there was a booklet explaining more of what each attachment was for.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dyson dc17
 from Indiana, Pa,  Aug 10, 2012

Poor quality. When it runs the vacuum is a dream. There have been too many issues and of course it happened when the warranty expired.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First Dyson & last vac I'll ever need!
 from Mount Vernon, KY,  Aug 23, 2011

I have had an Oreck vac for the past 6 years and it was time for a change. i have always wanted to buy a dyson vac but they were so expensive. i recently decided i really wanted one but which one?! i have 3 kids and 2 shih tzu and live in a 2 story house with carpet upstairs and floating floors down. i saw advertisments on tv about the dc17 and dc25 animal. the new dc25 had the uniball which is pretty cool and its the new dyson that is out. the best selling dyson for years has been the dc17. well, i am a very picky person and if im going to spend this kind of money on a vac i am going to make sure it is the one! over 2 weeks i read so many reviews online and in community blogs i about lost my mind and my dinner. i seem to do this with any big purchase i get involved in, whether is a boat, vac, or new pc i just purchased. after reading the reviews i decided to go out and see for myslf which one was for me. i went out and looked and played with both units. the dc17 is bulky and looks mean. it has a big canister and very long cord. the dc25 is little lighter but not as big. the canister is much smaller and the cord is so short i wouldnt tie my dog to it to let him go outside. the uniball technology was pretty cool much not cool enough to persuade me to purchase it over the dc17, though i was hoping it would :) anyway, i went back and read more reviews and watched more infomercials on both models. i finally decided on the dc17? for the price you couldnt beat what you were receiving with the added attachments that come standard on the animal. i couldn't wait to get it and try it out on the carpet and floors. i can honestly say that a week before had i took my oreck and vac my son's room. i took the dyson over it and almost filled up the canister! this made me a believer....that the dyson was something special or that my 11 year old was an absolute pig! the attachments are very easy to use and i love to use the 16ft. reach wand that appears magically out of the handle of the vac. love this vac! DC17 Pros: heavy duty, wider vac angle, long 30 something ft. cord, larger canister, attachments, lower price, stronger bristles, very easy to manuever DC 17 Cons: ?...4pds. heavier, no uniball, ...that's about it. DC25 Pros: uniball, 4pds. lighter, DC25 Cons: smaller canister, very short 16ft cord, narrow vac path, higher price, leaning back up to turn off can be tricky. All and all both models i believe are good models. the dc17 just happened to be the model for me. if i had to do it all over again i would purchase the dc17 or the new dc28 animal because they are the same vac, just a newer model. i will forever be a devoted dyson customer. so if you are reading this review and hoping it helps you out in finding the right dyson for you i hope it does! on another note, i don't vac my house, my wife does...or she did! lol.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Dyson quality carries its name. Tough, sturdy, and literally sucks!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
i have 3 dogs
 from oregon,  Jan 24, 2011

I bought this vac 2 years ago i wanted 2 wait to do a review to see how it holds up. It is still picking up dog hair like the first day i got it out of the box! It is refurbished so i was worried, it doesnt even have 1 scratch on it. i vacuum every day. i do have to take the container out and blow it down with the aircompreser it plugs up, but i would rather do that ever few days then deal with my old vac and i have had many. this will be my last!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson 17 Animal
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Dec 28, 2010

Rec'd packaged like new with accessories and cleaning products. No knicks or scratches looked just like new. I really love this vacuum and cannot believe the dog hair it's pulled from the carpet. It's almost addictive in that I want to see how much comes out of the carpet. First I cleaned a small area thoroughly with my old Panasonic and then used the Dyson filling the cannister almost half full in the same small area. I have a German Shepherd/Husky with a heavy undercoat I believe the Dyson will definitely be a blessing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC14
 from Coconut Creek, FL,  Nov 30, 2010

I love this vacuum! I was concerned because it was refurbished, not anymore. I have 4 kids and very large dog, this vacuum doesn't miss a thing. After seeing what the Dyson picked up on the first use I'm glad my old vacuum stopped working. It's so easy to use and light, it's definitely worth the money. I can't believe I waited so long to get one, I actually enjoy using it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Animal DC17
 from Jacksonville, Fl,  Oct 1, 2010

I purchased this unit refurbished. It arrived right on time and was in perfect condition with the exception of a few light scratches inside the dust collector. I may not have even noticed them if Dyson had not included a note pointing them out and giving instructions to order a new container if desired. The unit runs beautifully and has unbelievable suction! I cleaned the hardwood floors and the rugs; dusted most of the furniture and cleaned out the couch with the attachments. I could not be more pleased. I have purchased several refurbished items in the past and the savings are fabulous and the products look and work beautifully. If you need a great vacuum at a great price, this is the way to go!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sucks up EVERYTHING....
 from New Jersey,  Sep 22, 2010

Wow wow wow, I have to make sure what ever I do not want vacuumed up to move. I love love love this. The suction is amazing, picks up my black cats black fur like no tomorrow. I love how you can see everything it picks up. It is light and I am only 5'0 tall and have no problem with vacuuming with it, I also have a bad back and it doesn't bother me at all. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has pets. You will be amazed at how it picks up all their hair. I love all the attachments also. I also love you can use it on bare floors as well, just turn the brush power button off and there you go.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from Syracuse, NY,  Aug 3, 2010

I just got this vacuum and I really like it. It's powerful and my rugs look great. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews about how it would clean linoleum and wood floors. It was very easy to turn off the rotating brush for the bare floors and that worked well on the throw rugs, too. The instructions were not at all what I am used to...that's why I gave it 4 stars. I had no problem putting the cleaner together, but the mini turbine attachment required online searches for help...even the Dyson site was of no help to me. So all in all I feel like I made a good choice with this vacuum.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
after 1.5 years still love it
 from Minnesota,  Jul 20, 2009

Bought about 1.5 -2 years ago through Overstock the refurbished one. Came in original box, clean with all promised attachments. still haven't used the extra carpet powders....The results without already made such a big difference we didn't bother!Still operates as new!No troubles at all. It is easy to operate, doesn't take a genius to figure it out. Is a little heavy to carry up and down the stairs....and be aware that the pieces are made of plastic and not steel so handle with some care. Got two small kids under 5, two basset hounds that spread hair like crazy, but our house still looks reasonably well with this dyson. The suction did manage to " eat" some of our carpet, but now we just pay better attention to the " loose threads" areas and so far no more disappearing carpets. Well worth the money! Would buy it again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Temecula, CA,  Jul 9, 2009

After reading the reviews at Overstock and researching other web sites, to include the Dyson site, I decided to purchase the DC17 Animal (refurb) from Overstock. The price was unbeatable, especially considering the fact that the vacuum came with the standard attachments plus the low reach floor tool, the mini turbine head, spot cleaner, and zorb carpet cleaning kit with applicator. The vacuum looked brand new when it arrived and performed as advertised. This vacuum is absolutely incredible! You will not be disappointed with this purchase. The shedding battle with my Yellow Lab has finally been one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dyson vacuum
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jun 18, 2009

I researched all avenues before making this purchase. It is perfect. It picks up so much dirt, it is umbelievable. Although refurbished, it appeared brand new. It is easy to empty and lightweight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Your Mother's Vacuum
 from Salt Lake City,  May 29, 2009

I ordered this model at the recommendation of a friend, and delivery was astonishingly swift. You certainly can't tell from the packaging that this is a refurbished item. It comes complete with all of the accessories, documentation, and packaging of a new unit. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> Assembly was a slight intelligence test. The pictures give you *almost* enough information, but don't feel stupid if you spend a couple of minutes figuring this part out.The overall appearance is excellent. It has a clean uncluttered look. The see-through canister makes it a snap to determine when it's time to empty. The cord is of ample length, and the hooks are large enough to wrap the cord in a figure-8 pattern and secure it to the vacuum when it is not in use. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> When I turned the vacuum on, I was initially concerned because the beater brush (the brush underneath the vacuum) did not seem to be moving. That's when I discovered that the Dyson has many thoughtful features that you don't find in cheaper vacuums. In this particular case, the beater brush automatically turns off when the canister is locked in the upright position (e.g., when you're using the accessories). <NEW-PARAGRAPH> I flipped the vacuum in and out of the upright position a couple of times to verify this, at which point my wife gasped "Look!" -- although I hadn't moved the vacuum a single inch in any direction, the canister was already filling with dirt. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> We moved into a 1300 square foot bungalow just two weeks ago, and the carpeting had been "professionally" cleaned prior to that. We had to empty the canister three times while re-cleaning the floors with this vacuum. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> I give the Dyson 3 stars for durability for the simple reason that I haven't had it long enough to judge that fairly. Based on the apparent quality of design, materials, and manufacturing, I strongly suspect that it will excel here as well. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> I note that this vacuum has neither bags, filters, nor belts. You won't have to tear the thing apart in the middle of vacuuming because another belt slipped off or broke. You won't have to stop in the middle of a cleaning because you've run out of bags. And the built-in filter means that you won't be blowing all of that micro-fine dust back into your room as you clean. <NEW-PARAGRAPH> If you have special cleaning issues such as allergies or pets, or if you just plain like a clean house, it's time to throw away that 1950's style vacuum cleaner and move up to one that REALLY WORKS like this one. You won't be sorry!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 395 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought