Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 82 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bicast leather
 from Westerner,  Dec 29, 2008

This item was below the quality have come to expect from Overstock. Not being familiar with the term bi-cast I assumed it would be leather on the surface but not so. The assemlby process appeared to be an easy task but threading the bolts was very difficult in aligning them. The surface of the item was creased an it appears to be a permanent surface.Below is a description of bi-cast leather from Yahoo.Best Answer - Chosen by VotersBi Cast leather (or Bycast) is the bottom split of the leather with a polyurethane coating bonded to it.When leather is made it is 'split' in 2 or sometimes 3 sections. The top section (Top Grain) is used to make furniture and the bottom 'splits' are what would be used to make bicast leather.In effect you have a plastic coating with a split leather backing.You cannot sell bicast leather as simply leather in the UK (Ithink this is different in the states) it has to be labelled as Bicast leather of leather laminate or laminated leather.It can be very hard wearing but it does need looking after and protecting with leather protector as body oils can break the laminate down quite quickly which is then unrepairable

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent with one concern
 from Jackson Hole, WY,  Jan 4, 2010

This bench is beautful, sturdy, thickly padded, and easy to assemble. I did a lot of comparison shopping and this is a great price. My only concern is that it is made from bi-cast leather. I looked up just what bi-cast leather is and it is pretty much the thinnest material that can still be called leather, made by practically shaving a thin layer of leather from a hide and bonding it to a synthetic material. If left in sunlight, flexed alot, or treated roughly it cracks and degrades easily. I have this bench at the end of my bed where it won't get a lot of wear and tear so I think it will be OK. I could have bought a real leather bench elsewhere but I would have paid at least twice the price. It's a tradeoff, but one that is worth it for me and my situation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bench for the price
 from N. California,  May 10, 2009

I purchased this bench for the foot of the bed and have had it for several months. I've purchased frequently from Overstock and have been mostly pleased, so I felt comfortable ordering this, even though it was my first online furniture purchase. It came well-packaged in double cardboard boxes. It's the perfect size (not too big that it fills up the whole width of the queen-size bed). I also liked that the legs and clearance are higher, which gives the bench a lighter feel as compared to some of the "fuller" benches. I thought it was a good compromise between a bench w/full storage vs. a bench w/none at all. And like some of the other reviewers, storage capacity was not an issue for me. Agree w/several other reviewers that the bench was VERY easy to assemble and seems well made all around. The leather is so-so quality but for this price that's to be expected. My only gripe is that the foam cushion is hard and not that comfortable for prolonged sitting (not an issue if it's for a foyer or foot of bed to put your shoes on, but I sometimes sit on it to watch TV). Overall I would recommend this bench as a stylish alternative to other benches and at a good value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a Great Look
 from Wallingford, CT,  Apr 19, 2009

This storage bench was just the right size for my room, looks great and adds the storage I wanted. The color is a rich deep brown and the assembly took less than 5 minutes. I would highly recommend this purchase. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed.
 from Louisville, KY,  Apr 4, 2009

The great selection offered at Overstock allowed me to find just the right size and color bench for my space. When I received the bench, I was delighted to see it was just as pictured and described. I wasn't able to find a leather bench in this price range anywhere else; and I've been shopping around for some time before checking Overstock. Next time, I'll check here first!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great.
 from Boise, ID,  Jan 10, 2014

Looks like exactly what I expected. Easy assembly and prompt shipping.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dark Brown Bi-Cast Leather Storage Bench
 from Saugerties, NY,  Aug 9, 2013

I have had this storage bench for over 4 years. I use it to store some of my grandson's toys, so it get a lot of use. High quality - looks as good as the day we received it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ottoman
 from texas,  Aug 18, 2012

I waited to review to see if it held up. Well its been years and its fine. Looks like much more expensive models, sturdy and has good storage inside......great buy

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spoton
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Is it real leather?
 from California,  Feb 14, 2012

I have to admit im not that high end type of person so it don't bother me so much that all the so called leather is peeling off. But it serves its purpus its durable and I think im going to repolster it? That should be easy to do since only the top is peeling and I can cover that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It looks like just some sort of very thin leather glued to some sort of fabric? Its all peeling its at the foot of my bed its very durable and hold quite a bit of stuff! But if your looking for something real pretty for your living room i think you might be sorry! oh yeah and the buttons keep comeing off!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Well the discriotion said leather but i think its more like plether.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bench
 from Attleboro, MA,  Jan 12, 2012

We bought this for our guest bedroom. Excellent item! It hasn't been used much, so I can't tell you how well it wears. But it goes great with the room's decor and provides a space to sit on and some storage. It also feels sturdy, so I'm happy with the quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy feet and happy CD storage!
 from Mapleton, UT,  Aug 30, 2011

I was very pleased with the bench. Easy to put together. Excellent leather cover works well with our lighter leather couches in the family room. The storage feature serves us well, as the room is not large. We keep CDs and a blanket in the storage area. It provides a wonderful foot rest for those loungers, and extra seating when all the grandkids are over. All in all a very nice piece of furniture!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. Well made, heavy and a great addition to our family room.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from Bloomington, IN,  Jul 27, 2011

We really like this bench. The legs were a little difficult to attach, but very secure once they are on.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color looks the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very handsome
 from Cape Coral, FL,  Jun 21, 2011

Purchased this for the bedroom as extra storage. Very sharp looking and adds a nice touch to the look of the room.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality "Leather"
 from So Cal,  Jan 22, 2011

I've been a regular Overstock customer for many years, and this is the first time I'm submitting a DO NOT BUY review. I've purchased several bi-cast leather products, but this is the worst quality bi-cast I've seen, and I'm questioning if it's even truly animal-based. The leather surface never had the same look or feel as other bi-cast products I've purchased -- this one reminded me more of vinyl. I purchased this bench about 2 years ago. Out of the box, it looks great, was easy to assemble and the hinges have worked smoothly for the entire time. However, from regular use, the "leather" has cracked and peeled. The leather surface is about the thickness of a layer of paint with fabric underneath. It's impossible to completely camouflage with shoe or furniture polish. I'm on Overstock today to purchase another bench for another location in the house and I'll select a different one. There are so many that are similar on the site, I'd recommend others to make a different selection, too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bench
 from boston, ma,  Dec 14, 2010

I put this bench at the end of my bed and it's the perfect height. Solidly built and beautiful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good addition
 Oct 14, 2010

Very nice looking, sturdy bench that holds extra comforter at foot of bed

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thumbs Up
 from Central Louisiana,  Oct 4, 2010

Had this item for 1 year now. It was shipped as expected, upon arrival it looked as expected and was easy to assemble. The quality is really nice. Hold lots of things inside. Sturdy and visually appealing. I get many compliments when people see it. I would not hesitate to buy again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bench, good price
 from Washington State,  Sep 24, 2010

We were not disappointed in this bench. It is the exact size and style for what wanted and the quality is very good. It is firm but not uncomfortable and the storage area is big enough for fit some shoes and other blankets. The only issue as one reviewer pointed out is that the hole for one leg is off center and takes some drilling -- simple task but it might be a hassle if you are not expecting it and don't have the tools. Overall, the bench is definitely worth the price even though it required a little bit of modification to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad for the price
 from McLean, VA,  Sep 7, 2010

It serves its purpose with the open lid top. Good for entry ways bench.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Bday Gift..
 from Seattle,  Aug 25, 2010

Gave this as a Bday gift to a friend. Was informed by him that the holes for the legs to screw into were not "centered" properly so he had to drill his own holes. Wasn't as easy as unpacking, putting the legs on and then sitting on the bench. Overall he is very happy with the bench. Looks great in his bedroom. I'd consider buying another in the future if I need one myself.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 82 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top