Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Generator
 from Los Angeles,  Sep 11, 2009

We bought this generator to take to Burning Man. We ran it 12 to 18 hours a day for 10 days and it worked GREAT! Considering that BM is located in the Black Rock Desert, altitude 4500 feet with wind and dust blowing almost constantly, we were very impressed with this product and would highly recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BBQ Man
 from Ca,  Jan 30, 2009

I own a BBQ Catering business and purchased the generator to run my smoker, freezer and satellite radio.Purchased this generator late Monday Night and received it two days later. Box was in decent condition considering it was shipped.Opened box began taking pieces out. Very easy to assemble. Wheels are very cheap. Will eventually replace with better wheels.Put in the gas and oil, set the switches, pulled the cord and it started right up. A little louder then I expected, however it will definitely handle my needs.Hope it is as durable as the manufacturer states

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works Great
 from Doylestown, PA,  Feb 10, 2014

I've used this several times since purchasing this, and it has saved us a couple of times since. I just used it for a 6 day power outage here in Pennsylvania after an ice storm and it performed miraculously. It has only 2 outlets, but I've purchased a gfi 3 plug outlet that I plugged in and it worked great, no problems. You must make sure you keep the oil filled or it will shut off. It's a good thing so that it doesn't burn up, but it is something to be aware of, i'm not sure if others are as sensitive, but again it's a good thing so it doesn't burn up. A full tank lasts quite a few hours, and having the wheel kit makes it very easy to move around. If not this one, you should at least have a generator, but my only experience with a generator is this one, and it's performed great for me and my family when we've needed it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shipment & Start Up
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Dec 10, 2012

Received a day earlier then estimated, in good condition. The box has a small rip,but product was fine. One note - many generators need to be grounded. We went to local hardware store and bought copper stranded wire and a grounding rod as specificed in the manual. Put in oil and some gas, started right up. Didn't use it, but did plug in a couple of small power tools and they ran. Not super loud, when I went inside the house it sounded about the same as when my neighbors mow their lawns. And we had it right outside the door to test it. Shopped around webites and local stores, for this wattage and the reviews it got on the internet this was a good deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Item as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Generator at a Terrific Price
 from Ramsey, NJ,  Feb 1, 2012

Although I did not lose power during the heavy rains and the "freak" October snow storm, I knew of a number of families that went without power for over a week. When I saw a 4400 Watt unit being sold for less than $$$ with $1 shipping, I snapped it up. While it is not a top brand name, it arrived well packaged and sturdy looking. ( It weighs a litlle over 100 lbs. but has a wheel set included ). I have since run it a few times and tested it with a series of outlets that I wired for emergency use. It works well and is barely audible from inside the house. It certainly won't be able to power the whole house but can definitely keep my gas heat's motor and pump running along with the refrigerator and sump pumps plus a number of essential devices. I would definitely recommend this unit although the price has since gone up a little.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color Matched the image.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. While I have only tested it a few times, it seems like it is a sturdy unit.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The model I received was an upgraded model 7 HP instead of 6.5 HP, with a slightly different handle configuration.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Generator review
 from NY,  Dec 13, 2011

I purchased this generator b/c of the low price and the fact that a friend of mine has this generator already. After the hurricane this past summer, duromax seemed to raise their prices ( probably due to increased demand ) and I couldnt find this generator for under *** shipped. Luckily I found a sale on here and paid much less than that. The first generator came to me dented ( as mentioned by some of the other buyers around the web ). I contacted overstock.com and they promtly sent me a replacement that came in new conition. I've ran it a few times and it works perfectly so far.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
generator-good/overstock-gooder
 from Mendocino County, CA,  Dec 5, 2011

This generator is your standard china generator. Seems good for what I will use it for, powering tools. Time will tell. Started right up, runs good, as would be the basic expectation. The price was right. But what really makes it is Overstocks shipping. If I factor that in or if I had to drive to go buy one, it's this one all the way. If it lasts 5 summers of use, I'll feel like I got a good deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unbelievable value
 from Huntingdon Valley, Pa.,  Dec 2, 2011

I shopped for months for the best value on a portable generator. You need to pay at least *** more on another generator, to match what you get with the DuroMax 4400. When the box was received, there was no damage. It took about an hour to unpack and install the wheel kit. I added the 20oz. of recommended grade oil, put in a little gas, and it started right up on the second pull. I am extremely happy with this unit and received the best price on Overstock.com.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great features for the price
 from Salem, MA,  Nov 30, 2011

For the price this generator had the most features of any of the generators I could find on the web. I purchased this as a backup power supply for my Sump Pump and freezer. The 4400 watts was more than adequate to handle these. The generator arrived quickly and in good condition. Unpacking was relatively easy, but required a socket wrench and screwdrivers. The wheels went on OK, but it took some effort to figure out the assembly directions since the pictures on the directions were impossible to match to the generator. The big challenge is to fill up the oil - you need a long skinny funnel. Once assembled, it started right up and ran smoothly and relatively quietly. I liked the dual 120v circuits and the volt meter. You will also need some grounding wire and a grounding stake. Great value if you can get for $$$.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? both were blue and black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The generator is well constructed and arrived in excellent condition
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description of features
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DuroMax 4400-watt 7HP Gas Powered Generator
 from South Windsor, CT.,  Nov 29, 2011

The first product was damaged in shipping. The customer service was excellent and responded with another shipment the next day. The second unit was assenbled, started right up and is ready for the next power failure. Thankyou.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Assembled it with no problem, started right up.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Far....5 Star *****
 from Milton VT,  Nov 21, 2011

Came all the way cross country without damage at all. Opened the package...everything was there. Put the wheel kit on and put the gas and oil in as required. Checked all nuts and bolts to make sure everything was tight, and it was. I turned on the fuel, turned on the main switch and pulled the cord twice, and I was surprised by the sound of a perfectly good running engine. I then proceeded to plug my RV into it , turned everything on ( includind AC unit ) and again it ran perfectly. Thanks O.CO and DuroMax. I would definately recommend this to my friends, *****

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot On *****
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality *****
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Again ***** Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely best buy
 from Illinois,  Nov 8, 2011

I have purchased many Duromax Products and always happy with the quality. The value is second to none. My Wife and I have several concession trailers and use these generators when power is not available. After assembling previous ones I have purchased, they start with one or two pulls. This generator is easy to assemble (30 minutes) and and easy to start. Overstock.com is at the top of my list for getting items shipped promptly and maintaining high customer standards. I only wish all online sellers were like this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is Great even at twice the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good reviews are accurate
 from Turnersville, NJ,  Oct 6, 2011

While some of the "less favorable" reviews say the box was damaged on receipt, we found that outside of minimal corner crushing, the item was well packed and in perfect condition. We opened it, set it up, started it and while we have not had an opportunity to use it (Thank goodness). we feel confident that it will perform when and IF the need arises. Considering the prices we found in retail stores, this generator is a great deal, especdially when you consider the shipping costs on the 117 lbs it weighs that most stores include in their price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far So Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Described
 from Des Moines, IA,  Sep 13, 2011

Package arrived a little beat up, but the unit appears to be in fine shape. Followed the set up instructions and was ready to run in 1 hr. The generator started on the first pull. Put under load and ran for 2 hrs. Changed the oil, it was black. Started up again, first pull. Put under load and ran for 4 hrs. Changed the oil, it was better. Will run another 8hrs and change oild again. Put 30 amp load on the unit and it ran well for the 4 hr. test. This unit appears to be everything promised will update after the next 20 hrs of operation. Very please so far...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This was well worth the money
 from Bishop, Ca,  Aug 13, 2011

Locally they wanted *** for similar generator. I got this for less than *** here at Overstock. I almost dropped a star on this rating because of poor packaging. The box reeked of oil which is strange because the generator comes empty. NO oil, No gas. The vent plate on the front of the pull start was bent in a bit It had taken some impact during shipping. But not enough to send it back. PROS: Great Value CONS: Poor packaging may cause damage to item

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just like the the picture, no mixups
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Started right up
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just like the the picture, no mixups
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a GOOD PRODUCT
 from New jersey,  Mar 1, 2014

SO FAR THIS GENERATOR HAS STARTED SO FAR JUST TO KEEP UP AND RUNNING

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seemed to work very well
 from Pennsylvania,  Jan 24, 2013

Box arrived damaged, but contents were allright. wheel kit instructions were very vague.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Springfield, MA.,  Feb 9, 2012

Great product for the job. I bought it in case of emergencies and the reality is that with the crazy weather this year up in New England I am sure it will be an asset!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect for the job
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close enough
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy/investment
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Dec 31, 2011

My friend and neighbor and I bought this generator to have on hand for the next extended power outage that seem to occur more often. We assembled and tested both of them on the same day so we are ready. We also are going to have an electrician hook them up to our breaker boxes. The packaging was a little beat up, but the actual generators were in perfect condition. Will write another review after using the generators for an extended period, but are happy we made the investment. Overstock rocks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect condition
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Suits our needs
 from North Carolina,  Dec 14, 2011

Ordered this after Hurricane Irene as we predict we'll need it this winter. Not too heavy, easily transports, compact. Suitable for emergency needs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good. very clear directions
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top