Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Manufacturer is a pain in the #$%#
 from Evanston, IL,  Nov 28, 2012

The customer service and replacement service must have gone down hill since the reviews of July 2010 and July 2011 when cracked side panels were replaced in days. I have contacted overstock customer care center 5 times over the past 10 days and in the end the warehouse would not send a replacement panel. So now I have the choice of getting a full refund if I can find a way to pack the 75 pieces back in a box that had no added room for packing material which weighs about 60+ lbs (more than 1/2 my weight!!) or a partial refund on a busted piece of crap that I can't put together. I called the parts supervisor Chris at Overstock who says this manufacturer is a pain to work with and that he could send out a replacement right away and I could take out the extra 18" by 6 ft panel out of the bottom of the box, repack everything and send the rest back. Since this was a pain to do he finally agreed to not make me return it (it really is incredibly hard to figure out how to get these parts back in the box) and I can give it to charity or burn it in the backyard or take it to the dumpster. Its probably a better idea to just not purchase the darn thing in the first place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. damaged side panel, poorly packed on the bottom of the package. thin cardboard backing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? does not seem like solid wood anywhere but laminated particle board
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice looking bookcase
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jul 4, 2011

This is my 2nd purchase of the same bookcase. I wanted two. The 2nd purchase came with both side panels cracked; but replacement of the pieces was simple enough. Customer representative was helpful and efficient. I did not have to wait long for the replacement pieces to arrive. The bookcase looks really nice and can be easily incorporated into any room. I purchased them for my library and it made the room look organized. There's enough shelf space (depending on how you arrange the height of the shelves) for a good size amount of books. I had a lot of books and they all fit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was exactly as stated.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy and solid. good quality overall.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Prescott, AZ,  Feb 22, 2011

These bookshelves are wonderful. Very classy. Lots of room. I love the drawer at the bottom. Some people complained that the back panel is too flimsy but it is undetectable really. The only problem with the flimsy back is that it doesn't add to the bookcase stability. This may become troublesome as it ages. But all in all...a fabulous bookcase at a fabulous price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Naples, Fl,  Sep 27, 2014

Extremely well built and sturdy. Good looking. Relatively easy to assemble.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from California,  Sep 24, 2014

Easy to assemble, looks amazing in my husband's new home office. He likes it so much we ordered another one!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Accent to Office
 from KY,  Aug 18, 2014

Nice sized bookcase with drawer. Fairly solid in build. I am satisfied.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worth the effort
 from virginia,  Jul 31, 2014

we bought two of these and they look grand.......the finish is very nice

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Customer Service--Quality Product
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Apr 15, 2014

Great quality. I marked it down a bit on quality only because one of the side panels came in slightly cracked. But I called the company and they send one out so I received it within a week or so. Very sophisticated look!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just perfect
 from atlanta, ga,  Apr 8, 2014

this was exactly what I was looking for. I like that it has a drawer on the bottom. it looks great in my son's room.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 13, 2014

Nice bookcase. The packaging was great, especially for a product with this much weight and size. There were no damage pieces. I didn't receive the package on schedule but that was due to inclement weather during the week of its arrival. There was one sour note i had concerning this product. The instructions that came with it are really confusing, especially if you are not adept at putting this type of product together.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Atrractive bookshelf
 from Northfield minnesota,  Jan 25, 2014

This bookshelf appears more expensive than it actually cost. The back appeared somewhat flimsy so decided not to attach it. I love seeing the paint color now through the back opening. Very happy with this piece.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from North Idaho Panhandle,  Jan 24, 2014

Sturdy construction and easy to assemble. I agree with others who have stated the 'backing is flimsy" so I decided not to use it. The two fixed shelves and the top provide enough stability the backing is not really required. Other than that I'm impressed with the quality.... a true value for my money. Although my bookcase arrived unscathed I thought the packaging was poor. The ends were well protected but there was very little protection from damage to the sides and a reasonable potential for arriving damaged.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have not begun using it yet. It's just that I keep getting these pesky emails from overstock that I still need to write a review. It was easy enough to put together with two people. I wouldn't recommend someone trying it alone. The color and finish is good. It is heavy. I hope it holds up better than the pressed board ones I had before. When I've been using them for a month or so, then I'll be able to say.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookcase
 from pennsylvania,  Apr 9, 2013

I really liked the look of this bookcase and didn't care that it was part of a baby collection. It was easy to assemble and didn't have any damage, For a couple of steps I had a little help but it wasn't totally necessary. I am thinking of buying a second one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DaVinci Bookcase - A bookcase with plenty of room!
 from San Bernardino County, California,  Feb 6, 2013

We are happy with the finished product. We really didn't realize we had to assemble all of it, but it worked out pretty well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the price, we felt the quality was good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The bookshelf is great.
 from North Carolina,  Dec 18, 2012

It is good quality, easy to assemble and is currently holding plenty of weight. The bookcase shipped promptly and arrived in good condition. The only improvement would be a piece of wood for the back instead of composite cardboard.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Atlanta GA,  Dec 11, 2012

the assembly was good but each piece was not labeled, therefore took longer to put together and had to work backwards, meaning I had to put the drawers in last instead of first.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect...almost!
 from Houston, MS,  Aug 18, 2012

Looking for a nice solid bookshelf for daughter in college and this fit the bill. Very sturdy and nicely finished. Directions simple to follow and this was easy to put together requiring only a Phillips head screwdriver. My only complaint is the heavy cardboard back. I wish something more like wood would have been used instead of the cardboard. Especially since the quality of the bookshelf was so good. Overall I would buy again!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Jun 16, 2012

We are retired with some physical disabilities but we were able to put this bookcase together. Directions were easy to understand, minimal mechanical ability required (use screwdriver). Quality of "wood" better than most we have seen.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems better than comparable products.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Howe, TX,  Apr 4, 2012

Relatively easy to put together, sturdy materials, and beautiful design.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Fair Haven Tall Bookcase
Today $218.99
Compare $221.96
Save 1%
(32)
Everett Espresso 6-shelf Bookcase
Today $174.99
Compare $317.99
Save 45%
(35)
Plymouth Bookcase
Today $379.99
(154)
Kids 4-shelf Bookcase
Today $113.99
Compare $136.94
Save 17%
(9)
Mulberry Wood Bookcase
Today $219.99
(2)
Back to top