Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from New York, NY,  Nov 13, 2009

I just purchased this product last week and already I'm a fan. After reading many reviews, I decided to try this product. I ordered it on a Monday and received the package on Wednesday. I was a bit skeptical about what kind of shape the unit would be in as it was shipped right in it's original packaging - no extra box, bubble wrap or peanuts. As soon as I opened the product everything was just as described in the booklet. The packaging was easy to read and the product was even easier to figure out (very few working parts). Just pull the water chamber up from the base and flip over, unscrew the filter/cap and pour water into the chamber. It's nice that the chamber is flat so that it doesn't move around in the sink. I had no problem with it being too tall for my sink as others had written. The hole opening in the chamber appears to be wide enough to get my hand inside to physically clean it, although I haven't had the opportunity to do that just yet. Then screw the filter/cap back on. There was no problem with water leaking out of the chamber as others had mentioned - the trick is not to screw the filter/cap on too tightly. Then you flip the chamber back on the base and plug it into the wall. The dials are all easy to figure out. I don't know why so many people have complained about the chamber not holding enough water, it holds just plenty. There's no reason why anyone should be setting it on the highest lever of humidity or else it will create excess humidity and mold in your house. If you have the humidity level up halfway as I do, it will use about half the tank of water per night (roughly 16 - 24 hrs. of use total). However, I've only tried this method on the cold mist setting. My boyfriend and I were impressed at how quickly the mist comes out upon turning on the unit. At the very highest setting it really does look like pea soup. At the very lowest level, there appears to be no visible mist. Occasionally I will hear a few trickles of water coming from the unit, but within an hour or so it really dwindles down to almost no noise. It is certainly quieter than my old humidifier which sounded like I was boiling water on the stove. I also like the sleek look and un-bulkiness of the unit as well as the ability to have two directional mist flows. I am thinking about buying another one for the living room. It definitely beats my old V790 Vicks GermFree Humidifier in look, performance, sound and just about everything else hands down. In fact, I think I am throwing away that piece of garbage after just one year of use. Even if this new unit works for one season, I know I will be much happier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WORKS GREAT
 from NORTH CAROLINA,  Dec 23, 2009

Researching this unit over the web, I found that most people had problems with the unit's tank leaking, and water pooling around it when being used. A lot of it sounded like people not quite handling or using the unit properly. Since it also had many positive reviews, I decided to try it. We've been using it for a few weeks now and We've not experienced ANY of the problems other people have. The unit is quiet, no water pools, and if you do not overtighten the tank cap (as others thought was the tank leakage problem), there is no leakage. We placed the unit in the corner of the bedroom on top of a shammy in a small boot tray on the floor and the shammy has stayed dry. The unit operates very quietly, and we have the setting set to moderate humidity and only use it at night when we sleep. The very first night I noticed that my throat was much less dry in the morning. I've used cheaper humidifiers before, and decided to spend the money for this one and am glad as this one seems to actually work. On our setting, it takes 3 nights of use to empty the tank. Remember, this unit is ultrasonic, and since it doesn't use a heater, you'll only get a "cool" mist. Overstock had the best price for this unit and I am very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Humidifier Under $100.00
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 8, 2014

This is the best humidifier you will find under $100. That likely holds true as it compares to most of the pricier models, but I can't justify hundreds or thousands of dollars to test that theory. The water tank (which is now also available in green) easily lifts off the base using a built-in handle and, like the rest of the unit, made of extremely durable plastic. The large osmotic water filter doubles as the refill cap and must be unscrewed and set aside when refilling the tank. Just be careful not to over-tighten the refill cap, or the rubber seal will make unscrewing the cap for the next refill a potentially difficult task. Be sure to use the included brush to clean the base once in a while. Like any humidifier, the SPT 4010 requires occasional maintenance to address hard water deposits, mold, and mildew. The steam generator is essentially a small speaker that emits a high frequency sound wave (higher than you or your animals can hear) to agitate the water into steam. To give you a better idea, picture dry ice in water or a smoke machine. You will hear the filter gurgle for a few minutes after a refill and once in a while during operation, but the machine is otherwise totally silent. I haven't decided if the warm steam is worth it, because the heat dissipates so quickly. Finally, as a tip, if you use it in combination with a ceiling fan running in reverse mode on low or medium speed, the steam is much more efficiently distributed around a small room. Just use common sense and don't draw too much steam into your ceiling fan. The idea is to lift and move the steam enough, so it doesn't rain down on only one spot all night. If you take a moment to read the only other customer review (to date) for this product, it is GLOWING, so I have no idea why the reviewer gave it 2 stars instead of the 5 it definitely deserves. A major consumer publication also tested this to be THE top-scoring model of the bunch, but they somehow justified assigning it 4th place (clearly not due to price, because a lower-scoring model at twice the price took 2nd place). Additionally, they buried the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place models in the list in a most bizarre way. The 1st-place (yet also lower-scoring) model is made into the shape of various animals. Instead of listing one of the animals to convey the capability of the model, they proceeded to list EVERY LAST animal. Things that make you go hmm... Anyway, do yourself a favor and grab this one. I'm relatively young, but running this during the Winter months has put an end to the dehydrated feeling in the morning and vastly improved the way I feel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would buy again
 from Chicago,  Jan 25, 2013

Good unit. Only problem is the mist directs downward so it needs to sit up high.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Humidifier
 from Minnesota,  Jan 23, 2013

Before we bought this humidifier, I had no idea how good it would make us feel in the morning. No more waking up with dry lips. We use it every night from November through February. It works extremely well in our 13' x 20' bedroom, and it hasn't failed us yet. The quality is exceptional.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My husband loves this product he no longer wakes up with dry eyes and nose. Easy to operate and well worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not listed in write up
 from Maine,  Dec 5, 2008

Disapppnted to learn after the fact, and later read in manual, that the humidifier leaves considerable wetness on the surface below it (hard wood floors). Resevior is far too small to go thriugh the night or into the next work day without runnning out of water. Wish it was a returnable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not warm
 from denver, co,  Dec 26, 2014

This is a nice humidifier. Just wanted to point out that the "warm" isn't really warm. Its more like room temp when it comes out of the top but is cold by the time i reaches you. Otherwise, i like. Love that i can move the spout around too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 Dec 23, 2014

item met expected results, working well

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Long Island,NY,  Feb 22, 2010

I like this humidifier a lot. It is compact, yet powerful. It really does a good job humidifying my son's room. I am just disappointed there was no paperwork included to give you info on how/where to order the parts that need changing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JB
 Feb 5, 2015

Good humidifier easy to clean also

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Yes, it does humidify. But the sound isn't one I could sleep with - it's more a buzz than a hum - and after about a week it it got a lot louder and is now a bit rattly. Also, the tank is so small that if you live in a dry area you have to fill it multiple times a day, which is more of a drag than I expected. I wish I'd put the same money in a bigger humidifier that doesn't require filling as often and can be run all night outside the bedroom and still be effective. Still, except for the sound, this does work as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Faulty product
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jan 10, 2015

The unit didn't work out of the box. The light indicating it was on would flicker off and on. I took it apart several times to ensure everything was put together properly and it would still work off and on. When it did work it didn't appear to be emitting any mist in either the warm or cool setting. It was really disappointing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We bought this humidifier this winter after we grew tired of waking up with sore throats, dry or bloody noses and chapped lips and it has alleviated them all! The static has left my hair in the mornings and even the cats dandruff has disappeared! I run it in the bedroom on a cool, medium setting each night for about 8 hours and one tank of water will last 2 nights. I fill it directly with filtered water from the refrigerator and have had no white dust at all. I have had no problems with leaking as I am sure not to tighten the closure to the tank too tight. As far as sound goes, it is really quite. The only noticeable noise that comes from it are the occasional sound of bubbles as the water is drained from the tank. They are like the bubbles from a water cooler as you fill a cup, weird at first, but easy to ignore. I love the feature of being able to rotate the direction of the mist and the carpet below the stand it sits on is never noticeably damp after use either. My one annoyance is that I cannot run my air purifier at the same time as the humidifier. They seem to do battle and the air purifier runs on high anytime the humidifier is on which leads me to believe its taking all the moisture right back out of the air, but that is not the humidifiers fault, it just means it's doing it's job getting the moisture out in the air. For the price you cannot beat the quality of this humidifier. Just be sure you are willing to commit to cleaning it regularly and it will last you a long time. I let if fully air dry in the sun at least once a week and do a vinegar or bleach rinse once a month. I have never had any smells or hard water build up in mine because of this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect solution!
 from Buffalo NY,  Dec 28, 2014

After reading online reviews and trying to find the most affordable humidifier yet one that did not require purchasing additional filters, I selected this one. It has been a life saver ! Or should I say a nose saver - the dry air in the house was causing so many issues with sleep but this has solved the problem. It does have some noise associated with it but not to a bothersome level. Great product, great value !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dual Mist Humidifier Surpentown
 from Arizona,  Dec 27, 2014

Unfortunately this product doesn't hold up in the quality control department. It is ranked high in Consumer Reports for being virtually quiet. I purchased one and the motor was bad, returned the item, received the replacement and that unit was exactly as described. It was very quiet, puts out a lot of mist, was so pleased, loved it. So I thought I had received one bum unit & took the chance and purchased another humidifier for our guest bedroom. I received another unit that was bad, so that unit was returned with a replacement sent and sadly, the same motor issue, so that today is having to be sent back. Overstock, as always, has been gracious and kind with the return of this faulty product, no fault on their behalf, they are awesome to work with. I would not recommend this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good but...
 from Milford, PA,  Dec 7, 2014

I received this product about two weeks ago and am very happy with it except for one thing: the water capacity (1 gallon) barely lasts through the night. I wake up every morning to find that even on the lowest mist setting, the water has emptied before 8 a.m. and the unit has essentially turned off. The design is beautiful - very sleek, and the parts are constructed of very sturdy plastic. It's easy to use (although water remains in the unit when you remove the reservoir, so be careful about drips as you remove the reservoir for cleaning and refills). All in all I'm pleased, but that small (1 gallon) water capacity is a little problematic. (Maybe the room where I use it is unusually dry?)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Kansas City, KS,  Nov 25, 2014

It's only been a few days, but so far so good. I haven't experienced any leaking from the unit. I've found that you need to make sure you fill up all the way if you want the water to last all night. Seems to go out quickly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Kansas,  Mar 26, 2013

I would rcommend this humidifier to anyone who needs one for a bedroom. I run mine during the day and turn if off at night because there is a slight buzz when it is running. However, when compared to the one I replace it is very quiet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The Humidifier looks just like the site picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works beautifuly. I needed a good one and that is what I got.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Execellent review
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding operation & DIRECTED humidity
 from San Diego County,CA,  Mar 17, 2013

Slim & small. Fits anywhere. One can DIRECT the vapor to almost anywhere- a GREAT advantage. Easy to fill. Easy to carry. Easy to operate. For further , specific direction, place on a piece of furniture above the floor. I keep a piece of plastic under the vaporizer to keep the furniture free of any drips(while removing fill tank only)& keeping it clean.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. No problems at all. Just the usual slight dripping when removing the top for filling. That's because it's in the middle of the vaporizing operation.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought