Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from New York, NY,  Nov 13, 2009

I just purchased this product last week and already I'm a fan. After reading many reviews, I decided to try this product. I ordered it on a Monday and received the package on Wednesday. I was a bit skeptical about what kind of shape the unit would be in as it was shipped right in it's original packaging - no extra box, bubble wrap or peanuts. As soon as I opened the product everything was just as described in the booklet. The packaging was easy to read and the product was even easier to figure out (very few working parts). Just pull the water chamber up from the base and flip over, unscrew the filter/cap and pour water into the chamber. It's nice that the chamber is flat so that it doesn't move around in the sink. I had no problem with it being too tall for my sink as others had written. The hole opening in the chamber appears to be wide enough to get my hand inside to physically clean it, although I haven't had the opportunity to do that just yet. Then screw the filter/cap back on. There was no problem with water leaking out of the chamber as others had mentioned - the trick is not to screw the filter/cap on too tightly. Then you flip the chamber back on the base and plug it into the wall. The dials are all easy to figure out. I don't know why so many people have complained about the chamber not holding enough water, it holds just plenty. There's no reason why anyone should be setting it on the highest lever of humidity or else it will create excess humidity and mold in your house. If you have the humidity level up halfway as I do, it will use about half the tank of water per night (roughly 16 - 24 hrs. of use total). However, I've only tried this method on the cold mist setting. My boyfriend and I were impressed at how quickly the mist comes out upon turning on the unit. At the very highest setting it really does look like pea soup. At the very lowest level, there appears to be no visible mist. Occasionally I will hear a few trickles of water coming from the unit, but within an hour or so it really dwindles down to almost no noise. It is certainly quieter than my old humidifier which sounded like I was boiling water on the stove. I also like the sleek look and un-bulkiness of the unit as well as the ability to have two directional mist flows. I am thinking about buying another one for the living room. It definitely beats my old V790 Vicks GermFree Humidifier in look, performance, sound and just about everything else hands down. In fact, I think I am throwing away that piece of garbage after just one year of use. Even if this new unit works for one season, I know I will be much happier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WORKS GREAT
 from NORTH CAROLINA,  Dec 23, 2009

Researching this unit over the web, I found that most people had problems with the unit's tank leaking, and water pooling around it when being used. A lot of it sounded like people not quite handling or using the unit properly. Since it also had many positive reviews, I decided to try it. We've been using it for a few weeks now and We've not experienced ANY of the problems other people have. The unit is quiet, no water pools, and if you do not overtighten the tank cap (as others thought was the tank leakage problem), there is no leakage. We placed the unit in the corner of the bedroom on top of a shammy in a small boot tray on the floor and the shammy has stayed dry. The unit operates very quietly, and we have the setting set to moderate humidity and only use it at night when we sleep. The very first night I noticed that my throat was much less dry in the morning. I've used cheaper humidifiers before, and decided to spend the money for this one and am glad as this one seems to actually work. On our setting, it takes 3 nights of use to empty the tank. Remember, this unit is ultrasonic, and since it doesn't use a heater, you'll only get a "cool" mist. Overstock had the best price for this unit and I am very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Humidifier Under $100.00
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 8, 2014

This is the best humidifier you will find under $100. That likely holds true as it compares to most of the pricier models, but I can't justify hundreds or thousands of dollars to test that theory. The water tank (which is now also available in green) easily lifts off the base using a built-in handle and, like the rest of the unit, made of extremely durable plastic. The large osmotic water filter doubles as the refill cap and must be unscrewed and set aside when refilling the tank. Just be careful not to over-tighten the refill cap, or the rubber seal will make unscrewing the cap for the next refill a potentially difficult task. Be sure to use the included brush to clean the base once in a while. Like any humidifier, the SPT 4010 requires occasional maintenance to address hard water deposits, mold, and mildew. The steam generator is essentially a small speaker that emits a high frequency sound wave (higher than you or your animals can hear) to agitate the water into steam. To give you a better idea, picture dry ice in water or a smoke machine. You will hear the filter gurgle for a few minutes after a refill and once in a while during operation, but the machine is otherwise totally silent. I haven't decided if the warm steam is worth it, because the heat dissipates so quickly. Finally, as a tip, if you use it in combination with a ceiling fan running in reverse mode on low or medium speed, the steam is much more efficiently distributed around a small room. Just use common sense and don't draw too much steam into your ceiling fan. The idea is to lift and move the steam enough, so it doesn't rain down on only one spot all night. If you take a moment to read the only other customer review (to date) for this product, it is GLOWING, so I have no idea why the reviewer gave it 2 stars instead of the 5 it definitely deserves. A major consumer publication also tested this to be THE top-scoring model of the bunch, but they somehow justified assigning it 4th place (clearly not due to price, because a lower-scoring model at twice the price took 2nd place). Additionally, they buried the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place models in the list in a most bizarre way. The 1st-place (yet also lower-scoring) model is made into the shape of various animals. Instead of listing one of the animals to convey the capability of the model, they proceeded to list EVERY LAST animal. Things that make you go hmm... Anyway, do yourself a favor and grab this one. I'm relatively young, but running this during the Winter months has put an end to the dehydrated feeling in the morning and vastly improved the way I feel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would buy again
 from Chicago,  Jan 25, 2013

Good unit. Only problem is the mist directs downward so it needs to sit up high.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Humidifier
 from Minnesota,  Jan 23, 2013

Before we bought this humidifier, I had no idea how good it would make us feel in the morning. No more waking up with dry lips. We use it every night from November through February. It works extremely well in our 13' x 20' bedroom, and it hasn't failed us yet. The quality is exceptional.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wake up without dry nose and eyes
 Jan 5, 2011

My husband loves this product he no longer wakes up with dry eyes and nose. Easy to operate and well worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not listed in write up
 from Maine,  Dec 5, 2008

Disapppnted to learn after the fact, and later read in manual, that the humidifier leaves considerable wetness on the surface below it (hard wood floors). Resevior is far too small to go thriugh the night or into the next work day without runnning out of water. Wish it was a returnable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as quiet as advertised
 Jan 30, 2015

Yes, it does humidify. But the sound isn't one I could sleep with - it's more a buzz than a hum - and after about a week it it got a lot louder and is now a bit rattly. Also, the tank is so small that if you live in a dry area you have to fill it multiple times a day, which is more of a drag than I expected. I wish I'd put the same money in a bigger humidifier that doesn't require filling as often and can be run all night outside the bedroom and still be effective. Still, except for the sound, this does work as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not warm
 from denver, co,  Dec 26, 2014

This is a nice humidifier. Just wanted to point out that the "warm" isn't really warm. Its more like room temp when it comes out of the top but is cold by the time i reaches you. Otherwise, i like. Love that i can move the spout around too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 Dec 23, 2014

item met expected results, working well

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Long Island,NY,  Feb 22, 2010

I like this humidifier a lot. It is compact, yet powerful. It really does a good job humidifying my son's room. I am just disappointed there was no paperwork included to give you info on how/where to order the parts that need changing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dual mist humidifier
 May 3, 2016

very quiet/good product/made a great difference in my breathing

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 Jan 12, 2016

This is a great humidifier. I bought it to replace my expensive **********. It's not as quiet as the old one, but it works great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Humidifier
 Dec 15, 2015

small and effective. love that there is no filter

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Linda
 Dec 14, 2015

Only blows out cold air......not easy to refill if you aren't very strong...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
average
 Dec 10, 2015

I have a big room so not sure if it's the best, but it is definitely helping

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Makes living in the desert much nicer
 Dec 4, 2015

Moved from the Pacific NW to Nevada and needed this. Great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
New Mom
 Sep 19, 2015

It works wonder for my new born.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job!
 Aug 1, 2015

Have use 2 of these the last 4 winters. My plants, animals, and I are all satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice humidifier
 Jul 9, 2015

Love it. Used it in our large living room over the winter.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought