Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 118 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great price. Multiple Uses. No additional costs.
 from Nashville, TN,  Dec 21, 2010

The Bad: This mop requires frequent refilling. I have a 200 sq ft living room and it takes two fill-ups to complete the entire floor. Also if your floor is really dirty, I've noticed it requires that you change the mop head half way through. If you don't, half of your floor looks great while the other half has streaks. Luckily, this mop comes with 3 mop heads - 2 flat microfiber pads and 1 that has little microfiber knobs. The one with the knobs is pretty useless. The mop doesn't get wet enough to saturate the knobby mop head, so it just clings to the surface, making it really hard to maneuver back and forth. The cord's kind of short, too, so it may require frequent plugging and unplugging as you work. It's pretty noisy, too. It gargles a lot. The Good: Used properly, the steam saturates caked on grease (like the nasty that collects behind your appliances), making them very easy to wipe away. It's also wonderful for upholstery, like sofa cushions, mattresses, etc. I've used it with the rug attachment to steam clean our sofa, beds, pet beds, and have even dangled it in the air to steam our drapes. The result? Sanitary surfaces with no wrinkles or creases. I've also found that gliding across the floor (refinished hardwood, in my case) can be a challenge. It works best if you glide it just slightly ABOVE the surface on the forward glide and then wipe the floor on the backward motion. I've also used it without the heads to steam our shower tile, stainless steel fridge door (which can get streaks with other cleaners), the caked on grease behind our appliances, and our 5 year-old seagrass rug. It made our rug look brand new, which is a feat with 3 cats and slobbery great dane. I don't have any actual carpet material in my home, so I can't attest to the stain-removing ability in that aspect, but it did remove a pretty gnarly slobber spot from our dane's twin mattress. It freshens the mattress as well, so there's no more doggy frito stench. It also removes the smells from kitty accidents, making sure accidents don't become habits. Bleach does this too, but can give me quite a headache. I won't buy floor cleaners anymore, which will save at least $40 this year - paying for the mop pretty quickly. Clean the bottom of the mop (while it's off and cool) by wiping it with a damp washcloth and the mop also doubles as a clothes steamer. The steam doesn't get scorching hot, like one might expect. I accidentally spewed myself with steam during our trial runs, and it didn't hurt or burn me at all. It took a few uses to remove all of the residual cleaners we've been using on the floors (Murphy Oil Soap, in my case). So don't get discouraged if your first few moppings end with streaks. Use a clean head for every 100sq ft or so and the streaks will disappear by the 3rd or 4th mopping. It won't polish the floors, but we don't use polish since they build up and eventually just end up dulling the wood anyway. We've only had the mop a few weeks, so I can't attest to the durability of the mop. It seems kind of flimsy, but I think that's just because it's so lightweight. It's also half the cost of a Haan steamer, making it a great buy for the money. It's small and stores discretely in our small utility closet. I wish it had vacuuming capabilities. We still have to pull out the Dyson before we mop - but we were doing this before, so it's not that big of an adjustment. And it's nice to not have to ring out mop heads and tote buckets around the house. Overall, I would recommend this product to a friend and even to strangers, like you!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Steam mop
 from Youngstown, Ohio,  Sep 30, 2010

Purchased item for my daughter and she loves it. She couldn't believe how it revived her rugs. It also works very well on her hardwood floors. She is very pleased with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality
 from Rhode Island,  Feb 1, 2011

This item did not meet my expectations. It is very small, and I had to refill it 3 times just to clean my mid size kitchen floor. It did clean the floor nicely, but would be better suited for small areas (i.e., bathroom floor). I couldn't return it because it would cost at least $10.00 to ship, and I would only get partial refund after that because it's been opend. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars to get a higher quality product. The box came all damaged with no packing slip. This is the first item I've ever ordered from overstock that I wasn't satisfied with. Everything else has been excellent.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It
 from Boston,  Dec 14, 2010

I love this machine. It cleans my kitchen floor really well and pulls up all the dirt. I wish I bought one sooner.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works better than a swiffer
 from New York,  Nov 12, 2010

...But it is the same concept, except with steam. It was a little difficult to push, and I had to refill the water twice (I have lots of flooring) but I think it cleaned well, dried pretty quickly (more like a few minutes than 60 seconds), and it was nice to walk on a floor w/o residue like the Swiffer stickiness. It did push dirt around a little bit, but I dry Swiffered afterwards to pick that up. (I usually do that with mopping anyway.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dirt Devil Steam Mop Any brand W/ D-handle PD2000
 from Georgetown Texas,  Feb 22, 2014

Beware that buying this steam mop is a disaster. As an owner of one I suggest you do not buy this appliance or any model with the plastic D-handle. Dirt Devil has very limited parts for anything on this machine. Especially the Handel and it is very fragile. Mine broke as I was taking it out of the box and it fell over and hit the floor. My fault but... Dirt Devil does not make the Handel available and it is not replaceable. I spend untold hours with dealers and at Dirt Devil.com and they just suggested I buy another machine. They and all their sources cost me a lot of time and they could not provide the handle.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Limited Lifespan
 from Florence, SC,  Jun 29, 2012

I used this product to clean my bathroom floors every two weeks. It worked great for the first 6 months, then on the 7th month it died. I plugged it in and the light would turn on and it would make noises like the water was heating up, but it would no longer get hot. I guess you get what you pay for. I would NOT recommend this product!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy this!
 from Wadsworth Ohio,  Jun 17, 2012

This is steam mop is flimsy and not the best performer. Recommend a mop with a rectangular base. The triangle is difficult to manage and doesn't fit well into some spaces.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? NA
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Steam mop is lightweigt.
 from Deering, NH,  May 9, 2012

I like that the Steam Mop is lightweight. However, I do have to refill it at least once before I have finished the kitchen floor. The steam does not clean the grout between the tiles very much at all. The tiles are nice and clean though. My daughter has a linoleum kitchen floor (small size) and she loves hers.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Steam Mop
 from ND,  Apr 19, 2012

This mop works great for cleaning kitchen floors and bathrooms. Easy to maneuver, lightweight, and "melted" dirty spots away. Cleaned much better than the swiffer pads I used before.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average
 from Waterbury, VT,  Apr 11, 2012

Disappointed in how difficult this is to menuver around. Our grandson was excited about until he tried to make it go and had a very hard time. Would not recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made and quality is good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very disappointed
 from freedom pa,  Mar 13, 2012

i was very disappointed in this product. I got it as a christmas gift and only used it a few times and i quit working.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? junk
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. junk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dirt Devil steam mop
 from Marysville, Wa,  Jan 14, 2012

Overall this product fits in the average category. Handle extension is a bit flimsy and the microfiber pad tends to want to come off. You really have to cinch it down very tightly to prevent this, although even that doesn't work all the time. Steam is good and quick and lasting. If you want a budget steam mop and you are aware of it's limitations, this may be the mop for you. Tends to leave a dull finish on hardwood flooring also.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is a little on the flimsy side
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
STEAM DREAM
 from Los Angeles,  Jan 13, 2012

This is such an advancement on the old mop and bucket scenario. I was skeptical-but I wouldn't use anything else now. This model is really light and easy to use. It has powerful steam and heats the water in 30 nseconds. Everyone in the family enjoys cleaning the floors with this cool but efficient gadget.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color as in ad
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is so easy to use-lightweight and yet cleans like no mop before.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gave as a gift
 from Gadsden, AL,  Dec 30, 2011

I gave it as a gift. They were very pleased with it. I have recommended it to others.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True to the description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I hated mopping my floors.....until now.
 from Livermore, CA,  Dec 5, 2011

I had seen various steam mops on those late night informercials and always thought - wow, I wonder if that would actually work. Well I decided to take a chance on Black Friday when I just happened to have a coupon that I was able to use on Overstock.com so I splurged and got myself the Dirt Devil Mop (as a birthday gift to myself no less....). Anyway - it's like a dream come true. Easy to assemble, easy to use and my kitchen floor has never been so clean. I can hardly wait to go mop again! And for the price - you just can't beat it. So long Swifter WetJet.... HELLO Dirt Devil!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. lightweight - seems sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from North East Ohio,  Oct 27, 2011

Works great. Excellant cleaning of tiled floors. Have had no problems. Heats up fast and has lots of steam.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellant Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good floor steamer
 from florida,  Sep 19, 2011

little steam cleaner does a pretty good job,the triangular pads are machine washable

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? verry good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. verry good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? verry good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product - Good Performance
 from Lawrencevill, GA,  Aug 17, 2011

I love the simplicity of design, is light weight my arm doesn't hurt after cleaning 1800 sq of hardwood floor. The end result is average (you see some strike on the floor but you can eliminate this by using a new rug. I bought 2 sets of 2 rugs at **** for $5.00 ea. I use a total of 46 rugs to clean a total of 1800 sq. For the price I think it was a great buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Patty in Lake County CA
 from Lake County, CA,  Aug 3, 2011

This steamer is very easy to use, and gets the floor really clean. I wish I had bought one that vacuums as well as steams, but for the price this one is great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 118 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Bissell 31N1 Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Add to cart to see special price
(67)
Shark S3101 Steam Mop
Today $49.99
Compare $86.20
Save 42%
(14)
Oreck 'Steam-It' Steam Cleaner
Add to cart to see special price
(30)
Shark S3251 Lite 'n Easy Steam Mop
Today $59.99
Compare $105.53
Save 43%
(6)
Shark S3501 Upright Steam Cleaning Mop
Today $69.99
Compare $83.99
Save 17%
(12)
Back to top