Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
poor quality
 from Columbia, MO,  Dec 23, 2011

I would not recommend this product, because though the wood is well represented by the photos, it is a cheap wood that easily splinters. For this reason, my order came damaged. The screw that allows the legs to rotate open had pulled though the wood. Most everything else was put together with nails, and it looked as if the rest of it would fall apart. This shelf could certainly not be used to hold anything heavy, and it is not a piece you will have for years to come. It just is not built for long-term use. If it were made well, I would have had overstock ship me a new one, but once I saw it in person, I realized that I wanted something more sturdy. The one good thing I can say is that Overstock has wonderful customer service and made the return process EASY!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? measurements were accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking shelf.
 from San Diego,  Nov 14, 2011

No assembly and the distressed wood looks great--my only complaint is that it had a very strong smell for the first coupe days. The smell wasn't aweful, just very strong. All in all, I highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems good so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price, from designer
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Jul 11, 2014

Great buy for the price! Look and style just like in a photo. Color matches as well. Very well packed, nice large size. Not the best quality, but it is everything you expect from the import and mass made. If someone thinks that you can get hand crafted furniture for $$ they are very mistaken. I just love all the negative comments about the quality - come on people !!! ... Shelf is almost free of charge and you expect Amish made furniture, let's not get carried away... It is a bargain and fits the bill. I would recommend this for small space, apartment or flat, small cando living. And when you move just toss it out and buy something new and exciting!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't feel tempted
 from Baltimore, MD,  Feb 26, 2014

It's very un-sturdy. It's also smaller than it appears in the picture. I read the other reviews, and should have known better. Live and learn.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow. I just Love It
 from New York,  Dec 10, 2013

Pretty, fit perfectly in my living room. Exactly like in the picture

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is taking "Distressed" too far!
 from Schaumburg, IL,  Nov 8, 2013

This is the worst quality piece of furniture that I have ever seen. It arrived in a box that looked like it was pieced together - obviously returned by another dissatisfied customer (it even had some dirty footprints side the box!). Upon taking the shelving out of the box, I noticed that the top was smashed. As I lifted the shelving up to separate it (is a ladder style), the rungs that hold up the shelves just which were just held in by just staples, completely fell out. Both myself and my son who was helping me got splinters from the broken/splintered wood. The quality of this product is so poor that I can't believe that a company put their names on it. Extremely cheaply made. I can't send it back soon enough!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for small space
 from West Covina, CA,  Jan 10, 2012

Bought this as a Christmas gift for my daugher who lives away from home. No assembly, just unfold like a ladder. Perfect for her small space, keeps her organized.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the look of this.
 from Alabama,  Dec 16, 2011

I have seen similar products elsewhere, priced at a higher price point. When these came in, they gave a great look at a much more reasonable price. If this type of bookshelf is your style, I would recommend to buy it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very stylish and inexpensive!
 from Washington State,  Dec 6, 2014

I really don't understand the bad reviews on this shelf (other than if they received it damaged from shipping). This shelf is as shown and absolutely a fabulous deal for $**! Anything comparable is much much more expensive. Is it a $***shelf? No. It's $**and looks great! There was no assembly required. Just open up the ladder and swivel the shelves down...ready to decorate! I may get another for our guest room!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
plant shelves
 from SF East Bay,  Dec 5, 2014

I needed to get my house plants off the kitchen counter top. Straight up shelves have problems of stability and shelf heights. also needed something rustic looking for my decor. The unit came with a black walnut, un-lacquered finish. I was able to put a reddish stain on it to make it match my home's woodwork. The ladder style allows me to put my taller plants on the front edges and top shelf; putting the shorter plants under, and on the back parts of the shelves. doesn't take up much room. I had ordered 2 - gave one to my mom for her plants too. she had 3+ little glass topped tables spread out. Only problem using it for plants is that it's not a sealed finish; the finish can be scratched and absorb liquids.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for!
 from Southern California,  Nov 27, 2014

Quick delivery and works perfectly in my new rustic living room!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Distressed Wood Folding Shelves
 from Florida,  Oct 26, 2014

Great product easy to assemble and ready to use. Thanks

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap, flimsy
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Oct 24, 2014

It was a cool idea and I was excited to find these online, unfortunately they arrived damaged. The top of the ladder was cracked and broken off at the joint. The entire item just seems so flimsy and cheap. I guess that's what you get for $**. I am returning my damaged shelving unit for a refund. NOT recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Oct 20, 2014

Even though they have some terrible reviews and went ahead and ordered them, because we just bought our first home and are trying to stretch decor money. They arrived in good condition, well wrapped and assemble was great, none! Just open up and use! I wish I could include a photo because they are perfect in our living room. Ordered another set hopefully they turn out just as good. If you are looking for high quality and sturdiness for lots of items this product is not for you. I have a few lighter knick-knacks and photos on ours. Mostly going for a look here.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
 from greenville sc,  Oct 3, 2014

FELL APART IMMEDIATELY, NOT WORTH THE MONEY UNLESS YOU WANT TO REBUILD IT YOURSELF BECAUSE THE LOOK IS NICE.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelves
 from Ct,  Oct 3, 2014

Although they look really cool the design is very nice they are flimsy not strong or sturdy at all and one of the shelves came badly put together already cracked and loose shelves over all if ur going to use it for very small light weight objects just to look nice then they are okay but not if u need s strong sturdy bookcase for heavy decorations

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ladder Shelving
 from TN,  Oct 1, 2014

I love the looks and functionality of this ladder shelving unit. Even better, there are two units in the box instead of one! Very good deal for the price. They are not meant to be used for very heavy objects but they work fine for my computers and books that stay beside my recliner.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Came in terrible condition
 from New York, NY,  Sep 20, 2014

The boookshelves arrived in terrible condition; the screws had completely worn through the wood and they were falling apart at the hinges. The glued parts were also separated, and there was no way for the bookshelves to stand. Luckily overstock has a fantastic return policy and they promptly issued a refund. It's so cheaply priced for a reason!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivered in disrepair
 from San Carlos, California,  Sep 6, 2014

This was delivered broken, loose screws and decorative tacks missing. I am crafty so i'm going to repair and make it work but, not good quality at all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied for the price I paid
 from Kansas City,  Sep 3, 2014

The shelves are true to color from the description. I had to wipe them down before assembly because they seemed to have a dirt or dust film. Assembly was easy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought