Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 521 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 27 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It really does the job
 from Oakhurst, California,  May 17, 2006

We bought this vacum about 4 months ago. I don't know how I ever lived without it. Does the best job on carpets and just as great on all hard floors. It is light weight and easy to handle. Picks up those little animal hairs quite well. I so appreciate how easy it is to empty. The wand for the attatchments can be turned around for a longer reach. I say buy it and enjoy the job of vacuming.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super strong
 from Philly,  Nov 16, 2006

So far so good. I've had this vac for a few weeks now & it's incredibly strong. It doesn't miss a thing. It actually leaves the floors looking new. Even does a great job on hard flooring surfaces like tile. I have no complaints. The dirt storage container is even cool. You disconnect it hold it over the trash can & push a button & th dirt drops out. My old vac I had to turn it upside down, bang it, sometimes reach in & pull dirt out.... Plus this came with a bunch of great attachments. If you have pets but it, it's worth the investment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Animal
 from Hallstead, PA,  Jul 4, 2006

I purchased this from Overstock.com and love this vaccum. We have had several brand vaccums over the years but this is the first machine that held it's suction without having to emtpy all the time. It brought my nap of my carpet back up and seemed to restore new life to the rug. I would highly recommend this product to everyone. It is not an inexpensive machine but well worth the money and overstock had the best price I could find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product but cumbersome
 from San Francisco Bay Area,  Oct 3, 2010

Pros: This refurbished vacuum cleaner looked brand new to me and had the sample of the carpet cleaner and all the instructions and attachments with it. It is easy to clean, quiet, fun color (that matters when you never get around to putting the thing away),and has a nice long power cord and very strong suction . Dyson has a nice website to help explain the product. I spent too much money on the Oreck bags so I am very happy to just empty a canister. Cons: it's heavy and it is large compared to my Oreck, and doesn't go under furniture. It's a pain to change to the head that goes under furniture so I bought more of those disks to make furniture slide and I am finally moving the furniture---maybe that's a good thing. There are a lot of buttons on this machine and I had trouble figuring out which ones allowed the vacuuming wand to be removed so I could use it. I am happy with the way the product arrived and how it works. It has so much more suctions power than my very old Oreck upright and yet it is much quieter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Animal Dyson
 from Salinas, CA,  Dec 3, 2009

I vacuum a 3,000 sq. ft. dog training center every day and have tried several other machines. It's a pricey machine but well worth the cost. I used to purchase a new vacuum every 6 or 7 months because we burned them out, not this one! This is they only one for us. I keep one as "back up" but haven't had to use it for the last 3 years. Love this machine. Best price I've seen, delivery was prompt and in good condition.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best vacuum ever
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 25, 2009

My wife heard about the great price on refurbished Dyson vacuums at overstock.com from a friend at work. We've never been happy with the inexpensive little canister vacuums we've bought in the past, so decided to look at a Dyson at a local retailer. We were impressed both with the industrial look and strength of the machines, as well as the high prices they asked for new units. We then realized what a good deal we could get at overstock.com. We ordered one immediately, but got a message back that overstock was out of stock. Then within a couple of weeks we got another message that our unit had been shipped. The box it came in was totally destroyed during shipment, but the vacuum was in perfect condition. I read the manual, practiced working all of the clips, buttons, and attachments, and tested the unit on the area rug in the den. Wow! We had just vacuumed the rug with our old canister, but the Dyson pulled a shocking amount of dirt and pet hair out of that rug. We are now believers in Dyson vacuums, and we are really pleased with overstock's prices. Thank you, overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goodbye dog hair!
 from Lombard, IL,  Jun 8, 2010

With two large size shedding dogs, I have always wanted a Dyson but just couldn't afford it. So when I saw a refurbished one for a good **** less than what I've seen it for in stores, I snatched it up! It did not disappoint! We have been vacuuming fools at my house, getting up lots and lots of dog hair that has been in our carpet for who knows how long. I love this product. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the assembly took a bit more than we expected and wasn't very intuitive. But now that we've got it together...watch out!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
real animal house!
 from Washington DC-dog friendly house,  Nov 19, 2009

Don't let "refurbished" scare you. Purchased this for my daughter to use in her large home, wood floors, carpeting on stairs, area rugs in living room and TV room. Home is shared with another animal loving roommate. She said only a dyson please...she's right! The amount of Jack Russell and Dark Golden retriever fur recovered from the carpets, wood floors and stairs was amazing! We had no idea it was even THAT bad before starting the task. It makes a noise telling you when to empty the container. It was very easy to dump out the dirt and fur and then continue. My daughter and her roommate were so delighted they zoomed through the whole house with ease and thoroughness!!!!! I only witnessed the enthusiasm!!! No problem with the directions for the vacuum. Only one of the attachments baffled us, but after reading instructions further, it was clear.Easy to use, cleans extremely well, and it IS a vacuum worth the money! As for durability, time will tell...We've had it only 2 months but believe me it gets serious use, picking up the silt (daily walks & swim in Rock Creek Park) and fur...dirty is not a dirty word! I have had many many vacuums in my life, this is an easy strong one meant for use!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed at first
 from SC,  May 8, 2008

Couldn't wait until the refurb Dyson from Overstock.com came in, until it was finally here. I took it out of the box and one of the plastic screws holding the small brush attachment was broken. Didn't matter, I knew the vac was worth every penny. I assembled it and plugged it in and it sounded terrible. When the brush is stuck or there's debris in the head, the clutch disengages. It was new out of the box -- no debris in the unit. I called Dyson and they explained what I needed to do to try and align the brush bar. Tried three times to fix the new machine and ended up dropping it off at the local Dyson repair. The repair person found a piece of plastic in the head that was not removed and this was causing the clutch to disengage. After repair the vac works fine. I love it! This was a refurb unit and it was not tested before it was packaged. Dyson also shipped a replacement cover for the attachment that arrived broken.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought this vacuum as a gift for Christmas. The fact that it was refurbished bothered me, but I went ahead with the purchase after many phone conversations with customer service. Assuring me it was "good as new." One week after Christmas the individual who recieved it as a gift called and told me that vacuum was not working properly and needed repairs. Thankfully there was still the manufacturers warranty and was fixed for free. However she was without a vacuum for over a week as she had to ship it back for the repairs. Overall.... not that happy with the purchase and won't do it again. Thankfully Dyson's are good quality machines if not for that and Dyson's customer service I would have returned the item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME!
 from Tx,  Sep 9, 2006

I just got this vacuum cleaner yesterday from Overstock and I can't say enough good things. Yes, it was very expensive but I have a Golden Retriever who sheds so much- I decided to take the plunge and go for a Dyson Animal. My carpet was freshly vacuumed with my old vacuum cleaner. I then went over it again with the Dyson and got a lot of dirt can animail hair. The Dyson is very light weight and easy to use. I think this is perfect for those who have pets that shed!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it at first - can no longer say that
 from Beautiful Ozark Mountains of NW Arkansas,  Mar 30, 2012

I was very happy with this vacuum cleaner for more than a year. Then after putting the canister back on after emptying it, the canister no longer fit tight. Air leaking caused a loud, unpleasant squeal. On top of that, the cord no longer seemed to make a good connection where it enters the vacuum cleaner. Sometimes nothing would happen when I turned it on. If I jiggled the connection just right, I could get it to start. I think both of these problems could have been fixed but there is no Dyson service in my geographical location. The service plan I had purchased for the vacuum gave me full credit back. I can't complain about that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It arrived looking brand new and factory fresh
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad hose design
 from New Orleans, LA,  Nov 18, 2010

The suction is great and upright feature is great, but the whole design of the HOSE is really clumsy and ineffective. When you try to use the hose from a standing position, with or without attachments, pointing at the floor, the angle it creates cuts off the suction at the bend! The handle is in a very odd place on the top of the hose, and it doesn't feel right. Would work fine in a horizontal or vertical position, but not on the floor! As an owner of multiple animals in a house with hardwood floors, the hose function is used as much if not more than the upright function, and this just is not working well... It's a really poor design and quite surprising considering Dyson prides itself on its revolutionary design...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Purchase I've made in a long time
 from Atlanta, GA,  Oct 10, 2010

I really didn't want to spend so much for a vacuum but I am SO happy I did! I love it. My floors look amazing and the Dyson picks up all the pet hair and baby crums I have buried in the carpet and scattered on the floor. I've also noticed my home smells better and my son and husband no longer have the morning sniffles since we got the machine. I tell all my friends about the vacuum. Best purchase I've made in a long time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson
 from Denver,Co,  Sep 29, 2010

This vacuum is awsome. I can't believe how much hair and dirt it picks up. It is easy to use and I like the way the canister empty's.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the price
 from NY, NY,  Feb 16, 2010

This is an older model, and is bulkier & somewhat harder to maneuver than the subsequent "ball" models. That said, it's priced accordingly & works great (though if you have trouble lifting heavy things or have to lug this vaccuum through multiple floors, it might be worth paying more for a lighter version). I was nervous getting the refurbished model, but so far haven't had any problems. The only hitch was when we first got the vac -- setting it on 'carpet' to actually vaccuum our wool rugs proved too much; the vaccuum made an awful screechy noise each time. I guess the suction was too strong; setting it on bare floors seemed to remedy the situation. This is my 3rd experience with a Dyson (the others didn't break, just in different dwellings now). The 1st one I had was the original yellow when it first came out. The second was the ball version of this one. Neither was refurbished. Both blew my mind in terms of quality when I got them. Getting this one, I thought it would have the same effect on my rugs & would leave a similar impression. Either I'm just used to it, or the refurbished is not quite as good, but it just seemed like a good vac; nothing extraordinary. I guess time will tell if the price was worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far, mostly good
 from NY Metro area,  Jan 1, 2010

I am mostly pleased with the vacuum. It looks great, brand new actually. You would never know from looking at it that it was refurbished. It has great suction, and with two long hair dogs that is a real help. I never cared for wall to wall carpets with dogs, they never seem to get clean. But this vacuum seems to get everything.The power attachment seems to work great, and the loooong hose for hand tools is a wonderful design feature.There is one issue with it. The dog hair seems to get stuck around the belt, and has to be cleaned every other time I use it. There is a very loud almost grinding noise to alert me of this necessity. If it wasn't for that, I would give it 5 stars. I have never had this happen with other vacuums, whether they were cheaper, or more expensive. I have read on other sites that this can be an issue, but I am hopeful that it doesn't become a major factor and adversely effect it's performance. I am still a bit concerned about buying refurbished, so have ranked it a 4 out 5 for durability.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Like New
 from Philadelphia,  Dec 28, 2009

Refurbished doesn't mean a thing. Looks and works like new. Comes with all the quoted attachments, manual, etc. Great machine at an even greater price that truly lives up to the Dyson standard.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dyson
 from California,  Dec 26, 2009

The vacuum was delivered quick and i could not tell that it was a refurbished one. It works great picked up way more dirt than my old one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 from Ohio,  Nov 24, 2009

I absolutely love this vacuum! Got it for a great price and it works wonderful!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 521 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 27 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top