Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Take a minute...
 from NJ,  Sep 10, 2010

I just received my - much anticipated - new Cuisinart Espresso Maker (refurb.) It arrived as if it was brand new (*I must admit - I was a little worried that I would be receiving some one else's used coffee maker). Everything was packaged in original factory box - shiny - bright and brand new. (All the "extras" u see in the pic.s were there). I unpacked everything and was initially worried to even turn it on after reading reviews of leaky gaskets and exploding coffee. But again, no worries... Just take a few extra minutes to Read & RE-Read the instructions (I think understanding how the machine functions is probably the most important part - just my opinion!) The instruction book tells you everything - from your initial first use of running plain water thru - right up to making your first espresso/latte etc. A few tips: There is no "gauge" that will shut off (like the cheaper models) so - you need to do a few "test runs" of making one cup at a time... (get decaf - this way you can taste each one as u go along and will still be able to sleep at night :) Once you are confident with knowing how much liquid/espresso should be in your cup all u need to do is shut off the machine (it really is that simple). Making the "foam" is the same; I tested a few times ---- and was able to see how quickly the milk doubled and tripled. When I was comfortable with all the knobs, water & coffee levels - I worked on my "tamping pressure". TEST - TEST - TEST: Test the "Tamping" - meaning - put a scoop of coffee in the supplied tin - holding the lever in one hand - press the coffee down firmly with the supplied tool (flat end) repeating approx. 3 times (FYI: The directions call for "30 pounds of pressure" (What???-- That was questionably to me - who would possibly know how hard 30 pounds of pressure is ???) By testing - I was able to tamp it down firmly - then lightly touch the top of the coffee - if it still feels loose - tamp again - u should end up with a fairly hard surface--- Once you have the technique (and confidence down ) it starts to seem very easy & self explanatory. After - all of the above (which took me about a half hour to learn the knobs/noises/feel of everything), I made my first "real" cup of cappuccino ---- IT WAS FABULOUS!!! It was worth the wait and I am sure my pocketbook will starting feeling the rewards as well... I hope u enjoy your new espresso machine as much as I am sure we will !!! Good Luck & Enjoy!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Honestly...
 from Ellensburg, WA,  Mar 27, 2011

I have been a barista for almost four years now, and I have never had an at home coffee machine in my life. So when I went shopping for one, (for my boyfriend), I really didn't know what to look into due to the fact that I use really fancy/high-tech machines at work, not little machines at home. So I looked into a decent price range and I found this machine. It comes with all the pieces you could ever want, it makes lattes, americanos, it steams milk, the list really does go on. The manual tells you exactly how to put it together and use it, (just make sure to read the instructions and do as it says). I remember reading a lot of mixed reviews on this product where some thought it was amazing and others thought it sucked. I have to agree with a reviewer that said that those who thought this sucked didn't really read the manual. I swear to you, this machine is a dream. Compared to the coffee/espresso machine my boyfriend previously had, where you had to add water EVERY TIME you made espresso and it took forever to warm, this is a cinch. My boyfriend doesn't really know how to make coffee, and through reading the instructional manual, and a couple tips from me, he's learned how to do a lot on his own. This product is worth the money and if you are concerned, get the warranty.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Espresso Review
 from Texas,  Oct 18, 2011

Purchased for the wife. Based on previous reviews, she was advised to follow the instructions carefully. There have been no problems and the unit functions as advertised. The wife enjoys it. Many other units available at much higher prices. This unit does well for small household. Not being Starbucks, we don't use it all day long, every day.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Latte Love
 Jan 19, 2011

I have had the Cuisinart espresso maker for about 2 weeks now and I love it so far. It took some practice but once I got the technique right, it makes lovely espresso. I've been enjoying coffee shop quality lattes every morning.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good espresso but leaked
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 8, 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to provide my experience. I purchased a refurbished EM-100FR espresso maker. It made great espresso, but it leaked (from the bottom slowly at night), so I returned it. There was no issue with making espresso. Overstock accepted it back with no questions asked and I got my refund. I since have purchased the exact same model new elsewhere because I decided not to go with another refurbished model again, no other reason. Otherwise I think this is a good espresso machine for the price. Re: the reviews citing defective espresso cups....I thought they were defective....but they are NOT defective. Espresso as I have learned is brewed under high pressure but a reduced temperature compared to drip coffee. This is responsible for the taste of espresso. The single small brew hole that you think is defective is actually the way it is supposed to be. The espresso machine pumps the hot water to high pressure and forces it through that little hole. You don't think that it can but it does! If you use too fine coffee grinds, then the espresso cup will become clogged and it will not work. Soaking it overnight in soapy water will solve it. This is not a problem with the espresso cup design. Several top end models of espresso machines use the exact same cup this one does. I also have not had any issues with the steaming wand being too short. It works quite fine for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it leaked from the bottom
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Espresso Maker
 from San Diego CA,  Aug 9, 2011

It's simple a great product! Our family is happy:-)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Getting worried!
 from Rochester, NH,  Aug 1, 2011

I've had this machine for a few months and so far it's been good to me. I must admit though, I'm getting a little worried! For the last few days, it's taken twice as long to heat up and is a little louder so I hope it's not going down hill! I guess only time will tell. Other than that, it's very nice looking and very well built.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was just as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was good. Very sturdy machine.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate. It was acturally a little better than expected!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent purchase!
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 29, 2011

It was a decent purchase for the price. I've owned 2 espresso machines previously, and this one works as good as the others. THe only complain I have is that the nob you need to slide between form making and espresso making doesn't click very well at the neutral point. Meaning, when you need to turn it off after making milk form or making espresso, you need to turn the dial back to the center position, but it doesn't stop there well and keep leaking hot water or steam for a while. This is not a major issue, but can be annoying after a while.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Pretty good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yes Please
 from California, Bay Area,  May 24, 2011

This machine is lovely...you will not be disappointed!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
espresso maker looks and works great
 from seaford ,ny,  Apr 19, 2011

espresso maker was a very good deal . it works great looks brand new and makes good cup of espresso

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Ohio,  Jan 4, 2011

I was hesitant to buy this machine due to bad reviews. I'm so glad I decided to try it anyway. This machine makes excellent espresso and froths the milk nicely. I have not had any of the problems that others have posted. I agree with another reviewer that you must READ AND FOLLOW DIRECTIONS!!! The steamer wand is low but not a problem at all. I have no issues with spilling milk. There is no leaking whatsoever when making espresso. The machine heats up quickly. From start to finish you can have a latte in 2 or 3 minutes. As far as the machine being loud, I do not find it to be overly loud at all. It does make noise but I would expect that with 15 bars of pressure. I was hesitant about purchasing a refurbished machine. Also, so happy I did that and saved the extra money I wouldn't have known this machine is refurbished if I hadn't purchased it myself. Bright, shiny and new looking with all the parts and packaging. Super deal!!.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 Oct 25, 2010

I wanted an espresso coffee maker and to get a Cuisinart was wonderful. It makes good coffee, but, I don't like that it keeps running and you have to stand there and watch or it will overflow. Most coffee makers will pour one cup and stop, this one doesn't. Also it continues to drip into the container and if not emptied after two or three cups, it will overflow. Disappointed in this Cuisinart product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incomplete
 from Vermont,  Sep 30, 2010

I bought this machine and was very excited to open it up and start using it. Unfortunately, when I started to use the machine it started overflowing. I realized that none of the cups had the little holes punched in them, so making espresso was impossible. Basically, I paid for a machine whose only purpose was to make espresso, and it could not do that. So, I used their online chat for customer help, and they offered me a partial refund. I bought the cups elsewhere (on a replacement part site) and I am still waiting for the new part. It has taken about a month, and I still cannot make espresso, so I would recommend buying this product elsewhere (although getting a partial refund was nice, albeit deserved).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Espresso & Cappuchino
 from Wisconsin,  Aug 28, 2010

I have become a devoted fan of cappucchino at local coffee houses and wanted to duplicate it at home! I am still in the experimentation stage but absolutely love having this machine! It makes a great crema, the frothing mechanism provides the "rest of the story" and I am enjoying a cup or two every day. I am realizing that it, indeed, requires a "knack" to frothing correctly and I am getting better. Also, I am trying different coffees and decided to grind them at the store rather than use my general use grinder at home. All in all, I haven't encountered problems with tamping or packing too many grounds in the holder. The refurbished machine has provided a reasonably priced method to continue my desire for this great coffee at home. I may move up some day to a more expensive machine but this one really does it well!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mr. Hintz
 from Sioux Falls, SD,  Aug 23, 2010

Product exceeded my expectaions. Works great and for the price it's a no brainer. I plan on ordering a few more for gifts!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
totally broken
 Mar 26, 2015

This is the second time I have bought a refurbished espresso machine and I will never again. I ended up going to a store to get one that wasnt in pieces upon arrival.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The one I ordered still had problems
 from south carolina,  Dec 24, 2014

Great Machine, easy to use and makes great coffee. I would not order the refurbished. The one I ordered worked great however slowly leaded water from the reservoir.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These sheets are super cozy and don't pill!
 from Hialeah, Florida,  Aug 3, 2013

I am very happy with the product quality, and your service of delivery, also I am fascinate with your website service good price .

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the product description was correct
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really easy to use
 from San Francisco Bay Area,  Jul 26, 2013

Great fun and great espresso's, etc. No hassles with the enclosed DVD instructions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buyer Beware
 from New York, New York,  Jan 14, 2013

Overstock usually has excellent quality even for refurbished home appliances I have bought previously on the site. This cuisinart espresso maker looks fantastic in brushed steel and black. Its is very easy to use and comes fully assembled which is why I loved it originally. But within 30 days of receiving it, it started to fall apart. The steam wand became lose and totally fell off. The power button became stuck. And the coffee holder started leaking. So... in that light, this unit is being returned. Thanks God for the Platinum Protection Plan which I signed up for. Overstock customer service was quick, excellent and hopefully will be prompt with the refund since I am now addicted to having such an easy and convenient espresso machine.LOL. I will buy another but new rule...no refurbished ones for kitchen appliances.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the refurbished model is poor. Unit broke down within 30 days.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought