Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Awesome!!
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Aug 3, 2010

Received my Denby dishes in less than a week...they are awesome!! The same exact dishes that are about 4X the price at dept stores...I was literally about to spend $2000 on dishes before I found these on overstock.com. Nothing was broken, and yes, shipping for all 3 huge boxes was only 2.95 total!!! I will definetly shop on overstock again!!!! Super super find!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Beautiful
 from Atlanta, GA, USA,  Oct 9, 2013

We searched for a dinnerware set for five years. Since I once worked in Dillard's fine china department, I saw a lot of great sets, but nothing that really interested me. I wanted something simple, modern looking, colorful and made to last. While searching the Dillard's web site again, I saw the Denby Fire set and really liked it. However, I was not ready to pay Dillard's prices even with their discounts and sales. So, I thought maybe I could find a (non-Denby) inexpensive set on Overstock, never thinking this site would carry Denby and the exact same pattern I wanted. We immediately jumped on this deal and purchased 2 sets. The picture understates the beauty, color and quality Denby dinnerware. We plan to give away all our other sets of mix-match pieces and replace it with Denby. Now we are searching for the matching Denby stemware but only on Overstock.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dishes at a GREAT price!
 from New Jersey,  Nov 8, 2012

I purchased two starter sets, two separate orders, one week apart. Upon receiving my initial order, I was so impressed with the quality and the look that I immediately placed a second. I could not be more pleased. The transit time on both orders was five days. The first order was packed slightly better than the second. Still, there was no breakage. The photos are nice but, in my humble opinion, the Fire Sage is even nicer in person. I could not be more pleased with the quality and value. Thanks, Overstock!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The sage is slightly darker; the "fire" is a cinnamon that's carries to the back of the plates. Overall, the colors are slightly richer in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceptional quality; perfect weight.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Denby fire
 from PA,  Feb 8, 2014

Perfect!!!!!! 1/3 the cost of retail!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous choice
 from Portland, OR,  Jan 25, 2014

These dishes are beautiful to look at, comfortable to use. We got them very quickly, Customer Service was fabulous in resolving some less than perfect ones without question, a rarity, and replaced a few pieces with no questions, total time from original order to delivery to replacement was 9 days. Cups hold a lot, glaze and color combination was gorgeous!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Denby Fire Sage starter set
 from Flemington NJ,  Jan 20, 2014

Original Denby stoneware handmade in England what else is there to say.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice quality!
 from Greer, SC,  Jul 26, 2013

The Denby fire sage dishes are a nicely finished, well made investment. they are a bit heavy but the dinner plate size is just right. My Mikasa French Countryside plates were awful in the dishwasher, always leaned over, but these stand up nicely. The bowls are a great shape. My one complaint is that the mugs that come with this set are yellow on the inside (the fire yellow color) not ivory like the inside of the bowls and the rim of the plates. Also the mugs are quite big in diameter and are hard to fit in the spacing of the top rack of the washer. The color is a bit more green and darker then the photo. I liked the lighter slightly more gray look in the photo but liked the dishes overall enough to keep. Overstock needs to fill up the space bet the dish box and the shipping box better. The inner box obviously slid around tremendously, but that being said, only 2 dishes out of three 16 piece sets were broken. Overstock replaced them immediately! They were excellent to work with.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dishes
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 18, 2013

These dishes look exactly like the photo. I love them. They are microwave safe which is a big deal because my family is used to burning their hand. The only negative is that the bowls don't fit well in my dishwasher. The cup handle is a tad small but I'm used to it now. These are expensive but good quality.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As expected
 from Madison, WI,  Jun 12, 2013

I am very pleased by the weight of the dishes, the feel, the color and the design. I bought these for my son's apartment, but would happily have them in our home. They make great dishes for daily use, but look attractive enough to use for entertaining.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Set!
 from Maine,  May 21, 2013

This Denby Fire Sage 16-piece Dinnerware Starter Set is a great value! I bought two sets and one arrived with a broken soup bowl. Unfortunately, the dish crate was placed on it's side in the shipping box. Denby dish crates are not not made to be shipped UPS - they're made for sitting on a store shelf! The good news is Overstock immediately located a replacement bowl and sent it to me no questions asked! The only other thing is Overstock's price-protection policy which is good only up to 5 days after the date of order. They would not honor it on day 6, so buyer beware! Oh yes - thank you Overstock for the 42 feet of bubble wrap that came with my orders! Overall we are very satisfied - these dishes are a great replacement for our 25 year wedding gift!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual colors are darker.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Denby is high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Pacific Grove, Ca,  Apr 22, 2013

Basically we love these. My 6 year old was spinning towards the dishwasher singing his song when he dropped a bowl and it broke. We love being able to put in oven. the cups look small, but surprisingly hold a lot, are comfortable to hold, and feel good in my hand, which is medium withe long fingers. Size 7.5 glove

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The bowls do break
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DenbyFire Sage 16-piece Dinnerware Starter Set
 from Portage, Indiana,  Feb 22, 2013

I am very happy with the Fire Sage starter set by Denby. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the mugs; they are the smaller size. I did not fully understand the description and had seen the larger version in a store. The dishes themselves are beautiful; the ivory rim really sets off the sage green of the dish. I particulary like that there is a slight rim and that the dishes are an appropriate size to fit into my cupboards.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well presented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The dinnerware is wonderful....the light ivory border sets off the sage color
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately posted.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Divine dinnerward!
 from Chicago, Illinois,  Jan 31, 2013

We absolutely love our new dinnerware. If is everything we hoped for and more!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? wonderful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Couldn't be happier with our purchase! We ordered three of the 16 piece Sets and order arrived within a few days at our front door. Product was packaged very carefully in three big boxes. Unfortunately, one dinner plate was broken upon arrival. Contacted Customer Service and got a replacement sent asap! We are thrilled with our new Denby dishes and can't wait to use them. The color is exactly as seen in the picture and the quality is outstanding! Especially love the smaller size mugs. Thank you Overstock.com! You gained a new happy customer!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice dinnerware.
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 26, 2013

As expected, this is a warm, solid set. I like the cups/mugs because they're smaller, like a teacup vs. a big mug. My first shipment arrived broken due to poor packaging. But Overstock sent another out immediately, no hassle.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Dishes...Well packed.
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Dec 25, 2012

Great plates. Good for both genders. Awesome starter set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect & Beautiful
 from Coarsegold, CA,  Dec 23, 2012

I LOVE these dishes. They go perfect with my newly remodeled kitchen. A couple of the small plates had a little color variation, but not a detriment for me. Classy looking and appear to be durable. Picture is accurate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice plates
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Nov 19, 2012

I bought these plates after obsessing a long time about what to buy for new everyday dinnerware. I wanted something practical, durable and easy to replace dishes if they broke. Oh, and good looking. Denby was high on my list, but the price was off-putting. So when I saw several Denby patterns offered on Overstock.com, I was trilled. The dishes arrived in a timely manner and all intact. The glazes on the pieces are very nice - they have an artisanal quality that is very appealing. The green is very grayed and neutral. The bowls are a wonderful shape and are well-sized for both cereal and soup. The mugs are also very appealing, with a rounded shape and good proportion. The set has a somewhat masculine appeal overall, which took me a little time to get used to (I'm a woman). My husband and son loved them right off. They are very durable: a three-year-old visitor dropped a small plate on the floor of our kitchen and there was no chipping or breakage (we don't have a tile floor (Marmoleum)). I would highly recommend this set. And the price is amazing!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Perfect
 from Oregon,  Nov 14, 2012

I shopped around ALOT for this particular product. OverStock had not only the best prices, but shipping was fast and nothing was broken or chipped in transit. Overstock prices were amazing! Other retailers had just one place setting for $$$ I got 8 place settings for less than $$$ that would of cost over $$$ everywhere else. Just wish they had completer pieces (serving bowls, platters) but still extremely happy with my purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 2 large boxes shipped..nothing broken..everything in perfect condition
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dinnerware - Denby Fire Sage
 from Colorado,  Nov 10, 2012

Dinnerware came on time, well packed and therefore nothing was broken or chipped. Coffee cup size is perfect especially the coffee cup handle - perfect for holding. My only complaint is there are no additional pieces that can be purchased such as serving bowls or meat platter. Thanks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Having only used for a few weeks quality is great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Denby Azure 4-piece Place Setting
Add to cart to see special price
Denby Azure Coast Soup/ Cereal Bowl
Add to cart to see special price
Back to top