Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 159 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
beautiful bed
 from Long Island, NY,  Apr 7, 2008

Bought this bed along with the Milton Dresser and nightstand. (The finish of the two matches beautifully. ) It is made of solid wood construction making the bed a substantial piece of furniture and quite heavy. The platform style is extremely sturdy. Assembly is straight forward, but definately a two person job. This piece can easily blend with a contempory design or with a more traditional arts and crafts design. I would absolutely recommend this item.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Indiana,  Feb 5, 2008

Quick delivery, packaged well. Good directions. Was glad I read the other reviews for tips on putting together. Would be easier with 2 people, I put together by myself, just added a little time. Very solid construction. Was disappointed that yesterday I received a $50 off coupon for this bed which I had just purchased only 3 weeks ago. Overall very happy with purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lengthy Assembly, But Terrific Bed
 from Sleepy Hollow, NY,  Dec 28, 2007

Like all of the other reviewers, I agree that assembling this bed is a bit tedious. It took two of us a bit over two hours to assemble (I'm pregnant though, so I wasn't as helpful as I could have been). Lots of quarter-turning with an allen wrench. Lots of screwdriving (electric cordless drill helps). The bed is gorgeous, however. Sturdy, solid rubberwood -- great quality materials (no veneers). So happy to have a platform bed and be rid of my boxspring. One of the headboard supports has a small nick in it, and I realize now that we should have just called Overstock and asked for a replacement part before using the superglue to attach it to the headboard! (Not sure if the damage was caused in shipping or not.) Oh well -- we'll know for next time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed for a nice price
 from Tuscaloosa, AL,  Aug 29, 2007

My fiance spent a long time trying to pick out a bed for our guest bedroom, and this one had the looks, fit our price range, and had good reviews. The bed is made of hardwood, and you can tell if you try to heft the three boxes that it comes in by yourself. The actual bed matches the picture well and looks very good when fully assembled. One thing that we didn't realize was how low the bed sits. This is not a problem, but from the picture I did not realize that the bed was going to sit so low (rail bed approx. 10 in. off the ground). I was concerned about people hitting their legs on the running board around the bed, but that has not been an issue. I would suggest getting a low profile box spring for this bed, as we found it looks much better than a standard box spring. As other reviewers have noted, assembly was a tad difficult. I have two suggestions to make this easier for future buyers. First, have two people to work on the assembly. I did it by myself and the headboard fell on me when I was trying to connect the side rails. Second, the allen wrench included in the packaging has a ball joint on one end gives you torque on the screws at an angle, so don't waste time trying to squeeze a smaller wrench into the space provided when assembling the headboard. All in all, I'm very pleased with my purchase, and guests have really enjoyed it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Could use a better fastener design
 from Utah,  Jun 25, 2007

Everything was easy to assemble with the exception of the bolts that went into the deep recesses. These had to be turned with a special hex-head wrench and it was difficult to tighten the deepest ones. The bolts could have easily been angled to allow parallel access to the bolt. High quality item and happy with the value and appearance. Ours looks better than the picture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed
 from Wisconsin,  Apr 5, 2007

This is a really heavy, expensive-looking, well made piece of furniture. It is made of rubberwood, which is a very dense wood. Rubberwood also happens to be very eco-friendly (google rubberwood). It takes some time to put together, but if you've ever assembled or built furniture you'll know what to expect. Use an electric drill. I have been happy with all of the furniture (and rugs) I've purchased from Overstock. The shipping department, on the other hand, needs alittle work. Out of seven orders, I was sent the wrong product twice. However, Overstock did resolve these problems at no cost to me, and gave me a nice discount on my next purchase, so I was happy. I do recommend Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch your shins!!!
 from Marin, CA,  Mar 27, 2007

the frame of this bed sticks out about 4 inches from the mattress and it has a tendency to bite when you toddle back to bed in the middle of the night -- but once your shins heal and you learn to step cautiously, it is tough to find anything wrong with this bed....beautiful heavy wood frame and well-made/sturdy -- it can definitely take a lickin' ;) the pictures are spot on in this one -- I bought the chest first to assess the quality of the wood and sturdiness of construction and have had no regrets with either piece....to be honest, my husband did the assembly, so i don't have much first-hand knowledge about that except that he didn't complain about it (and he would have) and the boxes were too heavy for me to move. All in all, if you fancy the style, you won't go wrong with this one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Cleveland, OH,  Mar 20, 2007

This is a truly beautiful bed that is extremely well made, heavy, sturdy, solid, and wonderful. It works perfectly with a memory foam matress. You couldn't get this bed to move even if you tried. The screws are a little hard to manage, but work perfectly. Just allow yourself plenty of time to put it together. Well worth every penny

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yssa
 from Pembroke, NH,  Mar 18, 2007

And very solid it is. When our bed arrived (on time and all pieces at the same time), we excitedly opened it up to find every piece wrapped very nicely. Pakaging of the bed was amazing, no worries of surprise dings and scratches. I read a review of this bed before buying and someone had said that "it was a bear to put together" and boy were they right. A bear and then some. You'll need some time to sit with the bed and the screws and the strange holes that you need to put the screws in at the odd angles. I think I did most of them because my husband had no patience. Once the bed was all put together it looked amazingly good. Very sturdy and just so nice. We put our mattress on it immediately and layed down on it to test it out. We are a bit concerned because it is a bedframe with slats and our mattress is a tempurpedic and it may eventually squish between the slats, but so far so good! Our only concern that we realized while laying there that when we eventually move it is going to be a "bear" to take apart! All in all I would recommend this to anyone, just have some patience putting it together ... it is worth it in the end.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Creighton Bedroom Set
 from Saint Louis, MO,  Feb 12, 2007

We bought a queen bed, 2 night stands and 2 chests, and are very pleased with the way they look. They have nice, solid construction and are well designed for assembly and durability. However, the instructions could be clearer - especially on the night stands and chests - and they require patience and time to put together. (And do yourself a favor - if you don't have an electric screw driver, get one! There are a TON of screws for this furniture, and I can't imagine how long it would take to assemble everything if we had secured them all manually.) Shipping was fast, and while some of the boxes were damaged, the contents all came through just fine. That said, I highly recommend thoroughly checking over all of the pieces before signing for them, as per the instructions on Overstock's website. All told, we're very happy with this purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Verry good
 Jan 8, 2015

Happy to have this bed for my kids

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful bed - some assembly required
 from Concord, CA,  Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful bed. Very sturdy. Exactly the size from the description. Just what we were looking for. FYI: It shipped in 3 boxes, numbered. We would have rated it 5 stars, but it was a little difficult to setup. Still pretty easy, but there is some room for improvement. Specifically, the slots to fit the hex wrench tool for tightening the bolts is too small, so tightening the bolts takes unnecessarily long. Also, each slat is screwed in with individual screws, individually spaced. We used a hand screw-driver for each of these screws and it does work, but it would have been a lot faster if we had a power tool for installing the slats.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very good bed
 from Portland, OR,  Apr 1, 2014

The bed came with a split footboard which the warehouse replace very promptly. It was very easy to assemble, the instruction is very clear. It's a solid wood, beautiful bed. The smell of the stain still remains, but I suppose that will go away with use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent buy
 from California,  Jan 29, 2014

Great look, wood is high quality, it's beautiful but it may need two people to build it not very easy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great looking and sturdy bed !
 from Houston, Texas,  Sep 26, 2013

This is a great bed and very straightforward assembly. With a 1/4 ratchets and the correct allen head; you can screw the bolts much much faster. Or use a flexible 1/4 nut driver extension bit. It honestly took me an hour to put it together with a power drill too. The best way i found to space the slats for the mattress support. Is to lay one slat flat and one standing on the edges for the spacing between them and just screw them down with the power drill. I cracked one of the legs by not using the black plastic stopper that was included for the long bolts. so read the instructions FIRST ! :-) And I did replaced the bed with a Peter Malay bed bought from Ligne Roset furniture store that I had fifteen years. Couldn't be happier. Buy it and you won't have any regrets

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed.
 from N.C.,  Aug 9, 2013

This bed is great, good quality and easy to assemble. We love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
assembly not practical!
 from plano, tx,  Jul 9, 2013

The design for this bed assembly needs to be re-thought; do not recommend for normal living conditions

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very difficult to assemble
 from Amelia Island, FL,  Jun 13, 2013

The bed is super solid. I cannot believe that I could purchase a solid wood bed at this price that looks this good. That said, beware. The first step requires using Allen wrenches to install the headboard. some of the screws are easily accessible but two ARE NOT. They are buried over an inch into a "cut out" that is only accessible using the Allen wrench and you can only make a 1/4 turn before having to pull out the wrench, find the whole in the screw again and make another 1/4 turn. It took two of us nearly two hours to put together the headboard. After that, the rest of the bed went together in less than an hour (with a power screw driver).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bed
 from nc,  Jun 7, 2013

Great value, and quality. Beautiful peice of furniture..........0

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? beautiful
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing quality for the price
 from Michigan,  Apr 11, 2013

This bed looks great. It is very solid and looks great. To me, the finish is more walnut than cherry --they call it "walnut-cherry." (which is fine). It took my husband alone about 90 minutes to put it together (which includes trips to the basement for appropriate tools). However, he is a pretty handy guy, so plan accordingly. Once together it is an amazingly sturdy product. It looks much more expensive than it is. We looked at a number of "real" furniture stores in our area and this was by far the best value of anything we saw in the stores. Remember, it is a very low bed. The low foot board makes it easy to make. I had a lot of trepidation about buying furniture online, but all the reviews won me over. Trust them!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 159 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought