Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not as pictured but very nice
 from Pennsylvania,  Aug 23, 2012

When these dishes first arrived, I was taken aback to discover that they are the wide rimmed version rather than what is pictured. However, we still like the dishes and are pleased with the overall quality, aesthetic, and price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual product has cool undertones (bluish?) rather than warm undertones as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality, all arrived intact, no apparent blemishes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is accurate by doesn't match the photo
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
We have recently updated the image to accurately reflect the wide rim of the dinner and salad plates.
 
 
Rating
Great dinnerware - amazing price!
 from Boston, MA,  May 21, 2012

I knew that I wanted Denby dishes for their outstanding quality, but thought I could never afford them as my everyday dishware. Thanks Overstock! Love the dishes - love the quality - love the color!!! Love the piece of mind that Denby is one of the few folks that offer NO LEAD or cadmium in their products!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice dishes made in england
 from Queens, NY,  Mar 2, 2014

I love these high quality dishes! The wide rim on the dinner and dessert plates create a nice border for food, making the meal look more attractive. The brown goes with all colors of food. And the pudgy shape of the cup gives it a pleasing artisan look. The packing could have been better, two of the 16 dishes were broken during shipment, but Overstock replaced the dessert plate and gave a partial refund for the bowl. Wish they would have had a bowl replacement to send instead of a refund, because although they gave me enough money back considering what I paid, to buy a replacement at full MSRP will cost almost 3 times as much. Still an great deal overall, though!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dishes and exactly what I wanted!
 from Southern California,  Jan 30, 2014

I had been searching for weeks for a good price on Denby stoneware, so I was thrilled when I found this set on Overstock! Previous reviewers noted that the set pictured on the website was different than what they received, but it appears that the picture is now accurate. The combination of styles was EXACTLY what I wanted: wide rims for the plates, deep bowls, and a great shape for the coffee mugs. The only aspect of the dishes that I wasn't sure about was the size of the salad plate, which is almost as large as the dinner plate. Even that has an advantage, though, since they can be used as dinner plates when we have a larger dinner party. (Denby does sell "tea plates" that are smaller than their salad plates.) To make the purchase even better, I paid less for service for 4 through Overstock than I would have paid for 2 place settings at most other retailers! The dishes are absolutely perfect--sturdy yet elegant and very well made--and I absolutely LOVE them!! I could not be happier with my purchase!! Overstock came through once again, since the dishes arrived on time and nothing was broken. Thank you Overstock!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Middletown, nj 07748,  Jan 29, 2014

Had one of the dishes delivered borken, you support people were outstanding.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
every day dishes
 from LA,  Jan 24, 2014

nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily usenice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use nice solid sturdy yet elegant for daily use

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these dishes!
 from Queens, New York,  Dec 21, 2013

These are a beautiful hot chocolate brown with a sublet golden outer rim and a high luster finish that has the look of fine china. Great for everyday use or casual dinner parties. Please be advised that you will not get exactly what's pictured or described here. Here's what I received: 4 wide rimmed dinner plates, 4 wide rimmed dessert plates, 4 "regular" (NOT wide rimmed) soup bowls as pictured and 4 coffee cups as pictured. Would have preferred the wide rimmed soup bowls, but still a fantastic value! Highly recommended!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
We have recently updated the image to accurately reflect the wide rim of the dinner and salad plates.
 
 
Rating
brilliant
 from AUSTRALIA,  Nov 16, 2013

what a lovely dinner set. the mugs are such a lovely shape and they stay hot till the last mouth full. this dinner set is something that will last for years as it is of the highest grade of stoneware that is very strong. I LOVE IT!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great deal!
 from phila,pa,  May 8, 2013

excellent product at a great price, very happy with purchase ! Overstock took care of a few broken pieces immediatlly, great service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DENBY IS AWESOME
 from Boston,  Mar 25, 2013

Denby is one of the few remaining quality dinnerware makers. I think it must be due to still making in the UK. Even former high quality makers such as Portmeirion now make in China and they are junk, chipping and bleeding through way too fast. I really hope Denby does not move manufacturing to China. Great stuff

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great quality
 from Chicago, Ill,  Jan 1, 2013

Was extremely happy with purchase. Bought a second set a week later. The price was the lowest anywhere.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Denby is the best stoneware. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The plates are actually wide rimmed and not as shown. They are better.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
We have recently updated the image to accurately reflect the wide rim of the dinner and salad plates.
 
 
Rating

I was so pleased with how carefully and quickly my dishes arrived. I ordered three four-place settings and out of all those dishes, only one bowl broke! I contacted customer service and they sent me another bowl very quickly. I am so pleased to have tried out Overstock.com and will be checking in again regularly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slight difference but a customer review had mentioned the dishes had a wide border.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. These are lovely dishes at a fraction of the price of dishes from a store or the Denby website.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mostly accurate--the dishes had a wide border instead of as shown but I like it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
We have recently updated the image to accurately reflect the wide rim of the dinner and salad plates.
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Denby Fire Sage 4-piece Place Setting
Add to cart to see special price
Denby Azure 4-piece Place Setting
Add to cart to see special price
Denby Truffle Layers Small Jug/ Creamer
Add to cart to see special price
(1)
Denby Fire Stripes 4-piece Place Setting
Add to cart to see special price
(1)
Back to top