Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
This is the best dinnerware ever made.
 from Montgomery, Alabama,  Dec 25, 2012

I bought this set for our second home in another city. They serve beautifully, are oversized and are simply classic and elegant. They are made in England, sell for much more on Denby's website and are safe to use. Best of all, they are not made in China. They are made in England. I have been waiting to find these again and feel fortunate to have stumbled on them on Christmas night. What a surprise and pleasure.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is exactly the same as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is an incredibly high quality product that is made in England. I already have a large set in our second home and now have purchased a set for our first home.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate but not thorough enough unless one knows the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic dinnerware
 from Middletown, MD,  Jul 6, 2013

We ordered 4 sets and all arrived packaged extremely well. We had no defects, chips, cracks, or issues of any kind. The delivery was quick and painless. The dinnerware was packed in multiple layers (boxes in boxes) and heavily wrapped in bubblewrap and then floating in peanut packing. The dinnerware itself has superb quality characteristics. The finish is excellent, smooth and tough. I've occasionally banged the edge of them against the inside edge of my granite sink and have not damaged a plate yet. Note that the dinner plate is rather large, so make sure you have the cabinet depth to hold it. Our cabinets can barely accommodate these plates. They are solid in construction without being overtly heavy but they aren't super light, like CorningWare. Each dinner plate weighs 2 lbs so plan accordingly and make sure your shelves can hold the weight. The smaller plates are perfectly sized for deserts or small salads and are proportionately similar to the dinner plate and also of high quality. The plates are large enough to hold a fair amount of food without being a teacup plate. The inner surface area is about the size of a large slice of bread with a 1/2 inch space around it. They weigh in at 0.8 lbs a piece. The bowls are really neat. They are somewhat squared off, but curvacious enough to make them easy to use for solids as well as liquids. For example, they work equally well with a fresh fruit cocktail as the do for every day cereal. They are plenty deep enough without having a huge footprint and they stack very well. A stack of 5 is about 8 inches in height. They weigh in at 0.9 lbs a piece. The mugs are very nice and hold 12 oz with about 1/2 inch to go from the brim. The are well balanced and not too heavy. I've noticed that they retain the heat very well - better than some of my thick walled cafe mugs. Each mug weighs 1 lb. Styling wise, I prefer the look of these plates and the real estate they afford by being partially square over the round variant. The rounded accents soften the harsh square style and allow them to be more universally deployed in various dinner settings. The white color is exactly as shown with no tint at all. The slight raised edge is perfect for outlining and showcasing the food contained within. They are very stylish without being overtly contemporary in my opinion. Overstock provided these at a fantastic price (about 1/2 of retail), which really can't be beat. I was shopping for a very long time for quality everyday dinnerware and these hit the mark. They are probably a notch higher in quality that I would have gone had the price not been so good. I've seen these show up on Overstock and disappear quickly, so when I saw them the last time, at the fantastic price, I jumped on them immediately and am glad I did.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is top notch. Very solid, without being too heavy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes, the description was exact.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Denby White Squares Dinnerware set
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 13, 2013

I love this dinnerware set. The dinner plates are large and an ample weight . The mugs are a decent size. The smaller plates of this set are only big enough for a pat of butter and a roll. I have ordered the dessert/salad plates separately . These dessert/salad plates are larger than the bread/butter plate and smaller than the dinner plate . This set is a very nice , sturdy every day Dinnerware . It would also be nice for company as well . Typical porcelain with a slight blue/gray undertones ....simple and elegant

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? porcelain white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very acurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from NY,  Apr 21, 2014

Love this simple classic white. The shape has a contemporary look. I bought two sets and enjoy them. i had searched long and hard for dishes NOT made in China. One bowl was destroyed and i ordered a replacement directly from Denby. The bowl does not match the original set and the replacement bowl was made in Tiawan. So, i would have given this set 5 starts, but because the replacement bowl was not the same, I gave it 4 stars.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic white with style and durability
 from Arizona,  Dec 24, 2013

I purchased three sets of these dishes sight unseen for a second home, and love using them. They are versatile enough for both everyday use and holiday feasts, with a lovely glaze, nice heft and pleasing shape and edges. The mugs and bowls are just the right size for us. The tea plates are small, but work well with the other pieces. I was concerned that the oversized dinner plate would encourage us to overeat, but the lip seem to frame our food without making a small portion look skimpy. We have had no problem fitting them into our dishwasher and cupboard, either, and they are durable enough that they have survived hitting our granite counter tops many times over the course of two months of daily use. This was a great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely Set But Watch Out For Breakage
 from Chicago,  Oct 16, 2013

The set is lovely in every way, but I cannot recommend it because half of the bowls arrived in pieces. They seemed to be carefully wrapped, but apparently were not. Overstock, which has always had excellent service, could not replace the broken bowls so they provided a discount on any future purchase...a fair offer. I was unable to find any replacements for these bowls anywhere. So yes, this is a nice set, I love it, but since it can't be safely shipped, I'd say, skip it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 17, 2013

I have only been using the dishes for a few weeks but so far I love them. All pieces are of a good size. The bowls are great for cereal, ice cream, small salads and fruit. The finish is smooth and a soft white color.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleek and classy
 from Martinsburg, WV,  Jul 17, 2013

This is a lovely, sleek and classic pattern that will not go out of style. There is no scratching with silverware use. It comes out of the dishwasher looking brand new and microwave use is great. I would definitely buy this pattern again and would recommend the Denby square to anyone. I did chip one plate, but it was because of the strange angle with which the plate hit. I have accidentally hit them several times later with no problems. Treat yourself to a new dinnerware set and you won't be sorry!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is excellent. Accidentally chipped one plate, but I believe it got hit at a strange angle. The glaze does not scratch with silverware use.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Denby Dinnerware
 from chicago, il,  Jun 4, 2013

Very nice dinnerware set. Was looking for a reasonably priced set that could be taken from the microwave and not melt your hands. Also, was looking for a set that was chip resistant. This set fit the bill.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Set
 from B-More, MD,  May 8, 2013

We have a full set of 16 each and are very happy with them. They are a modern and fresh design but not over the top as some others. The craftmanship is great and they are a delight to look at. Another plus is that they are made in the UK. There is one little warning though. it looks like the Denby packaging is a little iffy, because we had several plates broken once we opeend the box. The easy work around is order double and send the broken plates back in one box. Alternativly the big O return and replacement policy is second to none. Great buy great price, you get 4 times as much than if you buy it elsewhere for the same price....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought