For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A very sturdy, quality purchse
 from Central NY,  Dec 26, 2013

This Island is beyond my expectations, and when I found out that it was manufactured in the Catskills, (NY) ( I am from Central NY), and the manufacture also has a supportive, informative website, I was very pleased. It was not very difficult to assemble and was able to put to use quickly. I did follow the manufactures reccomendations and oiled the product once a week for 3 weeks, though I am not actually cutting on the surface of the island, you can. (mineral oil from the drug store is fine). I would definitely buy from this company again.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cabinet
 from Long Beach, MS,  Oct 20, 2013

I read reviews on this island before I purchased it so knew it did not come assembled. My mother recently moved into an assisted living apartment which has a refrigerator but no other appliance or kitchen sink since meals are served in the community dining room. But she needed something to hold her microwave and a few kitchen supplies for snacks and this works perfectly. It took a long time to assemble but I carefully read the directions and did it myself and it came together exactly as it should have. They provide instructions for oiling the wood parts.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and sturdy
 from Venice, CA,  Aug 7, 2013

We're very pleased with this purchase. My husband assembled it one day while I was at work, so I can't comment on ease of assembly other than to say that the screws were very tight. My husband took the manufacturer's advice and dipped the screws in a little vegetable oil, which helped a lot. The manufacturer dips all the wood in oil before shipping, but we gave it a couple more coats, especially on the top. It looks great. We're very pleased with how it looks and how sturdy it is. The sides and back are laminated, but they look very nice after assembly. I discovered after visiting the manufacturer's website that this product is made in America with American wood and the company is fairly "green," so overall we feel very good about this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Storage and Work Area
 from Eastern PA,  Jul 11, 2013

This is a really nice piece. I've converted my kitchen entirely to a work (cooking) area, and this replaced the kitchen table. I put 24 inch stools on each side so folks can sit and talk to me while I cook. It's not really treated, so I beeswaxed the top, and mineral oiled the rest of it three or four times. My only problem is that the write-up and the person I called to confirm said that the piece is assembled, and it is NOT. I cost me $100 to get it assembled by a guy who assembles all my furniture, and it took him two hours. Imagine how long it would take me!! So,, Overstock, not a great value, but an average value, once all was said and done.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Deep Storage Island with Contour Top
 from Corsicana, Texas,  May 5, 2013

I am glad that my brother-in-law is a master woodworker & carpenter! This island hutch was VERY complicated to assemble. I would also recommend that any purchasers also invest in plenty of "Howard" mineral oil and restorer! I put 10 coats on mine, letting each one soak in over night. This was applied to the entire island, not just the top. It is now a beautiful piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen Island
 from IN,  Sep 27, 2012

I researched for about 2 weeks several sites until I was sure this was what I wanted and I had never bought from overstock. I usualy bought from another popular site. I checked both sites and overstock was free shipping and on sale when I got ready to buy. It got here faster, and in purfect condition. The quality is excellant. I am really pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? really very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wonderful quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? completely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AMAZING Island!!!!!!!!!!!
 from Harpers Ferry, WV,  Sep 12, 2012

this shipped so fast with absolutely no damage. it took a little time to put together but as long as you read the instructions before hand it's a breeze! I love this and it has provided so much extra storage and table top room in my small kitchen! I highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very nice BUT you need to buy the oil to put the nice finish and gloss on it!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A+++++++ and more!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect! 100% accurate!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME
 from Virginia,  Jul 19, 2012

I found this exact island at lowes.com and thought I would check overstock.com before I purchased at lowes. Much to my happiness I found this exact island for $200 cheaper on o.co! The price didn't change the quality. This is a very nice addition to my kitchen and the side storage is so perfect for my spices. Great organizational tool for the cook who has every spice known to man! If I had more space and a need, I would order another one. The maker of this product is great. Will definitely order this brand again!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Island!
 from Bronx, NY,  Feb 8, 2012

Large beautiful island with deep storage. I am very pleased with this cabinet! Perfect addition to my small kitchen. Quality solid product. The drawer is large enough to hold two trays of cutlery, with room within on the side and back to hold other cooking utensils. Drawer opens easily. It takes a while to put together, which is to be expected, but the directions are satisfactory. Do get lemon oil for the top to condition & protect the top as recommended.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
storage island
 from Illinois,  Dec 14, 2011

Great piece. I needed more storage in my small kitchen and it worked perfectly. Easy to put together even for me! I love this piece!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
live, love, love it!!!
 from South Dakota,  Oct 13, 2011

I just love this island!!! I have serched and serched web sites for along time and I kept coming back to this island.It arrivrd in less than a week. I was skeptical about putting it together, but it wasn't so bad. I did have alittle help from the husband, but I did alot myself. The wood grain is beautiful. I stained the shelfs and sides alittle darker color and got a special oil for the top. It is just beautiful. The shelves are deep. I can put alot more things in it than I had planned.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen island
 from Arizona,  Jul 29, 2011

It had a lot of pieces so it was a good thing I am experienced in putting things together. It look great in my kitchen.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
storage island
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jun 7, 2011

This has been a real **** to put together. Nothing is marked, and the instructions are extremely limited. On top of which, the description on-line says NOTHING about "assembly required". For the price paid it should have come assembled.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overpriced for PRESSED wood
 from Austin, TX,  May 22, 2011

READ the details of the item. We were excited about an island advertised as being made of hardwood but did not notice that the back and sides are made of pressed wood and veneer. We counted all of the screws and parts because of other reviews and although we had the correct number of pieces, they weren't all the correct size. That caused some splitting of the pressed board sides. The caster sleeves extend over the edges of the wood. The height is good and the island squared up nicely once we finished putting it together. Assembly takes a couple of hours; be prepared for that. Also, we recommend putting wood glue in all of the screw holes, especially wherever you are working with the pressed wood and the drawer. This item is priced too high to have pressed wood. I wish we had read all of the details more carefully! We would have spent the money on a different piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece for the kitchen area
 from Stamford, CT,  Oct 4, 2010

I've got an extremely space condo and it's a perfect fit. Single female, did the work myself, pretty easy to put together if you follow the instructions precisely. Gave it 4 stars because 1 of the caster wheels broke the wood while trying to turn it right side up. It's deep enough to store pots,pans, whatever. Definitely get the mineral oil from manufacturer to protect the finish. Besides that, lovely piece. worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Almost perfect!
 from Brooklyn NY,  Mar 25, 2010

I am very happy with this purchase. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it was fairly difficult to put together (definitley a 2 person job) and it was missing a couple pieces of hardware when it arrived so we had to wait a week to fully put it together while the company shipped out the missing screws and bolts.Other than that it is perfect. The company that makes it is based in upstate NY, uses only sustainable woods and all the wood is very heavy and very solid. It looks wonderful and was exactly what we needed for our kitchen. I know that we will have this piece for years and years to come. While its a little on the expensive side the quality of the piece is well worth it. I strongly recommend it to anyone who needs more counter space or storage space in their kitchen.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cart!
 from Ohio,  Jan 2, 2010

Purchased this island/cart for kitchen. All pieces/parts were included, all in excellent condition. We may have spent more than we wanted, but the hardwood of this cart was worth it. It's extremely solid, the castors/wheels are solid and it looks great. Took my husband about 3 hours to assemble with minimal assistance from me. Only thing I didn't like was instructions say to oil the wood once/week for 3 weeks, then once/month for 3 months, then as needed. Not a problem except no oil was included with the cart, that would have been nice. So after shopping locally with no luck, I had to order butcher block oil on-line. Other than that, a great island/cart for the price, we're very happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great unit
 from New Jersey,  Jul 8, 2009

This was great it fit perfectly next to our stove so I could add extra storage and counter space! Fits all those big appliances and platters that wont fit into your normal cabinets! I was missing some screws from the kit and I called the number inside the box and had them 2days later! I seperated all the nuts and bolts into piles and labeled what they were for and once I started putting it together it went so smooth since I already had things divided up. Make sure you count eveything first to find out if you are missing anything before you start to put it together. I love the look and craftsmanship of the unit is great! Plus overstock shipping charges made this offer even better most stores would charge atleast $60 for shipping!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful kitchen island
 from colorado,  Apr 17, 2009

it was a bit of a struggle to put it together, but completely worth it. it is a beautiful solid wood island. it fit with our kitchen perfectly. the castors roll nicely, it is very functional. the price was exceptional. it was delivered very fast too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase
 from North Carolina,  Mar 4, 2009

This was a wonderful addition to my kitchen. It was a little "interesting" to put together since it recommended two people for putting it together, but I was able to do it singlehandedly. It has a good system that makes it very stable when put together. I love my kitchen island from overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
The Big Island with Double Side Doors
Add to cart to see special price
(13)
Heart-of-the-Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf
Add to cart to see special price
(9)
Create-a-Cart Natural Granite Top Cart
Today $383.99
Compare $637.15
Save 40%
(13)
Back to top