Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 83 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from New York, NY,  Nov 13, 2009

I just purchased this product last week and already I'm a fan. After reading many reviews, I decided to try this product. I ordered it on a Monday and received the package on Wednesday. I was a bit skeptical about what kind of shape the unit would be in as it was shipped right in it's original packaging - no extra box, bubble wrap or peanuts. As soon as I opened the product everything was just as described in the booklet. The packaging was easy to read and the product was even easier to figure out (very few working parts). Just pull the water chamber up from the base and flip over, unscrew the filter/cap and pour water into the chamber. It's nice that the chamber is flat so that it doesn't move around in the sink. I had no problem with it being too tall for my sink as others had written. The hole opening in the chamber appears to be wide enough to get my hand inside to physically clean it, although I haven't had the opportunity to do that just yet. Then screw the filter/cap back on. There was no problem with water leaking out of the chamber as others had mentioned - the trick is not to screw the filter/cap on too tightly. Then you flip the chamber back on the base and plug it into the wall. The dials are all easy to figure out. I don't know why so many people have complained about the chamber not holding enough water, it holds just plenty. There's no reason why anyone should be setting it on the highest lever of humidity or else it will create excess humidity and mold in your house. If you have the humidity level up halfway as I do, it will use about half the tank of water per night (roughly 16 - 24 hrs. of use total). However, I've only tried this method on the cold mist setting. My boyfriend and I were impressed at how quickly the mist comes out upon turning on the unit. At the very highest setting it really does look like pea soup. At the very lowest level, there appears to be no visible mist. Occasionally I will hear a few trickles of water coming from the unit, but within an hour or so it really dwindles down to almost no noise. It is certainly quieter than my old humidifier which sounded like I was boiling water on the stove. I also like the sleek look and un-bulkiness of the unit as well as the ability to have two directional mist flows. I am thinking about buying another one for the living room. It definitely beats my old V790 Vicks GermFree Humidifier in look, performance, sound and just about everything else hands down. In fact, I think I am throwing away that piece of garbage after just one year of use. Even if this new unit works for one season, I know I will be much happier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WORKS GREAT
 from NORTH CAROLINA,  Dec 23, 2009

Researching this unit over the web, I found that most people had problems with the unit's tank leaking, and water pooling around it when being used. A lot of it sounded like people not quite handling or using the unit properly. Since it also had many positive reviews, I decided to try it. We've been using it for a few weeks now and We've not experienced ANY of the problems other people have. The unit is quiet, no water pools, and if you do not overtighten the tank cap (as others thought was the tank leakage problem), there is no leakage. We placed the unit in the corner of the bedroom on top of a shammy in a small boot tray on the floor and the shammy has stayed dry. The unit operates very quietly, and we have the setting set to moderate humidity and only use it at night when we sleep. The very first night I noticed that my throat was much less dry in the morning. I've used cheaper humidifiers before, and decided to spend the money for this one and am glad as this one seems to actually work. On our setting, it takes 3 nights of use to empty the tank. Remember, this unit is ultrasonic, and since it doesn't use a heater, you'll only get a "cool" mist. Overstock had the best price for this unit and I am very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Humidifier Under $100.00
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 8, 2014

This is the best humidifier you will find under $100. That likely holds true as it compares to most of the pricier models, but I can't justify hundreds or thousands of dollars to test that theory. The water tank (which is now also available in green) easily lifts off the base using a built-in handle and, like the rest of the unit, made of extremely durable plastic. The large osmotic water filter doubles as the refill cap and must be unscrewed and set aside when refilling the tank. Just be careful not to over-tighten the refill cap, or the rubber seal will make unscrewing the cap for the next refill a potentially difficult task. Be sure to use the included brush to clean the base once in a while. Like any humidifier, the SPT 4010 requires occasional maintenance to address hard water deposits, mold, and mildew. The steam generator is essentially a small speaker that emits a high frequency sound wave (higher than you or your animals can hear) to agitate the water into steam. To give you a better idea, picture dry ice in water or a smoke machine. You will hear the filter gurgle for a few minutes after a refill and once in a while during operation, but the machine is otherwise totally silent. I haven't decided if the warm steam is worth it, because the heat dissipates so quickly. Finally, as a tip, if you use it in combination with a ceiling fan running in reverse mode on low or medium speed, the steam is much more efficiently distributed around a small room. Just use common sense and don't draw too much steam into your ceiling fan. The idea is to lift and move the steam enough, so it doesn't rain down on only one spot all night. If you take a moment to read the only other customer review (to date) for this product, it is GLOWING, so I have no idea why the reviewer gave it 2 stars instead of the 5 it definitely deserves. A major consumer publication also tested this to be THE top-scoring model of the bunch, but they somehow justified assigning it 4th place (clearly not due to price, because a lower-scoring model at twice the price took 2nd place). Additionally, they buried the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place models in the list in a most bizarre way. The 1st-place (yet also lower-scoring) model is made into the shape of various animals. Instead of listing one of the animals to convey the capability of the model, they proceeded to list EVERY LAST animal. Things that make you go hmm... Anyway, do yourself a favor and grab this one. I'm relatively young, but running this during the Winter months has put an end to the dehydrated feeling in the morning and vastly improved the way I feel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would buy again
 from Chicago,  Jan 25, 2013

Good unit. Only problem is the mist directs downward so it needs to sit up high.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Humidifier
 from Minnesota,  Jan 23, 2013

Before we bought this humidifier, I had no idea how good it would make us feel in the morning. No more waking up with dry lips. We use it every night from November through February. It works extremely well in our 13' x 20' bedroom, and it hasn't failed us yet. The quality is exceptional.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My husband loves this product he no longer wakes up with dry eyes and nose. Easy to operate and well worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not listed in write up
 from Maine,  Dec 5, 2008

Disapppnted to learn after the fact, and later read in manual, that the humidifier leaves considerable wetness on the surface below it (hard wood floors). Resevior is far too small to go thriugh the night or into the next work day without runnning out of water. Wish it was a returnable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Yes, it does humidify. But the sound isn't one I could sleep with - it's more a buzz than a hum - and after about a week it it got a lot louder and is now a bit rattly. Also, the tank is so small that if you live in a dry area you have to fill it multiple times a day, which is more of a drag than I expected. I wish I'd put the same money in a bigger humidifier that doesn't require filling as often and can be run all night outside the bedroom and still be effective. Still, except for the sound, this does work as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not warm
 from denver, co,  Dec 26, 2014

This is a nice humidifier. Just wanted to point out that the "warm" isn't really warm. Its more like room temp when it comes out of the top but is cold by the time i reaches you. Otherwise, i like. Love that i can move the spout around too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 Dec 23, 2014

item met expected results, working well

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Long Island,NY,  Feb 22, 2010

I like this humidifier a lot. It is compact, yet powerful. It really does a good job humidifying my son's room. I am just disappointed there was no paperwork included to give you info on how/where to order the parts that need changing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job!
 Aug 1, 2015

Have use 2 of these the last 4 winters. My plants, animals, and I are all satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice humidifier
 Jul 9, 2015

Love it. Used it in our large living room over the winter.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Although cheaply made, It started out quiet and worked. But by the end of the winter Made in China took over... Over 4 months of nightly use Motor got noisy. The reservoir collects condensation flooding the outer edges and brush compartment where water should not be. The filter is a joke and only fools will replace it as it has holes for the water to completely bypass the filter element which is nothing more than a cotton ball in a plastic cylinder. The handle on the tank feels like its going to break off every time you fill it, and the fact that the air spout is part of the tank makes condensation drip all over every time you refill it. Tank only lasts through the night if it's set to 1/2 power for 8 hrs 3/4 power for 6 hours at full power it will empty within 4 hours. The cool mist / heated mist is a joke, mist is always cool. Their idea of warm is making the water luke warm with a tiny heater before it gets vaporized. Do yourself a favor and find a better quality one for $$ more especialy if u want warm mist. Otherwise save your money and get the regular cool mist one, fill it with luke warm water if you want the dual effect to be the same as what this does. lol The pros: Besides the warm mist, It works (for now) and is mostly quiet. But quality is NOTHING compared to the American made one we had before from the 90's which was twice the size, unfortunately when I purchased this the competition was just as bad or worse and over priced.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The reservoir holds plenty of water- lasts all night even on the highest setting. The heat setting markedly increases the volume of moisture being emitted. This is my first mist humidifier and I am impressed. Of course, one has to deal with the fine white residue it leaves behind, but if you are like me, a dry environment sinus headache sufferer you will not mind. I'd buy it again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Is worth it
 Mar 26, 2015

Works well, easy to handle, good buy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OilonLinen
 Mar 12, 2015

I've been using this humidifier each day for about three weeks since I received it and am perfectly happy. Very quiet while in operation. It's easy to refill and I've noticed that I can breathe more easily through the night without getting congested. What a relief! I would definitely recommend this unit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JB
 Feb 5, 2015

Good humidifier easy to clean also

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Faulty product
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jan 10, 2015

The unit didn't work out of the box. The light indicating it was on would flicker off and on. I took it apart several times to ensure everything was put together properly and it would still work off and on. When it did work it didn't appear to be emitting any mist in either the warm or cool setting. It was really disappointing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We bought this humidifier this winter after we grew tired of waking up with sore throats, dry or bloody noses and chapped lips and it has alleviated them all! The static has left my hair in the mornings and even the cats dandruff has disappeared! I run it in the bedroom on a cool, medium setting each night for about 8 hours and one tank of water will last 2 nights. I fill it directly with filtered water from the refrigerator and have had no white dust at all. I have had no problems with leaking as I am sure not to tighten the closure to the tank too tight. As far as sound goes, it is really quite. The only noticeable noise that comes from it are the occasional sound of bubbles as the water is drained from the tank. They are like the bubbles from a water cooler as you fill a cup, weird at first, but easy to ignore. I love the feature of being able to rotate the direction of the mist and the carpet below the stand it sits on is never noticeably damp after use either. My one annoyance is that I cannot run my air purifier at the same time as the humidifier. They seem to do battle and the air purifier runs on high anytime the humidifier is on which leads me to believe its taking all the moisture right back out of the air, but that is not the humidifiers fault, it just means it's doing it's job getting the moisture out in the air. For the price you cannot beat the quality of this humidifier. Just be sure you are willing to commit to cleaning it regularly and it will last you a long time. I let if fully air dry in the sun at least once a week and do a vinegar or bleach rinse once a month. I have never had any smells or hard water build up in mine because of this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 83 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought