Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 157 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Product for the money
 from Fairport, NY,  Feb 3, 2007

We purchased two nightstands, the dresser and the bed. The bed is very sturdy and heavy - it looks great. It was a bear to put together though. Took well over two hours...the nightstands and dresser were much easier. I wasn't exactly sure when I bought it whether or not you need to use a box spring, but come to find out, you do not. The mattress sits on top of a bunch of slats that go across the bed. If you try to put the mattress and boxspring on, it sits way too high. All in all, a good purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very lovely bed
 from Maryland,  Aug 2, 2009

This bed is absolutely gorgeous -- very solid and well-constructed. It looks wonderful in my room, and I'm insanely happy with it. I'll echo the sentiment of many other reviewers -- you'll want power tools. However, a friend and I put it together (we're both female) without any power tools, so it can be done. It took us maybe two hours. The instructions were easy to follow -- just difficult to screw, and screw, and screw... It was easier to hand-screw the slats in --even without any pre-drilled holes -- than it was to put the headboard and sides together. For those who have had issues ... use the long end of the hex wrench. The ball will let you go in at an angle. It's not that it was difficult to follow -- just needs a lot of arm strength! In all, I thought it was well worth it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a very nice bed, great woodwork and also great design. The problem that I had was that the holes were not drilled correctly into the adjoining pieces leaving the bed needing to be held together by supergluing dowels. I would suggest Overstock inform the buyer of this problem before purchase since the item is not returnable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A really classy bed
 from Tennessee,  May 8, 2007

I would highly recommend this bed. It is gorgeous and well made. According to my husband who put it together it was a well thought out product with extra hardware if you needed it. He seemed impressed with several of the little details like the padded feet that were also adjustable which helped in leveling out the bed. The bed arrived quickly with no problems. We love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just don't glue it together....
 from OK,  Jan 22, 2011

This bed is fabulous! We've had it for a couple years now. It is as sturdy as the day we put it together (definitely takes 2 to do that). Our guests never fail to comment on how beautiful our Overstock bedroom furniture is. Also have the nightstand, dresser and console. One of the best purchases ever! To get furniture this heavy and beautiful you'd pay a ton at the local furniture store. The assembly instructions are vague at points, and you have to pay close attention to the diagrams. However, with patience you will get through it. Gotta mention this, though: The instructions include gluing some dowels. We didn't do that. Ummm.... what if I want to move out of this place one day??? The bed has to go in one solid piece????

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Queen size bed
 from Utah,  Jan 30, 2008

Beautiful wood, I bought the entire set before Christmas, but now the wood is starting to crack in several diferent places all over the head board, and dresser there is no screws or hardware on the places where the cracks started ..... perfect when I got it but now I'm stuck with a set that is falling apart and I can't return it. would not recommend

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The main reason I am writing this review is because I didn't see this point made in any of the reviews I read prior to purchase: use caution with a deep mattress. One week before this bed arrived, our new mattress arrived. Our mattress is 18 inches deep. Clueless as we were, were paid for the mattress box, oblivious to the fact that it will not work with this bed. After assembly, my husband and I proudly placed our new mattress box and matress onto our new bed, only to result in me crying: the beautiful headboard wasn't even visible! After consulting with the mattress store, they said that our mattress could be placed directly on the top of the bed slats (there are about 15 of them) and that should provide adequate support for our type of mattress.Evidentally, one doesn't need a box or box spring with this type of bed. Somehow we missed this point. Once the box was removed, our deep mattress and bed look very nice, although our mattress likely obscures some of the beauty of the bed ,but it now falls a couple inches below the cubbies. Overall, we love the bed and would highly recommend it. The wood is great quality and the bed is very heavy (about 200 pounds per the shipper).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed for excellent price
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Oct 14, 2007

I have had this bed for 9 months now. Regardless of what other have said this bed is easy to put together as long as you have opposable thumbs. I put it all together in less the 1 hour so I have no idea why it took other so long. I suggest you use the instructions. Bed looks great is is very solid. I used a foam mattress and it fit perfect. The cut out on the head board is a great place to put the remote when you go to sleep. it has been 9 months since the last time I looked for a remote that has fallen off the bed. My only complaint is that there were a couple of marks of the wood from shipping. Dont be fooled it is very heavy and you are bound to have imperfections from the shipper. Not too bad, it cant really be notices unless your the person who paid for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bed
 from Ellicott City, MD,  Mar 13, 2008

I just moved into my own place for the first time ever and needed a bed. My friend recommended overstock and I found exactly what I wanted and for pretty cheap too! I was a little hesitant to buy because of the other reviews about the difficulty in assembly, but my friend and I were able to put it together in under two hours. As for the awkward angles everyone was writing about, we just used a long hex wrench and it was pretty easy. Definitely a good quality for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking, but watch those knuckles.
 from colorado,  Aug 31, 2007

Bottom line- this pice is a great value. It looks great, is constructed of solid materials, and arrive at your doorstep for $2.95. There is one caveat, however. Assembly is a nightmare. I have, in the past, been known to ply some of the construction trades, so I would consider myself a skilled craftsman. I ordered the entire "Creighton" suite and found the dresser and end table easy enough to get together. The bed was a different story, though. The forethought put into it's design is abysmal. The angles at which you must tighten some of the allen bolt limits your range of movement and creates a situation where spending twenty minutes to fully tighten one bolt is not uncommon. Boiled-down, a project that should have taken twenty or thirty minutes to complete was stretched to several hours due solely to poor design.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product
 from Maryland,  Jul 18, 2007

It is really nice and it does not look cheap. It looks more expensive than what I spent. The only thing I heard my husband complain about was that it would be hard to take the bed apart when we want to move. Because where they put the screws that go in the head board, it is hard to go in there. In the process the screw heads get stripped and so it will be hard to get to the screw when one wants to take the bed apart. I guess basically one might damage the screw head when taking it part. Otherwise I love the bed. It is really chic.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Queen Bed
 from Texas,  Jun 27, 2007

This is a great solid bed, but yes it is a major pain to put together, not because of an excessive amount of parts but because of the way that the screws are put in you can only turn them about 1/4 rotation at a time using an allen wrench. The headboard actually arrived cracked and damaged which wasn't nice, but customer service apologized and immediately sent another one free of charge. Overall this is a really nice set, it is a little low to the ground so make sure that you want a low bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and Sturdy
 from Westchester. NY,  Sep 30, 2014

Very good quality, sturdy and well built. It is richly beautiful shades of walnut and cherry woods. It is used for my son and only as a platform bed...no box spring. Measurements prove it works best as platform so the headboard is not hidden.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the price.
 from Nashville, TN,  Aug 22, 2014

Due to the number of existing reviews for this product, I won't reiterate the fact the bed has a list of pros and cons. The highlights you should know: 1) The ball end of the hex key is a must when screwing in the recessed screws. It's still an annoying process, but the ball end allows you to angle the key so you can turn it without removing it and reinserting it 40 times. A lot of people talk about various forms of murder and/or binge drinking resulting from not using the ball end. 2) When reading other reviews, I didn't see much mention of how short the headboard is with a modern mattress. The picture listed shows a very thin, compressed mattress. Most mattresses these days are more than double that thickness, and if you have a memory foam pad on top of your mattress like mine, the mattress will come to about the recessed areas on the headboard. That's important to note, since the bed looks much shorter in my bedroom with a "real" mattress on it. It's still a good-looking bed, but that headboard is much shorter when half of it is covered up with mattress. 3) My bed came cracked along one side of the foot board. TBe sure to inspect the pieces before assembly. 4) A power drill is highly recommended. A drill bit is considerably easier and cheaper to replace than a damaged wrist ligament. You'll be screwing in slats without pre-drilled holes on this bed; a power drill makes assembly much, much easier. 5) The boxes this bed comes in (3) are of wildly different weights. I suggest opening the heaviest box (you'll know which one it is when you try to move it and it just sits there), and carrying the parts separately into your bedroom or guest room. Making a few trips is way cooler than gouging your wall. Or getting a hernia. Or both. 6) Once assembled (took my girlfriend and I about 2.5 hours from opening the boxes to completion), the bed looks great (although as aforementioned with a much shorter than expected headboard). Also bought the matching nightstand, and paired together they look quite good. Despite the issues, you'll be hard-pressed to find a bed that looks this good once complete for the price point.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice construction, but size a little decieving
 from Shandaken, NY,  Mar 13, 2014

I fell in love with this frame right from the fist time I laid eyes on it. The cherry wood is beautiful. The frame is nicely constructed and very sturdy. The frame is very low though if you are not using a box spring. Lower than I had expected, but I have gotten use to it. The built in shelves are much smaller than they appear in the picture, too. They are only about 3 inches deep. I wish they were a little bigger to keep items like my alarm clock or a book on. I also wish there were a hole to run cords from behind the frame to these selves. It would be great to charge my phone or plug an alarm clock into the wall without having to run the cord over the top of the frame. My other displeasure is that I constantly hit my shins on the corners of the bed frame. This, however, is my own stupidity for letting happen over and over again. All in all, I think this bed frame is beautiful and very well constructed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed, terrible design
 from Chicago,  Apr 29, 2013

I don't think I'll be able to actually use this bed because I'm about to check myself into the psycho ward for having homicidal thoughts about the designers of this convoluted piece of furniture. I think the designers at the company that manufactures this bed had a bet going, the winner would be the designer who made the piece of furniture that drove the most people into absolute madness. I've never seen such a horribly thought out assembly design. Hey, I know, I'm going to recess the bolts an inch and a half and then give the customer a tiny worthless tool that they will have to insert, make 1/5th of a turn, remove, insert, make 1/5th of a turn, remove, insert, make 1/5th of a turn, remove, and so on until the customer feels like stabbing himself in the eye with the worthless tool. Other than that it's a nice bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, except for assembly process
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent !!
 from Park Ridge, NJ,  Aug 6, 2009

Etremely extremely happy with my purchase. The bed is fantastic, great quality, very durable. I was amazed at the quality of craftsmanship.I had some minor problems with the delivery, but overstock was very accomodating.Dont think twice.. Buy this bed.. Its amazing !!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good value
 from Tucson, AZ,  Apr 20, 2008

We were amazed at the speed of delivery and everything arrived in great condition. We purchased not only the bed but the chest of drawers and two nightstands. It all fits in a smaller bedroom nicely and looks great. The bed assembles easily but at times you need two people. Only a couple tools are required and they even sent extra pieces of hardware. The wood is beautiful and quite sturdy. It only requires a mattress so you save the expense of a box spring. Overall we are quite pleased with everything.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extreme Satisfaction
 from Whitesboro, NY,  Apr 15, 2008

I am very impressed and more than satisfied with the Creighton Bed. The product was delivered in great condition with more than adequate packaging. I read all the previous reviews on the assembly difficulty so I was prepared for an aggravating few hours putting this bed together. This didn't happen. I've put together lots of furniture and the instructions to include the coding of the pieces with an identifiable sticker were probably the best furniture assembly instructions that I've ever experienced. I do agree with the other reviews that the bed design did make it difficult to screw in the bolts to the bed frame. That was a minor issue that I dealt with by using a power drill with a flexible extension. My wife was skeptical about purchasing this bed but she's change her mind after seeing the bed up in my teenage sons room. Overall, a great value:quality of construction and price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful bed
 from Long Island, NY,  Apr 7, 2008

Bought this bed along with the Milton Dresser and nightstand. (The finish of the two matches beautifully. ) It is made of solid wood construction making the bed a substantial piece of furniture and quite heavy. The platform style is extremely sturdy. Assembly is straight forward, but definately a two person job. This piece can easily blend with a contempory design or with a more traditional arts and crafts design. I would absolutely recommend this item.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 157 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought