For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Awesome Product 5 Stars
 from Illinois,  Nov 8, 2011

I have purchased many Duromax Products and always happy with the quality. The value is second to none. This generator is easy to assemble (30 minutes) and and easy to start. This generator is made in China but don't let that fool you. It is manufactured in accordance to a U.S.A. company specifications. Overstock.com is at the top of my list for getting items shipped promptly and maintaining high standards. I only wish all online sellers were like this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best value & high quality at any price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
** JUNK **
 from CA,  Oct 10, 2010

I have one of these generators and they are the closest you can get to junk. Service is not available for these, nobody wants to touch them. Maxtool which sells them have no parts, or I should say they need to order them from China (27 days) that is what they customer service!!!! Maxtool is just an importer and they have units labelled with random names I heard, when they have too much problems they just change the name ( they use to be Powermax, now they are Dura Max ) same junk different name. Not impressed at all, even surprised that they let these in North America. Do not buy, do not recommend, ever, you are better to be without power than having one of these!!!! or any generators from Dura Max. This review was not written to hurt anybody, but to protect customers. Hope it will be posted!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable, Easy, & Effective
 from Michigan,  Jul 18, 2010

Just finished a weekend without power at our home and our first opportunity to use the Duromax generator. We wanted a decent generator when we lost power (which in our area happens from time to time). Our goal was to save our frozen food in a chest freezer, keep refrigerated items cold, and be able to switch back and forth as needed for furnace in winter or room a/c for sleeping in summer. Having a lamp on and charging our cell phones was also on the list, as was making coffee and toast here and there. This generator did all this and didn't seem to be working too hard at all. We definitely could have put more on it but didn't feel the need this time. We had a great experience with this generator-we set it up when it arrived with very little hassle. It was well packed for the engine part, but as a few others mentioned, we also had a scratch on the surface paint where something got through the outside cardboard of the box. It was a minimal issue, since the engine is the most important thing. The electric start is a breeze and the sound is what I would expect from a moderate sized generator-lots of others in our neighborhood were much louder during the power outage. We also ran it overnight and there was still about 1/2 tank of gas left in the morning. Like someone else recommended, we changed the oil after about 8 or 9 hours of use. We also only used the regular plugs in the generator itself, although my husband has a plan for doing a backfeed so we can hook it up to the whole house as an option in the future. We needed to go get some heavy duty extension cords because we didn't have any on hand, so keep that in mind if you just plan to plug your fridge in. All in all, we like that it is small enough in size to easily store and move around when we don't need it (thank goodness, that is most of the time), unlike someone we know who has a huge thing that is hard to store and move into place when needed. We wanted it to run a good amount of time, which it does. And we wanted to save the food in our freezer. Considering we saved about $200-$250 worth of food the generator is half paid for in one use!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCELLENT ELECTRIC START GENERATOR
 from CHARLESTON WV,  Jun 22, 2014

THE GENERATOR IS NOT NOISEY AND RUNS VERY SMOOTH. HAS BEEN A LIFE SAVER DURNING POWER OUTAGE. GREAT PRODUCT FOR SUCH A LOW PRICE. I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT OVERSTOCK YOU CANNOT BEAT THEIR PRODUCTS, PRICES AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE GREATEST!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good
 from OHIO,  Dec 19, 2012

Only had to use once but it was for three days. Worked like a charm. Quite noisy, but most of them are. Have already recommended it to two other people.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is insignifigant
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be just as good as a higher priced model.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive product for the price
 from Wilmington,Ma. 01887,  Jan 10, 2012

Works well . One problem which I was not very happy about. The plastic protective cover over the electrical connections had the tabs broken off creating a floppy cover. This cover is critical to protect against accidental electrocution by a child with small hands that could touch a live wire. I repaired it with wire ties and that should suffice for now. This cover had to be broken when it was installed from the factory because there is no visible dents or scratches on the Generator actually the generatort was in mint condition except for the cover which is behind the framing. To replace cover is a major pain in the neck because the generator wires pass right through it which would require main wire disconnecting. Other than thi small problem machine worked fine for my six panel Transfer Switch. Mike

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable Portable Generator
 from San Dimas, California,  Jan 6, 2012

The DuroMax generator was shipped to me via UPS from "Overstock.com" within 2 business days. My generator arrived in a sealed box and required assembly of the wheels and handle which was easy to attach. I did have an issue with the wheel axle which was omitted when the unit was packed but the distributor is local and I was able to pick up the part. I filled the unit with oil and fuel and it was ready to run. This unit has the keyed electric start feature and the pull start which worked very well and I tested the generator by powering my portable air compressor, mitre saw and reciprocating saw at the same time. I ran the unit under a load for about 3 hours and it performed extremely well and the noise level was surprisingly low. The generator looks larger in the photos and is actually quite compact and easy to manuver with the wheel kit. The unit lacks an hour meter to keep track of the usage which should be a standard gauge on all generators. The instructions were fairly good and had photos. My intended use is for powering the refrigerator along with some lights during power outages and this unit should do the job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched the ad
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The DuroMax generator is well constructed and seems to have durable components.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Generator had everything that was listed on the website.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Got this up and going very quick. Wheel kit instructions a bit confusing, but nothing the average person couldn't handle. Starts easy, runs quiet. Ordered a transfer switch to set it up for easy switch over in the event of a power outage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JUNK - another vote for junk
 from California,  Dec 1, 2011

Service is unobtainable, parts are difficult to get. Used a few times, always hard or impossible to start.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sad to say, but I won't buy another Chinese made generator.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is it!
 from san jose,ca,  Nov 1, 2010

Need a good running generator, you just click on the right one. Bought two for my contractor guys so far no problem yet. We used it everyday for two months now and still running. Planning to purchase another one in the future. Thanks Ovestock, Excellent product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great generator
 from idaho,  Jun 29, 2010

The generator works great,easy to assemble,put oil in it connet the batterey and add gas,and it started right up just the way it's suppose to.It runs great and it's quiet,I have already told other people about it,Thankyou very much for a great product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great unit
 from Geismar,La.,  May 30, 2010

Just got back from a weekend trip with the New Generator, it worked great, better than expected, ran everything in the RV except the hot water heater together with everything else. A/C and microwave, plus lights,tv,playststion . Really impressed with this low cost , small unit..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Mar 4, 2010

It was very easy to put the wheels on it and set it up. It is very heavy though and I wish it had one more AC outlet. Putting the oil in is a little difficult because of the location of the tank. All in all it is the best one I have seen for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Generator
 from Michigan,  Jan 22, 2009

We order from Overstock all the time. We have learned we can trust them, not just quality products, but good service also. The Generator is just as advertised. My wife can easily start it. It started right away. It came with little assembly that was easily done by the two of us. Now when the power goes out we will keep the furnace going. Thank you overstock! R.D.S. Michigan

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top