Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
just what I needed
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Aug 15, 2006

This bench was just what I was looking for. Plus the fact it took only minutes to put to together. I am very happy with both the appearance and the fact it was delivered very fast. I am using it for a TV stand for my 50 inch TV. It is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cubby bench
 Sep 13, 2007

As long as you know what this item is and what it is not, it's a reasonable good value for $110. This is a manufactured wood bench which has nice style. It will house baskets magazines etc in the cubbys nicely. It is NOT a solid wood product and it will not hold up to heavy objects on top without bowing over time. It is not something to sit on.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
White bench is OK
 from Smithton, IL,  Jun 18, 2009

This is a nice looking bench and a nice size, but if I saw it in a store I wouldn't have spent over $80 for it. The material is pressed particle board so be careful not to split/shred it. The instructions could be better - we noticed 2 specific steps were missing. Thankfully my husband has lots of experience putting things together, otherwise we would've made mistakes. The bottom decorative moulding piece doesn't have any support in the center since it only attaches at the sides, so we're going to add an elbow behind it for support, since it bows in a little and could easily be damaged when moving it or bumping it with a foot by accident. The top & side moulding pieces give it a finished look, but they do reduce the hole size by 1-2" in case you look for baskets to place in the cubby holes. Also the back cover piece simply nails onto the sides and vertical boards - it doesn't recess into them, so need to be careful not to snag it when moving it around. It did arrive very quickly - less than a week - awesome!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I ordered this to go in our dining room under a window to store books, etc. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and looks of it. It was easy to put together. We ran into one problem: When assembling, don't pound too hard on the wooden pegs that fit on the underside of the top piece. We ended up damaging the top a bit. It was noticeable but not too bad. However, when we called overstock, they sent us another top piece for free and very quickly! We have been very pleased with overstock.com's service.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

we bought this bench to put in our garage so for the price it seemed like a great deal. it looks very nice, however, the quality of wood and instructions were pretty poor. my husband owns a contracting business and is very handy and he said the directions were confusing. also when he screwed in the top of the bench, 2 of the screws almost went completely through (now we have 2 lumps that are very noticeable). for the garage it will work, but if it were for inside, i would be really disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware on assemble
 from Whittier, CA,  Apr 2, 2007

This item is nice but a word of caution when assembling...my husband who is a carpenter damaged the top when inserting the dowells. Be careful when doing that and you'll be happy with this item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and functional
 from New Mexico,  Aug 20, 2006

This bench is just what I needed to store crafts and paperwork. I purchased canvas pockets to fit in each cubby and they look great. The bench fits well under a window in my dining room and serves as extra seating for dining when "extra" company arrives. Very easy to put together. I left the cardboard back off as it did not serve any purpose. Looks great without it. Recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good value
 from Federal Way,WA,  Aug 6, 2010

This bench has a good appearance for your typical laminate furniture. I paired it with a trio of white storage baskets from Overstock that have sort of an Asian look (wish I could provide the URL, but no HTML allowed! Just search on White Storage Baskets), and the overall effect is quite stylish. Be careful with the plastic pegs, though. I whacked one of them a little hard, and it went right through the top surface! By itself, I wouldn't give this more than a 3 star rating, but with the nice-looking white storage baskets, my opinion goes up a star.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Bench for the Price
 from Venice, FL,  Feb 8, 2010

I wanted a nice-looking, easy-to-assemble cubby bench for not too much money, and this fits that description perfectly. It looks really nice and is sturdy enough for someone to sit on. It arrived in excellent condition and was relatively easy to put together. The only trouble I had was because of my own mistake. I didn't realize that the holes on the two inner panels are different sizes on each side. One side has holes that are larger to fit dowels, and the other side has holes that are smaller to fit screws. Though that seems obvious now, it didn't when I was putting the bench together, so I ended up buying larger screws (because I was trying to fit them in the larger holes) and widening the holes on the other side with my electric drill to fit the dowels. I figured it out when I moved to the next panel. But otherwise, it was easy to put together and I did it by myself. I'm very happy with my purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Monterey Cubby Bench
 from Ohio,  Nov 19, 2009

Great looking bench. Assembly was fairly easy. The bench is really nice looking and sturdy. It had a small flaw in the back of the top but not bad enough to return the item. That is why I am giving it 4 stars. Overstock.com definitely had the best price and shipping for this item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for Kitchen bench
 from Cincinnati OH,  Sep 22, 2008

I took my time reading reviews and hoping for just the right bench for my kitchen and it is! Even better than the picture in my opinion, I was worried that it would be smaller than pictured. But it is the perfect bench for our organizing baskets and middle slot for shoes that usually lay on the kitchen floor where we used to trip over them. Sturdy enough to sit on, no cushions needed for the spot I have it. Let my daughter and her friend assemble it for me which just took them an hour or two, (they had to reverse a couple pieces but then figured it out.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm so happy!!!
 from Indianpolis, Indiana,  May 20, 2008

I just received my bench today...it took about 1 week to get here...the box was in great shape, no missing pieces, no dents or scratches. I even got the instructions. With my electric screwdriver, hammer and a gentle touch...I had my bench put together in about 1 hour and put under the window in my home office. I love it!!! It fits perfectly under my window in the little nook area off the stairs. It's not real wood, but that's ok...it's still perfect!!! It will go with the storage cabinets I got for the office. I am quite happy with how it turned out. Once I get my cushion made that matches my valances....it will be awesome!! I even threw a couple of throw pillows in the corners and my storage baskets I got...it's beautiful!!! I've been looking for one for years but didn't want to spend $300 or more on it. This one is perfect for the price. Just a note I did put a block of wood under the center towards the back for added support...other than that...it's wonderful!! I am totally happy with my purchase and will be looking at Overstock.com for other goodies down the road.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cubby Bench
 from Pennsylvania,  Apr 12, 2008

Just not the quality I expected. During assembly, the top was broken due to need to exert force. Would not buy a 2nd unit!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's beautiful but....
 from Rochester, NY,  Sep 26, 2006

The bench is beautiful. However, if my husband wasn't a skilled tradesman I would have had to send it back because it was delivered with the wrong hardware. My husband reworked the hardware and made the screws, nuts, and bolts fit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
right size
 from Maine,  May 30, 2012

The only problem I see with this piece is the "back" of it is unpainted so it needs to be butted up to a wall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Monterey cubby bench
 from Illinois,  Mar 15, 2012

took about an hour to put together. THe price was right, I was looking for a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
White Cubby Bench
 from Jackson, California,  Mar 7, 2012

Very easy to put together. I did it in a half hour. So far this has been a great product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems good so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD
 from LA, CA,  Nov 30, 2011

That is completely that I want. Big enough for my bedroom. We put a 32'' TV on it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same as descriped
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. VERY GOOD
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same as descriped
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bench
 from Melbourne,Florida,  Nov 16, 2011

I purchased this bench for a kind of dressing bench for my mother who is 87, whoever said you couldn't sit on this maybe put it together wrong,value was great,shipping fast, the only complaint I have is I can't find a one piece cushion to fit this bench, I wrote to the company that makes these but no answer yet. One piece of good advice in your other reviews about not screwing too hard , when putting pieces together because they will show through on the top of the bench. That is our problem not yours !

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not being of solid wood,this bench is very sturdy and as heavy as a solid wood bench woukd be !
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate !
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy storage bench
 from north carolina.,  Aug 13, 2011

Good quality for the price. Does not have a "cheap" look or feel after being assembled and put in service. Assembly was a little more complicated than the directions implied. May be a challenge for people without previous do-it-yourself experience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Made from inexpensive materials (pressed board, etc.), but design and construction is sturdy for a product at this pice opint.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Nolita Pure White Storage Bench
Today $129.99
Compare $252.00
Save 48%
Winslow White Twin Cubbie Bench
Today $90.99
Compare $112.00
Save 19%
(55)
Winslow White Cubbie Bench
Today $101.99
Compare $126.00
Save 19%
(37)
Wood Cubby Bench
Today $93.99
Compare $129.78
Save 28%
(123)
Back to top