Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 231 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Dissapointing
 Sep 21, 2006

Very poor standard of workmanship. The steak knives seem ok but the general cutting ones are rubbish, several have snapped out of their handles already.... so don't try and slice anthing as tough a mild cheese.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap Knives
 Apr 5, 2007

Cheapest quality knives I ever ordered... gave them away.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than my old set of knives.
 from Spokane, WA,  Feb 18, 2007

I have read many of the reviews and was rather disappointed by them after ordering this product but the thing most people fail to realise when using serrated knives is that you must always be moving them for it to work properly. You can't just go all weight down on them like a normal non-serrated knife. You must use a sawing motion to properly use these knives. I have owned a cheaper quality set that had a lot less knives and such and find this to be a better quality and overall I'm completely satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone that doesn't want to spend a lot on a serrated knife set. If you're use to using non-serrated knives you may find them difficult to work with but, as I've stated I'm use to using a serrated knife and know which knife to use and how to use it to get the right job done. People that break this knife set are obviously not use to using a serrated knife where by you must be moving the knife at all times with a sawing motion and need to apply very little pressure at all to what it is you're cutting. This is the only way this type of blade works and everything cuts through like butter. I hope this helps anyone that would like to potentially buy this knife set because really the price is awesome and you get plenty of knives to work with. It may not be the best but, it's most certainly not the worst I've used either.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful knives!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 8, 2006

Every review I read said the block was the biggest issue with these knives... that the knives were good but the block was a little splintery. My block was fine. No splinters at all. The knives, however, aren't worth anything. Of all of the 22 pieces I've got, 17 of them have broken. I've only had them for 5 months The first handle broke off not two days after I received them, while I was cutting watermelon. The next two days after that while I was cutting potatoes. The blades are not sharp at all, causing a hazard, becuase then the handle breaks while you are trying to cut somehing as tough as a tomato, and then you can cut yourself. DON"T BUY THESE!!! Spend your $$ on something a little nicer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from CT,  Sep 22, 2006

I have only had my cutlery set for a couple of weeks and two of the kinves have already broken. (ie: the blade actually snapped through the handle when being used.) I understand that you get what you pay for, but this is ridiculous! I have had knives for ten years that are in way better shape. I dont recommend this set. The knives look nice but are cheap and plastic.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We got this based on the reviews, but will be returning the set for a refund. The blades are excellent, impressive for such a low price. However, they are not well affixed to the handles and a number of the knives within a couple of weeks were loose and shifting around when used. Also, there was some rusting on the blades after using it several times. We've never experienced this with any of the knives from other companies we've bought in the last 17 years and is clearly due to the poor worksmanship of these knives.We were optimistic about this set and wanted it to work out - we weren't expecting top quality for the price- but the loose blades are not only a nuisance but a safety concern.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great to look at, Not so great to use!
 from Lewiston, Idaho,  Jun 11, 2008

I bought the knives for my son, who was moving into an apartment and didn't have a set. I did shop for price, although I was also looking for some quality as well. When we received them, they looked great and I thought they would work very well for him, however the very first time he used one of them - the handle snapped right off the knife and flew across the room. By the way, he was NOT cutting something that was hard, he was cutting a pizza with a soft crust! The price was good, but I don't think I would ever purchase this brand of knife again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking cutlery set for the money...
 from Lubbock, TX,  Jan 19, 2007

It's a nice looking set of cutlery, but, as you may expect, the durability is very low. I purchased this set in October (2005), and by November (2006) the cleaver and two steak knifes had broken on me. And the "lifetime warranty" isn't the best either...it cost me an $8 "service charge" to have the cleaver repaired (I paid $4 shipping each way)...if you are serous about your cutlery...and you use any one blade often, I would go for a more expensive set. If not, you can't beat the deal for the money :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
okay for the price
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 1, 2006

i bought these as a staving grad student and they have lasted me over 4 years and nothing has broken. That said, they're not the best quality. The steak knives don't fit well in the block, it was a tight squeeze to get the 6 into their slots. I've never had problems using them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rip off
 Oct 13, 2006

I had this set for 7 months an the handles are breaking already. They break at the top. If I had know I wouldnt had even paid the cost of shipping on these pieces of garbage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Who wrote all the good reviews? I had 3 knives break within 2 weeks: butcher on Day 2, 2 steak knives a week later. Steak knives dulled quickly, and block tips over constantly. Bought cheap steak knife 2 yrs ago with plastic handle & is intact & stays sharper than this set. Don't waste your $$.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHEAP
 from ID,  Aug 7, 2006

THESE KNIVES ARE NO GOOD END OF STORY SHOULD HAVE SENT THEM BACK I DONT EVEN WANT TO DONATE THEM TO GOOD WILL SO I GUESS GARBAGE THAY GO.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They keep breaking one by one
 from portland or,  Jun 26, 2006

The butcher knife was the first to go. The plastic handles snap and boom gone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutlery Set
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 25, 2010

Its a great set for the Price. The scissors are though dull when cutting items but everything else is great. The quality of the metal used on the knives is much better than a set I bought at Walmart that rusted in a month that stated it was stainless steel. This set looks like it will never show any type of rust spotting, very durable. I am impressed for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Buy
 from Edinburg, TX,  Dec 14, 2009

I was reviewing the stuffs I bought here and I remember this one. It is still very functional after 3 years, and for the amount I paid - I have already earned my invested several folds!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DONT WASTE THE MONEY
 from FL,  Aug 19, 2009

Don't waste the money these knives stink! The first day we got them we washed them up and were excited to use them that was the biggest disappointment of all first knife broke right away second knife broke to! And so on and So on it was pretty upsetting we had to throw all buy 4 of them out because the knives were so loose the blade was coming out while we were trying to cut with them.Honestly Spend the extra bucks and get a decent set these were not worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are GREAT!
 from Winfield, AL,  Aug 20, 2008

These are very durable knives! I really like the firm blades because every other knife set I bought was too flexible to work with. Now I don't have to worry about cutting my fingers when I slicing hard things such as potatoes!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
knife set
 from irvine, calif,  Jun 22, 2008

I have alot of great knifes and I was looking for a cheap set of steak knifes and that is what this set is. I knew what I was getting and needed just extra steak knifes. If this is going to be your primary knife set , spend more money and get a set that will last not this one. If you need extra pieces then go this route.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
maybe wont last long?
 from Missouri,  Jun 20, 2008

knife blades are already coming out of handles i have bought alot from overstock.com but these knifes are not made any good?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Steak knife set
 from New Jersy,  Feb 7, 2008

I couldnt believe how nice this set was. For what I paid, I thought they would be cheaply made. Instead, they are really nice. They slice through foods very easily. It was an easy and excellent deal. They look really nice in the wooden block sitting on my countertop. I am very satisfied with Overstock.com. They came in the mail very fast.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 231 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top