Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 567 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC14 All Floors Upright Vacuum (Refurbished)
 from Ann Arbor, MI,  May 29, 2011

Wow! I was a little hesitant to spend this much on a vacuum - now I can't picture owning anything else other than this Dyson! It was easily assembled (following a picture guide instructions). I swore I vacuumed up my fat, gray cat the first time I used it with all the cat hair and dirt I collected in the canister. It's incredibly easy to use and comes with tools for crevices and corners. The cord is long enough that you can vacuum an entire apartment from one outlet. As for it being refurbished - don't let that stop you. It looks entirely brand new except for the canister (which would look dirty after one or two uses anyhow). Other than that, there were no differences between a new vacuum and this refurbished model. I would recommend this to anyone and I will be enjoying it for years to come.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from Texas,  Apr 18, 2011

Great product, good price on the refurbished model. Mine arrived looking brand new! Dyson makes a great vaccum! Love being able to see what comes up into the clear canister - and emptying it so easy. Suction on carpet is amazing, and my whole house looks cleaner. One problem : I have several rugs over hardwood floors. This is one performance area I have not been pleased with. I have to use the vaccum in the bare floor setting here, which means the brush roller is turned off. Otherwise, the vaccum makes that loud ratcheting sound on these rugs. One is a 20 foot runner in a hallway, heavy enough that it doesn't move around, but still the vac won't run on it with the roller on. The suction is good, but on the rugs, I'd like to be able to use the roller to pick up debris that is down into the fiber of the carpet. Not sure if this is a design flaw, or limited to my use - but it's a big issue for me, as I don't think these carpets get as clean as I would like.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC14
 from Wallkill NY,  Jan 21, 2011

First of all, this is my second Dyson. I LOVE my first one. I own a B&B and wanted a second Dyson so I didn't have to carry the one up and down stairs, so I chose a slightly smaller model. My first Dyson is purple the plastic seems stronger, the cord is supple wraps easily to put it away-unlike the newer one...which is stiff and I feel like the machine itself will break at any moment. I so wanted this to be equal to the first and am disappointed. I will not return it..it is here now and needed almost every day..Just wanted you to know not all models are the same quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish I Hadn't Waited
 from Mclean, VA,  Dec 2, 2010

I moved into my new apartment two years ago and decided to save money by purchasing an $80 *****...that was a mistake. I should have just ponied up the extra money for a great vacuum like this one outright. The ***** was dead after about a month of use, but I hung on to it and kept limping along. This vacuum has changed my life. It is so easy to use and I was surprised how lightweight it was, despite looking really heavy and bulky. It arrived really quickly and looked pretty much brand new. It does an amazing job. My carpet has actually changed colors since I started using it because of all the dirt and grime it has pulled out. Kind of gross, but awesome! I have started vacuuming more often and have also noticed less dust in the house overall, even between vacuumings. I admit, like others, that the attachment wand takes a little practice to get used to. However, the attachments do their job and I think the hose will loosen up a bit with use, as right now it is kind of stiff. It also does a great job on bare floors, and my roommate and I have been using it in the kitchen, entryway, and our bathrooms before mopping, it makes a huge difference and is SO much better than the broom/dustpan option. So easy to empty too! The refurb was a great deal and I feel really good about my purchase. I look forward to vacuum day now!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC14
 from Cedar Rapids, IA,  Dec 1, 2010

i just purchased my vacuum at ***** in Minnesota. It was $****. I saved $***** instantly when I opened up a***** card. This is brand new and NOT refurbished. It is the 2nd Dyson I have purchased. I Love them both. The suction on this is amazing. I have two dogs and I vacuum twice a week and when I used this new one, I couldnt believe the hair it brought up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Lakewood,Wi,  Nov 13, 2010

Have been looking at these vaccums for years and never wanted to spend that much money on one. When I saw that the Dysons were on mark down and even the refurbished ones, I figured it was time to try it, and I'm glad I did. Great purchase....looked brand new and had all the parts and booklets. Cleans right to the edge of the base boards and really lifted the nap of the carpet. Was a little suprised that there is no light on it to see in darker areas, but can live with that. Thanks once again Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished
 Oct 1, 2010

came in an un marked box which from what i can tell was the only difference between this and buying in the mall. works and looks like new. great deal!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unbelievable
 from Greenville, SC,  Jan 27, 2010

I've heard all the hype about Dyson, now I too am on the banwagon. My girlfirend has a dust phobia so she is constantly vacuuming and sweeping in the house. We unpacked the Dyson and did a quick 2 or 3 minute test run on the hardwoods and over a large jute rug in the dining area. We were shocked at how much the Dyson picked up in areas we deemed "clean." The collection chamber had dust, cat fur, pieces of christmas ornament, a broom handle and even a '97 Chevy car seat inside. If you aren't using a Dyson, there is simply nothing out there getting the job done for you. Get it and be amazed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DC-14
 from carolinas,  Dec 28, 2009

You must agree the Dyson people do blow their horn a lot.They should excellent product. Dyson needs a bigger horn to blow.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!!!
 from Mandeville, LA,  Aug 20, 2009

Finally I found an awesome vaccum cleaner. Not only is it attractive, but it picks up everything. The cord is super long. I just can't believe it took me so long to get it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE IT
 from Las Vegas, NV,  May 6, 2009

I have had my Dyson for over two weeks now and am so in love with it. The suction is awesome! I have tile throughout my house with some carpet...it picks up every little thing and it is so easy to clean. Even though it was "refurbished" when I ordered it...it looked and acted brand new. It was delivered in a very timely matter and very easy to assemble. I will defiantly order from Overstock again and recommend everyone to have a Dyson!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC 14
 from ca,  Jan 30, 2009

I had this for about a year now. My first impression on this was "is this the same one everyone is bragging about?... Umm?Really??" I will tell you why I thought so later, but let me begin with what I liked about. I have multiple hairy cats that lounge everywhere in the house, especially on soft surfaces like rugs or couches. The vac works very well on them. It loosens up the cat hair, leftover cat food and cat litter, and vacuums them in just one sweep. Hey, that is new. My old vacs never did this kind of feat. The extra long cord was a big plus, too. I only need to re-plug it once to cover the entire 1900 sqf floor surface. One more thing is the ease of emptying the dust tank. You push one button, the lid opens to throw the dust away, then you snap back the tank in place. Clean hands! Clean hands! I love all these features.Now I need to mention one, but a huge disappointment. This vacuum performs so poorly on hard, smooth surfaces like hardwood and laminate floor. My cats make a big mess just off their cat litter boxes and around their food court areas. When it comes to cleaning dry cat food on hardwood, Dyson is no longer it; it's just a big heavy bloom. It only pushes the mess away until it reaches the wall where there is no escape. I always end up finishing it by old fashion way, with a bloom and a dustpan. The vac picks up almost anything on carpets, and I don't know why it loses the suction power on a bare floor. When you chose a "bare floor option", the suction head lifts slightly by a protrudable brush so as not to scratch the hard wood. I am tempted to choose a carpet option on a bare floor, which makes the head sits directly on the floor, but I am afraid of scratching the floor. I wonder any user experienced the same problem. I am giving a four star, but honestly I would not recommend those who with a huge expectation to buy it. I am not complaining just because I paid much less using an extra 10 % off coupon on this already refurbished model. My friends agree that this is no more special than any other good vacuum cleaners on market.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My second Dyson
 from New Jersey,  Feb 10, 2008

I have the Animal vac for the first floor of my house (I have 3 cats) and just bought this one to replace the vacuum I was using on the second floor. It took me a long time to talk myself into replacing the 'second' vacuum with a Dyson because they're expensive, but I dislike canister vacs (it's like pulling around a blind dog) and I don't trust any other uprights to not clog. I'm glad I finally caved in and bought the Dyson. The cord is nice and long so I can vacuum the entire floor without having to move the plug, the hose is long enough to reach the ac vents without me having to lift the entire machine and it's also long enough to cover an entire flight of stairs without having to carry the machine. Plus, it picks up an unimaginable amount of dust and pet hair. The vacuum I bought was clearly marked 'factory reconditioned' on the website. Having purchased a factory reconditioned carpet cleaner from Overstock in the past, I was completely confident that the vacuum would be in superior condition, and it was. It was also $200 cheaper than if I had bought it brand new. I agree that the onboard attachements don't like to stay on board sometimes and that the hose is a little awkward for the 'up close' cleaning like upholstery or dusting, but they're small sacrifices. I highly recommend Dyson to anyone who has pets, suffers from indoor allergies or just wants a really clean home.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Vaccum
 from Poughkeepsie, NY,  Nov 1, 2007

I always heard and saw the Dyson but I said I would never buy one because it was so expensive. That all changed when I realized a cat lived in my apartment I just moved into. I couldn't breathe and had to use a pump for the first time in my life. I bought the Dyson and vacuumed the house and I can say I am not weezing anymore. It really sucks all sorts of evils out of the carpet. I love and it is worth every dime! You would not regret it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson vacuum
 from Saint Louis,  Oct 31, 2007

Best performing vacuum I have ever owned. Even with the extended warrenty less expensive to comparable Oreck.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE DYSON!!!!!
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 28, 2007

I thought i had a great vacuum until I used my new Dyson DC14 All Floors. I got so much dirt out of my sofa, i was disgusted with my old unit and Threw It OUT!!! I love the wand and hose assembly and the way it comes out of the vacuum and how it works, very efficient. i also love the dirt cup and the ease of emptying it, i never touch the dirt. i Love that! after getting my Dyson, we have been sneezing less and less, there is less dirt and dust in my house, and for a person with a dust allergy, that's huge!!! I LOVE MY DYSON!!!!!!! Everyone should have one!!!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 Sep 30, 2007

a+++++++++++++++ very happy with this product. very easy to handle and really good quality

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from San Diego, CA,  Aug 21, 2007

I have a dog and this thing picks up hair that I didn't even know was there! It's a little bulky and hard to get under counters and that sort of thing. The hose extender is a little awkward, too. But overall, the BEST vacuum I've ever had! It's extremely powerful and easy to maneuver. Quieter than my other vacuum. The dirt cannister is very easy to empty, which I like - one-handed, even.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Vacuum
 from Upstate New York,  Jul 20, 2007

Unbelieveable amount of suction....so far I am very pleased with this purchase !! Would recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson vacuum
 from Perkasie, PA,  Feb 2, 2007

Had for 2 years & brush bar stopped turning, needed a new clutch, $130 plus service fee. Part was not in stock @ any local vacuum store & would take 3 weeks to get in. Put Dyson in the trash & replaced with a Eureka Sanitaire. Will never buy another Dyson & would not recommed it to anybody.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 567 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top