Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

This is a beautiful and affordable secretary's desk. It fits nicely in my kitchen. My intent was to purchase this item for beauty as well as for function to house my laptop. I considered the dimensions listed and read the reviews from buyers who stated that the desk houses a standard laptop ...BUT... I disagree. My laptop (11 and some inches deep) will fit in the desk but the folding door will not close which is very disappointing. I loved the piece so much that I kept it anyway but it did not solve my laptop storage issue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk
 from Groves,Texas,  Feb 25, 2009

I bought this item to use as a computer desk. I needed a small area to work at because I already have a big roll top desk in the room that I would be using. It is the perfect size and has all the compartments that I need. The carvings in the wood are beautiful and add to the decor of the room. By closing the front door you close off your business and add beauty. I love it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Carved Desk
 from Pennsylvania,  Feb 28, 2012

This desk is my favorite purchase from Overstock.com. It is an elegantly carved desk that could be used in any room because of it's size. It is not a really large desk. It is the perfect desk to sit and write a letter with a cup of tea. My perception is just that. It could be used for anything, but with it's ornamental carving and rich color I have it in the reading portion of my living room. It is my spot to sit in my linen slipper chair by the window and read or move to the desk and write a letter to a friend. It has movable cubbies. My laptop fits in fine with half of the space inside left over. The top folds down and becomes your writing area. It also has two drawers. This desk is the first thing visitors comment on when they come to my home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Richer in color than shown. Right color just more rich looking.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. The carving is so beautiful. I love how it functions and like that the "cubby is notpermanently placed and can be moved.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great lil desk
 from San Jose, California,  Jan 31, 2012

This is giong to be a great replacement desk for my laptop. It was packed well so none of the parts were damaged or scrathed. It was super easy to put together. I would have rated it a five, but IMHO it needs a small hole in the back for computer wiring.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slightly darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dont like it that well
 from Newark,Ohio,  Dec 16, 2011

The thing I dont lke about the desk is if u leave the door down it could tip over very easily.IIts not very sterdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Carved Study Desk
 from Apache Junction, AZ,  Nov 8, 2011

This was a wonderful purchase! The hand carving is great, the size is perfect for the space I had. Shipping was lightening fast, and all I had to do was screw on the legs. A really great purchase! You won't be disappointed.....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A little darker than pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Carved Study Desk
 from New Orleans, LA,  Nov 4, 2011

The desk is pretty if you are getting it to fill an area, but it is very lightly made. The carved portion on the front panel appears to carved in to one piece of wood, but it it actually glued into the center of the panel. The weight is light. It is not something that would hold up to a lot of wear, but is fine as an accent piece. My preference would have been to pay twice as much to get a quality piece of furniture than just an accent piece. It is pretty, though, and I do like it for that purpose.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is slightly redder in tone, more towards mahogany than oak. The picture appears to be a medium oak stain. Mine looks like mahogany
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is pretty, but very lightly made. I would rather pay twice as much and get a better quality piece of furniture. It looks good as an accent piece, but is not very heavy or sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is pretty if you want something to fill an area.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product exceeding expectations
 from Las Vegas, Nv.,  Sep 27, 2013

This product's appearance & sturdiness far exceeded my expectations. Needed a desk that was small but functionional and attractive for my bedroom. From the comments I've received, this desk was it. The finish and exterior carving look blend well with the much more expensive designer selected furniture in my bedroom.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent product
 from Wisconsin,  Jul 24, 2013

I love the desk and my wife does also. It was delivered promptly and packaged well-heavy cardboard with Styrofoam surrounding. There were 2 minor blemishes in the finish but otherwise it is finished well and I was able to cover 1 blemish with stain and the other blemish I can live with. I modified the inner organizer and was able to make it so my lap top along with extra fan base can slide in and I can close the front with the lap top inside. The lap top with fan base is 15"X10-3/4"X3-1/2". I also cut a hole in the desk top back to allow the cords to hook up to the computer. The desk is stable but one cannot put ones forearms on the open front as the pressure or weight of ones arms will tip the desk forward. Typing and moving the mouse doesn't tip the desk. Also, the desk top supports slide out as the top is opened and is a nice feature. The carvings are well done and I like the Chinese rooster on the front as well as the carved out flowers, ferns, other small bird, and what appears to be a symbol or two.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual product appeared a little darker or more red than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Being from China this solid wood produst is actually made quite well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate but color is a little darker
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Writing desk
 from Missouri,  Jul 16, 2013

Bought this for our daughter's room, which is small. She likes that she can have a desk that fits against the wall in a small space. It has enough storage and it is a beautiful piece. Several people asked if it was antique (it obviously isn't) but it does have a handcrafted, older design look. Very pleased with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is much darker than in the photo, still a beautiful color but much darker.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate except for the color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful piece
 from PA,  May 1, 2013

This desk was exactly what I wanted for the office space that I was trying to create. For the price, it was perfect. Shipped quickly and was easy to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a bit darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it arrived as described and was very easy to assemble.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As discribed
 from Pa.,  Apr 26, 2013

I love it!!!! It looks very expensive, a few people that have seen it thought I muct have paid well over 1,000.00 for it. I just laugh and not admit that ist was only a hair over 300.00.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it was alittle darker thatn picture but georgous
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The entire desk except for the area whhere you would put letters etc. is wevy well made.I thought the area where the lettrs go should have been attatched to the insideof the desk rather than slide it in.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it was right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the cherry color of my desk.
 from Parkesburg,PA,  Apr 2, 2013

I love the cherry color and the decorative woodwork. The only thing I would change is the wood carving of the ugly bird. It's the perfect size for the area it is in. The only things that had to be put together were the 4 legs as stated in the description. For the price and with no shipping/handling cost, I viewed this as a great bargain. It was very well wrapped yto prevent damage in transit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy; put together well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Guest room desk.
 from Pasadena, CA,  Dec 22, 2012

The size and the reviews persuaded us to order this item and we're happy we did.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very much as depicted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is fine. Desk will not be used daily and should hold up for quite some time.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
carved study desk
 from NY,NY,  Aug 24, 2012

Beautiful piece of furniture and a perfect size for a small space.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? understated
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ladies' Writing Desk
 from Jacksonville, OR,  Jul 10, 2012

Fantastic purchase! Very clever slide mechanism to drop the front leaf. It's beautiful, all wood (no particle board) and gorgeous carving.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well constructed.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Carved Study Desk
 from Athens, MI,  Jun 12, 2012

Item as described, fast shipping, great value, would buy again or recommend to friends.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Verry accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as pictured
 from Wyoming,  May 27, 2012

Perfect little "nook" desk. I placed in the waiting room of my dental office with a laptop for patients to use. It is beautiful, and we have received many compliments.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful secretary
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 6, 2012

This is a beautiful secretary. Great for small spaces, but opens up to accommodate an average sized laptop. The carving is quite nice, and hte piece has an overall antique "feel." Assembly was simple (just attach the legs). I would recommend this in a heartbeat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Carved Study Desk
 from Florida,  Dec 21, 2011

Love this mail station desk. I have small apt. and it fits in beautifully.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? even better looking once received than in the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, exceeded my expectations.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Four Assorted Metal Wall Decors
Today $65.99
Compare $122.00
Save 46%
Barnside Corner 'L' Desk
Sale $1061.99
Was $1179.99
The Orleans Corner 'L' Desk
Sale $899.99
Was $999.99
Compare $1126.38
Save 20%
Upton Home Knox Espresso Desk
Sale $234.89
Was $260.99
(67)
Back to top